Rimmel • Scandaleyes Retro Glam • Mascara

rated 3.7(21 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 keewee88 on 2/27/2014 3:21:00 PM more reviews by keewee88

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I originally received this as part of a sample box (about 5 - 6 months ago) and initially, didn't think it was as good as my (pricier) favorite. At that time, I thought it was a good daytime mascara but that when the tube ran out, I'd just go back to my standard brand.

However, the next time I used that other mascara, I realized the difference just wasn't that significant. Retro Glam gives me nearly as much pigment, nearly as much length and nearly as much volume.

While that other, pricier tube is still my #1 true love, this costs about half the price of the other one and is a really great option - I've already replaced that original sample tube and will continue to use this on days when I don't need to go all out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 weefi on 2/14/2014 5:19:00 PM more reviews by weefi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Big fat brush that i like but doesnt stay on and needs quite a few coats for any sort of pay off. Def wont re purchase. Very disappointed

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 maybaby523 on 2/11/2014 4:11:00 PM more reviews by maybaby523

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I usually have pretty good luck with Rimmel mascaras. Their Extra WOW Lash is currently one of my favorites. But I did not care for this stuff at all. The brush is so large that I have trouble getting it on my eyelashes and not all over my eyelids in the process. And once I have it on, a few hours later I look like Alice Cooper as it ends up migrating all over around my eyes. I have dry skin and never have that issue. Hated this stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Mjmj1211meagan on 2/1/2014 10:49:00 PM more reviews by Mjmj1211meagan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Most reviews on the Internet are saying that this mascara isn't worth buying and it doesn't work or that they just didn't really like the result, but I loved it. My eyelashes are long and somewhat thick, this mascara adds length which I don't need but I love it anyway,the longer the better. I say that because longer lashes make your eyes look bigger and I love big eye makeup! This mascara is a 100% must have if you want to do big eye makeup like me, if not then I can kinda see why you wouldn't like it. Overall though this mascara, big eye makeup fan or not is on my go to list of mascara :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* glowing500 on 1/27/2014 2:56:00 PM more reviews by glowing500

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

The best thing about this mascara is the packaging...it's kind of cute. Beyond that...this mascara is horrible.

It does not add volume, it does not add much length and I have to spend way too much time in the morning applying coat after coat to try to a decent look. It will also clump if you are not careful with it. During my poor college student days, I would have used it up since every penny counted back then. I still watch my money today but I'm going to trash this since it's just a waste of time.

I hate to toss items but I threw out the receipt and this is just junk.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 iowagirl on 1/24/2014 12:10:00 AM more reviews by iowagirl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is ok. It gets clumpy fast and the huge wand is not my favorite.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sophier5139 on 1/23/2014 5:00:00 PM more reviews by sophier5139

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This mascara is by far my favourite mascara. I have very short eyelashes and I can truly say that the mascara helps to greatly lengthen and define my eyelashes - much more so than any other mascaras I've tried. High end mascaras such as BadGal Lash by Benefit and Estee Lauder just do not compare. The oversized application brush makes sure every lash is coated and I've found I don't even need more than one coat because the consistency of the mascara is quite thick, meaning with just one application my eyelashes are thick and long. Another thing I like about this mascara is its staying power - I've applied the mascara in the morning and slept with it on that night and when I woke up in the morning my lashes still looked perfectly long and thick - it hadn't even smudged.

I've given it a rating of 4 for price - it's fairly good value, but could be a little cheaper. I'd prefer around the £4/£5 mark.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Anselfan on 1/22/2014 6:11:00 PM more reviews by Anselfan

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I’ve used this mascara for about a week. It's now at the top of my waste-of-money mascaras that will meet its end when I three-point shoot it into my trash can. How in the WORLD is it getting such great reviews? It’s so awful! This mascara doesn’t lengthen or separate. It doesn’t even add fullness. I thought surely one of those would be among its good qualities, especially after reading the positive reviews on here. This mascara also flakes a tiny bit, by midday. Ugh! I feel like a 12-year old with her awkward first tube of mascara each time I pull out the bulky wand. It’s like I need a physics’ degree to figure out how to maneuver it, and I thought I was a seasoned pro at trying out different mascara wands. Drugstore brands? Yep, I’ve tried every mascara brand—pretty much. High-end mascaras? I’m embarrassed to admit I’ve tried several brands. At this rate, I’m better off going through the aisle of my local Walgreen’s blindfolded and picking a random tube of mascara. Trust me, girls. Don’t waste your money on this mascara.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* riotkitty on 1/10/2014 12:43:00 PM more reviews by riotkitty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a pretty good mascara so I gave it 4 lippies but it won't be replacing Rimmel Scandaleyes Flex for me. This has a wet formula that makes a very defined glossy look with a lot of length and decent volume. Its not a bad look but I prefer a full feathery look. The hourglass brush is pretty neat, it does add a little bit of lift but again I think its creates a more defined look than I want in a mascara.

I got it in 004 Carbon Black and it is very black, and like L'oreal's Carbon Black mascaras its hard to take off. The feel of this mascara isn't overly stiff, in fact its almost as flexible as Scandaleyes Flex, just a little bit more stiff. It feels a lot like The Max Volume Flash Mascara and when I looked at the ingredients they looked really similar.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 roselliday on 1/6/2014 2:38:00 PM more reviews by roselliday

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I love this mascara. Seriously. I had all but given up on finding a mascara that followed true to its claims of making my spindly lashes look wonderfully full and lush. Rimmel mascaras have always failed to impress me; however, I loved the rad, retro-mod packaging of Rimmel's newest love child. I wasn't expecting too much, but boy, was this a good buy!! With this mascara I prefer to not curl my lashes, as if you twist the brush up while applying, it sort of does the work of curling for you. If you're looking for bold doe-eyes, this is ideal. Also, not only does this mascara allow you apply multiple coats (I've actually tried up to about four coats, still no clumping), but you can also reapply long after the mascara is dry with very little clumping. My lashes are long, curled, and more full than ever with this. I've never been this impressed with a mascara. I think I've found my HG.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rimmel products

More Mascara products