Van Cleef & Arpels • Murmure • Fragrances

rated 4.1(16 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 nudelipsandnails on 6/10/2011 6:50:00 PM more reviews by nudelipsandnails

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

Murmure is another one of my "HG" scents. I adore First but Murmure is more modern to me. It smells fruity and a bit "floriental" to me. I think this is a perfect everyday fragrance for daytime. I love how crisp this perfume smells. This might be my current favorite perfume I own!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* marwaf on 12/5/2010 6:39:00 PM more reviews by marwaf

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely adore sweet, vanilla, musky scents. It's the only kind of scent in a fragrance that I'll wear. This is that, with an elegance about it. I feel it's a sensuous yet sophisticated scent. Very lovely, I feel so regal with it on :) the packaging also lends itself to the air of sophistication & class that the scent has, gives that luxe/opulent feel. Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* olfactorysensation on 1/24/2010 3:59:00 AM more reviews by olfactorysensation

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Murmure smells modern to me, completely contrary to the old-world glamour of Van Cleef & Arpel's more recognised fragrance, First. Like the sound of a murmur it hums quietly but powerfully through its development. Upon first spray there is a strange herbal blast, slightly medicinal and my curiosity is piqued. I canít say that I particularly like the opening, but itís a foreign and intriguing. Very quickly this fades into white. The top notes are listed as Freesia and White Rose, which I donít get a lot of in the opening. The middle notes are Jasmine Sambac Absolute, Orange Blossom, Tuberose, Lily and Cassie Flower.

The Jasmine is most prominent in middle of Murmureís wear. Jasmine Sambac (also known as Arabian Jasmine) is a variation of the Jasmine flower family and is a night-blooming variation. It is headier and more intense than other forms of Jasmine, so be warned that too much Murmure could make your head spin. Jasmine Sambac is also less sweet than other varieties of Jasmine, which is why Murmure doesnít have that sugary or cloying property that other white floral scents can have.

As Murmure fades we smell the base notes Brazilian rosewood, cedar and vanilla. The base is soft, stays close to the skin and has a beautiful warmth. The vanilla is woven nicely with the cedar and rosewood to create a comforting scent without any food-like vanilla connotations.

Overall Murmure is beautifully crafted and softly glamorous. I must also mention the bottle, which I think is stunning and perfectly representative of the scent. The top of the bottle looks very much like a sculptural interpretation of the opening of a lily flower, a strip of gold runs down the bottle and has the name embossed along it. Itís a picture of modern beauty, much life the fragrance itself.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nina_82 on 10/6/2008 6:37:00 AM more reviews by Nina_82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I had a little tester vial of Murmure when it first came out, I was about 19 or 20 I guess. I absolutely loved it, but couldn't afford it at the time and actually forgot about it eventually. Fast forward to about 5 years later, and for some reason I remembered how much I loved it and tracked it down in a little boutique perfume shop. I don't know why, but this scent makes me feel instantly calm when I spray it on. It's also not a fragrance that every other woman out there is going to be wearing, I think it's quite unique. This is probably as close as any perfume will come to being my "signature scent".

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lfrueh on 4/9/2008 12:58:00 PM more reviews by lfrueh

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

No wonder I like this, it has jasmine in it. RIS, I've tried it and like it, but for the general effect I prefer Montale Aoud Blossom, which has jasmine & tuberose but also that aoud twist that makes it special. Sillage only modest on Murmure.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sherrie11 on 1/29/2007 7:35:00 PM more reviews by Sherrie11

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I received a decant of Murmure in a swap. I have noticed that, depending on whatever factors, it smells beautiful on me at times, and at others it smells awful. Very schizo fragrance on my skin, and I'm told that's because of the jasmine, which is very sensitive to body chemistry - diet, etc. When it's being good, it's very, very good, the jasmine on me is sweet and intoxicating, the base is warm and velvety. When it's being bad, it's harsh, loud and unbearable. At the moment, it's being good. It does smell expensive and luxe, and it reminds me somewhat of 24 Faubourg - that type of fragrance. Very potent stuff, but nice if you go for this type of fragrance, what I think of as a grande dame golden floral.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* littlelamb on 8/1/2006 6:26:00 AM more reviews by littlelamb

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Such a pretty floral fragrance! Grown-up girly, feminine, delicate and gentle florals, reminiscent of a care-free walk in an English garden in spring. Gorgeous bottle too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 timbuktu on 3/23/2005 3:18:00 AM more reviews by timbuktu

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is quite nice... rather reminiscent of SL Un Lys in some ways.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AngelZoe on 3/22/2005 7:53:00 PM more reviews by AngelZoe

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I got this on the closeout shelf at Marshall's so I guess it won't be around for long. This is a beautiful perfume, suitable for spring, floral, feminine without being overbearing. It is what Chanel 22 could be if it smelled better. The only thing I do not like is the bottle, as it is hard to use the spray mechanism.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dinazad on 1/6/2005 10:34:00 AM more reviews by dinazad

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

The staying power of this fragrance is close to preternatural. I sprayed a tiny spritz on the back of my hand one morning and a day and a half later (with showers, hairwash, ritual Erno Laszlo splashing among other things in between) I can still smell it, pleasant, unobtrusive and light (a murmur of a scent - a very aptly named perfume!) Not a terribly exciting fragrance but perfect for the office or whenever you want to feel fresh, clean, well-groomed and completely inoffensive. For a very long time.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Van Cleef & Arpels products

More Fragrances products