Yves Saint Laurent • Rive Gauche • Fragrances

rated 3.8(76 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Brid1 on 5/13/2013 1:21:00 PM more reviews by Brid1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I never liked this fragrance in the past! I sprayed it recently on a trip to Boots where I often try something that I have never tried before and for some reason this caught my eye. I was pleasantly surprised and will agree with another reviewer that it is what I wish Chanel 5 was. It is fresh and not cloying. Staying power is good and it has retained it's freshness yet at the same time having some depth. It reminds me of a remodelled fur coat, something that has been reincarnated into something better! Yum!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mrgeebee on 1/25/2013 12:53:00 AM more reviews by mrgeebee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

What on earth has L'oreal done to this perfume!
This new formula smells so bad that i gave it away.
Still have some of the older stuff [2 years ago]
which i am rationing out..The YSL brand is DOOMED.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Meshmmesha772000 on 12/30/2012 6:21:00 AM more reviews by Meshmmesha772000

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I remember having "Rive Gauche " as a present back in 1994,I was a teen then and having an Yves Saint Laurent perfume was like having dreams come true ..but once I sprayed it I got sooooooooo disappointed , it's a very "artificial " scent ..In fact the bottle itself was a huge disappointment ! a Tin Can ..That's it . No luxury about it at all ...Some reviewers here mentioned , it was the older formula back then , and it has been improved to show its middle tone ..I am glad to hear that but won't look for it again ...I agree it has very "avant -garde " idea to it ..but I like pop -culture in music and films , not in fragrances that I would wear ...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* danai on 11/3/2012 9:41:00 AM more reviews by danai

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Ah the memories; my mom used to wear this a lot in the 80s, she even gave me an empty bottle to play with when I was a little, Barbie crazed kid. So just looking at the bottle makes my heart all warm.
That being said, this is a very strong scent which is indeed very 80s. This may be a good or bad thing, depending on your taste. I am not an 80s person unfortunately. The fashion, the makeup, the music, none of those elements that other people adore seems to do it for me. But if they do it for you, this may be your fragrance.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* glitteradi on 11/2/2012 6:31:00 PM more reviews by glitteradi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I always loved the name and the bottle of Rive Gauche, but when I tested it for the first time, it was way too sharp and bug spray on me. Then I tested it again, and now it is a beautiful, long lasting super elegant smelling fragrance, what I wanred Chanel 5 to be. Now I think Rive gauche has turned to more wearable fragrance and I am going to purchase it.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 flowerof59 on 1/30/2012 2:19:00 PM more reviews by flowerof59

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Abs goregous...this is the perfume that the 'Lilly Marlaine' black velvet rose should smell like...as its the most beautiful rose ever created..& when I smell Rive Gauche this is what I see... I've just got the 100ml reformulated edp ..& its softer more lucious than the one I used to wear back in the 80's this is a reformulation for the better..hurrrah!! the metalic note that used to first dominate this fume has now gone ..for me this is a blessing as....as much as I loved the smell of Rive Gauche on other people... on me I had to get past that annoying metal smell for about a good hour before it started to smell like I wanted it to smell....now it does from start to finish...Love it and on me its the abs dupe to my Amouge Dia for women at 1/4 of the price....

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Floradanica on 7/29/2011 10:25:00 PM more reviews by Floradanica

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I still love this fragrance, although I prefer the original formulation. Still, it evokes classic French chic, understated elegance. Seductive without being obvious, never boring!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LadyPenelope on 6/3/2011 9:35:00 AM more reviews by LadyPenelope

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I met a guy last night who smelled divine. Turned out he was wearing the women's Rive Gauche without even knowing it was a women's scent.

Just wanted to suggest that the guys out there looking for something different might consider this.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* elfriede on 4/4/2011 11:21:00 PM more reviews by elfriede

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Smelled promising at first--I began to see what Luca Turin meant by "the goddess Diana's bath soap." It does evoke a bar of white, rose-scented soap. Accented by a citrusy bite on top, greens, soft white flowers, synth sandalwood and musk, to my nose. And LOTS of aldehydes--soapy, powdery, very clean. Aldehydes diffuse the other notes like frosted glass. But whereas in Chamade, the other "powdery-white" aldehydic Turin compares this to, the drydown eventually reveals the tender charm of real flowers, woods, orris, vanilla--lovely, true naturals, melting into the skin--this smells synthetic throughout. It smells cheap, like a body spray, and gives me a stuffy nose! Ecch. The composition is very fine, but the execution smells cheap--at least in the current formulation.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rpolisk on 2/14/2011 6:21:00 PM more reviews by rpolisk

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

If Strange Invisible Perfumes didn't already have a scent called Aquarian Roses, I think this would fit YSL's iconic little number perfectly. Of course, Rive Gauche is a perfect name for this beauty, but when I think of it I think of watery roses. Now this is a case where I really believe reformulation was actually a GOOD thing -blasphemy in these parts, I realize. I happen to have lived surrounded by the *real* thing. This was my mom's signature frag in 1970's Paris. I remember the short black and white plaid coat which went along with the look. The fact that TF orchestrated a reformulation where the aldhehydes were lightened and more of the middle notes show up is actually for the better. The edginess/metallic aspect of this scent is still there. There is a faint, watery (NOT ozonic, but more of a transparent feel to this composition reminiscent of looking through an old windowpane where things are blurry and slightly distorted) overlay above a gorgeous bouquet of roses- but this is no wimpy shrinking violet scent.The vetyver and oakmoss of the base are still there. They provide a beautiful backbone to this fragrance which really is as sophisticated, hip, loose, and carefree as the corner of Paris for which it is named. Lovers of dry, sexy rose based scent should run to try this. EDT strength is all you can find is these days, but the lasting power is beautiful.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Yves Saint Laurent products

More Fragrances products