NARS • Iceland Duo • Eye Shadow

rated 4.3(50 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blondebohemian on 8/5/2013 1:54:00 PM more reviews by blondebohemian

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

It's time for this review - since I just ran out of my Iceland duo :)

Reference point: NARS Barcelona, Armani Silk Foundation #7, MAC 30-35. Tan skin.

Iceland has always been on my 'to buy' list and I finally did it. And since buying it I used it EVERY SINGLE DAY. It looks a little basic / a little scary / a little Las Vegas stripper brow bone highlight. Haha - I know that's a lot of looks to take in.

Effects: What a wonderful shadow duo. It's velvety, easily blendable and buildable. One of the shades has more blue in it, the other more green. I like using the blue one (on the left) under my brow bone as a highlight, and the green one (on the right) in the corner of my eye and on my eyelid. On days when I want that no make up look, but I still want to look awake and glowy, I'll just use Iceland, and a touch of black eyeliner. Sometimes when I do a smokey eye, I'll use Iceland for my browbone and corner of eye, or under my lower lash line. Iceland also looks AMAZING on top of other shadows. For example, I dusted on the greenish (right) side of Iceland over NARS Fez (a brown single shadow) and it resulted in a gorgeous look - almost like the shell of a beetle. Looks amazing over the NARS cream shadows as well. This duo can really transform so many of the eyeshadow you own - just experiment!

Note - a light hand when applying these shadows helps me a lot. Just start out with a light layer and then build up.

Sometimes, I've used this a cheekbone highlighter.

Packaging: NARS rubber black - it gets dirty, but if you drop it, it's less likely to shatter. I like to cleanse my NARS products once in a while with a damp wash cloth to keep the finger tip marks and powder stains away.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* violetmist on 3/13/2012 3:06:00 PM more reviews by violetmist

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I just pulled this out from my "Inactive" draw and it is so spot on for this season. You wouldn't know by looking at this not only what it is but how versatile and useful it is. The colours look white in the pan so please take the time to sample them because they come alive when they are on your skin. I've never seen another product like it. One is light lavendar, soft sheen of colour that is amazingly beautiful on its own (I use it as a base with Grenadine) and the other is a soft shimmer green which is terrific on the inner corners of the eyes and a highligher. Worn together they are ethereal (anchored with a bit of liner, preferably black) BUT the real magic is what these two colours will do when blended over other shadows. So it may seem like an indulgence but it will extend your shadow wardrobe and take it to very interesting places.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 phizzybee on 1/23/2010 7:44:00 AM more reviews by phizzybee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

this is a very pretty duo. i would choose this above the kilimanjaro duo if you're trying to choose. great amount of pigmentation. light sparkle, reminds of what i imagine magic faery dust might look like.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 itsmek on 11/10/2009 9:28:00 PM more reviews by itsmek

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The perfect highlighters for my NC15 skin. The texture is great, silky smooth. The pigmentation for a highlighter is perfect-most are too sheer and don't show up on my skin or are too heavy leaving me with a very obvious drag queen look. It's shimmery but doesn't have the extremely frosted look that a lot of MAC highlighters have. I prefer the green side as sometimes I feel the purple tone of the lavender one is a little too apparent and I'm generally just not a fan of lavender.
I hate the packaging of NARS singles- I feel like the mirror inside is just a waste as its to small to be used. However it's a nice touch in the larger duos and I find myself throwing it in my purse to check my makeup with. The compact is very slim and the rubberized outside makes it very durable.
I don't think I'll buy again though, because of the price. It's just out of my price range.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Mewwy on 11/7/2009 8:11:00 PM more reviews by Mewwy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

Granted, the colors are beautiful, but I think the highlight (no pun intended :p) of this product is the texture and consistency. Both colors aren't too powdery, pressed in the right density, and applies really really smoothly for an iridescent formula. The shimmer spreads easily with no large, uneven glitters. I don't see this eyeshadow useful for highlighting the brow bone because the blue and green goes surprisingly apparent, but the colors are definitely special.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 CeciliaM on 9/15/2009 12:17:00 AM more reviews by CeciliaM

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I like that NARS eyeshadows come in slim compacts with mirrors. I purchased this duo along with Persepolis. The beauty advisor used it over the green in Persepolis, and she mixed the violet hue in Iceland with black to create a navy liner. I'm medium olive complected, so worn alone, the violet hue in Iceland looks lavender on my lids instead of white with a violet hue. Anyhow, even though this would not have been something I would have purchased on my own I am glad I tried it. I like playing with this to create different colors. The green hue in this duo is nice worn alone and looks more like a highlighter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AM9090 on 5/19/2008 6:52:00 PM more reviews by AM9090

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is a stunning duo. The colours have a wonderful, brightening effect when used as a wash from lashline to browbone. I use a darker shadow in the socket and outer third of the eyelid (BB Smoke), liquid eyeliner on top lid and a couple of layers of volumizing mascara - very striking. You won't regret purchasing this duo. One of my favourites. Would repurchase at three times the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zeynep81 on 3/20/2008 8:20:00 AM more reviews by zeynep81

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I ran into this duo in my stash the other day.It was still untouched.This is something what MUA can do to you over the years:) Then I remembered that I got this online 2 years ago. I wondered why I ordered it in the first place because it looked simply..well white.I even put it into my swaplist but then I read the reviews and decided to give it a try.I'm hooked ever since! I still it's pretty dumb to put two light shades into an eye shadow duo but I also got to tell you that it contains one of the most beautiful iridescent lavender/violet shade ever. I like it on browbone,inner corners,crease,lid..even on cheek bones to give them a glowy effect! If you have hazel or brown eyes you might want to check this out. I'm not a hard fan of the green side because even though it gives an interesting, duo chrome effect, it reminds me the color of black fly wings.ick.However, for the sake of the pretty violet part I would repurchase this duo (probably somewhere at a cheaper price than retail tho).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* eqing on 2/18/2008 12:26:00 PM more reviews by eqing

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Interesting eyeshadow. Its not good for me as a stand alone eyeshadow. I think of it as more of a over-shadow effect enhancer. It is very, very shimmery,iridescent, prism-y you get the idea. Theres a blue iridescent side and a green. The blue casts more of a glow. The way I use it is I take an eyeshadow in a vibrant color and put it on the middle and outer lid. The I take the Iceland color that matches best and go over. The Iceland shadow itself is then in the inner corner as a brighter and the rest of the lid is more shimmery this way. It will mute down colors as its still white but not much as its too sheer.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maan84 on 6/30/2007 9:54:00 AM more reviews by maan84

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

NARS Iceland e/s duo looks pretty boring in the packaging to be honest. Just plain white and dull to the eyes. However, when applied on the lids it's a whole different story! It's such a pretty duo of two shimmery IR colors, blue (violet-blue) and soft minty green. I usually apply the blue one as crease color and the other one as a base color.
To my eyes the green e/s is prettier than the blue so I use that one more often.

As always with NARS the texture is great. So is the staying power. Iceland makes my blue eyes pop! Great duo! I'd repurchase if needed.

For reference: I'm a pale blonde w/ blue eyes.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Eye Shadow products