Gres • Cabaret • Fragrances

rated 3.7(75 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Aimbl on 9/19/2014 2:37:00 PM more reviews by Aimbl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

A total, very positive surprise! A bargain priced (28 usd for 50 ml, free shipping) modern rose chypre (patchouli, incense, sandalwood, musk, pepper) that doesn't smell cheap and seems completely completely utterly unisex without overdosing incense, wood, smoke etc, to tone down the rose.

It doesn't smell synthetic, like some modern fragrances that overdose on clean patchouli or white musk. It also doesn't raise any issues for me on the opposite end of the spectrum - overly rooty, green or dirty or cumin/body odor costus root issues. Not as much of a powerhouse as POAL; therefore I don't mind spraying this (I prefer dabbing scent usually). I can also layer it with other scents without offending those around me.

The bottle is ugly enough to be an object of mild curiosity. The price is so fantastic that I am kind of rationalizing my niche bottle prices in this category by saying to myself, well if I averaged the price of the expensive rose category purchases (Une Rose, Nahema extrait, l'arte di gucci EdP, parfum sacre extrait, nuit de noel vintage extrait) with this one, ungaro Diva splash EdP and Tea Rose, My average price per ml is cheaper that some department store fragrances. . . .

I have so much perfume, and rose is not my main category of choice, that I personally don't need more than this bottle. But, if you buy it and then use it enough, I think it's worth a back up bottle purchase, especially with reformulation issues. The glass of my bottle is both red and clear, but the red is not as prominent as the original bottle. The box has some of the gold harlequin detail points like the spikes of a crown and the gold spikes go midway up the box. Fragrance list is short, SD-Alcohol, parfum, water. So, I believe this version is not the current reformulation :)

Edit: This summer, I originally compared cabaret with POAL and with Perles de lalique, a patchouli rose that has a lot of cedar, vetiver, wood and smoke. Now that the weather has cooled, Cabaret seems to be a POAL lite alternative. In cooler weather, the Perles appears to have a fruitier rose and is more expressive of pepper and smoke than it is of wood accords.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rosbergs3 on 8/30/2013 5:32:00 AM more reviews by rosbergs3

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Masculine meets feminine...light meets dark...cashmere meets biker leather...jagged meets smooth....All polar opposites of each other but match this fragrance perfectly I think. Caberet is a rose/patchouli scent and may not be for all wearers of fragrance. It has rough edges and jumps out at you. It demands attention. Even the tall bottle says "look at me"...."I dare you to wear me". It goes on strong in a nice, fine mist and stays strong and fine throughout the duration of the scent. Caberet is not for the meek or the introverted. Buy Caberet if you dare.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zeynepd on 6/11/2013 3:10:00 PM more reviews by zeynepd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Very stylish yet affordable light fragrance with fantastic leather undertones - you would guess that from the uber charismatic bottle, wouldn't you:)

Cabaret is actually rose+patch combination by Michel Almairac, who also created Bond No.9's Bryant Park, again a rose and patch combo with slightly screechy, nervy raspberries sitting on top. Contrary to what rose and patch might suggest, Cabaret is pretty light, smooth and sheer on my skin with an emphasis on darkish but very wearable leather notes. This isn't a soft, suedey leather warmed and rounded with spice. Instead it makes me think of black leather gloves, expensive wallets or shoes or all those leather things that are slightly perfumey. Instead of a French cabaret, it makes me think of sleek Italian style. The rose is not heavy or powdery; it's like a dried rose. Altogether this is a rather elegant fragrance that I like wearing to work from time to time. I just wish the leather lasted a bit longer.

