Revlon • Super Lustrous - Rich Girl Red • Lipstick

rated 4.0(16 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dlbd2k06 on 10/22/2014 1:11:00 PM more reviews by dlbd2k06

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Loving this lipstick right now. Rich Girl Red is a very wearable warm leaning red. It has a slightly sheer finish which is great if you want to wear a red lip that isn't too dramatic. For me, this is a perfect daytime red. I will rebuy for sure.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shortii53 on 10/15/2014 10:34:00 AM more reviews by shortii53

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a tomatoe red. A true red leaning warm. LOVE IT> It is sheer so it's easier to apply and less dry then most reds. It's more subtle because of the shine formula. Great to use as touch ups through day when red lippies is fading. I like this for days when I go red.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Iphy on 10/4/2014 7:32:00 PM more reviews by Iphy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is a beautiful, sheer, pure strawberry shade. It is a thin, non-drying formula. It is unscented and flavorless. I get a bit insecure wearing intense, opaque, bright lipsticks so I quite like this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* graceybaby8 on 9/25/2014 6:03:00 AM more reviews by graceybaby8

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For you girls and boys that are afraid to jump into the "red lipstick" band wagon, I suggest trying revlons - rich girl red. It's a smooth and shiny lipstick; and it compliments my NC25- NC30 skin tone. I love how it feels like a lip balm, that leaves your lips silky with a hint of colour. This lipstick doesn't leave a dark bright lip colour, but a light shade of red. I love how it's classy and doesn't make me look like I'm trying too hard to pull off a red lip. I love how this doesn't have a funny scent, isn't drying, and it's very sheer. A must have for a new lipstick lover. It's probably my most favourite red lipstick - that's why I always have a backup.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 stingrayting on 8/31/2014 5:36:00 AM more reviews by stingrayting

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very wearable red that brightens my medium toned complexion. As the shade is mid-toned (not a deep red) and is sheer and fairly moisturising, this makes it suitable for casual daytime wear if you like a slight red hue to your lips but nothing too in-your-face. As it's so sheer, you do need to keep reapplying throughout the day but it's pretty easy to apply straight from the bullet.

For comparison, the Revlon Lip Butter in Candy Apple red is more pigmented and is a deeper shade of red. I actually find the Super Lustrous Rich Girl Red more moisturising and more comfortable to wear than the Candy Apple lip butter.

The packaging is simple, classic and good quality. I like the way the top of the 'lid' section is clear so you can see the lipstick colour from the top. I have a few shades from this line so this feature is useful.

I'd recommend this for anyone who likes to wear a hint of red lips on a day-to-day basis or wants to try red for a first time but doesn't want to commit to anything too bright or too matte.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kimbdee on 5/20/2014 9:11:00 AM more reviews by Kimbdee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

A warm, sheer orange-red. I liked this formula for it's moisturising feel, which lasted for 2-3 hours. The colour lasted around 4-5 hours on me, however it did not stay true to colour for the entire duration. At around the 1 hour mark it lost it vibrancy and faded into a pink-red. For this reason I would not repurchase, as I love the colour and would like for it to stay true for the duration of wear.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* proximitythe53rd on 3/14/2014 8:24:00 AM more reviews by proximitythe53rd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this on a whim after swatching the tester and finding it to be a sheer, *warm* red. Rich Girl Red fit an empty niche in my collection: I love Lipstick Queen Medieval, a sheer every-day (work-safe!) red, but it's neutral-cool, so on my cool-toned mauve-y (corpse!) lips, it definitely pulls pink. Rich Girl Red on the other hand, reads as a sheer *red* on my lips due to its warm, tomato-y tones. (Sure, technically speaking any red that's not opaque will appear as some version of pink - but I'm going to go ahead and assume that you, O reader of MakeupAlley, know what I'm talking about here. It's orange-ness counters my lips' mauve-ness and evens out at a close-to-neutral shade.) Others with more pigmented lips or a different complexion might see a warmer red translated on their lips. But in particular for anyone else who has the "sheer reds always look pink on me" issue, Rich Girl Red is worth your consideration!

I'm a fan of the classic Super Lustrous (cream) formula for longevity, a nice level of slipery-ness vs stay-put-ish-ness, and being startlingly kind to my chronically dry, unhappy lips, especially for a fully-pigmented drugstore lipstick. (i.e. if I start out with my lips in a good state, I can wear a SL for the day without it looking and feeling like a dry, chapped, peeling mess. They'll still be a bit worse for the wear in the evening, but not destroyed.) Rich Girl Red is my first Super Lustrous Shine, but thus far I'm pleased with the formula. With regular re-application, it's about the same to my lips as the SL cream formula. SL Shine has a nice balm-y slip (more-so than the classic formula) at the time of application, without feeling like it's going to slip 'n slide all over my face. At first application, Rich Girl Red feels moisturizing, but on me that feeling fades within about 15min to a half-hour. After that, it simply feels not-too-drying. Mirroring this, at first application the formula looks more moist/balm-y on my lips, but settles down to a natural lip texture - not glossy but certainly not matte.

I'd say lasting power is about average for the opacity - longer if I'm just sitting there, shorter if I'm talking, eating, drinking, or keep rubbing my lips together. The sheerness makes this shade, in my opinion, low-maintence to wear, for two reasons. First because as the color fades, it's a pretty even fade - not sinking into lip lines or leaving a ring around the mouth, just a gradual wearing off; and second because it's sheer enough for mirror-free touch-ups. Rich Girl Red does leave a slight stain, so if you re-apply throughout the day, the pigmentation will increase somewhat as you go - to me that's a positive, and something I also like about Medieval (mentioned above).

I do come back and update reviews, so if my opinion changes with familarity (it's been a couple months - not yet!) I'll say so ... but for now I'm happy to declare Rich Girl Red very nice for the price. Personally I *don't* like the Revlon Lip Butter formula - I don't find it moisturizing AND it gives me lip-line break-outs (*shudder*). So I'm not interested in making direct comparisions between these formulas, especially since I know the Butters are so popular.
Oh! One last thing - Rich Girl Red is shimmer free, in case you're wondering.

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CharacterofLife on 2/17/2014 9:08:00 AM more reviews by CharacterofLife

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Love this! This is such an easy red to wear. It's somewhat like a balm and has a slight staining effect so when it wears down it doesn't go away completely. This would be great for anyone who is first trying to wear red. Since this has sheerness it's very easy to wear and reapply. It has a red orange which is helping bring that winter pale skin to life Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Vonnity on 12/1/2013 12:08:00 AM more reviews by Vonnity

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It's definitely not opaque as shown in the Emma Stone display but I don't mind that because personally, red lipsticks make me look older and aren't flattering, though I absolutely love this one for its "sheerness". It is a red with an orange undertone, buildable, moisturising with no scent and the glossiness fades after a couple of hours to give this really nice matte finish with vibrancy but not too dramatic.

So overall, I think this would be a great shade if you're just getting into red lipsticks or if you don't want something so dark. It is a very wearable shade, something you can apply without a mirror and it doesn't dry your lips out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jreneecreations on 11/26/2013 8:22:00 PM more reviews by jreneecreations

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Very disappointed. The color is not at all like the picture of Emma Stone. This lipstick is Pink, not Red... I wouldn't buy this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Lipstick products