L'Oreal Advance Haircare Volume Filler Thickening Conditioner

4.3

27 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Cetearyl Alcohol, Behentrimonium Chloride, Aminopropyl Triethoxysilane, Starch Acetate, Fragrance, Cetyl Esters, Isopropyl Alcohol, Lactic Acid, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Linalool, Limonene, Chlorhexidine Digluconate, Citronellol, Geraniol, F.I.L. D159388/3


on 3/9/2015 1:48:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I bought this conditioner based on the positive reviews, so I feel kind of bad that I'm going to bring the rating down with mine. Unfortunately, I just didn't find one good thing about this conditioner. It was extremely runny and thin, and it didn't seem to detangle my hair very well. The worst part, though, had to be the fragrance, which reminded me of rotting fruit. I really couldn't get past the smell, and that was what ultimately made me decide to throw it away about halfway through the bottle. It cost me about $3.50, so I wasn't that upset about the loss.



on 3/4/2015 12:34:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I needed something to volumize my flat and lifeless hair, and this does it.. sometimes. ;P The first few times I used it, I noticed that my scalp was kinda itchy, so I was thought "oh great, this is going to volumize my hair by drying it out," so I was going to discontinue using it. However, after a few days, the itchiness went away, and my hair looked and felt thicker, and there was considerable volume at the roots. Seriously, I looked like I had Victoria's-Secret-bombshell-babe-walking-down-the-runway hair. Unfortunately, this only lasted for about 2 weeks. I don't know if my hair got used to the conditioner or if it coated my hair, but I began to notice my hair becoming flat again. Not as limp as before, but not as voluminous and thick-looking as in the first 2 weeks of use. In order to rectify this problem, I don't use this conditioner every day; I'll take a break every few days by either using a different conditioner or not using conditioner at all, and I think this method is helping. When I do use this conditioner, my hair looks puffy and a bit thicker. What I absolutely LOVE about this product is the smell - it's more flowery than fruity but it's not cloying; it's definitely fresh and clean-smelling. Also, this conditioner is pretty affordable. I got the 12.6 fl oz bottle for $2 (on sale for $4 with a $2 off coupon), and it's available anywhere (Target, CVS, etc.). I'll keep using this until I get bored or there's another affordable product out there that volumizes, smells great, and makes my hair look thicker.


on 2/25/2015 3:38:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Silver, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Disappointed after reading the good reviews. I have long, fine hair and was hoping for a little boost but it really did nothing for my hair in terms of volume. It was, however, great at creating static in my hair. It does smell nice and make my hair easy to comb right out of the shower but that was about it. Will not repurchase.


on 1/20/2015 1:54:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Silver, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I don't like this as much as the shampoo. It made my hair frizzy after I blow dried and the ends dry. It did volumized and I'm happy with that part, but I still have to add an anti-frizz product. I use Suave's Smoothing Anti-frizz. I like the fact that it de-tangled my hair in the shower, smells nice and now I only use it about two times a week and mixing it with a moisturizing conditioner to combat the frizzies. I don't use much and this bottle will last me months. Won't buy again.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this conditioner based in the reviews at MA. I'm shocked it got such high ratings! I have fine shoulder length hair. This did add thickness to my hair and my hair was easy to comb when wet. But it left it with a lot of static and build up after the second use. I'll use it once in a while till gone but will not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/18/2014 9:20:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is a product that truly lives up to its name! I love it!! This works wonders for my fine, limp, wavy hair...Smells great too and conditions well and really adds volume!


on 10/26/2014 11:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is a terrific conditioner. I'm really happy that I bought it- I tend to use it on the days I blow dry so I can milk it for the volume that it gives me. On days when I don't blow dry, it gives me the softest, most frizz-free hair. I'm in love. I am currently using it with Redken's Cleansing Cream Shampoo and that's been a very successful combination for me.


on 10/18/2014 3:46:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Another rave! Thanks so much to previous reviewers for bringing this to my attention.

I never thought of myself as having fine or thinning hair until I walked into my favorite salon and the sales associate immediately asked me if I'd tried their line for thinning hair. Now, maybe I'm being over-sensitive here, but I was kind of shocked. It would've been different if I'd actually asked about ways to make my hair fuller, but I digress.

Since then, I've become a bit obsessive about trying to make my hair look thicker. Of the handful of products I've tried, this is not only the cheapest, but by far the most effective. I could see a difference the first time I used it, and on days that I use a different conditioner for whatever reason, I can see that my hair is not quite as full.

Also is great at moisturizing without making my hair feel coated. Until/unless I can improve my hair through diet or supplements, I will absolutely keep using this!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/15/2014 10:29:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

In a word: AMAZING! I've been part of MUA for years and I have reviewed a bunch of products (including several hair products) and I can say with absolute confidence that this in one of the best conditioners I've ever used. If you read the other reviews for this conditioner, you'll notice that ladies with fine, thin, damaged hair (most likely blondes) love this stuff. I fit that description and you can add me to the list. I'm not sure what magical ingredient is added to this formula to give new life to lifeless hair, without weighing it down, but it's nothing short of transformative. As another reviewer stated, it gives you "bouncin' and behavin' hair!" Yeah...I'm old enough to get the reference. :) I haven't used the shampoo, just the conditioner. A little goes a long way and leaves your hair feeling light & tangle-free. The real magic occurs after you blow dry and see how gorgeous and swingy your hair looks -- no weird feeling to it, no dry ends, just unbelievably pretty hair! Bonus: I use a curling iron to add a few soft waves to my stick straight hair and add a bit of volume -- using this conditioner results in the loveliest, most long-lasting curls I've ever experienced! I can't believe this is a drugstore offering. I would happily pay 3x what I paid for it, which I think was @ $4.99 at Walmart. If your hair sounds like the type & texture that would benefit, I would absolutely encourage you to try it!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.


on 9/11/2014 12:48:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is amazing! I don't know if it's thickening my hair but it's the best conditioner I've ever used. I've tried it with a variety of shampoos, have long color treated hair and it's really never looked better. Also you get basically a lifetime supply for $5.00. I only wash my hair 2-3 times a week and this doesn't make it get oily in between washes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top