LUSH • soak 'n' float shampoo bar • Shampoo

rated 3.5(84 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 ILoveWatermelons on 11/19/2014 5:05:00 AM more reviews by ILoveWatermelons

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This was my first shampoo from lush and I am really happy with it!! First of all I have an itchy flakey scalp and oily roots, this really helped. Although It did not cure the dandruff completely it reduced the itching and the flacking. The smell is awful but when the bar is wet you barley smell it and it washes out pretty well. Overall the great results from the bar outweigh the bad smell. I love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 becca352 on 11/5/2014 10:43:00 PM more reviews by becca352

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have suffered from an itchy scalp and mild dandruff. I had previously been using Head and Shoulders, but I like the idea of a shampoo bar so I decided to try this one, since it is for dandruff. I have been using it for about a month and it is working great! I haven't had any scalp issues since I have been using it. It leaves my dry hair soft and easy to detangle, and I do not use a conditioner. My only issue is the smell. I don't think it smells all that great. It is a very strong campfire smell, as many others have stated. Every so often I get a whiff of it throughout the day. It isn't strong once my hair is dry, but I can definitely smell it. It gets very strong when I sweat during a workout. I doesn't make my whole bathroom smell, unless I leave the lid off of the tin (purchased separately from Lush - a must have to help the bar last in the shower). I can handle the smell if it works, and it does! I had such great results that I ordered the Seanik shampoo bar to try. It immediately caused my scalp to itch. Once I switched back to this one, I had no issues. I will continue to use it, but I do wish it had a better scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Duckuy on 8/15/2014 7:10:00 PM more reviews by Duckuy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I want to love this product but I can't. The lady at LUSH assured me that it would cure even severe scalp psoriasis (I only have mild) yet it gave me severe psoriasis all over my scalp which I'm very annoyed by. On the positive side, it made a great difference on my oily hair whilst I was using it as it made it stronger and softer. However, I'm forced to go back to the generic psoriasis shampoos in which make my hair oily and lifeless because this shampoo has ruined my scalp.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 EmiTheGreat on 5/14/2014 5:55:00 PM more reviews by EmiTheGreat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

First I Love the Smell of this bar. It's One of my favourite scents from lush. :) reminds me of bonfire and childhood<3

I bought this shampoo only for the scent, but I can understAnd that it is a like-or-hate perfume.But I Love it <3

The shampoo cleanses very Well, my hair is sqeauky cleAn Even After a oil Treatment. It is a Little Bit drying, but if you use conditioner and Not use it Daily it doesn't Tear out the moisture out of your hair.

I personally don't have dandruff but my father had, he tried it and was pleased about the anti-dandruff Effect. I probanly won't repurchase this for myself, only if I Would get dandruff, But it is a good Working Product :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thecoralfang on 2/28/2014 1:14:00 PM more reviews by thecoralfang

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

My fiance has mild psoriasis that he's very self-conscious about, and I'd been looking for an alternative to the chemical-filled, medicated, expensive psoriasis shampoos that we'd been trying for over a year. I'm so glad I found this little gem!

Pros:
-it's discreet. He hated having bottles of shampoo and conditioner in the shower and closet that said PSORIASIS all over in huge letters, and is happy that it's just a little, nondescript bar of shampoo that could conceivably be for any hair type

-It works! His psoriasis is much more managed now, there's hardly any dandruff and his scalp looks much less red/irritated than it did when he was using other skin-calming, anti-flake shampoos

Cons:
-It smells awful, to us, anyway. The smell only lasts while it's wet though; it doesn't seem to linger throughout the day once his hair's dry. We don't feel that it's a big deal though, because other psoriasis shampoos that we've tried smell even worse, PLUS he just uses LUSH's Demon In The Dark soap right after shampooing to cover up the shampoo's scent.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Zelmora on 2/9/2014 5:33:00 AM more reviews by Zelmora

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Well, first off the picture on here looks nothing like the product in real life, thankfully. I am loving the whole solid shampoo bar thing LUSH is doing so as I have the occasional itchy scalp & flake situation I wanted to try this one. Yes it smells, however when you use it and it lathers up the smell is very light and when you're done washing & drying your hair it completely goes away. It solved the itching problem for me instantly, not the flakes, though, you might need to use it very consistently for that. Another thing is when you use it you must massage the product into your scalp very thorougly and let it sit for a bit for it to work more effectively. Even if it's not a miracle worker for everyone I'm sure it does better for you than average drugstore shampoos as it doesn't leave any weird chemical residue on your hair and scalp. I'll keep testing it and probably going to buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Saspants on 9/8/2013 7:45:00 AM more reviews by Saspants

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I purchased this product out of desperation, I needed something to help heal the whelps and blisters left by using Living Proof's Root Lifting Spray.

