Rimmel ScandalEyes Retro Glam Mascara

3.4

63 reviews

52% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/22/2015 3:44:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I really wanted to love this product. I like the funky coca cola shaped brush - it coats both top and bottom lashes nicely. The carbon black is very dark. The formula is not too thin or dry. This mascara does not build much volume or length for me but it fans out my lashes beautifully.

The problem with this mascara is that it does not adhere to the lashes. I do not necessarily use waterproof formulas because they are often hard to remove and I never had an issue of running mascara. This mascara bleeds when I go to the gym, my Pilates class and even at my desk after no physical work. Its really annoying. I loved this mascara when I first used it and then the running began.

I attempted to use it only on my top lashes and I still got panda eyes. If you could prevent the bleeding I'd say go for this, if not, don't even bother.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 4/15/2015 6:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I really like this mascara. Sadly, the store no longer carries this packaging and the wand style has changed. I really liked the old wand, but the new one is usable.

Also, they have confusing things like 'black' and 'blackest black' to the color options. What does that even mean? I got black because I wanted black, but maybe I would have wanted blackest black had I know what that meant in comparison to the only other color option of black. It seems like a marketing scam.

Overall, I am still a fan of the mascara, but I will probably start the hunt for a different one since they can't seem to keep things the same for more than a season.


on 4/12/2015 3:02:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I wanted to really like this since I'm on the hunt for a new HG mascara and it's affordable and can buy it almost anywhere but I sadly have to say that I don't. I'm glad this works for some people but I'm not one of them. It seems wet and clumps my lashes, and causes some of them to droop. Maybe because it's not evenly coating them? Rimmel is known for having these massive wands and sometimes awkward to use. This one is shaped like an hourglass but it's very big. Maybe I'm just not used to wands that large because this is the second rimmel mascara that I've tried recently and I don't like either of them. This made my lashes look horrible.


on 4/3/2015 8:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Green

This is a good mascara. It is useful for separating your lashes and building volume and does not clump. It's not the best if you want length. The wand is quite large and makes it difficult to reach the corner lashes. I wish the wand were smaller but despite that, this mascara is still my go-to.


on 4/1/2015 10:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I thought this mascara was pretty awesome. I wouldn't say it's my favorite of all time, but it performed well. The wand shape stretched out my lashes long and coated them well. I would buy this again maybe...


on 4/1/2015 9:30:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have only used this product once and it let me down. The brush was often getting clumps caught in it, making for a difficult application and a very fake appearance. When I first used this product it made for a natural finish but as I used it more that natural look disappeared.

The product didn't smell very nice either, it had a kind of vinegar smell before application. Though this product did make for a long wear I probably wouldn't spend $17 AU on it again.


on 3/7/2015 11:30:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

on my second tube! will repurchase


on 2/28/2015 7:43:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Good product, doesn't cake, flake and run. Didn't irritate my eyes either which is good as I wear contacts 16hours a day. Love that it makes my lashes big, full of volume and separated all day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The formula itself is very good...but the wand is very weird....so keep that in mind when you purchase this


on 2/19/2015 8:28:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I love the wand for this mascara and when I first apply it, it lengthens and makes my lashes look full, but after a few hours of wear, it flakes badly. I tried it again, using this on one eye and another mascara on the other eye. After 7 hours of wear, the cheek under the eye wearing the Rimmel was full of flakes. This went into the trash.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Mascaras


Miss Manga
424 Reviews
Roller Lash
103 Reviews
They're Real
2006 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

Rimmel Scandaleyes Retro Glam Mascara: Demo/Review by CosmeticsCounsel



Back to Top