The Body Shop • All-In-One Face Base • Foundations

rated 4.1(162 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 yeAhLavi on 1/29/2015 8:58:00 AM more reviews by yeAhLavi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this one for it evens out my skin tone. My dry skin tend to become oily after lunch but my skin feels smooth for hours after using this one. I love the bulky, hygienic packaging. The reason why I won't buy this again is because it doesn't come with a refill. Making it really pricey! May not be worth a try as your HG foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LeilaXXX on 1/18/2015 12:41:00 PM more reviews by LeilaXXX

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Having searched for approximately 15 years for the perfect foundation, I was hesitant to say I have found the Holy Grail but on my 4th repurchase I'm pretty much convinced this is it. The price point lets this down but the Body Shop almost always have an offer code running, I bought this full price once and felt a bit ripped off. I love the packaging and even the sponge applicator is decent as well as the mirror inside. I use a damp Real Techniques buffing brush to apply initially then touch up with the sponge during the day, usually only around my oilier areas as I find this foundation has good staying power especially when used with setting spray (elf brand is a good one). It blends beautifully and has a good medium coverage - I used to like fuller coverage but now I prefer not to *look* as if I'm wearing much makeup - this foundation covers my blemishes and acne scars while still looking natural, this is what makes it HG for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 eveana on 1/12/2015 1:16:00 AM more reviews by eveana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

like the packaging because we can put the sponge seperately from the pressed powder. I considered putting the sponge on the press powder very unhygenic. BUT, this product causes breakouts :( unlike the all in one bb cream which does not cause breakouts on my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fashionstyledance on 12/28/2014 9:11:00 AM more reviews by fashionstyledance

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This has been a life safer over the past year and I love this product.
I use shade 4 and I have pale skin, the price could be lower but overall a great purchase in THE BODY SHOP !!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AimeeMarieMUA on 12/3/2014 4:54:00 PM more reviews by AimeeMarieMUA

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I was given this by my mom when she ordered the wrong shade on accident, and it happens to be my perfect shade-03- so I took it. I wasn't really sure what to expect from it, because all I knew about it was from what my mom told me but I was pleasantly surprised by it.

You can use this powder wet or dry, which I quite like because I can use it dry over a liquid foundation for some added coverage or by itself when wet when I want a more natural, not so made up look for the day but I still want some coverage. When dry, it has a very light coverage and when wet the coverage is more medium. Usually I don't like the poofs that come with powders, but this one comes with a sponge and I quite like it because it works well to apply the powder wet and dry-it's a pretty dense sponge as well, and it's easy to clean if you're worried about germs and bacteria.

I've been using this powder a lot lately, particularly since my skin is breaking out quite a bit and I want to give my skin a break from the heavier makeup I tend to wear. I find this works pretty well, particularly when wet, because while it doesn't completely cover up my blemishes(which isn't at all what I'm looking for)-it does cover up the redness of them and even out my skintone.

Another thing I really like is that I don't feel like I have to touch it up much. I've never been in the habit of wearing primers under powder when it's all I'm wearing and this really does last me the majority of my long days without it, even though I'm someone that, sadly, tends to sweat quite a bit and gets hot pretty easily. I've only found myself wanting/needing to touch it up once throughout the day(keep in mind, this is when I've been using it wet) which I really like because I'm a full time theatre student and downtime isn't something that I have a lot of.

The packaging is pretty bulky but, as another reviewer mentioned, I do find that it protects the product pretty well.

It is pretty pricy for a powder, but The Body Shop does have store wide/site wide sales fairly often so if you like it or want to try it, I would keep my eye out for those sales and jump on them when you get the chance.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 silurian on 12/1/2014 8:26:00 PM more reviews by silurian

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is a great value foundation. In texture and finish, I find it to be similar to Studiofix (dry, matte) although it doesn't have quite as good coverage or lasting power. There is a great range of natural-looking colours. The coverage is easily buildable to medium, doesn't oxidise but does start to wear off over the course of the day, especially if it's hot. I have extreme combination skin and it works fine on both the oily and dry patches.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Missy on 9/15/2014 8:54:00 AM more reviews by Missy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've been using this for over a year now and have already repurchased once, so I guess it's time for a review! When I first ordered, they were out of the lightest shade, so I ordered the color 035 for my very pale skin. 035 is slightly pink-toned and it matched my skin very well, but I eventually moved onto shade 2 because it's yellow-toned and covers my redness a bit better. There are a lot of great shades to choose from, so that shouldn't be a problem for most people.

The formula is a very dry powder. In my experience, it will NOT stick to dry skin. When I try to apply it without something underneath, it looks chalky and patchy and I feel like I have to apply 500 layers to get ANY coverage. Over a good moisturizer, it's perfect. The coverage is good and buildable. I've found that the best method of application is using a flat-top brush (I use one by e.l.f.). They give you a little sponge withe the compact, but it applies way too much product and makes it more difficult to spread. I also feel that I use much less product when I use a brush.

After applied, it lasts most of the day and remains pretty smooth. It's mostly a matte finish, but it's not "dead" matte. It's almost satin-matte. Be the end of the day, it has definitely worn off some. My skin feels a bit dehydrated and "gritty" when I remove it, but that may just be my skin type. I have oily, dehydrated, acne-prone skin that is prone to both rosacea and eczema ( a winning combo!). I'm positive that powder foundations don't help with the eczema, but I find them to be the most comfortable. This formula also doesn't aggravate any of my skin conditions, so that's a huge plus!

All in all, I would definitely recommend this powder foundation to anyone who wants a quick and easy foundation. TBS has sales constantly, so you can usually get it for a good price.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 leighiaj on 9/13/2014 8:44:00 AM more reviews by leighiaj

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this product, but I'm not sure I would really call it a foundation. It is too sheer to be on its own for me as I like to have a bit more coverage, but it works well as a powder, however, it's too pricey for me to warrant buying it just as a powder.

The packaging protects the powder from breaking so easily (however, I did manage to break it once), but it is bulky.

TL;DR: Very nice, but a little too sheer as a foundation and too pricey as a powder.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 leighmegb on 8/23/2014 1:10:00 PM more reviews by leighmegb

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Great powder foundation. Gives an even complexion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jianing23 on 8/2/2014 11:19:00 PM more reviews by jianing23

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i was disappointed when i got this product and used it because it is so raved on makeupalley

i have oily combo skin, and this was a good powder foundation.
when applied dry it was TERRIBLE. every little patch of dry skin was amplified by like 10000x
places that i didnt even know was dry came out...and it had light coverage

when applied wet, the coverage was probably medium and then it made the dry patches better i guess, not as noticeable

however after a couple of hours, i did start to get very oily around my forehead T zone and my nose area...

expected a lot more out of this product :/

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Foundations products