I was a little scared when reading the reviews, as people stated this shampoo smelled really bad and the picture posted here on MUA looks like a hair ball or something a cat would barf up! Like I said, I was desperate so I went to LUSH and purchased despite my apprehensions. I have to tell you, this product is very underrated and is actually pretty great!

First the smell. Yes, it does smell like a campfire but not obnoxiously so. It has more of a smoky scent that is not too strong and it does rinse out so it doesn't linger in your hair. I really didn't notice the smell lingering in the bathroom like some people claim and I have extremely sensitive sinuses, so if it was bad I would have noticed.

Second, the appearance. This is a solid shampoo bar that lathers extremely well with just 2-3 swipes of the bar directly onto my hair. The soap is all natural and contains seaweed so the pictures shows "hair like" strands that are actually seaweed fibers.

This little bar of shampoo is heaven sent, it is working wonders to help heal the blisters caused by the product referenced above that tore my scalp up in less than 2 weeks of use. The bar also contains lavender oil and I believe chamomile oil as well as marigold which is all very soothing and calming to my scalp. The blisters have actually scabbed over and the inflammation around the blisters is gone so I don't wince every time I run my brush through my hair! The real winning ingredient is the Cade oil contained in this bar, this is what gives it the smoky scent.

I have been applying tea tree oil to the whelps and blisters, which I was doing before this shampoo as well. The combination of the two is definitely helping my scalp to heal, but this shampoo has made a world of difference.

As a side note: since the shampoo is a solid bar, I did purchase one of the little tins to keep it in. Some reviewers talked about the bar getting gummy and gelatinous when left wet in the shower. I keep my bar in the tin and do not leave it in the shower. I also keep the lid off the tin so the shampoo bar can dry overnight after use and then replace the lid in the morning.

I will definitely repurchase and will continue to use even after my scalp heals. It really cleans my scalp and makes it feel refreshed so continued use 2-3 times per month is planned. For right now I am using 2-3 times per week.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 latissia72 on 9/2/2013 9:39:00 PM more reviews by latissia72

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have seborrhea, so I am never searching for the impossible: a cure. It is always about controlling the itch and flake-producing planks. I have been using prescription-strength Selsun for nearly thirty years and hating every minute of it (thick, orange nightmare that cannot be rinsed out completely). I have had forays into other shampoos periodically, but nothing controlled the seborrhea as well as the Selsun. I was more than a little encouraged by the reviews on the LUSH site, so I let myself get excited. I was not disappointed by the shampoo. It is controlling the flare ups fairly well. I find the performance of the shampoo enhanced by using in it tandem with the Superbalm. I'm thrilled to be through with the Rx shampoo.

It does smell like five campfires have been lit in your bathroom, but it is not a bad smell just a strong one (I would not want to smell my favorite fragrance this strong). The fragrance dissipates pretty well from the hair after rinsing, and it leaves the bathroom as soon as you store the shampoo bar once it has dried sufficiently. To really eradicate the smell, use another shampoo after this one. The shampoo bar is genius for travel, and lasts a long time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 icefemme on 7/13/2013 1:19:00 PM more reviews by icefemme

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I kind of oily scalp and dandruff, finally I bought this product but after two weeks of use there is no change, I was very disappointed. and I would not buy this product again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 JustieRu on 5/29/2013 1:53:00 PM more reviews by JustieRu

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Grey    

I have a really flaky scalp for a while. I've tired almost everything on the market to make it better.but nothing has worked.
My sister suggested I go into lush, and ask them for a shampoo,since all of they're products are natural,with no harsh chemicals.
The worker there suggest the 'soak 'n' float' shampoo bar.
For the first time I used, It was great! It seemed like all of the dandruff was gone.
Unfortunately, after using it for two weeks, my scalp got worse than it ever was and I had to switch shampoo's, quite disappointing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Shampoo products