Revlon • Super Lustrous - Rich Girl Red • Lipstick

rated 3.7(11 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Kimbdee on 5/20/2014 9:11:00 AM more reviews by Kimbdee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

A warm, sheer orange-red. I liked this formula for it's moisturising feel, which lasted for 2-3 hours. The colour lasted around 4-5 hours on me, however it did not stay true to colour for the entire duration. At around the 1 hour mark it lost it vibrancy and faded into a pink-red. For this reason I would not repurchase, as I love the colour and would like for it to stay true for the duration of wear.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* proximitythe53rd on 3/14/2014 8:24:00 AM more reviews by proximitythe53rd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this on a whim when browsing drugstore displays after swatching the tester on the back of my hand and finding it to be a sheer *warm* red. This shade fits nicely into a previously empty niche in my collection. I love Lipstick Queen Medieval as a sheer every-day red, but it's more neutral-cool, and on my cool-toned mauve-y lips, it definitely pulls pink. Rich Girl Red on the other hand, reads much more as a sheer *red* on my lips. (Sure, technically speaking any red that's not opaque will appear on the lips as some version of pink - but I'm going to go ahead and assume that you, oh reader of MakeupAlley, know what I'm talking about here. It's orange-ness counters my lips' mauve-ness and evens out at a close-to-neutral shade.)

I'm a fan of the classic Super Lustrous (cream) formula for longevity, a nice level of slipery-ness vs stay-put-ish-ness, and being startlingly kind to my chronically dry, unhappy lips, especially for a fully-pigmented drugstore lipstick. (i.e. if I start out with my lips in a good state, I can wear a SL for the day without it looking and feeling like a dry, chapped, peeling mess.) Rich Girl Red is my first Super Lustrous Shine, and it's a new purchase, so I'm not going to blow the trumpets yet, but thus far I'm pleased with the formula. It has a nice balm-y slip (more-so than the classic formula) at the time of application, and thus far I don't find it drying. (Which is saying something, because I find most lipsticks, even those others love for being moisturizing, uncomfortable to wear.) I will say that although when Rich Girl Red is first applied it feels moisturizing, that feeling fades within about 15min to a half-hour. (For contrast, something like Fresh Sugar tinted balms feel moisturizing to me for their durration.)

I'd say lasting power is about average for the opacity. The sheerness makes this shade, in my opinion, lower-maintence to wear, for two reasons. First because as the color fades, it's a pretty even fade - no sinking into lip lines or leaving a ring around the mouth, just a gradual wearing off; and second because it's sheer enough for mirror-free touch-up. Rich Girl Red does leave a bit of a stain, so if you re-apply throughout the day, the pigmentation will increase as you go - to me that's a positive, it's something I also like about Medieval (mentioned above).

I do come back and update reviews, so if my opinion changes with familarity I'll say so ... but for now I'm happy to declare Rich Girl Red very nice for the price. Personally I *don't* really like the Revlon Lip Butter formula - I don't find it terribly moisturizing AND it gives me lip-line break-outs (*shudder*). So I'm not interested in making direct comparisions between the formulas. Oh! One last thing - Rich Girl Red is shimmer free, in case you're wondering.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CharacterofLife on 2/17/2014 9:08:00 AM more reviews by CharacterofLife

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Love this! This is such an easy red to wear. It's somewhat like a balm and has a slight staining effect so when it wears down it doesn't go away completely. This would be great for anyone who is first trying to wear red. Since this has sheerness it's very easy to wear and reapply. It has a red orange which is helping bring that winter pale skin to life Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Vonnity on 12/1/2013 12:08:00 AM more reviews by Vonnity

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It's definitely not opaque as shown in the Emma Stone display but I don't mind that because personally, red lipsticks make me look older and aren't flattering, though I absolutely love this one for its "sheerness". It is a red with an orange undertone, buildable, moisturising with no scent and the glossiness fades after a couple of hours to give this really nice matte finish with vibrancy but not too dramatic.

So overall, I think this would be a great shade if you're just getting into red lipsticks or if you don't want something so dark. It is a very wearable shade, something you can apply without a mirror and it doesn't dry your lips out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jreneecreations on 11/26/2013 8:22:00 PM more reviews by jreneecreations

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Very disappointed. The color is not at all like the picture of Emma Stone. This lipstick is Pink, not Red... I wouldn't buy this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 asunta on 10/30/2013 9:41:00 AM more reviews by asunta

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love this color! very matte, but the color doesnt say LOOK AT ME! its a muted red color that looks nice with my skin tone. its an everyday lipstick, just to give you a hint of color without bieng too glossy or too dry. the only thing i dont like is that it doesnt last long. But I will definately repurchase this color. Got it on sale at walmart less than $6.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 scunningham on 10/30/2013 8:36:00 AM more reviews by scunningham

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I like this as a daytime red. It looks good with jeans and a t-shirt (if you're a Red Sox fan, it will look great with a Red Sox tshirt or baseball cap) or in an office where a full-on red lip would be too much.

If I were going to recommend a red lipstick to someone who was wary of a bright lip, I'd give them this because it reminds me of my first red lipstick, which was "Carnation" by Cover Girl. Pretty sure it came in a blue tube. My roommate (from NYC and far more sophisticated than me) turned me on to red lips with this sheer red.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* taralynn36 on 10/25/2013 5:55:00 PM more reviews by taralynn36

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I like this too. It's a nice sheer red that gives you a pop of color without being overt. I thought at first that it was similar to Candy Apple Red Lip Butter but I find this more of a texture of a regular lipstick. It's not as thick and moisturizing as the lip butters. It is good for an out and and about lipstick as opposed as a night on the town. I also don't see this as much like the Color Whispers which I have several of. Again this is more like a normal lipstick to me. At $5.99 at Target, this is the same price if not cheaper than Maybelline. I would buy it again. It's a perfect warm red that suits my skin tone and blonde hair/blue eyes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* oscarnabby on 9/14/2013 1:12:00 PM more reviews by oscarnabby

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm going to stick up for this lipstick. It works very well for me. It's a sheer, flattering, warm red on my fair neutral with warm undertones complexion. It's one of those colors that just works well with my coloring and gives life to my complexion. I have all the red lip butters, and this lipstick doesn't look like any of them (it's even sheerer), and I will agree with the first reviewer, that it doesn't look anything like the color used on Emma Stone in the display. But for that, I was relieved. It's a good jeans and t-shirt, knocking-around-the-neighborhood kind of lipstick.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* luckylouie on 9/14/2013 12:44:00 PM more reviews by luckylouie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Useless!!! Revlon have once again dropped the ball with their lip products. This is part of a limited edition range of sheer glossy lipsticks - think similar to Color Whisper by Maybelline but at twice the price. This is very sheer - not much more color payoff than a tinted lipbalm. It's not particularly moisturising and it wears off unevenly. To top it all off, it's almost exactly the same colour as Revlon's own Colorburst in Candy Apple, just more sheer. Seriously if you want a warm red with a glossy finish just get the Colorburst in Candy Apple. At least with the Colorburst you can dab it on lightly for a sheer finish, or swipe on a second coat for more color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Lipstick products