Unlisted Brand • Frownies • Treatments

rated 4.3(113 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 lagomorph on 1/16/2014 4:07:00 AM more reviews by lagomorph

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I just use Nexcare tape, or the Rite Aid knock off of Nexcare, both work well. I've never tried Frownies but didn't know where to put this review. I make an upside down triangle with several layers of the tape and place it between the eleven lines on my forehead. Smooth the skin a bit before you lay the tape on your skin. It absolutely works for this one area but you have to use it at least every other night to make a difference. Not terribly sexy if have an SO. It also gives you an idea of what Botox would look like if you're considering it.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Sweetpea7r on 1/12/2014 3:07:00 PM more reviews by Sweetpea7r

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I am 42 yrs old with the 11's prevalent between my eyes. (Apparently I like to squint a lot.) I bought the Frownies with high hopes of making my 11's less noticeable, especially after reading the good reviews. Unfortunately. No such luck for me. They did not perform as advertised and I saw very little change in my 11's, at least in my experience with them which is why I only gave a 2. In addition, they did not adhere as tightly as should in order to keep the skin stretched during sleep. I do have oily skin so this may only be a problem for those of us with that skin type. I have started to use first aid tape, stretched between my brows, with better results than I had with the Frownies. Unfortunately, there is no miracle after my squinting for so many years & the 11's do come back, but I actually find the results of the first aid tape to be better than the frownies.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alison_k on 9/3/2013 8:24:00 AM more reviews by alison_k

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I read a review of these from a woman in her late 50's who said that she had no forehead lines because of these. I often wake in the night squinting or furrowing my brow for no apparent reason, so I thought that wearing these while I sleep would be the answer to my fine lines.

They are such a simple product, brown paper triangles with adhesive on one side, that it seems strange to me that it would work. However, when applied correctly, they really do stop the facial muscles moving and thus causing lines to appear over time. I have forehead wrinkles beginning to show, and Frownies really helped them to look softer and be a lot lese noticeable. The 11 lines between my eyes are also mostly gone now, although I have stopped using them for a while due to treating some dark spots on my forehead. I do expect these lines to come back eventually, but so far my skin is smooth.

There are a couple of things that would prevent me from giving these a 5 star review though. Firstly, they are painful to remove. You are supposed to soak them before peeling off gently, but the water won't penetrate every part of the triangle so you end up peeling up the edges gently and then yanking the whole thing off. I wonder whether this will affect the elasticity of the skin over time?

Secondly (and this is just a minor point), you are left with triangular lines from the edges of each Frownie where these have been placed on your face. Yes these do fade within a few minutes to an hour, but are really unsightly.

Finally, the most important drawback for me, wearing thick anti-wrinkle creams or serums underneath affect how these stick. I wear tons of products on my face (and right where I would add a Frownie I have 2 huge age spots meaning I apply additional serums) and adding a Frownie to the top is impossible as the adhesive will not stick for any length of time. The literature in the Frownie box suggest waiting an hour after applying any night cream, but even that isn't long enough. So I have the option of wearing a Frownie and carefully applying a serum around it, or just applying the serum and no Frownie.

So although I think these are great, I am not sure whether they would be a permanent part of my routine. Yes they work to stop the muscles moving, but there are too many downsides for me to consider this product anything other than a once-in-a-while treatment. Unless my age spots vanish in which cast I am stocking back up on Frownies and using them religiously!

I do really recommend these, they are worth a try, and they are also quite cheap.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Thunderblitz on 8/31/2013 9:08:00 AM more reviews by Thunderblitz

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using these for several months between the eyebrows and they really help re-train that corrugator muscle, so that my eyebrows don't pull together. I'm not that old, but when you spent a lot of time concentrating over difficult work for far less compensation that what you deserve, this is what happens. By the way, a good way to judge the intelligence of anyone over 30 is whether their eyebrows have that pulled together look, and/or 11 lines. Your average bimbo, male or female, won't have that (unless the person has had botox). When you reach 50 and don't that have that, that truly means you really haven't thought about much about anything in your life.

I have no problem taking this off in the morning, because most of the time my little rescue cat does it for me. While I'm lying in bed and just opening my eyes, she creeps up to me to greet me, and then with a quick painless nip, the frownie is gone. Easy.

10 out of 19 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Licha on 8/10/2013 6:55:00 AM more reviews by Licha

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using the forehead/between the brows for over 5 years and my very pronounced '11' is gone. Completely. I do use them religiously. Of course there have been the occasional night in the past 5 years that I was not able to or forgot to wear them. At first if I skipped a night, there would be a faint '11' that would appear. But after years of use, not a crease in sight if I skip. I have also noticed during the day I no longer frown in between my brows like I used to when talking, reading, etc... They really do 'train' your facial muscles. The price is very reasonable considering how many you get and that they actually work!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Janetw86 on 4/20/2013 10:31:00 PM more reviews by Janetw86

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I have used these for years. They work but you have to be diligent and use them nightly. For such an inexpensive ' gimmicky' sort of thing, they are amazing. If you use them religiously, they truly can retrain you from using those muscles. I love them ! They have kept me from getting " in between the eye" frown lines so far.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pinkaboolilly on 4/9/2013 8:47:00 AM more reviews by pinkaboolilly

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

when did these get so expensive?? I remember seeing that chick from Thomas crown affair and she said she had been using them for years and they only cost like a dollar a box at the drug store when they asked her how she looked so young still. then they kinda exploded in popularity and went to 20 bucks a box? is that what happened? or did she have the price wrong all along??

