Guerlain Maxi Lash Mascara

4.3

65 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Paraffin, Cera Alba (Beeswax), Polybutene, Bis-Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate-2, Palmitic Acid, Stearic Acid, Triethanolamine, Vp/Eicosene Copolymer, Acacia Senegal Gum, Cera Carnauba, Candelilla Cera, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Silica, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Fragrance, Tocopheryl Acetate, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Linalool, Citronellol, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone, Benzyl Benzoate, Geraniol, Limonen, Citral, Bht. May contain: Mica, Ci 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499 (Iron Oxides), Ci 77007 (Ultramarines), Ci 77288 (Chromium Oxide Greens), Ci 77289 (Chromium Hydroxide Green), Ci 77510 (Ferric Ferrocyanide).


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

One word- amazing. Makes the lashes look like they were sculpted on by a famous artist. I got no clumping. My lashes look voluminous, are curled and long with using this one product. The only negative is the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 6/6/2015 6:15:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I received a sample of this from Sephora, and thought I'd just have it as a purse mascara for those on-the-go touchups. But when I tried this, I was amazed. I used to have decent lashes but after turning 40 or thereabouts they've gotten thinner, and shorter and I'm always on the lookout for something to make my lashes pop. This dinky sample tube produced amazing results. In a few quick swipes I have the lashes I had in my early 20s and then some. They're long, inky black and super defined.
I only have two complaints: One, I don't like the $30 price tag, but considering I drop $10 here and $5 there hoping for half the results I get with this, so maybe the $30 is the way to go. The other mild complaint is that this is fragranced, which I'm not wild about. The scent isn't bad, but I'd prefer it to be a bit subtle. In time in fades, but for a couple hours after applying I notice it off and on.
The formula is long-lasting, but still washes out easily. It takes a tiny bit longer to get off compared to some of my drugstore mascaras, but it's worth the extra effort when I get this kind of impact.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/29/2015 1:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Grey

This stuff. Is. The business. I had never even heard of this mascara until I picked it as a sample from Nordstroms because I've been looking to try some new ones. Best. Choice. Ever.

I've been using Maybelline Full n Soft for years now, and was moderately satisfied, but this is everything I have ever wanted in a mascara. (I still use Full n Soft for errand running days or occasions when I don't need or want to use up this magic Maxi lash).

I used it once, and I knew I had to have the full size. Long, sumptuous, voluminous, plush, fluttery, ultra black lashes had to be mine! At last, my HG mascara

In my opinion, I think this mascara's performance is maybe 70% formula, and 30% brush. The formula just feels...silky? And makes my lashes softer, yet they can still hold their curl (maybe that's the wax in the formula?) The brush is refreshingly simply, I'm so over these crazy contraptions and curvy brushes with giant bristles...This brush gets the job done, and I'm able to reach all of my lashes without any trouble.

To apply, I like to zig zag it through the base of my lashes 3 times, then fan them out 3 times, then "hand paint" each lash with the brush held vertically to lengthen them. Sometimes I layer the mascara with loose powder between coats, which builds a little extra volume.

It's not the most budget friendly mascara I've ever had, but the results you can have for just a few dollars more than your standard mid-range department store mascara...so worth every penny!

The only thing I would change about this mascara is the scent, which smells to me like roses. I do prefer my mascaras to be fragrance free since fragrance makes my eyes water, but it fades within 5 minutes of application...I wait until my eyes dry a bit before I clean up any smudges or application mistakes, but after it sets, I haven't experience any transfer, flakes, or smudging.

For reference, other mascaras I have tried that don't even come close to this one (and mostly felt ambivalent about) (and this is as many as I can remember...probably even more):
Lancome Definicils, Hypnose Drama, Hypnose Star
Clinique High impact (regular and curling), Bottom Lash
UD Cannonball, Perversion
Tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes
Smashbox full exposure
Armani Eyes to Kill
Benefit They're Real, Rollerlash

Covergirl Clump Crusher, LashExact, LashBlast Volume, LashBlast Fusion, Exact Eyelights
Maybelline Illegal Lengths, Rocket, Volum' Express, Lash Stiletto
Jordana Best Lash
L'oreal Butterfly, Telescopic, Double Extend, Million Lashes
Nyx Doll Eye

