The Body Shop All-In-One Face Base

4.1

168 reviews

79% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals
The Body Shop is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.

INGREDIENTS

Talc, Dimethicone, Silica, Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Zinc Stearate, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Sclerocarya Birrea (Marula) Oil, Octyldodecyl Lactate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Butylparaben, Methylparaben, Sorbic Acid, Disodium EDTA, Lauryl Alcohol, PCA, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, kitties.


on 9/2/2015 7:47:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I used to use the original All In One Face Base back in the early 2000s (in the old green and gold packaging), and back then it applied thickly and a little chalky (although that could have been my heavy-handed application) so I dismissed this for many years. I think it has been reformulated as it does not have the same overpoweringly herbal fragrance that it used to have.

I bought shade 02 which is perfect for my NC15 skin with neutral-to-yellow undertones. I apply with a brush rather than the sponge, and it applies beautifully matte but luminous. I wear this over concealer on casual days and it really looks like I have naturally good skin.

The packaging is clunky and cumbersome, I much preferred the old flat packaging with the sponge off to the side. But despite the flaws with the packaging, this has quickly become my favorite powder/powder foundation. It is so easy to apply, and because it matches my skin very well there is no obvious line on my jaw. It also does not oxidize or cling to wet patches from my sunscreen.

The Body Shop prices have really increased in recent years, and this is becoming almost too expensive to purchase when there isn’t a sale. I do recommend this but wait until there is a 2 for 1 sale on!



on 8/27/2015 9:36:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I really like this product. I have a lot of redness on my face, so I always get foundation with a warm undertone to cancel out some of the redness. I have light-medium asian skin so I picked out shade 05, but turns out it has pink undertones so it made my face way too pink. I went back and exchanged for shade 045, which isn't lighter by much, but has a warmer undertone and matched me a lot better. Shade 04 would've worked as well, but I think it'll be better for winter.
I tried it both alone and over foundation:

Alone (with damp sponge): Coverage is about medium for me (I have a lot of redness, acne scarring, and random zits) but for less problematic skin this should be perfect coverage. However, I feel like if I use this alone everyday as foundation, I would run out fast. Oil control is average, but doesn't seem to slide off my face. For me, I wouldn't wear this alone.

Over foundation: Also with a damp sponge, I dab it all over my face or just areas I need more coverage. I wear Estee Lauder's Double Wear liquid foundation (which is my HG). I find that the powder sits a lot better over foundation and blends beautifully. I only put a thin layer of my foundation + thin layer of the face base and the coverage is almost full. Oil control is better (blotted my face only twice today). I would definitely start putting this over my normal foundation from now on.

Overall, I like this product and would continue to use it. The only suggestion for TBS is that they should state which shades has pink or warm undertones!

UPDATE: After a while of using it, I started to break out bad (zits on my upper lip, along my laugh line, a few + 1 cystic on my chin, mini red bumps on my forehead, bumpy rash-like zits on my jawline/neck area, and a few on my cheeks)
Maybe it was this foundation (since talc is the main ingredient and it can be pretty bad for acne-prone/sensitive skin) or something else, but I've already returned it. I wished it had worked for me!!


on 5/6/2015 3:02:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

Oh this stuff really not made for me.
I read many positive reviews and bought it when on sale.
It doesn't look cakey, but no oil control. I have to blot my face after few hours, even tho i used it indoor and no sweat at all.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/29/2015 8:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

My all-time favourite to-go-to! I've been using this product for 3 years and I don't think I'll ever go back, I always have to have some on me! It has a bit of a creamy texture but is a powder at the same time. I use it on top of my foundation, but if you don't need a lot of coverage, it would work wonders just on its own too. The coverage it brings is just awesome! It's the only "powder" I would feel comfortable wearing just on its own out in public. Also, the packaging is super nice. It's on the pricier side, and it's worth it by all means!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

been using this product for 3-4 years now. I used to be into bb creams, but now I am into full coverage foundations. I must say, this product works way better on top of bb creams, it sets the bb cream nicely without looking powdery or thick. it gives a perfect bright finish that lasts all day. however, this doesn't work well with ny foundation, probably because my foundation is very drying (acne fighting foundation). Now that ny skin condition is better, I might consider switching back to bb creams and top with this body shop foundation compact. will definitely keep on buying!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/23/2015 8:11:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I'm a fortysomething PPP with broken caps, mild acne, a few lines, sensitive skin, rosacea, and celiac.

This is basically my HG. I've worn this in the heat in the summer in Texas for months, in the winter in Texas, in the summer on a day-long boat ride into the glaciers in Juneau, Alaska (think very, very wet), and in the fall in Aruba (hot and humid). It performs flawlessly in every climate, it looks good over Retin-A and Vitamin C serums. I carry this in a large purse, with other things underneath it, so it hasn't broken, yet. I even carried it in luggage, and it didn't break. It doesn't oxidize and it stays on!!! It's amazing.

If you're celiac--I have an old diagnosis, and I've learned from long experience that I react negatively to both oats and 10ppm or higher gluten in anything. In February of 2015, Body Shop emailed me back within 36 hours and confirmed that this is gluten-free.I've worn it for months, and it doesn't make me sick. ZuZuLuxe's powder foundation in D-4 is the only thing that even comes close--it oxidizes a little and wears off faster, but it's more non-comedogenic. It also costs $22 for a refill. ZuZu Luxe and Body Shop foundations are the only things that I trust not to make me sick, and they are the only two foundations that I have repurchased since I discovered that I needed gluten-free makeup, as well.

One compact of this foundation will last about four months with regular use. When Body Shop has big sales, the price is comparable to higher end drug store makeup. Very, very, very good. HG.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/29/2015 8:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I really like this one for it evens out my skin tone. My dry skin tend to become oily after lunch but my skin feels smooth for hours after using this one. I love the bulky, hygienic packaging. The reason why I won't buy this again is because it doesn't come with a refill. Making it really pricey! May not be worth a try as your HG foundation.


on 1/18/2015 12:41:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

Having searched for approximately 15 years for the perfect foundation, I was hesitant to say I have found the Holy Grail but on my 4th repurchase I'm pretty much convinced this is it. The price point lets this down but the Body Shop almost always have an offer code running, I bought this full price once and felt a bit ripped off. I love the packaging and even the sponge applicator is decent as well as the mirror inside. I use a damp Real Techniques buffing brush to apply initially then touch up with the sponge during the day, usually only around my oilier areas as I find this foundation has good staying power especially when used with setting spray (elf brand is a good one). It blends beautifully and has a good medium coverage - I used to like fuller coverage but now I prefer not to *look* as if I'm wearing much makeup - this foundation covers my blemishes and acne scars while still looking natural, this is what makes it HG for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/12/2015 1:16:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

like the packaging because we can put the sponge seperately from the pressed powder. I considered putting the sponge on the press powder very unhygenic. BUT, this product causes breakouts :( unlike the all in one bb cream which does not cause breakouts on my face.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This has been a life safer over the past year and I love this product.
I use shade 4 and I have pale skin, the price could be lower but overall a great purchase in THE BODY SHOP !!!!


Back to Top