Bare Escentuals • Lash Domination • Mascara

rated 3.2(30 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.40%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 beachsexybronze on 3/14/2014 12:42:00 PM more reviews by beachsexybronze

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this mascara. I'm not too big on mascaras because I find over the years that some of the cheaper brands produce the same nice effect (like Maybeline and others, etc). But being that I received this mascara with some of their value gift sets I thought I'd spare a review.

This one really makes my lashes pop and stand out. Very nice thick but not clumpy-yay!

I only need one or two coats to make them look fabulous!

However, there is a little trick that ANYone can use with any mascara (if this helps): Dab your wand in a tiny bit of loose powder (I use AirSpun by Coty-full coverage foundation powder), go over your lashes with it (or just the ends). Then wipe off your wand (so you don't mix the powder residue with the mascara inside) and then coat your powdered lashes with mascara. Instant thick lashes ;)

I probably won't repurchase because again, there are many other decent mascaras out there although this one is more better ingrediants that are great for those with allergies. ;)I DO love BE products too, but unless I get this mascara that comes with a gift set of theirs, I won't spend too much on just one mascara. ;)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Whitestats03 on 3/12/2014 10:35:00 AM more reviews by Whitestats03

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Ok so here's my update. It's been a week. I love the packaging, the brush, and it's staying power even tho it's not waterproof. No flaking or smudging after an 8 hr day. Here's my BIG CONS. It's not as lengthening as Rimmel lash accelerator or my Loreal Telescopic lash extensions. And I lose my curl!!! Even if I curl my lashes first. Not cool!! They fall within 30 mins. I'm incredibly sad. And bec of that last point mostly I can't use it before ( due to clumping of mult layers of mascara ) or after( it falls). I'm heart broken. The first time was the best. Prob falls the way it does cuz its really wet? Idk. Very sad.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Julia336 on 2/27/2014 1:30:00 AM more reviews by Julia336

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got this product in the Birthday set. I don't like it at all. It clumps and flakes. By two hours into wear, I have smudges under my eyes. I wore it a couple times to give it a chance, never worked. I'm glad I got this as part of a set rather than pay full price for it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* orenjinominh on 2/20/2014 11:30:00 PM more reviews by orenjinominh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I was kindly gifted this mascara by a fellow MUAer and I have to admit it's a lovely mascara. At first, the wand seemed gimmicky to me and as I researched it was a volumizing mascara. Nah. I don't think so. I have decent length and volume lashes from using latisse, so I can no longer comment on how it works for sparse and super thin downward pointing lashes.

For the moment, this is my daily use mascara. It's not too black and intense and doesn't get clumpy at all, because the formula is rather light and watery/thin. It takes a while to set but doesn't get everywhere and the wand maneuvers excellently on my sad bottom lashes. The best thing about it is how natural and....fluttery/soft it looks. Very good for every day at the office where you don't want people staring at your dramatic caterpillars.

The downside is the price. I'm the type to spend loads on HE mascara if I think it works and rebuy faster it dries, but for some reason I can't justify going out and getting this just yet. To me it should be only around 10 dollars, hence only 4 lippies. I think it could be HG for someone who already has great lashes and want definition with drama. On me, it lengthens my lashes decently and doesn't flake into my eyes. I do notice smudging slightly by the end of the day because it's very easily removable with warm water. I feel like if it was a DS mascara it would become a huge hit.

I noticed a lot of people saying that it's goopy. Quite the opposite in my experience. It was again, a thin formulation, but this means it didn't clump or weigh down my lashes whatsoever. If you have a chance to try it I definitely think it's worth a try at least.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mel0974 on 2/1/2014 8:24:00 PM more reviews by mel0974

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I thought this would be great because of the brush. No way! I had mascara everywhere! And after I cleaned it up it started flaking by hour two. Definitely a no go!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lakshana1 on 1/19/2014 5:24:00 PM more reviews by lakshana1

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I got a full size in the bareMinerals all the faves set. I don't think this is a bad mascara but for high-end I expected a lot more...the formula is a little weird. It smudges easily. If you were going to spend your money on a high-end mascara you are better of with benefit they're real

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 auraborialis on 12/28/2013 1:48:00 PM more reviews by auraborialis

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm really glad other people are having luck with this, I didn't like it at all. I have pretty thin lashes but somehow I couldn't get the product from the brush onto my eyelashes. I tried the twisting method some girls had mentioned previously and all that did was smear mascara all over my eyelid. I'm very experienced with makeup and as a former makeup artist doing bridal makeup, I was frustrated by this product and wouldn't recommend it. There are areas on the brush that have no bristles so you have to position it a certain way before putting it next to your eye, the applicator is too thick and the bristles are too short, and you have to put on multiple coats to get anything on and then it gets clumpy.

Like I said, I'm glad this works for other people but I didn't have a good experience with it so it was returned. Putting on mascara shouldn't be so much work!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kchastings on 12/22/2013 4:18:00 PM more reviews by Kchastings

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I previously used L'Oreal mascara, but got this on a whim at Sephora. I never upload pics with my reviews, but I will for this one! First day I used, I thought it was pretty darn good. Second day I used it, my mother asked me what I'd done different to my lashes. She said they looked longer. I checked them out in the mirror...SHOCKED. My thin, short dark lashes were thicker, longer! Not advertised as waterproof, but it lasted through crying twice in one day. That is unheard of! I use this per instructions: Twist the wand while pulling the wand from base to tips of lashes. I'm no expert with makeup, but I do ok. I abhor false lashes. This is the best mascara I've ever used. I will buy this again before I run out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* volshorn08 on 12/18/2013 4:59:00 PM more reviews by volshorn08

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got a sample of this mascara, and a full size in a set. I like the formula of the BE mascaras. Flawless Definition original and Volumizing are 2 of my favorites. I never get flaking or clumping. My lashes stay soft to touch. It's not too difficult to remove. I tend to rotate my wand (with any mascara) while applying, so the twist of the bristles is a nifty feature for me.
I get decent length and some volume with this. I like to layer my mascaras to enhance my lashes further. I have used this on its own in a hurry and I am satisfied with the results. It is a more dramatic mascara than the Flawless version, though not as dramatic as I would get using a lengthening then volumizing mascara layered. My natural lashes are long but I always want more volume and thickness. So I don't need a lot to make them dramatic anyway. Overall, I really like it and would buy it again if I needed it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 12/14/2013 4:01:00 PM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I am not sure about all the negative reviews on this, but this is a great mascara. I am usually very critical of higher end mascaras, but this is deserving of the price. I have never had it clump, flake, or do anything bad on me.
It lengthens and volumizes so much. With three coats it looks like false lashes almost on me. I know everyone is different because everyone's lashes are different, so this may not be what you experience. Mine are fairly full naturally and medium length. Two coats of this and they are very full and long. I also LOVE Covergirl Lash Blast. Lash Blast is my HG and this is very similar to what it does to my lashes.
I would never buy this seperate because of the price, but I receive them in kits from BE with other products and they come out free. This is the only higher end mascara I have loved besides UD and Dior.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Mascara products