Simple Protecting Light Moisturizer SPF 15

3.0

21 reviews

33% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Avobenzone (sunscreen), Ensulizole (sunscreen), Octisalate (sunscreen) Inactive Ingredients: Water, Glycerin, Stearic Acid, Glycol Stearate, PEG 100 Stearate, Dimethicone, Tocopheryl Acetate, Panthenol, Allantoin, Bisabolol, Glyceryl Stearate, Potassium Stearate, Carbomer, Caprylyl Glycol, Cetyl Alcohol, Xanthan Gum, Stearamide AMP, Phenoxyethanol, Disodium EDTA, Methylisothiazolinone


on 4/18/2015 12:09:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I picked this up, because I had a coupon, otherwise I might not have risked shelling out $10 for yet another SPF I might end up hating. While I am not a fan of the fact this does not have a pump, the formula itself is pretty good. I have a very oily t-zone, so most SPF based moisturizers just make the problem worse, to the point I refuse to use them. However, I know I need to wear a daily SPF, and this one does not seem to make me more oily than I already am. Also, makeup applies well over this, which is also important. One of the better ones I have tried, so I would probably repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 3/14/2015 10:43:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Grey

I have been using the good old Oil of Olay moisturizer for years ( http://www.ulta.com/ulta/browse/productDetail.jsp?productId=xlsImpprod3310041 ) but I saw this in Walmart and had heard good things about the Simple brand, and it looked gentle and safe enough to try.

First off, when I applied this, it would burn and sting my skin. Terribly. I am not sure why, I am sure there may be a 'reason' why it does this and some sort of claim that the stinging/burning might be normal...? I don't know. I just do not want a moisturizer to burn or sting my skin. And if it does, it better perform miracles..lol But this did nothing in the way of hydrating or moisturizing my skin, it just burned my skin for quite a while after I applied it, to the point I was actually afraid of applying my makeup for fear of some sort of reaction. I considered waiting an hour or more (yes it burned/irritated my skin for that long) to apply my makeup, but to me, that is completely asnine (sorry, can't think of another word, and that is kind of how angry this product made me)..I do not want to wait all day after applying my moisturizer to apply my makeup. On the rare occasion, I did apply my makeup after about 15 minutes, and as expected, my skin felt all the more irritated. I ended up washing it off with the very gentlest makeup remover that I had.

Now, I do have sensitive skin, so this might not be an issue for some people. But to me, it merited me returning it to Walmart. Never again.


on 8/19/2014 12:47:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am a long time user of Neutrogena sensitive skin moisturizer with SPF. Unfortunately, the formulation changed and I needed a replacement. I found this Simple moisturizer and decided to give it a try. The product is affordable, non-greasy, and offers SPF. I have been using the product for about three months and I have nothing negative to say about it other than the ingredient list is anything but "simple". As a result, I will not be repurchasing when I finish the product as I would like a moisturizer with fewer chemical ingredients. If toxic chemicals are not an issue for you; I say go for it!


on 8/13/2014 11:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this as a placeholder for my usual sunscreen since I can only order that online and wanted to try something else. Bad idea. I liked it at first but within a week not only did I break out, but also my rosacea flared up, I got a rash near my eyes and my skin felt and looked like an oily mess. In fact the only products in the Simple skincare line that don't give a bad reaction are the eye makeup wipes and the foaming cleanser, everything else makes me break out.


on 7/6/2014 11:55:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I was in the hunt for a good moisturizer with spf 15. I came across this moisturizer it claimed it was the sensitive skin expert. Oil-free, with no artificial perfume or dyes, dermatologist tested, non-comedogenic, hypoallergenic, and with glycerin. So it seemed perfect. I have oily, acne-prone, sensitive skin so I get very nervous when i use new product on my face. I decided to purchase it the next day I had new breakout. I thought it was my makeup so I kept using it within two weeks I noticed no change and kept getting breakouts. I had to stop using it. Wanted to love it but was not for my skin type.


on 6/13/2014 3:15:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use Simple cleansers, and really like those as they dont dry my skin out. But they dropped the ball with this moisturizer. I can only use a dime size on my face, otherwise it leaves waxy flaky very apparent residue.


on 6/12/2014 11:29:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Definitely a favorite moisturizer.
I can apply this moisturizer without worrying about looking oily throughout the day. It is part of my daily routine to apply this under my foundation.
I don't need a primer with this moisturizer as it creates a lovely surface for my makeup.
No offending smells or weird texture, sinks into the skin within seconds.

Even better It was half price at Superdrug and I only payed 1.88 for it.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Honestly at first I fell in love with this moisturizer, however after a while it left my skin super dehydrated and I had one of the worst break outs ever. My face is still trying to get back to normal even after a month since I stopped using it. Honestly simple products Sucks crap!!. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY


on 4/8/2014 1:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

When it comes to daytime moisturizers, I usually stick to a gel/serum-ish consistently since I have really oily skin but I noticed during the Fall/Winter time, my skin tends to become dryer and those moisturizers aren't providing enough moisture for me. So I decided to pick this up because it's a creamy consistently and it claims to be "light" on the bottle. It also contains SPF 15, which I thought was perfect. I think this is a great moisturizer for the colder seasons for me but when the warmer months comes around, I am a greasy mess with this! I'd say give it a try if you're normal-combo skin!


on 3/18/2014 8:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a very nice daytime moisturizer for the spring and summer months. I will definitely purchase this in the coming months.
Pros:
Non greasy
Moisturizing
Convenient packaging
Light weight

Cons:
Kind of expensive for a drugstore moisturizer

I will be repurchasing this summer.


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
1266 Reviews
Strobe Cream
432 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
197 Reviews
Back to Top