Low sillage and lasting power, but very affordable. 3.5

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* highrise on 1/30/2013 11:10:00 AM more reviews by highrise

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

As a lover of rose-chypres this was an obvious one, but it lingered on my 'someday' list for years. I finally threw it in with another order, and it's a solid like. The structure is lovely, and there is a pleasant, spiky green-woodiness within the blurred rose and patchouli. It has a soft persistence, similar to Prada Infusion d'Iris, which seems to fade but then magically reappear throughout the day. It's a little too ephemeral for me - I like a little more flesh and oomph in this category - but still, very nice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* takemyhusbandplz on 7/1/2012 8:22:00 PM more reviews by takemyhusbandplz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

On my skin I get woody rose, gorgeous smoky incense and musk. It smells of mystery and it's sexy in its own right.

I can picture this worn in a smoky moulin rouge type of atmosphere.

I like this one. It has great sillage and it lasts a very long time on the skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DecoDolly on 5/15/2012 7:19:00 PM more reviews by DecoDolly

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I once saw this described as something like "dried roses and leather", which is very accurate. It's a dark, sort of dusty scent, but in a good way! I often layer this with a lighter rose scent, just to liven it up a bit, but I enjoy it both on it's own and layered. I found it online pretty cheap.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ginamused on 5/23/2011 8:49:00 PM more reviews by ginamused

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I purchased Cabaret unsniffed after reading a reviews calling it "the poor woman's Lyric". I was pleasantly surprised by this fragrance. It was the spicy rose that called to mind Lyric, but also the top notes were sheer salty JCE-esque loveliness. My thought when that salty topnote hit was, "This is Eau de Mervielles rosy-cheeked sister.". I see this becoming a staple in my 100+bottle collection.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cocorocha on 4/14/2010 5:14:00 AM more reviews by cocorocha

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    



Now, this is a veeery pleasant surprise for me....
After testing a few Gres perfume including the harsh-ones like Cabochard (hated it,not for me), Cabotine (hated it also,aldehydes that made me sick), Cabotine Rose (good), I've stumbled on one small sample of Cabaret, not expecting anything special...
and then I tried it...
this is very sophisticated rose....rose with patchouly,lily of the valley,amber,sandal...oh how delightful!!It is a very feminine chypre scent that reminded me of Voleur de Roses, minus the very offensive patchouly part (to my nose that is)..
Gres Cabaret is seductive,woody-rosy chypre almost too god to be worn just so...intensivity is beyond good...staying power is fantastic, as it develops on my skin,never getting overboard, never being too strong or offensive to anyone..
it suits all kinds of women, not an ''old lady'' scent as some like to say...
romantic,light and very pleasant to wear..
it is a winner for me and I'll be using it generously,especialy in my office...fresh and vibrant..
if you like roses and chypre category (also if you like Diva,P.Picasso,Boucheron,Jil Sander No 4), you won't regret trying this one...

a good,good perfume!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mai1978 on 3/24/2010 5:25:00 PM more reviews by mai1978

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The bottle I bought doesn't have all of the red coloring it should have. This makes me sad because I think it looks fantastic. The smell is beautiful after the first few minutes. I love to spray this on my night gown. It is not too strong, so I spray it five times. The flowers in this are very mild and well blended. It's really a skin scent. You do have to wait a few minutes after spraying because there is a note there that needs to settle down a bit. Maybe this is why it was discontinued. People gave it that first spray and didn't like that note.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 debrsl on 9/23/2009 9:42:00 AM more reviews by debrsl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Classical French perfumery. A rose fragrance where the makes a beautiful, but brief appearance at the beginning and then is pretty much gone. The Scented Salamander (mimifroufrou.com, IIRC) has a great review on it, which I believe is very accurate to what I'm smelling. She says it's a chypre. It doesn't go through noticeable changes on my skin, however. It's either more smooth or linear than that, and I'm not sure which. I am sure, however, that this is a great sophisticated fragrance, and I've love to own a bottle of it. It is something I would wear with an expensive necklace. Notes (from Scented Salamander): rose, peony, muguet, pink bay. Heart notes are: violet, blue orris, incense, wood. Base notes are: patchouli, Indian sandalwood, amber, musk.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Gres products

More Fragrances products