Guerlain • Liu • Fragrances

rated 3.9(25 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zeynepd on 12/1/2013 8:07:00 AM more reviews by zeynepd

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a review for the 2009 reformulation. Liu is a smell alike for Chanels famous No.5 and the rumour goes that Jacques Guerlain concocted it after smelling Chanel No.5. on his wife. It is an aldehydic rose with a very strong resemblance to No.5. However, while I quite like recent formulations of Chanel No.5, I do not think Liu works that well on me. Its aldehydes are less sparkly, animalic edge slightly stronger and it has an amber note that turns too sweet, flat and tired on me. Also Liu loses its strength very quickly on my skin, leaving me with traces of sweet powder and some barely there animalic notes. I prefer Chanel No.5 to this.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 YoHarajuku on 1/23/2013 11:19:00 AM more reviews by YoHarajuku

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Very similar to Chanel No.5, in fact wears like a lighter daytime version. Its still a little dated for my tastes but it might be something I try again in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 shaktigal on 2/28/2011 10:10:00 AM more reviews by shaktigal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Very Perfumey, something like a "expensive-leather-bag-containing cosmetics" note in the centre, which is heavily underpinned by an awfully sickening overpowering older-lady-amber undercurrent. Not my cup of tea, actually makes me sick to the pit of my stomach. This review is for the scent Liu that is now part of the Les Parisiennes line.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* crickett85 on 4/2/2010 4:46:00 PM more reviews by crickett85

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I love the top notes of Guerlain Liu, but that's because they remind me of my favorite fragrance, Chanel No. 5. Quite lovely aldehydic florals open up this scent.
However; on drydown, this scent starts to remind me of that other famous Guerlain fragrance, Shalimar. And, while I've always liked Shalimar....I wouldn't wear it on the same day and for the same occasions that I would wear Chanel No. 5 to. For instance, Shalimar is a lovely spicy scent that I like for winter wear but would STILL only very lightly dab if I were going to the office.
I would wear Chanel No. 5 to church but probably would not wear Shalimar to church.
I would wear Chanel No. 5 with a floral gown but would not wear Shalimar with a floral gown and wide brimmed straw hat. It sould be so out of place.
So, I'm quite flumoxed when My Chanel No. 5 ringer turns into Shalimar. Do I go home and change into something more exotic now?

Liu was first launched by Guerlain in 1929. I am uncertain if this relaunch is true to the original scent or not as I've never really worn Lui.

However; I prefer to keep my Chanel No. 5 separate from my Shalimar. As such, I probably will not be using Liu. And, Liu is quite pricey as well.

I can't really give this less than 4 lippies because I do like both the opening notes and drydown on this. Just not in the same fragrance.

More on Liu:

Guerlain perfumes and colognes
Floral Green fragrances
Liu by Guerlain

Liu by Guerlain is a floral green fragrance for women. Liu was launched in 1929. The nose behind this fragrance is Jacques Guerlain. Top notes are aldehydes, neroli and bergamot; middle notes are rosemary, jasmine and rose; base notes are iris, amber, vanilla and woodsy notes.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* msm4slm on 4/2/2010 3:01:00 PM more reviews by msm4slm

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Liu is a vintage Guerlain perfume, reintroduced as part of the upper-end boutique line, Les Parisiennes. I am reviewing a decant I purchased on ebay. This is not a bad scent; I reiterate it has a great similarity to No. 5, classically elegant aldehyde floral. However, with price taken into account (over $200), I would not repurchase. If I want this effect, good old No. 5 is the one for me!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* traes on 6/22/2009 5:38:00 PM more reviews by traes

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I so wanted to like this one. I have a thing for Guerlain and this sounded like it would be something I'd really like. But it smells like La Base on steroids. Much too candied floral to me. Just not my thing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lvpoetess on 2/26/2009 1:43:00 AM more reviews by lvpoetess

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

Liu is my favorite Guerlain fragrance - no surprise since I love Chanel no 5 so much! In its opening it is much like No. 5, with aldehydes and pretty jasmine. It is not at all musty. The drydown, which lasts for ages, smells like a typical classic Guerlain - vanilla, tonka, spice etc. This is actually my only problem with the fragrance - I don't feel the drydown matches the top notes very well. It is as though I have switched to a new fragrance. I find the drydown a bit cloying after awhile, and it starts to remind me a Shalimar, which I cannot wear. I do not need to own it, but I wish it were more readily available in case I change my mind later - the opening notes are so beautiful!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Laurel15 on 2/23/2009 11:09:00 AM more reviews by Laurel15

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Liu from Guerlain. Intriguing name. Gorgeous packaging. Nasty olfactory surprise.

Here's what I wrote in my notes as I was testing Liu: "aldehydes ...champaca ...baby powder/pampers ...dirty baby smell" ...and there the list ends, because I quickly ran to scrub it off.

Normally, I try to be open minded about fragrances that I don't initially care for, letting them develop and allowing myself a chance to understand them. But this is the first fragrance that I can honestly say made me - literally - gag. It really, really did. Liu quickly develops into the sour odor of a neglected infant. Of all the perfumes I've have had the opportunity to sample, this one is hands down the most godawful. And that's all I have to say. Beware of Liu.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 truffle_me on 1/23/2009 11:15:00 PM more reviews by truffle_me

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Liu wears like Chanel no. 5's younger, happier sister with its sparkling aldehydic jasmine-flavored lemonade top notes, smooth floral heart, and cuddly musky vanillic dry down. Very proper and very appropriate; the kind of fragrance that would make a good sweet sixteen gift for a girl who follows the rules. Liu doesn't get knocked up in the back of a pickup truck; she's not even allowed to ride in it. She doesn't sneak out and do it anyway, either... she tells him he can have his promise ring back if he can't respect her parents' wishes.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* condesadepitimini on 1/9/2009 9:47:00 AM more reviews by condesadepitimini

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Green    

As others already commented I agree that Liu is the next of kin of Chanel n.5. Just deeper I guess.
Very strong on the aldheides, a warm vanilla base in the classical Guerlain way, add a damascus rose and some resins in the drydown - all the way mix plenty of aldheides of course!

Very classy, sophisticated. Needs a styled woman & cool weather to go well with.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Guerlain products

More Fragrances products