Revlon • Colorstay Moisture Stain • Lip Gloss

rated 3.7(27 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kaxel on 9/28/2014 7:08:00 PM more reviews by kaxel

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I was looking for a purply-berry color lipstick to wear with a particular dress for a wedding. I didn't want to spend a lot as I don't normally wear that shade. Somehow happened upon this in Parisian Passion. This is a great product! It goes on kind of liquid-gel-y, but then becomes a nice glossy color that leaves a fairly lasting stain. Unlike most stains I've tried, it doesn't fade in a weird patchy way or dry your lips--this actually keeps moisturizing for a long time. I have pale, colorless lips and on me, Parisian Passion is a slightly darker version of Clinique Almost Honey. Love this! I am going to see if there are any other colors I like. At $6.49 at Target you can't beat this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 calificus on 9/22/2014 5:26:00 PM more reviews by calificus

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product in two shades, LA Exclusive and Shanghai Sizzle. The colours themselves are really nice, they're vibrant/bold/shiny - everything that you would want in this type of lip product. What put me off was the consistency, they felt really cold and slimy to apply and the smell reminded me of play-doh. Also, I really don't get how they can be called a lipstain as they definitely did not last on me, it wore off to basically nothing, more like a basic lipgloss to me. I won't be buying this again as I much prefer the Revlon ColourBurst Laqcuer/Matte balms which for me, do a better job.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 luckyhipo on 9/21/2014 7:07:00 AM more reviews by luckyhipo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Very nice product. I feel this is an exact dupe for the Dior Liquid Lipsticks. I got the Dior liquid lipsticks first and love them. Then got the Revlon Colorstay Moisture Stain and found they are both very similar, does same thing at much lower price! LOVE!
This product does actually keep my lips moisturised, where as the Dior dries out my lips after one or two hours.
The darker colours have better staining power, then the lighter shades. The staining effect is better compared to the Revlon kissable staining pen - they don't set into the lines (on my lips).
Would definitely go back to get more colours and would repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TBonita on 9/14/2014 11:09:00 AM more reviews by TBonita

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Love these! Got one in LA exclusive which is a cool toned medium pink when built up (more of a bubble gummy viva glam gaga-esque with one layer). I then got Shanghai sizzle, a beautiful sheer red and Barcelona nights, a sheer hot fuchsia. What I love about these is that they're really a very pigmented long wearing gloss that isn't sticky at all! They look on the lip like a really colored gloss like a bobbi gloss but they wear forever! And I'd always equated sticky with long wearing but these debunk that myth. Packaging is a cool square tube that's easy to find amongst my 100 lipsticks in my purse haha. Just apply the darker colors carefully because it's kind of easy to mess up once applied, then they set perfectly and you can rub your lips together and stuff. These are such not the typical stain that dries out weird and patchy. I don't see how anyone cannot like this product. Oh except for the taste, it's gross and chemical but I can put up with it for the product! I didn't get a nude since I have so many nudes but I may have to in this formula. BTW I normally hate everything drugstore except a few select things, these included. Have not seen a similar HE equivalent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anormansyah on 9/4/2014 11:10:00 AM more reviews by anormansyah

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Seems like the Cannes Crush color is quite popular down here.

Ive got one in Cannes Crush and Shanghai recently. Beautiful saturated color, glossy, not sticky and moisturizing. Love them.

The color is quite sheer and I think this is a dupe from the YSL stain.

I would definitely buy this product again, and Boots England currently offer buy 2 for 10 of any Revlon products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 justmee619 on 9/1/2014 9:54:00 PM more reviews by justmee619

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product! I have it in the shade Cannes Crush (btw, how do you pronounce Cannes?) and I've gotten many compliments while wearing this. Cannes Crush is a bright coral color.

I normally do not like lip glosses because I find them too slimey, but on the other hand, I don't like lipsticks either because they tend to dry my lips quickly (even with lip balm). I've been looking for a lip product that could give me the best of both, and I might have found it in these moisture stains. This product really does keep my lips moisturized and stains really nicely. The texture is somewhat gel-like. I do wish there was a bigger variety of shades, but I guess 12 (I think it's 12) shades aren't too little.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Itai on 8/31/2014 9:09:00 AM more reviews by Itai

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really love theses glosses. They are really moisturizing and are really pigmented. I have nothing bad to say!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 8/25/2014 1:25:00 AM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Somehow these were on clearance at CVS near me for 75% off and they just came out a month prior. I am not complaining by ANY means lol, I just got concerned that maybe they were already a flop and were dcing them.

I haven't seen them clearanced anywhere else though and not even at this CVS now. Either way, I was able to pick up India Intrigue (hot rose pink color), Miami fever (bright coral red), & L.A. Exclusive (bubblegum pink). I love them all and they all wear great on my lips.

They feel like a gloss, but they are different. It's like a gel texture that is very comfortable and doesn't feel sticky AT ALL. My lips stay moist for hours, its not a joke. The color is very bright and it does stain for a few hours. I would HIGHLY recommend these and am looking to grab the rest.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* heathermrm on 8/17/2014 2:15:00 PM more reviews by heathermrm

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE these!! If you have read any of my other reviews, you may be aware I only wear items that are long lasting and/or waterproof. I have no interest in primping (or worrying about primping) throughout the day - I want what I put on my face at 6:00 am to be there when I come home at night (6:00 pm). Also, I tend to stay away from HE items, preferring to find ds dupes or similar, being kinder to my pocketbook.


So w/ that in mind, I have basically given up on lip glosses because as much as I like their appearance, they disappear way too quickly for my tastes.


Enter Revlon Colorstay Moisture Stain. I have had good luck w/ many Revlon products over the years (MU and hair), I have always had good luck w/ most stuff in the ColorStay line and the word "stain" implied long wear, so I purchased one - Parisian Passion 005 = lovely plummy color. To my surprise, its not sticky, has a cool/tingly sensation upon application, no streaking/nice even color, the stain that remains once the gloss has departed lasts several hours on me. There is some transfer onto things like coffee mugs, but I can get all the way to lunch w/out having to re-apply.


I liked this so much, I purchased a 2nd color India Intrigue 001 which I find to be a dark vivid kinda Barbie pink goes on a bit streaky which was not an issue w/ PP, but is resolved when mushing ones lips together to spread out the product more evenly. Not sure if this will be and issue w/ other colors as I only have these 2.


I likey likey and depending on if I find any other colors that strike my fancy, will re-purchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mijal10 on 8/1/2014 5:19:00 PM more reviews by mijal10

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I'm obsessed with this product!! I have it in the shade Cannes Crush and I've gotten SO many compliments on it. The staying power is great for a stain, although not as great as a long-staying lipstick. I love the texture too, it's like a gel.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Lip Gloss products