Fragonard • Emilie • Fragrances

rated 3.8(17 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jarona on 5/16/2012 9:35:00 AM more reviews by jarona

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I purchased this last year in Grasse, France. We went to the Fragonard factory and I loaded up on my all-time favorite "fleur d'oranger"--Orange Blossom (Harp music please). Anyway, my husband really REALLY liked the scent of Emilie so I picked up a bottle of it. The first time I spritzed this on, I wasn't sure how I felt about it. So it sat on my vanity. Until about a month ago. I was in one of those "Hmmmm...I feel like a change in fragrance today" kind of moods. I spritzed this on. Again. This time around, I really paid attention to the way it wore and the way the aroma blended during the day. Now please understand I am no "nose" so what I am writing is a completely "un-nose" description. As the first spritz hits, it smells very spicy--almost oriental spicey and seems really strong. But wait. A few moments later, in the background, the floral aroma of violet appears. It's so weird. It is almost as though someone opened a package of those soapy "violets" candies. You know what ones I'm talking about? They smell sooooooooooooo great!! Also--I don't mean 'soapy' in a bad way either. It's really nice--you have spicey and floral violetty at the same time. And you know--there is something about French perfume that just seems more "refined" than the American counterparts. This is long-lasting without being harsh..the scent stays, but in a subtle way. What starts out as strong just 'blends" and becomes very subtle. I'll tell ya. I LIKE this. A LOT! This scent, in my opinion, is versatile enough to be appropriate for a young woman in her 20's up to an older mature woman. I have received compliments on this AND it does NOT give me a headache. This is definitely a keeper and next month, I will be repurchasing when I hit Grasse again. Very satisfied. Thank you for reading!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ckapp on 5/2/2010 1:36:00 AM more reviews by ckapp

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a beautiful feminine floral with a bit of spice to make things interesting. The rose and jasmine are dominant but what makes this scent distinct is the violet undertones. It is very versatile; it's my perfume version of the LBD. I can wear it anytime of the day and feel sophisticated and ladylike but with a bit of an edge. It lasts a good bit and it finishes nicely in a warm, non cloyingly way. Young and old can pull of this scent.



The first time I bought this perfume was at the Fragonard store in Eze, France when I was 17 yrs old. It was my very first perfume and I felt like I was channeling Catherine Deneave....feminine, mysterious and all things beautiful and "French". I still get compliments on it to this day.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 millascent on 8/8/2008 10:20:00 PM more reviews by millascent

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This one smells like YSL PARIS to me. Violet rose combo can make me wistfully sad, because of wearing Paris at a certain time in my life. A lemony sweet tea rose is the culprit I think... but this one is ok because the violet really comes out, along with the sandlewood (I think this is what smells nutty to some), outlasting and outshining the rose. It's kind of simple, very French and something I think a young girl might wear quite well.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hesterC on 6/18/2008 6:09:00 AM more reviews by hesterC

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Lovely stuff! I first encountered this in the stunning Fragonard store in Eze, France, so it has added romantic appeal for me! I singled it out immediately as 'my' Fragonard (I was 20), then ignored it for some years, but last year my mother brought me a large bottle back from Paris. Now I love it again, though not for everyday wear at all, I like it about once a month. This is intensely floral to me, much more so than what I usually wear. I get the rose-violet combo, but not jasmine at all, and amber but no sandalwood. It conjures op an image of a cartoon bunch of flowers - young, fun, slightly frivolous but lovely and colourful. I think this could be worn by anyone, but is best on a quite young woman. I find it powerful and strongly persistent - it stays on all day and night. Not great for hot days, but do try, I find this quite unique, cannot understand people saying it isn't! Very, very French, too, to my mind. And cheap, if you're in France already!
EDIT I must admit, sadly, that it's really not my style anymore. I get huge amounts of persistent violet, quite perfumey, and I can see why someone would say it smells like Agent Provocateur. Sigh. Bottle is still a favourite!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* willemtje on 9/29/2006 4:15:00 AM more reviews by willemtje

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

All the notes sound lovely and I expected a sweet and powdery scent, but unfortunately Emilie and my chemistry are no match. I tested the parfum and it turns out sharp. It started as a soapy rose scent, but it now, after 2.5 hrs, smells just like Agent Provocateur, that also turns into this nail polish remover scent on me. The main difference is the sillage, there's hardly any to be noticed with Emilie.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sashayy on 5/3/2006 2:34:00 PM more reviews by Sashayy

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly   Eyes: Green    

When I read the reviews, I decided that I had to try this, so I went straight to my Fragonard sample box and pulled it out and dowsed my cleavage with it. At first, wow! loved it - that sweetly spicy nutty rose scent. But as it dryed down throughout the day, an aldehydic soapiness emerged that caught and scratched the back of my throat. Up close, it is sort of a take on Malle's Lipstick Rose, but with a nutty quality that seems to be the signature Fragonard note. It is sugar, flowery, rather old-fashioned. If I had to imagine it as a flower, the idea of sugared lilac-coloured pansies comes to mind (yes I know pansies have no scent, but that's what it evokes for me).

I ultimately had to scrub it off of me as the soapiness intensified on my chemistry. It isn't for me, though it is well-blended and definitely smells classically French. I wouldn't buy a full bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mommyofcutie on 4/11/2006 9:34:00 AM more reviews by mommyofcutie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is an incredibly powdery rose/floral on my skin, with a bit of spice to it. Reminds me of a very expensive, French bath powder.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dewdropsjd on 12/18/2005 11:35:00 PM more reviews by dewdropsjd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

mmmmm... this is a very dreamy scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BasiaS on 8/1/2005 6:08:00 PM more reviews by BasiaS

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

A slightly sweet floriental with predominant notes of violet and rose. Warm and almost gourmand in the drydown. The fragrance starts off light and crisp, but in the middle turns into a thin, boring jasmine fragrance before the sandalwood and amber notes come out. This is perfect for a warm day, and unobtrusive so it's good if you want to wear perfume to work, also. Lasting power is poor. Notes: rose, jasmine, violet, sandalwood and amber.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* thalia on 7/4/2005 1:33:00 PM more reviews by thalia

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I'm a gigantic fan of rose and violet together, and this is a clear, rich fragrance that features both beautifully. I also enjoy the unusual, almost nutty, impression of the drydown.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Fragonard products

More Fragrances products