Purpose • Dual Treatment Moisture Lotion with spf 15 • Moisturizers

rated 3.5(156 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 dancedarlyndance on 1/9/2014 9:11:00 PM more reviews by dancedarlyndance

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

It did provide my skin with a good amount of moisture without breaking me out. I reall wanted to like this product because it was oil free and non-comedogenic. However, I noticed that it doesn't absorb well on the skin and made my skin look greasy through out the day. You have to reapply every 2 hours so this can't be worn under makeup and the SPF isn't at least 20 which is generally the SPF required for facial sunscreen to be effective. Will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 8ar8ie on 9/17/2013 3:28:00 PM more reviews by 8ar8ie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been a long time Purpose Dual Treatment Moisture Lotion user. Since I was 16 to be exact. My skin would get small bumps, like clogged pores and I never understood why. I started researching "non-comedogenic" and found out the truth about ingredients listed in non-comedogenic items.

Purpose's ingredients has changed. Before, it used to contain octyl palmitate, which was rated a 4 (5 being the highest for pore clogging). Now, when I checked the ingredients, there's nothing pore clogging about this lotion. They have taken out octyl palmitate. Yay!

So....yes, I would buy this over...and over again. This is a true non-comedogenic lotion.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 thisisnotkathy on 3/14/2013 3:38:00 PM more reviews by thisisnotkathy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have used this purpose moisturizer faithfully for several years. I like the simple pump instead of a flip-cap and the light moisturization that is always perfectly absorbed. I still notice some shine later in the day, but no product has ever made that go away and it's not too noticeable. Most of all, I love that it doesn't make my skin break out. Basically, it is an easy to find, under $10 moisturizer that just moisturizes.

Some time ago though, I noticed that my eyes were starting to get irritated. I didn't make the connection because it did not happen immediately but progressed as the day went on. They would burn and sting, and tears would well up. I went to the eye doc and now wear glasses at work because of a mild astigmatism but it continued. I started trying different allergy meds but that didn't seem to make a difference. I stopped wearing mascara. Finally I was on track to see a doc about some allergy testing for whatever obscure thing I was clearly allergic to, when on a whim I switched to using my nighttime moisturizer regularly during the day. Immediately my eye irritation ceased. Not cool, J&J. Now I have to find a new moisturizer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 heartmyskin on 1/9/2013 5:34:00 PM more reviews by heartmyskin

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Doesn't make my sensitive skin sting it turn red. It's a bit heavy, so it's not my favorite moisturizer. The pump is handy and great at preventing contamination. (putting germs in the lotion) Which can be harmful to skin. The pump clicks close so it's convenient for travel. I mostly use this as a back up when I want to give my skin a break of retinols; in the summer months when lotion just melts off, so that I don't waste my pricier stuff; and mostly for my teen daughter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Mom2Free on 1/9/2013 5:11:00 PM more reviews by Mom2Free

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am reviewing based on a sample.

This moisturizer has a heavy suncreeen smell to it. I could get past that, but this moisturizer also made my skin tingle. I don't know exactly how to describe it... an uncomfortable chemically tingle? And my skin is not even sensitive.
Once absorbed, my skin was soft and smooth, but it still felt weird and cold.

I will not purchase the full size.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lockandload on 9/29/2012 10:06:00 PM more reviews by lockandload

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I have pretty dry but extremely sensitive skin. This is my definitely favorite moisturizer because of how gentle it is and how well it distributes moisture to quickly be absorbed by your skin. I always knew neutrogina was a amazing skin company, buy when I used their moisturizer, my skin completely freaked out in reaction and burning. This lotion was my savior. I highly suggest you put this on before bed after washing your face, this is what I do everryyy night. the next morning, your face will feel like baby skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Mooncastyre on 6/9/2012 6:16:00 AM more reviews by Mooncastyre

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

My skin is oily and prone to breakouts. My dermatologist put me on this product when I was in high school to clear up my complexion and it worked beautifully. That was 20 years ago, and it's all I've used since.

This product provides lightweight moisture, yet half a pump is all I need for a daily application, so it lasts for months. It goes on even and smooth. And the SPF helps keep the sun from damaging my fair skin.

That said, I'm now older and wiser, and am concerned about the ingredients in the products I use every day. I was disappointed to realize that my beloved moisturizer contained parabens and a nasty chemical sunscreen called oxybenzone. I'm at a point in my life where I'd like to eliminate paraben and formaldehyde preservatives, and replace chemical sunscreens with physical (zinc oxide/titanium dioxide). When I contacted Johnson & Johnson about my concerns, I received a somewhat off-putting form letter that simply stated their company complies with all government product regulations. For that reason alone, I can't give this product 5 lippies. However, until I find a suitable replacement with healthier ingredients that doesn't break me out (which I have yet to discover), I will continue to use it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 crmalesa on 5/5/2012 11:00:00 PM more reviews by crmalesa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Run like hell from this moisturizer. I ADORED this in high school, so recently I decided to try it again. At first I liked it, because the formula does not make me break out and it has a light texture that absorbs easily. Then....I started noticing that my face would burn and sting after I washed it then applied this. I literally had to fan my face to get it to cool down. Then...every morning driving to work my eyes started to burn and STING like hell on fire. They would sting so bad and tears would come pouring out. First, I thought it was my contacts, so I started wearing my glasses. Then, I thought it was my mascara. Then I assumed it was allergies....no. When I got on here and read that other women had been burned by this product, I was shocked. This stuff burns your eyes like hell. Apparently Purpose has changed the formula. Well, the new formula sucks the big one. I can't believe this company would put out a product that so obviously causes so many people irritation. I'm chucking this immediately. If you want to avoid going to the eye doctor, do not buy this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 smatte77 on 3/28/2012 12:17:00 PM more reviews by smatte77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

I actually like this stuff. It's non-comodegnic and very light weight. It's also oil-free so it's perfect under my MAC F&B foundation. It does have the sunscreen scent that many have mentioned but it goes away after a bit. Thus far I haven't broken out from it. If I continue w/no issues, I'll buy again.
EDIT* for those of you that say it leaves you greasy, try this...instead of putting it on your dry face, try dampening your face and then putting this on, allowing your skin to absorb the water along with the lotion. Works like a charm!
I won't be using anymore, because I've decided to switch to something with a little more added benefits to it...but for a basic daily moisturize this is fine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KeyWestBum on 11/21/2011 12:08:00 PM more reviews by KeyWestBum

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for an oil-free moisturizer and Purpose seemed to be the perfect pick. First of all, the scent and feel is just like sunscreen. It feels a bit greasy however it doesn't cure my flaky areas. In fact, I believe it's actually making my skin drier. I can peel chunks of dry skin off and this began as soon as I started this lotion. What is the sense of putting on moisturizer if it isn't moisturizing? My skin just felt gross with this on. This is NOT worth $9.99 and I will be returining it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Purpose products

More Moisturizers products