Clarins • Beauty Flash Balm • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.8(379 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Cupcakeyes on 11/15/2014 10:31:00 AM more reviews by Cupcakeyes

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a creamy beige balm that I use on my makeup-free days simply as a dewy look. I pat it on my face add a little clear lip gloss and I'm out. It absorbs in my skin so beautifully, so soft. It can be used as a mask which Ive done and liked the bright, soft results but I prefer a light layer on days I don't feel like doing my makeup.
I also use on the lazy Sunday when I'm relaxing in bed reading or catching up on the news. It really makes a difference of my skin texture. Soft and smooth. I use it under my makeup as well and my foundation goes on smoothly, radiantly. Slight smell but that quickly dissipates.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* leavingthingsbehind on 10/19/2014 8:28:00 PM more reviews by leavingthingsbehind

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Thank God it was a GWP because if I bought it myself (well, I WOULD NOT) I would be jolly furious.

I've tried it under makeup a la Lisa Eldrige (sorry Lisa, your recommendations are usually excellent but this one was not) - no difference and it does not cooperate with many of my foundations (NARS I am looking at you!), rolls off and does not allow the foundation to be applied evenly, not the effect one wants. It does not work as a mask either (and who can afford putting it as a thick layer of mask unless they are Gwyneth Paltrow?! Not for that sort of money they charge for it at Clarins for 30 ml tube!) - there was no difference after I've washed it off (the packaging of the tube itself does not actually say what to do with it after 10-15 minutes on one's face…and it did not come with a box).

Very disappointed and frankly I have no idea what to do with it now I have it in my stash, especially that the list of ingredients is less than natural. Another industry staple that needs to be replaced by a less hyped up product.

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Caish on 9/19/2014 8:56:00 AM more reviews by Caish

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Really loving this as a primer. It works subtly but I look more glowing and less tired and my makeup last longer too

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chantel1995 on 8/21/2014 4:28:00 AM more reviews by chantel1995

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really enjoy this product!

I pat in onto my skin, and It makes such a difference to my foundation!

I have a love/hate relationship with nars sheer glow foundation, but everytime I use it with this underneath, it makes the world of a difference!

It has lasted me ages, as I only use it for special occasions/nights out etc. I shall be buying this again when it runs out!

I have the large version of this, and I still have so much left in the tube - you deffo get your moneys worth! :-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* izzybella on 6/11/2014 12:03:00 PM more reviews by izzybella

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This has no effect on my skin whatsoever. No tightening, no brightening, I don't even think it works that well as a makeup primer because by the end of the day my foundation has broked up in patches around my nose and upper lip. I applied this to half my face and used my regular moisturizer on the other half. At the end of the day, my face was uniformly shiny (dewy?). Since then I've used it several more times, both rubbed in and not rubbed in (the latter is the recommended application method) and no difference. I'm jealous of other reviewers who got it to work for them, but for me it left me thinking that the emperor has no clothes.

Like most Clarins products I've tried, BFB smells foul. It's a powder-y, mature lady smell that I hope I don't smell like when I'm 80.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sbrake on 5/24/2014 4:35:00 AM more reviews by sbrake

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I have been using the balm as a mask three times a week. I apply a thick coating, massage it into my skin and rinse off 20 minutes later. I follow up with my regular day-time moisturizer. It's not an inexpensive procedure but it really keeps my complexion looking good.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 redsunset on 4/15/2014 9:16:00 PM more reviews by redsunset

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Didn't like this product at all. It looked great when first applied but that didn't last very long, about 10 minutes. Also I was very conscious of it on my face, it felt like I was wearing a mask and my skin felt like it was being suffocated. The 'Flash' part of its name is very apt, you get a flash of radiant skin and then, just like that, its gone!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 constanceyc on 2/27/2014 7:04:00 AM more reviews by constanceyc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have heard numerous raving reviews for this all time best-seller and I fell in love with it upon first application! the result is very pronounced after the make-up despite I failed to have a beauty sleep the night before. One amazing factor is that since this balm doesn't come with SPF, you can just mix it with your sun-block and apply. :) Another one is that it retains the overall make-up the whole day! (unless the climate is extremely humid that your face keeps sweating haha)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FakeLashes on 2/20/2014 7:49:00 AM more reviews by FakeLashes

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I used this as a primer and a radiant booster for my often dry-dull looking skin. The product is scented but nothing offensive and has a light champagne/beige color but goes on clear. I did not find that it makes my make-up longer lasting and I don't always get results from this. I used it once in a while and sometimes I do see my skin looking more radiant true my foundation while othertimes I don't noticed anything. I did try it as a mask but that did absolutly nothing. The tube lasted me almost 2 years because you only have to use a tiny amount. This is a weird product because I really don't see what it actually does and it only gives a minimal effect, so I wouldn't buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 camillajhb on 2/14/2014 5:14:00 PM more reviews by camillajhb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have but one thing to add:

If you want to experienced the 'tightening' part, try leaving it on for ten minutes before applying makeup, rather than applying makeup immediately as per the instructions.

(And seriously, don't use it every day, your skin will 'get used to it' (as Lisa Eldridge puts it) and the effects will diminish.)

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clarins products

More Treatments (Face) products