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pustekuchen on 4/8/2013 2:36:00 PM more reviews by pustekuchen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Hi, I love Frownies, but I haven't bought them for ages.

I buy a roll of watercolour papertape from the art store. It's about $5 for a huge roll.

It's the same stuff, but you have to cut your own pieces. However, this makes it easier to customize.

When you get near the center of the roll where it's wound tighter, you definitely have to be more careful about only wetting the center. Also, after it dries, I run a nail underneath the edge, which prevents the the cutting problem that many people complain about.

When I use these regularly, it's awesome. Really prevents me from frowning in my sleep.

I also put them on before long drives. I just make sure to peel it off about 10 minutes before arrival. This prevents frowning/squinting while driving.

Love love love this.

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 fabulousjason on 3/31/2013 5:35:00 PM more reviews by fabulousjason

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I have used these for about a week. I bought the corner of mouth/eye area papers. I also bought the eye gels (which you wear for only 30 min a day). I started wearing the paper stickers for the eye and mouth area right away. I noticed that my crows feet were better after only one night of use. The mouth area was better as well, but not quite as dramatic as the eye area. The problem is that they are almost impossible to remove. I have tried using oil, a damp washcloth, and even soaking my face with water. My skin is torn from removing the patches on my delicate eye area. I think that they would be easier to remove in a hot steamy shower, but I work out in the mornings and shower later. They also look ridiculous, and are uncomfortable to sleep in. I am still trying to figure out if the nighttime uglyness and difficulty in removal are worth smoothing out my crows feet. I tried the eye gels (which should have their own catagory) today for the first time. They feel nice, and are soothing, but they don't work for crows feet as well as the stickers (and they are way more expensive).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* anjelykah on 3/18/2013 5:54:00 PM more reviews by anjelykah

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Ladies, do yourselves a favor and try this product!! I came across "frownies" years ago but I read what it claimed to do and thought, it's just another gimmick! I went to Pharmaca to pick up sunscreen and this was displayed right next to it. (Yes, a major cause of wrinkles is sun damage, so get you spf on!!) For a second time, I left the store without it. I could not stop thinking about it though and I went back to purchase it later that day. I am soooooo glad that I did!

WHY IT WORKS: Since my early 20's I have had wrinkles between my eyes which make me look mad, as the years have gone by, they have become more pronounced and very noticeable. I have tried Botox a few times in my 30's and I was pleased. Botox uses a neurotoxin to temporarily paralyze the muscles around the wrinkles. Botulinum, as the toxin is called, wears off in about 3-6 months but it is believed that it has extended benefits because it "retrains" the muscles not to contract. Repeated use throughout the years will make this "retraining" more apparent. But boy is it expensive!! Enter the Frownie product as it works similarly in principle but differently in its delivery. Frownies immobilize the area by physically not allowing the muscles to contract and form the wrinkle. When it is properly placed, it should be difficult to frown. Extended use of Frownie retrains muscles not to contract so easily.

HOW TO USE: The Frownie is made of kraft paper and a "sticky" glue on the other. Think of a biore strip except that this is light brown in color. I wash and dry my face, then I moisten the shiny side with a few droplets of water. With my left hand, I place my index finger and thumb together in a pinching motion on top of the wrinkle, then slowly and gently separate my thumb and finger, slightly pulling at the skin and smoothing out the wrinkle. I take the already moistened Frownie with my right hand and place is over the wrinkle and hold for about 3 seconds. I leave it on overnight.

I would like to address the complaints of the people that rated this product so poorly: 1. Use it correctly, 2. Use it consistently, 3. Be patient, 4. Have realistic expectations.

Some things to keep in mind... applying too much water will make it slide off. Too little water will not let it securely adhere it to the skin. To remove it, just peel it off. If it tugs at your skin, simply splash the area with plenty of water to saturate the Frownie and it will slide right off. Also, please don't do it for a night or two and give up, use it nightly for at least 7 days and you will start seeing a softening in the depth of the wrinkles when you take it off. This tightening is temporary and will wear off in a couple of hours but it is a good indication that it is working. Those dreaded "11" wrinkles have been 33 years in the making for me, and I certainly don't expect any product to remove wrinkles completely or overnight.

Having said that, this totally helps minimize the appearance of my forehead wrinkles and I am looking forward to seeing how this continues to help me in the future. After just one use, I was hooked, its been 3 weeks and I am continually pleased with the results so far. You get 144 Frownie triangles for $14.99, depending how many you use per night, this can last several months.

Is this the end all of all wrinkle products? Probably not. Wrinkles are not cute but wearing a piece of paper on your forehead does not up your sexy factor either! I wear bangs so it helps to camouflage it. (my bf does not mind it though) :) However, Frownies are not uncomfortable, they don't hurt, are not evasive, do not contain any harmful chemicals, are decently priced and IT WORKS!!! What else can I ask for?? Do yourselves a favor and try it out. I suggest purchasing at a drugstore that has a good return policy (I've seen them at Walgreens and CVS now). If after several weeks you do not feel that this is starting to work, simply return it for a full refund.

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Treatments products