Clinique • Clarifying Lotion #4 • Toners

rated 4.0(75 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 lushlife505 on 6/29/2014 5:24:00 PM more reviews by lushlife505

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I had avoided this for years and never gave into the hype( also read dermatologist blogs and they did NOT recommend this).
So I finally figured what the heck might as well. I have extremely oily skin and chose option 4 for oily skin.
:0/ nothing really bad happened other than maybe just a couple extra breakouts but absolutely nothing good happened either. I did not notice it make any improvement to my skin at all nor did it help with the oil. If anything I think if anything I was a more oily.
I had been using neutrogena pore refining which seemed to clear up my skin better than any others I have tried and maybe had a lil improvement as to my oily skin, and marks started to fade.
For the price I would not buy this again, it did nothing. I might as well have just skipped toner all together.
Paulas Choice bha liquid is nice for breakouts and helping with marks. Not fond of her toners either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kiaboo1980 on 3/11/2014 11:19:00 AM more reviews by kiaboo1980

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

So far, so good. I've only been using this exfoliant for about a week, but can already tell it's a good product. I went so many years avoiding this particular product because of all the alcohol it contains. Supposedly, alcohol is terrible for the skin, but after using this I'll have to disagree. It doesn't irritate or dry my skin at all! I even had a laser procedure done on my face and was able to use this a few days later with no stinging/burning whatsoever.

The product has a water-like texture and absorbs into the skin quickly. I know others stated that it has a strong scent, but I didn't notice that. It smells like Witch Hazel; not strong or overpowering at all. To use, I invert the bottle once onto a cotton ball and apply in one, even layer across my face. I apply it like one would a chemical peel instead of a toner. I don't do any rubbing or circular motions because it's not really a toner. It's more like a gentle daily BHA chemical peel. I use it every morning and every other night. So far there has been absolutely no irritation or drying, only smoother skin.

It has only been a week and my skin is already much smoother. I use this in morning with my Vitamin C serum and there is no excessive drying. Before, my skin was EXTREMELY oily, but now it's soft and in balance. I no longer have to blot my face during the day and feel more confident when I wear makeup. In fact, I use the entire 3 step system and they work great together. I'm also using the Liquid Facial soap Mild and Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel. I'm so glad I finally tried these products because they truly are wonderful!

It's important to get the appropriate type for your skin. Before using this I tried the Mild Clarifying Lotion because I was afraid to try #4. The Mild Clarifying Lotion did absolutely nothing for my skin! My skin was still oily and it didn't exfoliate at all. I mention this because Clarifying Lotion #4 is ONLY for extremely oily skin. Don't try to use this product if your skin is dry or combination because you won't get the best results. But once you get the right combination, you'll see great results.

This product definitely gets 5 stars because it controls oil and isn't irritating. If you've been afraid to try this product because of a negative "expert" review, don't be. Just give it a shot and I'm sure you'll be pleasantly surprised.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 willow1992 on 3/4/2014 3:22:00 AM more reviews by willow1992

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I really love this product! It is easily the best toning product I have ever used. My skin is prone to awful acne break outs and cysts, and this has kept the problem at bay. I do recommend using a moisturiser a longside it (oil free) because it does seem that this product could dry the skin quite easily. I use the dramatically different moisturizing gel after I use this product and wow, it goes well. Would definitely urge any one who is desperate for a good product that has acne to try this stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AJ3141 on 11/21/2013 9:25:00 AM more reviews by AJ3141

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I've been using this toner consistently for 2 months now and love it. It smells lightly of witch hazel but the scent goes away very quickly. I use it with a cotton ball twice after cleansing each night to remove any leftover residue and it leaves my face feeling clean and fresh. I believe it helps with my breakouts and oiliness. I love Clinique's minimalist packaging and one bottle lasts months making the price worth it. I plan on repurchasing

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Aquinstar on 10/2/2012 10:04:00 AM more reviews by Aquinstar

