Chanel Allure for women

4.0

470 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I really love this perfume. I wore it throughout high school and college and got bored after a bit, plus the price was steep, but I've since returned to it and I'm unsure what possessed me to leave in the first place. I don't know how I got bored of such a pretty scent. Also, the price is steep, and unless you get the VIP or VIB discount at Sephora which seems to be the only place that allows a discount on Chanel, it's going to be full price...it lasts so long that the math works out and it's a fair price. Some perfumes fade and you have to reapply, so it might be inexpensive, but you're using it up 2 to 3 times as fast. You need only 1-2 sprays maximum of Allure and it stays with you the entire day. I smell it into the next day. It fades minimally. I think it's a very wearable Chanel. It is more youthful than their previous endeavors, but it's more unique than the very popular Coco Mademoiselle. I get the appeal of Coco Mademoiselle, but on my skin, Allure is sexy and delicious. I've always received compliments (even the deli clerk slicing my cold cuts said I smelled nice). This isn't for everyone, it is definitely "heavy" but not as heavy as lots of other scents that I find cloying and sickly sweet. Allure has my favorite vanilla note of all time. Other vanillas smell foody and too gourmand and make me ill, this is sexy and seductive. The notes are nice because I feel they truly all are apparent on my skin at the same time. It's not a vast difference from first spraying to the end of the day. I appreciate the consistency because it's always unfortunate when a fragrance smells great during one phase, but unpleasant the rest of the wearing. Highly recommend.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 1/26/2015 3:17:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Years ago I had a co-worker who wore this and I always admired it on her but didn't feel I could 'steal' her scent. At some point the MDCI perfumes came out and I got the little tester bottles. My immediate impression of Promesse de l'Aube was that it smelled like Allure - the same Grasse jasmine (which is key, because Chanel is one of the few companies that use it, also really prominent in 31 RC), peach, soft spice, vanilla, sandalwood - very similar structure. I loved it but thought, I'm not going to pay that much to smell like I'm wearing Allure, and yet I couldn't wear Allure because of the work thing. Then I forgot about it... many perfumes have come and gone. Recently I was killing time in Boots before a meeting and tested Allure. Instant love and this time I bought it and am wearing it nearly every day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/26/2014 9:23:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is my favourite scent. I prefer this for evenings/special occasion, and fresher scents for day wear.

I like to experiment with fragrances and never tent to buy the same one again. Chanel Allure is the only one that I repurchase time and time again. I LOVE IT.


on 10/24/2014 9:03:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This did not work for me. When will I learn that Chanel and I don't mix well? Very strong, floral and spicy on me. I sprayed on at the mall then hoped it would dry down nice and soft. It just got heavier. I was then at the grocery store and had to go wash it off. It was making me nauseous. Way to much money for this. Funny thing is that I had also been at Walmart and picked up Coty Wild Musk. Now that worked on me but not the Chanel. Just goes to show that high price isn't always that great. I will not buy.


on 10/19/2014 6:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Allure! So feminine, sensual, sophisticated.


on 8/22/2014 5:47:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love fresh orientals, vanilla mixed with citruses. And I love refined elegance and simplicity. So I wanted to love this fragrance a lot, and was very happy with it when I first spayed it out. I continued to use it, but it started to bother me more and more until it became simply unbearable. I didn't get the citrusy vanilla any more and I was left with a messy, cloying, overtly sweet white floral.
I have to admit that since that I found out that most Chanel fragrances are unbearable for me. They are all very strong, last well on to the next day, even if you have a bath or a shower. What remains is not a hint of a smell, but something broken down, almost rotten.
If you want a nice, soft Chanel, try No 5 Sensual Elixir instead. It has a gel form, maybe that's why it managed to avoid the cloying phase of the dry down.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 8/13/2014 11:53:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Beautifully sweet, soft and elegant. Almost powdery, with gorgeous sweet vanilla, delicate and feminine but so very comforting.

On me this perfume is not citrusy at all. Vanilla, sweetness and powder envelope me in a soft blanket. It's warm, sensual and heady. A beautiful perfume.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/18/2014 6:41:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is my favorite perfume! I bought it last year, and I'm going to buy it on a regular basis.
When I tried it at the store, I noticed a difference in the scent between EDP to EDT. I think both have vanilla, but the EDT is more oriental-floral and more delicate, while the EDP is oriental-fruity (citrus), and more spicy (not in a harsh way) and intense. Both are good, but I tend to like more the EDT, just because oriental-floral perfumes are my favorite.
I think that young women in their early 20s would prefer the EDT, because in general they tend to like floral perfumes, and grown women would prefer the EDP because they tend to like strong perfumes. But of course it's a matter of personal preference, and each one has its own special taste.
Because the EDT is floral and delicate, it's more suitable for day, spring and summer, while the EDP is more suitable for evening, fall and winter because of its intensity. But I don't follow these rules, and simply use the perfumes I love whenever I want.
I personally bought the PARFUM bottle, because I find that perfumes in general don't last long on me, even when I use EDP. The scent of the PARFUM is more like the EDT, which is a big plus for me, but it's stronger and really last long on me. If I'll ever buy a Chanel perfume for daily use, it'll probably be the EDT one.
Even though it's the perfect perfume in my opinion, I still don't recommend you to buy it blindly, just because it's a perfume and everyone have individual tastes and different response to scents (I personally prefer the EDT, while most of women prefer the EDP). But I definitely recommend to try it.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 2/5/2014 5:47:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

When I tested (on paper sampler) Allure at a store today, I was very impressed. I smelled caramel and vanilla. It was yummy. Being pleased with that, I sprayed it on my arm. At first it was great. But when it reacted with my body chemistry it was way too spicy. And with that, I decided it wasn't for me.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/10/2014 9:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is sensual, sophisticated, and cozy all at once. It has that unmistakable trademark Chanel classiness which I find in all their perfumes, there's something distinct in all their scents but I can't really put a finger on it. When I take a whiff, my best description of this is that I get a powdery vanilla floral with a hint of spice. The edt is considerably more sharper and sparkles while the edp is more smooth, warm, and luxurious like a cashmere sweater. In terms of longevity, it's a typical Chanel so you can expect a good deal of wear from two sprays of this as it's very strong and has an enveloping presence. To me, this is something that is more suitable to wear on a special occasion or on a nice date but I find this also works well every day during the cooler months. I really love this one, I think it's going to be a permanent staple in my perfume collection as a signature scent for the fall/winter seasons.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1358 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
339 Reviews
Light Blue
1407 Reviews
Pink Sugar
1878 Reviews
No.5
939 Reviews


Back to Top