Yves Saint Laurent Rive Gauche

3.8

79 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/25/2015 3:32:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I thought Rive Gauche was d/c'd years ago? I tested it several times in the 70's-80's but never liked it -- esp the container -- a tin can? -- which you can't see through. The scent didn't hook me, but the solid striped metal bottle didn't help. Hmm, have they now brought this back?

Marlo Thomas, in an article I saw years ago, said this had been her signature scent for 30 years -- and then it got discontinued. I was always a fan of Marlo's and was a bit surprised.

Also Carol Burnett -- in the old 80's Carol Burnett Show (w/ Harvey Korman, Vicki Lawrence, Tim Conway) Carol used to turn the lights up and let the audience ask her a few questions. One lady once asked Carol what perfume she wore (or liked?). My ears perked up immediately.

Carol's reaction was a little vague and like she didn't know how to answer. She sort of cast her eyes around a moment, thinking. Then she said, "Oh, I don't know -- Rive Gauche is nice" -- and moved on to another question. I don't think Carol was very into perfume.

My mom wore Rive Gauche sometimes, and she generally liked her perfumes bolder than I did back then. I'm remembering this as being bold. I guess well-heeled ladies in the 70's-80's liked Rive Gauche. Personally, I never did.



on 3/23/2015 2:20:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Well, I'm reviewing this one on behalf of my mom. I don't wear it, but she has, ever since it came out in the seventies! The scent is light and breezy, with a full bouquet. I can't describe it, to me, it smells like my mom! When she sprays it on, everywhere she goes there is this gorgeous scent trail, and she doesn't overspray, mind you. It's kind of a hippy perfume, it embodies The free spirited woman, which my mom is. The bottle is revolutionary too, no classic bottle but a column, with stripes and no sign of a visible perfume. She loves it and I agree with her!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/22/2014 3:19:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Here is something you can do for fun: get samples of Rive Gauche, Ma Griffe (Carven), and Calandre (Paco Rabanne) and smell them all together. (Important safety tip: if there's a thunderstorm going on, make sure you wait until it's over, as having a terrified dog hiding under your desk panting stink-breath at you will in no way enhance your experiment.)

At first spray, Rive Gauche and Ma Griffe both come across with Green and Aldehydes. The difference is that Rive Gauche smells of aldehydes and green rose, whereas Ma Griffe (which, full disclosure, is one of my all-time favorites) smells like green aldehyde powder. At this point there is no comparison to Calandre, because right at the moment of application Calandre smells like soap bubbles. Pleasant, expensive soap bubbles.

But when the three of them dry down they are very VERY similar. Rive Gauche smells like sharp green powder, Ma Griffe smells like round white powder, and Calandre smells like slightly salty powder. Up to you to decide which you prefer.

I know the packaging is considered goundbreaking and very chic, but I personally think it's ugly. Take that for whatever it's worth.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 5/13/2013 1:21:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I never liked this fragrance in the past! I sprayed it recently on a trip to Boots where I often try something that I have never tried before and for some reason this caught my eye. I was pleasantly surprised and will agree with another reviewer that it is what I wish Chanel 5 was. It is fresh and not cloying. Staying power is good and it has retained it's freshness yet at the same time having some depth. It reminds me of a remodelled fur coat, something that has been reincarnated into something better! Yum!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/25/2013 12:53:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

What on earth has L'oreal done to this perfume!
This new formula smells so bad that i gave it away.
Still have some of the older stuff [2 years ago]
which i am rationing out..The YSL brand is DOOMED.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I remember having "Rive Gauche " as a present back in 1994,I was a teen then and having an Yves Saint Laurent perfume was like having dreams come true ..but once I sprayed it I got sooooooooo disappointed , it's a very "artificial " scent ..In fact the bottle itself was a huge disappointment ! a Tin Can ..That's it . No luxury about it at all ...Some reviewers here mentioned , it was the older formula back then , and it has been improved to show its middle tone ..I am glad to hear that but won't look for it again ...I agree it has very "avant -garde " idea to it ..but I like pop -culture in music and films , not in fragrances that I would wear ...


on 11/3/2012 9:41:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Ah the memories; my mom used to wear this a lot in the 80s, she even gave me an empty bottle to play with when I was a little, Barbie crazed kid. So just looking at the bottle makes my heart all warm.
That being said, this is a very strong scent which is indeed very 80s. This may be a good or bad thing, depending on your taste. I am not an 80s person unfortunately. The fashion, the makeup, the music, none of those elements that other people adore seems to do it for me. But if they do it for you, this may be your fragrance.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 11/2/2012 6:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I always loved the name and the bottle of Rive Gauche, but when I tested it for the first time, it was way too sharp and bug spray on me. Then I tested it again, and now it is a beautiful, long lasting super elegant smelling fragrance, what I wanred Chanel 5 to be. Now I think Rive gauche has turned to more wearable fragrance and I am going to purchase it.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/30/2012 2:19:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Abs goregous...this is the perfume that the 'Lilly Marlaine' black velvet rose should smell like...as its the most beautiful rose ever created..& when I smell Rive Gauche this is what I see... I've just got the 100ml reformulated edp ..& its softer more lucious than the one I used to wear back in the 80's this is a reformulation for the better..hurrrah!! the metalic note that used to first dominate this fume has now gone ..for me this is a blessing as....as much as I loved the smell of Rive Gauche on other people... on me I had to get past that annoying metal smell for about a good hour before it started to smell like I wanted it to smell....now it does from start to finish...Love it and on me its the abs dupe to my Amouge Dia for women at 1/4 of the price....

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 7/29/2011 10:25:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I still love this fragrance, although I prefer the original formulation. Still, it evokes classic French chic, understated elegance. Seductive without being obvious, never boring!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1366 Reviews
Si
37 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
341 Reviews
Gucci Guilty
127 Reviews
Light Blue
1411 Reviews


Back to Top