Rimmel ScandalEyes Retro Glam Mascara

3.5

67 reviews

55% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

This is my favorite Rimmel mascara. It is volumizing, lengthening and very pigmented. Its not too wet or dry. It makes my lashes look full and natural, but very dramatic. There was no fallout as the day went on and I got told by multiple customers at work that I had very pretty eyes (not a compliment I usually receive)



on 6/15/2015 12:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this mascara and sometimes use it by itself, or in conjunction with other mascaras. It has a nice, big, bristly brush, and really adds length and volume to my lashes. The formula is neither wet, nor dry, but somewhere in the middle. Pigmentation is great. I feel very glamorous when I use this because it gives me dark, thick, fanned out, and lengthened lashes. I would definitely repurchase. I do not experience flaking or smudging when using this mascara.


on 6/3/2015 9:19:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

It's a pretty decent mascara, I too find it doesn't flake or smudge. The brush holds so much mascara though! (Not a bad thing) so my lashes always get a very good coating. I don't find it adds any length to my lashes but they look more volumeous after using. Whenever I want big lashes I use this in conjunction with lengthening mascara.


on 6/1/2015 4:59:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I was using some Givenchy one, but in my country anything imported is ridiculously expensive and this was a purchase out of desperation. The thing is that I really like it. It's respectful with my sensitive eyes, holds well a curl, not clumping and no mascara-panda-eyes at the end of the day. It's a little bit tricky to wash off (even the non waterproof one).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/22/2015 3:44:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I really wanted to love this product. I like the funky coca cola shaped brush - it coats both top and bottom lashes nicely. The carbon black is very dark. The formula is not too thin or dry. This mascara does not build much volume or length for me but it fans out my lashes beautifully.

The problem with this mascara is that it does not adhere to the lashes. I do not necessarily use waterproof formulas because they are often hard to remove and I never had an issue of running mascara. This mascara bleeds when I go to the gym, my Pilates class and even at my desk after no physical work. Its really annoying. I loved this mascara when I first used it and then the running began.

I attempted to use it only on my top lashes and I still got panda eyes. If you could prevent the bleeding I'd say go for this, if not, don't even bother.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/15/2015 6:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I really like this mascara. Sadly, the store no longer carries this packaging and the wand style has changed. I really liked the old wand, but the new one is usable.

Also, they have confusing things like 'black' and 'blackest black' to the color options. What does that even mean? I got black because I wanted black, but maybe I would have wanted blackest black had I know what that meant in comparison to the only other color option of black. It seems like a marketing scam.

Overall, I am still a fan of the mascara, but I will probably start the hunt for a different one since they can't seem to keep things the same for more than a season.


on 4/12/2015 3:02:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I wanted to really like this since I'm on the hunt for a new HG mascara and it's affordable and can buy it almost anywhere but I sadly have to say that I don't. I'm glad this works for some people but I'm not one of them. It seems wet and clumps my lashes, and causes some of them to droop. Maybe because it's not evenly coating them? Rimmel is known for having these massive wands and sometimes awkward to use. This one is shaped like an hourglass but it's very big. Maybe I'm just not used to wands that large because this is the second rimmel mascara that I've tried recently and I don't like either of them. This made my lashes look horrible.


on 4/3/2015 8:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Green

This is a good mascara. It is useful for separating your lashes and building volume and does not clump. It's not the best if you want length. The wand is quite large and makes it difficult to reach the corner lashes. I wish the wand were smaller but despite that, this mascara is still my go-to.


on 4/1/2015 10:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I thought this mascara was pretty awesome. I wouldn't say it's my favorite of all time, but it performed well. The wand shape stretched out my lashes long and coated them well. I would buy this again maybe...


on 4/1/2015 9:30:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have only used this product once and it let me down. The brush was often getting clumps caught in it, making for a difficult application and a very fake appearance. When I first used this product it made for a natural finish but as I used it more that natural look disappeared.

The product didn't smell very nice either, it had a kind of vinegar smell before application. Though this product did make for a long wear I probably wouldn't spend $17 AU on it again.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Rimmel Scandaleyes Retro Glam Mascara: Demo/Review by CosmeticsCounsel



Back to Top