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/20/2015 6:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I love this mascara (I have the WP version by the way, the gold one was so so except it didn't last AS LONG as the WP version.) , screw the 50 dollar price tag on this in Singapore, but it is worth every single penny, you could cry a river with this and it will not run , smudge or sting your eyes. It holds a curl like nothing else, provides a very clean and no clumping volume, I tried to fault with this, really I tried and there is nothing to like about the heavy price tag when something could perform similarly from a drug store- or even a mid end price range. I am raving about this yes, but I swear by this mascara and ONLY this macara. I think when I first opened this, I hated it, but give it 1 week or so then the formula starts to thicken a little and it becomes AMAZING.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/10/2015 4:55:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have just finished my first tube of this, having used it for about 6 months. I won't repurchase and price has nothing to do with it. Upon initial application, it's all around perfect mascara. You don't need to work it, a few swipes and my shorts straight lashes looked best they ever did: long, black, thick, yet separated. Not the absolute best at curling, but pretty damn good. However a few hours in, it'd start smudging under eyes. And it's not the kind of smudges that are easy to wipe off either. You'd think that something that transfers so easily would at least be easy to wash off, but nope! It takes several passes of oil eye makeup remover and I'm still left with black smudges all around the eyes. Just too much hassle. Oh yeah, the scent is very strong (violets), didn't bother me, but could be a deal breaker for some.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/27/2015 12:37:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This mascara is my HG mascara...thrilled to have finally found it! It does everything (lengthens, volumizes, and curls) with no more than one or two coats. One coat gives a nice naturally lush look, and it's easily buildable for a more dramatic look with no clumping! I have short, fine lashes, and I'm a mascara junkie...the one makeup that I don't want to leave home without, and this is the one I always reach for.

Currently, I have the following mascaras in my makeup drawer: Too-Faced Better than Sex; the classic DiorShow; Dior Addict It-Lash; Tarte Gifted; YSL Shocking Volume Effet; MakeUp Forever Smoky Extravagant; Smashbox Full Exposure; BareMinerals Lash Domination; Blinc Mascara Amplified; CK One Color; Urban Decay Perversion; Buxom Amplified; Clinique High Impact; L'Oreal Voluminous; and my drugstore fave, Maybelline Volum' Express Colossal. But you know what? Guerlain Maxi Lash beats them all. What's more, my lashes look and feel full and very soft. Easy to wash off with only my cleanser and water, and lasts all day for me!

Before finding this, DiorShow was my go-to mascara and although I liked it, I kept searching for the perfect mascara. Guerlain is IT for me. No more searching...I've found the perfect match!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 12/28/2014 6:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

One of my favourite mascaras to date! I don't have the best natural lashes and this stuff gives great length and volume! My lashes look visibly bigger and it isn't clumpy so lashes are nicely separated and defined. No spider lashes or dry lashes! Formula is very smooth and looks natural. Not waterproof, staying power is pretty good. I've had a few smudges occasionally. Only major con is with the tube. After a while I find the product leaks/collects around the seam between the tube and the cap (ie right now there is product smudging around the seam which is annoying).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/22/2014 9:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This mascara is definitely a five star luxe experience. Super sexy, lush, long, thick, dense, black lashes. No complaints. It is so buildable. I keep adding and adding and no clumping. It's very pricey, but I can tell this is a totally worth it mascara. The quality is very high, there's no flaking. If your a fan of packaging then this is for you the tube is a small metal gold tube, with a perfect wand. Something unique about this mascara is it's scented with a floral perfume. Initially, I was worried it would irritate me, but it doesn't have any affect on me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/25/2014 9:12:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

THis mascara not only dries up super quick, it smudges like no other on me. Granted, most mascara's smudge on me, but it is fixed with a swipe of Blinc mascara on top. I do this with all my mascara's. This one though, it smudges through my Blinc, as I do not pile the Blinc on I just add a quick swipe on top of all my mascara's and that always solves my problem.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is the absolute best mascara I've ever tried, high-end or drugstore. It lengthens like no other and gives lots of volume with virtually no clumping. And I don't have any smudging or flaking even after a full day's wear. The only criticism I have is that it doesn't hold a curl, but that's the case with all non-waterproof mascaras on my stick straight lashes. But I've found a way around that by curling my lashes before applying the Clarins Double Fix Mascara (which is just a transparent waterproofing coat) and then applying Maxi Lash. I also want to add that I adore the simple but beautiful gold packaging.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top