Eucerin Gentle Hydrating Cleanser

3.9

113 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Disodium Cocamphodiacetate, Glycol Distearate, PEG 7 Glyceryl Cocoate, Cocamide MEA, Laureth 10, Citric Acid, PEG 120 Methyl Glucose Dioleate, Lanolin Alcohol, Imidazolidinyl Urea


on 6/29/2015 12:19:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have had good luck with this affordable drugstore cleanser. It removes makeup well and my face doesn't feel over-stripped after I use it. It's fragrance free, which is a feature I've learned to look for. I like this much better than the Cetaphil cleanser people used to recommend for me.

I have bought this a few times over the years. Eucerin Gentle Hydrating Cleanser is about $6 for 8 ounces, a good value if you like it.

I have extremely sensitive skin and I'm able to use this without problems, but I realize that everyone is different and what worked for me may not work for everyone with a sensitivity.

Eucerin makes another cleanser called
Redness Relief Soothing Cleanser that I actually prefer to this one and some people with inflammation & acne prone skin may like it better. It is formulated for people who have real issues like eczema and rosacea, but it's a few dollars more - $9 for 6.8 ounces instead of $6 for 8 ounces.

I also had good luck with First Aid Beauty Face Cleanser. That one is pricey at $20 for 5 ounces, but you can buy small sizes of this from Sephora which are great for sampling the product before committing to a full size. First Aid Beauty's cleanser has collodial oatmeal in it which is soothing to hives, rashes, and eczema.

Eucerin Sensitive Skin Gentle Hydrating Cleanser is a great inexpensive option for most people with combination or normal to oily skin. If you don't love it, Eucerin's Redness Relief Soothing Cleanser is very good for sensitive skin that is also combination to oily. Very dry skin may not like any of these choices.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 6/18/2015 12:13:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

After reading all the great reviews, I went ahead and purchased this cleanser. I want to add that I'm using tretinoin(Retin-A) for acne. For the first week my skin was fine. No signs of irritation or breakouts. Shortly after one week, I developed rash like irritation. Broke in tiny inflamed red bumps all over my face. This was definitely a delayed reaction/hypersensitivity to the product because the inflammation worsened with use *sigh* now back to searching for a perfect cleanser :(


on 5/25/2015 12:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Unfortunately, this cleanser did not work out for me. I am very saddened by it because it cleaned my face very well without completely stripping it. I have been using it for about 2 weeks and my face is feeling slightly drier than it usually is. I know this cleanser is obviously the reason why. However.. it has not completely stripped and dehydrated my skin, which it is prone to! It really is so convenient and easy to use. I felt like it just cleaned my skin with such ease.

I actually decided to try the Eucerin Redness Relief Soothing Cleanser to see if I would like it better and I used it once... it seemed to suck all the moisture out of my skin! It was SO strange. This 'hydrating' cleanser made my skin much softer, but again it is a tad drying. Maybe my skin is sensitive to sodium laureth sulfate. But keep in mind, everyone's skin is different and my skin is difficult to deal with sometimes. I would still recommend someone to just give it a shot, but I'm not sure about the Redness one... The price is great as well I must say!

Overall, I'd say if you're looking for a new cleanser maybe give it a shot, because I think it's worth a try.


on 3/27/2015 5:13:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I really like this cleanser. It cleans without over drying. I have a lot of surface oil and it really works. My go to cleanser used to be Purpose. I am really starting to prefer this cleanser. It really is quick and easy to use. It emulsifys great, rinses away with little effort. Its an amazing cleanser. It might not remove makeup quite as well as Purpose does, and that is why I didn't give it a 5, however the ease as which you use it and it rinses away is amazing. I turned my cousin on to it. It is just really quick and easy to use. If you hate washing your face and most cleansers seem to take a while to completely rinse them off, definitely give this one a go. Quick and easy. Works great.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/29/2014 11:35:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This cleanser is nothing exciting, but it performs well and doesn't irritate my skin. My only complaint is that I have to use 2 pumps in order to clean my entire face, unlike with any other cleanser, and it isn't like I have an unusually large face.


on 12/6/2014 9:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I bought this about a month ago and I think it's a decent cleanser but the title says hydrating so I assumed it wouldn't have any harsh chemicals and so I didn't bother to read the ingredients list but wallah right in the first four ingredients is sodium laureth sulfate .. One of the main drying ingredients this automatically turned me off but I will finish it as it hasn't done anything bad to my skin so far but I won't be repurchasing


on 11/2/2014 5:05:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

This cleans my face OK, but it is definitely NOT hydrating at all!

Leaves my face very tight and dry - which in turn makes my oiliness even worse.

Didn't mind the texture or smell but will not be repurchasing this.


on 9/26/2014 3:24:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This stuff is AMAZING! I have extremely sensitive skin and this wash doesn't irritate it at all. It's very gentle yet removes makeup easily. My face does not feel stripped whatsoever after washing. I've tried baby wash and several other acne washes but never had any luck. If you have sensitive acne prone skin get this. HG status for sure.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/12/2014 4:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

A very good product! I have oily and acne-prone skin and I finally learnt that the gentle, hydrating cleansers are good, not the ones meant for oily skin which are strippingg away everything from your skin and are so irritating. This one does exactly what a good cleanser is supposed to do: clean the face very gently, leaving it soft with no irritation. A pump is enough, it foams a little, it feels soothing and is very cheap.

I will buy again in the future, but I still have some to try on my wishlist.

Until now, my top cleansers are:
1. L'oreal Skin Perfection Soothing Gel Cream Wash (Sublime Soft)
2. Eucerin Gentle Hydrating Cleanser
3. Bioderma Sensibio DS.


on 7/20/2014 2:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

My HG summer face wash. I have mild dry skin and mild acne and this works wonders for not stripping my skin but giving me a clean smooth surface to work with for moisturizer and make up. In the winter, I literally add a small pump of Eucerin Q10 Anti-wrinkle moisturizer to the wash and it's perfect. I know that sounds ridiculous but I have saved many a drying face wash by adding moisturizer when I wash, and putting some on after. I'm currently alternating this with Noxzema Bacteria Fighting Cleanser daily because bacteria causes some of my acne, but I couldn't give this up. I have fairly sensitive skin and this doesn't burn me at all. Fairly good at removing makeup, although I use a MU remover beforehand anyway. It's cheap for the amount I think I paid $5.74 USD at ulta, comes in a pump which is great. I recommend this even for oily skin because it cleans but doesn't dry out, it balances really well. I used to have a huge problem with being SUPER dry and then 2 hours later being oily, and long term use of this saved me. I've always been a loyal Eucerin customer, but never used the face wash until 6 or 7 months ago. I had a gift card to ulta and thought why not, BEST decision ive made about my skin as far as balancing. I will say however that it is too drying for me in the winter. (which is why I add a little moisturizer to it) and if im super dry, a drop of jojoba oil. love this stuff


Back to Top