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

So, I've been on the hunt for the perfect facial care system. I'm 33 years old with oily prone Hispanic skin. I don't have any wrinkles (yet) but suffer from genetic undereye circles, large pores, and a never ending supply of blackheads on the chin and nose. What I need is a skin care line (and I'm willing to pay the price) that will minimize my pores for a more airbrushed look, get rid of the blackheads, and brighten my sometimes dull complexion. I went ahead and splurged on the 3-step system #4, Wash Away Gel Cleanser plus the Dark Spot Corrector and Pore Refining Solutions Correcting Serum (see my other reviews.) All in all, it set me back about $150.00. I decided to review each part of the system separately because some elements work better than others. The first step was to remove makeup with the Wash Away Gel Cleanser, then use the Liquid Facial Soap, then use this "Clarifying Lotion." I put that in quotes, because don't let anyone fool you, this is NOT a lotion, it is a toner. The rep at Clinique corrected me more than once when I called it that. They are pretty hell bent on advertising it as the exfoliating step. So does it exfoliate? Well, when you put it on a cotton round and rub it on your face, I suppose it should exfoliate. And it does. It doesn't smell like much, and doesn't sting too much, and it gets the residue left over from your face wash and removes any makeup clinging to your pores. I've never really realized the purpose of such toners until I put it with a total skincare system, but for my skin type, it most definitely has its place. My skin is much less greasy, my pores are smaller, and I attribute it to this Clarifying lotion. How do I know this, when I bought the whole giant system? I've moved on to Estee Lauder skincare and bought their Balancing lotion, and it does the same thing. This Clinique Clarifying lotion works as it says, but since I want a skin care system that works all together, and I didn't like certain parts of this one, I would only buy it again if I haven't found my dream system.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Olfactoria on 8/30/2012 3:10:00 PM more reviews by Olfactoria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

Although my skin is oily (still! at 41!) I avoided the #4 clarifying lotion for years, choosing #3 instead because I feared irritating or burning my skin. Clinique has been running ads about their new, reformulated Clarifying Lotions, so I took the plunge and tried #4.


WOW! My skin is amazingly fresh, bright, and clear, even during PMS! The salicylic acid has exfoliating properties that are as good for aging skin as they are for acne-prone skin. The alcohol content does not irritate my skin in the least. I do use this in combination with the Oily Skin formula liquid soap and the DDMG. In winter, I may switch to the #3 or even #2 Clarifying Lotion and the Moisture Surge creme instead; that's what happened last winter. All I can say is, I kind of HATE Clinique for being so mainstream and so wasteful with their packaging, while still producing the best products I've ever used for my face. I'd love to throw my bucks at Dr. Hauschka or Boscia instead, but my skin loves it some Clinique and I can't complain when people are shocked that I'm over 40!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Galenabg on 4/24/2012 7:20:00 AM more reviews by Galenabg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this product. When I use it, my skin become a new vision. It cleans my pores well and make them a little bit smaller.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 youdoyou on 4/23/2012 7:45:00 PM more reviews by youdoyou

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I know supposedly alcohol is terrible for skin, but this astringent is amazing. It makes my skin feel so clean and there is absolutely no residue or sticky feel, like a few of the Neutrogena ones I've tried. I believe this is keeping my skin clearer as well!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lawschoolnerd1 on 4/7/2012 10:06:00 PM more reviews by lawschoolnerd1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I used this toner for years. I stopped using this product about six months ago as my dermatologist told me the alcohol in it can damage skin, which can inhibit collagen production as the skin then has to repair itself. I have not used this product since then and I will not be using this product again. I now use the Clinique Mild Clarifyng Lotion and Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Stress Control 3-in-1 Hydrating Acne Treatment as a BHA exfoliant and my skin looks great without Clarifying Lotion #4. I wish I didn't spend money over the years on a product that damaged my skin. I'll give it a 1 for its salicylic acid content, which is good for skin, but you can get that through products that don't damage your skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ashlaylay on 3/17/2012 12:35:00 AM more reviews by Ashlaylay

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I am a huge Clinique advocate, but this stuff really works! It doesn't dry out, irritate, or burn my skin. It always helps to get off the remaining makeup and residue after washing my face. It leaves my face feeling, clean, fresh, and tingly!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Toners products