Annick Goutal • Eau de Ciel • Fragrances

rated 3.8(56 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* deuxbisous on 10/7/2012 5:58:00 AM more reviews by deuxbisous

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Eau du Ciel is the first Goutal I ever owned and it was definitely love at first sniff. It truly smells like a summer's day to me. Where I grew up there was an old church in a neighbouring village with a row of linden trees outside. When they were in full bloom, in late June, if you caught the scent on the air, it was sweet and gentle and divine. Up close, standing under the trees, it was over-poweringly sweet and cloying. Linden (Tilleul) is one of the key notes in Eau du Ciel and I think it is judged just right. There is this limpid sweetness that hangs in the air but it isn't cloying. The sillage is just exquisite. It reminds a bit of Apres L'Ondee, with the iris and violet, and I wouldn't be surprised if this were an inspiration. But whereas I've always found AL'O to be chilly and a bit old-fashioned, EduC is warm and modern. It is now well over 20 years old but it was ahead of its time in the late 80s and still smells completely current.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 3/4/2012 11:07:00 AM more reviews by tessture

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This went on me green, oily and almost old-style French but missed that with a modern lemon green edge. The wood notes are a subdued background support. Nice first on with a bright Linden green citrus feeling, then softening towards a gorgeous sweet hay note. Later it is a soft velvety green hay with faint clean but not soapy edges. I am really loving this. It IS summer in a bottle!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sdportugal on 2/13/2012 4:01:00 PM more reviews by sdportugal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have been wearing Ciel since it was created 26 yers ago. It smells like summer in a bottle. Summer in the countryside, not the beach. On me, it is all freshly cut grasses and linden (lime blossom). It is innocent and refreshing and not at all sexy. That's OK, I have plenty of sultry fragrances. I generally wear it during the warmer months, but it is also nice on a winter day, when I am feeling as if winter will never end..

When I think about it, I have probably purchased over 50 bottles of Ciel. I go through a lot of it because I use it on my linens and my dogs (I know... I am ridiculous).

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AntFarm on 1/4/2012 5:27:00 PM more reviews by AntFarm

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Incredibly lovely; floral and clean. Reminds me of one of those slow-motion videos of a flower opening. This is actually a little too floral for me though. Lasting power and sillage were much better than most Annick Goutals. If it were more "me", I would buy it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Isolinde on 10/15/2010 2:54:00 AM more reviews by Isolinde

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Like all AG scents, this doesn't last as long a I wish it did. Unlike others, it lasts more than a minute or two. (in the neighborhood of 6 hours, on me)

This is what AG scents shoud be, in my opinion: it lasts long enough to be worth applying, and is strong enough to bother with. If they were all like this, I'd be in trouble, since I'd need enough money to buy them. As it is, Eau de Ciel is the first I've bought.

The name basically says it all for me. It smells like the air right after a spring rain in a humid climate. The notes blend together well enough that I can only smell them when I'm deliberately searching for them.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kensington on 5/3/2010 7:53:00 AM more reviews by kensington

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

watery, unique , truly beautiful, like a beautiful memorable summer rainy day in a devine peaceful garden. Evokes child like memories but its in no way sickly sweet. Strangely sophisticated in a strangely musky way....... one of a kind, devine. Downside is lasting power- isn't great . Sniff it from the bottle and you are instantly transformed somewhere calm, warm and wonderful.
Thankful they make unique perfumes like this ......

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* msm4slm on 2/27/2010 12:56:00 PM more reviews by msm4slm

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is perhaps not such a bad scent so much as it is incompatible with my chemistry.

Unlike many other perfumes, Eau de Ciel opens beautifully delicately. I love Annick Goutal's heavy, classically feminine bottles. What's not to love, right?

Well, within about ten minutes all this delicate freshness turns to insecticide! Very citronella mixed with a touch of hay and dampness.

Do not buy this one on a whim at a department store! Get yourself a sample and test it a few days! Even the smaller bottle is $90 so take your time and make sure it will work for you!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 zebraxing on 5/4/2009 1:01:00 PM more reviews by zebraxing

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Pretty, in a damp sort of way. I'm getting meadow AND dog. Maybe dog in meadow? Satisfied with my decant; I guess 5ml will be enough for a sniff and a smile every now and then, so I will not be investing in a full bottle. 1 extra lippie for said smiles.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fpih on 3/10/2009 3:59:00 PM more reviews by fpih

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

100% citrous for me, low sillage and bad lasting power. Definitely not worth buying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 elsier on 4/14/2008 11:55:00 PM more reviews by elsier

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I can imagine l'eau du ciel as a lightly savory soda pop made with sweet grassy rainwater from an era long gone. A time I can only wish to have known where floral flavorings weren't considered quite as adventurous as they are today.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Annick Goutal products

More Fragrances products