Redken • Diamond Oil Shatterproof Shine Intense • Hair

rated 4.2(17 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lotusfairy on 10/16/2014 3:05:00 AM more reviews by lotusfairy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This has a pleasant scent and it comes in a nice glass bottle with a dropper. It leaves my hair feeling very soft and shiny, but does little for some of the pesky flyaways at the nape of my neck and top of my head. I apply a little bit more, like four or five drops, to my hair. I do rub a little between my hands to warm it up before applying. My hair does feel hydrated and I like that you can use this as a pre-shampoo treatment or add this to your regular conditioners or deep conditioning treatments. The only con is the price. I bought mine at a local beauty supply store for $44. I have the one for medium textured hair. I have been really liking it and glad it doesn't weigh down my hair or make it feel greasy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sprite26 on 9/20/2014 7:39:00 PM more reviews by sprite26

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I used the Intense version of this product as it is suited to my hair type (medium to coarse mechanically/chemically distressed). And I really wanted to love it but I just couldn't get it to work for me. It seemed to leave my hair greasy and limp even when I used the teensiest amount. This product is very concentrated and a little goes a long way, but that's what makes it not-so-user-friendly. I wish that Redken made a Diamond Oil styling cream or a leave-in spray or something along those lines, because I bet it would be amazing.
Wouldn't buy this again- wasn't for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Nadyaali24 on 8/19/2014 9:36:00 PM more reviews by Nadyaali24

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I found this product to be pretty oily on my hair. I have fine hair and even though I used three drops of this oil it made my hair quite oily that I have washed it out numerous times. I tend to now use it an an intensive oil treatment where I rub plenty into my scalp and hair and then wash out the next day. I find this makes my hair silky and soft once washed out the next day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 SummerDay89 on 7/25/2014 3:36:00 PM more reviews by SummerDay89

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was recommended this at the salon, but mind you that I do not have the thickest hair. This made my hair soooooo staticky!!! I can't explain what happened, but I would put it in and dry it/straighten and it was like putting a turtleneck on in the winter. I'd put more on and it would still be staticky, but I'd look greasy. The smell was too overpowering as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 atrayloraxo on 7/9/2014 11:50:00 PM more reviews by atrayloraxo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Updated review...I've been using for about two weeks and recommend giving it time to work. The first few days I thought it did nothing but now I notice the softness of my hair even with almost daily heat styling. If you have thick hair you probably need 5-6 drops versus the recommended 2-3. I would buy again as there's a noticeable difference in the feel of my hair :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kaascat on 6/8/2014 12:35:00 AM more reviews by kaascat

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It is an amazing product if you have dry hair. But.... I keep having the same issue: over-applying makes my hair REALLY oily. That is the only reason i am not up to spending so much money on getting an other bottle. Althought the packaging and the perfume is divine I can't find a way to apply the right amount to my hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 valpal21 on 4/24/2014 8:59:00 PM more reviews by valpal21

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I use the intense version after every hair wash and have never had a problem with over applying. I did take it on a business trip and spilled a bit in my suitcase which somehow resulted in the metal cover on the lid compleat coming off the top. Now I have a pretty bottle with the orIginal white plastic screw top and metal dropper button. Still a great product though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beecky on 3/16/2014 4:50:00 PM more reviews by beecky

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Man this stuff is good. Wasn't expecting miracles, I mean it's just a hair oil ... then enter the miracle. I had been searching for a silicone free hair oil, not that I'm against silicones, but they only give the illusion that your hair is healthy. Silicones just coat your hair, and yes they make your hair feel amazing, but it builds up over time and like I said, it's just making it FEEL better, not actually BE better or healthier. Okay, rant over. Unless you have very thick or wavy/curly hair, or extremely damaged hair, don't get the intense version because it's very intense stuff indeed ! I got the intense version and it's perfect for me, but barely and I have very thick, wavy, colored hair. Smells amazing, too. My favorite thing about this is that it can be used as a treatment overnight, or mixed in with your favorite conditioner, or you can use it alone as you choose. It really conditions your hair and strengthens it, preventing breakage greatly. Hair oils like moroccanoil are great, however they aren't actually making your hair healthier, they are just coating it. The nourishing ingredients can't really penetrate the hair because of all the silicones that are stuck to the hair shaft. This stuff is the real deal, excellent hair oil. Simply the best.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dirtyblondeee on 1/11/2014 4:16:00 PM more reviews by dirtyblondeee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

this stuff is amazing! it makes my dry-from-highlighting hair feel soft and smooth. i have found for me the best way to use this is after I've flat ironed, blow dried or curled my hair to use about 4 drops (literally drops. this stuff goes a lonnnnng way) and focus it mainly at my ends. and whatever is leftover on my hands after that, I used to lightly smooth down any fly aways around my part. it smells great and doesn't feel heavy or greasy at all. usually this product has a fairly high price (my salon sells it for $40.00) but since I am a licensed cosmetologist, i can purchase it in professionals-only stores for $15.00 which is a fantastic deal considering how little you need of this to make a HUGE difference. my hair doesn't feel complete until I've put this on!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SwtStrawb on 12/22/2013 12:27:00 AM more reviews by SwtStrawb

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I purchased this at ULTA using a 20% off coupon which lessens the sting of the purchase price. ($40) However, it's a large glass bottle and you're supposed to use it sparingly. 2-3 drops at a time. I've only used it as an after blowdry treatment and it's amazing! I personally like the scent better than Moroccan oil. It can be used in a bunch of different ways, even as a moisturizing skin treatment. Definitely a must-have for any woman who needs to de-frizz their look.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Redken products

More Hair products