MAC Prep and Prime Fix Plus


1319 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$


Water, glycerin, butylene glycol, Cucumis Sativus (cucumber) fruit extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) extract, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf extract, tocopheryl acetate, caffeine, panthenol, arginine, ethylhexylglycerin, PEG-40 hydrogenated castor oil, Ppg-26-Buteth-26, fragrance, disodium Edta, dehydroacetic acid, phenoxyethanol, benzoic acid.

on 9/27/2015 11:49:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I'm not a 100% in love with this stuff, it's quite different from what I expected, but yet I find it has become part of my everyday routine.
It took some getting used to. The smell is nice imo, but this stuff was way more sticky than I expected. But once I got used to that I did find it very refreshing and like I said it's now part of my every day routine.

First off I want to say that this is not a setting spray, so it does not make your makeup last noticeably longer. If that is what you are looking for, go a head and skip this one because it will disappoint you.

This is however a very versatile prep, prime, finishing and refreshing spray, and can also be used as a mixing medium, or for rehydrating products like your gel liners etc.

This stuff is great for creating a natural finish and taking away any powderyness. I personally use it underneath my foundation, and on my brush/sponge to help blend foundation and creme blush, as well as spraying it over any powders (except eyeshadow!!). This is a truly great product if you feel like you are not able to get that natural look with foundation.

I recommend this for people with dry skin as well as people with dehydrated combination skin. I am the latter, my skin is acne-prone but very dehydrated with dry patches. I need to use products for oily skin so I don't break out, but they are always too mattifying and powdery and dries to a terrible finish on my skin. Fix+ takes care of that problem and has not broken me out at all.

I want to point out that you should avoid spraying this on your eyelids if they are oily and/or hooded, because this is not a setting spray so there will be creasing. You can use this on eyeshadow brushes to intensify the colors but make sure that you eyelid is powdered down and dry.

My main problem with this product is the packaging, or more specifically the spray pump. Even though I read many review addressing this problem, I had high hopes. I specifically waited until I could afford this stuff instead of buying a cheap dupe, because I thought the high end spray pump was worth the money. The truth is that the spray cap dispenses product in a way that means you either get huge droplets on you face on a quite concentrated area, or you get no product at all on you face, like 95% just disappears into the air. I'm halfway through my first bottle and I still have not figured out how to not waste a ton of product putting this on.

- Very versatile
- Refreshing and hydrating
- Smells nice
- Gives makeup the most natural finish
- Does not break me out

- Feels kind of sticky
- Spray pump is terrible (considering price and brand) and it makes you waste a lot of product

on 9/26/2015 3:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this purely for the spray pump bottle so that I could refill it with my own version of "fix +". I intend to mix my Thayer's Rose Toner with glycerin and water to get the same great "dewy" finish as fix +. I don't really see what the hype is about this product - it's just highly overpriced water with glycerin and some added tea/fruit extracts.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 9/21/2015 11:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I don't know what I was doing with my life before using this. It's so versatile and it feels amazing once applied to the skin. It smells wonderful as well.

on 9/16/2015 8:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Blue

My hyperpigmented rosacea-ridden face needs full coverage makeup (and then some), and my dry, often dehydrated skin really does not agree with heavy foundation. Had issues all my life with my makeup looking too powdery and cakey, but this - no exaggeration - has completely fixed that. I use it as a primer and again as a "fixer", but not a setter (because it isn't a setter). I also use it throughout the day to freshen my skin and make my foundation look a little better. For the first time in my life I'm dewy... This has achieved 100% HG status. The worst applied foundation in the world would look halfway decent after a spritz of this stuff. Wish the locking mechanism was more secure and, of course, I wish it were a little cheaper. That being said I'd pay a hell of a lot more for this if I had to.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

This is OK. I don't get the hype. It's nice and refreshing, and does leave a nice dewy look to the skin to help makeup look more natural, however, I don't notice a huge difference in staying power. It's not something I'd repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 8/25/2015 4:33:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Fix Plus is a great product, in my opinion, if you want to accentuate your highlighter or shimmery eyeshadow even more.

I don't think that it necessarily prolonges the wear of your make-up like some of the setting sprays out there, but it is a good product to saturare the shine. I like to just spritz it twice on top of my cheekbones and there you go - J Lo kind of glow achieved.

So if you're looking for a product to quickly refresh your face if you happened to over powder or perhaps want to make your highlight appear more vibrant - highly recommend it.

Fix Plus is also great for strobing, there is a whole tutorial on it in this blog post below. Hope it helps.!Guide-To-Strobing/cmbz/55d435b70cf23f7ba76f4669

on 8/22/2015 9:50:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I think this takes the award for the best product I have tried this year. It costs $27 Australian dollars and I bought it from Myer.

Firstly I must point out that this is not a setting spray so it will not seal make up and make it last all day. I use this after I finished with foundation, powder, blush and highlighter. I spray it all over my face and it leaves me with a beautiful glow, it gets rid of the powder look and combines all of the makeup. Once dried, I apply my eyeshadow and lipstick. If I want my make up to last I will spray over my face Urban Decay All Nighter.

It is lightly scented which is a big bonus because I am not a fan of over fragranced products. I know I love this as I already want to purchase a back up one when my first bottle is only half way.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

on 8/19/2015 8:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I really adore Fix Plus for a multitude of reasons but after learning MAC STILL tests on animals I don't think I'll be picking up another bottle once I go through this one. It frankly upsets me they do this; it's just not necessary and as an animal lover pisses me off! 👎🏻👎🏻👎🏻
But on to the review...
Fix Plus is a hydrating spray that can be used before makeup to moisturize the skin, after makeup to slightly set the face or take away any cake face, foil eye shadows for a super intense look, and more. I use it on my beauty blender, brushes. All the above! It's fantastic but for heavens sake MAC, QUIT TESTING YOUR PRODUCTS ON ANIMALS!!!! 👎🏻😑

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

on 8/18/2015 8:17:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

As an everyday person, I honestly didn't think I'd ever get that much use out of this product . However, Iv never multi used a product more. I use it under my foundation and primer to hydrate my skin. I use it as a setting spray to give my foundation a natural finish and help it last. I spray my eyeshadow brushes with it to improve eyeshadow pigment and even apply glitter or pigment. Very versatile.

on 8/14/2015 1:10:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I honestly have no use for this product, BUT I have oily skin, so there is no way I would spray this straight into my face ever!! Also, I think it's over priced like why would you pay so much for basically just water? Another thing, many confuse this because this is NOT a setting spray or even a primer spray, it will not increase the longetivity of the foundation, but I do agree with the rest of the reviews it can refresh over powdered cakey face! Also this would be a good product to hydrate really dry skin before & after makeup application. I only got use of this for foiling eyeshadow and spraying my beauty blender to blend out cream contour easier, but other than that this will increase the oiliness on my face if I spray this as a "setting spray".

Popular Face Skincare Products

40 Reviews
Rosehip Seed Oil
Rosehip Seed Oil
110 Reviews
Turmeric Mask
Turmeric Mask
186 Reviews
Rosehip Oil
Rosehip Oil
287 Reviews
Thermal Water
Thermal Water
553 Reviews
Back to Top