Revlon • Super Lustrous in Pink Cognito • Lipstick

rated 2.5(11 reviews)

Average Rating.2.5
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 lushbylaura on 6/18/2014 1:01:00 AM more reviews by lushbylaura

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I wish I could give it a more positive rating as the colour is really pretty and Revlon produces excellent lipsticks in general. Even though it's advertised as a sheer lipstick, the pigmentation is not good at all and you need to layer it on so much to make it noticeable. However, I'll give a fair well-rounded review on it even though it's not one of my purchase recommendations.

1) Packaging: looks classy, I like it!
2) Colour: it's a pretty, baby pink colour on the warm/peachy side.
3) Pigmentation: poor, I've had light colours with better pigmentation.
4) Longevity: can't expect good longevity when there's not enough colour in application.

People who are interested in very subtle makeup would love it though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hanouna on 6/5/2014 11:36:00 AM more reviews by Hanouna

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This lipstick gives my lips a pretty peachy/pink sheen with a bit of gold microshimmer. It does not have good staying power, but I do like to wear this at work or during the weekend when I only want a bit of shine and sheer color.

It is VERY sheer, so if you prefer pigmented nudes, this won't be for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 laurenjill05 on 6/3/2014 2:28:00 PM more reviews by laurenjill05

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I sadly had to return this. It doesn't show up on your lips at all. I would only recommend this to someone who wants a SUPER natural lipstick that gives a slight sheen and some shimmer. I thought it was going to be a nice peachy nude, but it's practically clear with shimmer. I should've checked the reviews before I purchased like I normally do! Like Emily Noel says... "If I'm gonna bother putting some lipstick on - gimme some color!" :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bklyncowgirl on 5/23/2014 9:38:00 AM more reviews by bklyncowgirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The skinny: donít bother

In the tube the color looks so perfect, itís so deceiving. When I tried it, like others, I immediately thought, ďLustreĒ. In some light, the (almost imperceptible) shade reminds me of Macís Angel Ė but a warmer, waaay sheerer version. You swipe this on and because the color is doing so little, you give it another layer and you wind up with this slippery, too thick result. You blot a little and wind up with almost no effect at all. I don't feel any of the grit that others mention nor do I see the glitter. This is something you can put on while walking, driving, sleeping, whatever, with no thought. It does give a wet, shiny effect for the very short time that it lasts (for me, on top of balm it was about 15 Ė 20 min before it was pretty much entirely gone). It makes a marginal difference and no one but me would guess I did anything.

If you want something wetter and lighter than a balm (but doesnít last like one), or something to layer over a matte lipstick, or you want to feel like you put some effort into your appearance before going to the store (for a few min) or to do laundry, you might like this. I think this would be perfect to give to a 12 year old to make her feel like she has a piece of real makeup while you know itís not doing anything. She could reapply a lot and use a pretty little compact to do so.

If I hadnít got this as part of a 2 item purchase to qualify for coupon, this would be going back To-day. Donít these companies do focus groups? Iím mad that this cost me $4.
I wouldn't want another for free.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GacktCamui on 2/24/2014 1:20:00 PM more reviews by GacktCamui

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Wow. This lipstick deceived me. In the tube it looks like a pretty nude-beige-pink. On the lips it is clear with sparkles.

Yeah. I feel a little bit scandalized. I don't usually allow myself to be tricked.

As far as the formula goes, it reminds me of MAC lustre formula lipsticks. Thin consistency, but has slip. Doesn't accentuate my flaky lips too badly.

I wish it was actually true to color. But being that there is no pigmentation, it is going back.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* skandelouslala on 10/30/2013 3:22:00 PM more reviews by skandelouslala

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I wonder if Revlon has reformulated this since the previous reviews were posted... my tube has no "grit" issue whatsoever... in fact I don't even see any shimmer whatsoever in this color which is great because I don't care much for shimmer these days.

I love Pink Cognito. It's like if beige, pink, and light peach all had a baby together. It's nude without being deathly, colorless, lifeless. I absolutely adore how this looks on my lips, natural yet you can tell I am wearing a little something. It is one of my favorite lipstick shades I have found thus far and I picked it up for under 3 bucks thanks to a sale and a coupon.

The Shine formula leaves a little something to be desired. It is very thin so it doesn't last very long on lips. It doesn't really feel greasy to me though, more watery or wet than slick and greasy. I like that my lips feel a little more moisturized after wearing it though.

Bonus: No detectable scent or taste.

Update: Downgrading this from a 4 to a 3. The formula is just too thin! I put this on my lips and within 5 minutes I swear it is gone. Color and everything. Where does it go even?! It is quite mysterious heh. Such a bummer, I loved the color so much. I had seen other shades in the Shine formula I was curious about but will save my money, the formula just doesn't have enough lasting power. Wet N Wild's old 99 cent Wild Shine lipsticks lasted way longer than these.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sultryvoice on 7/2/2013 11:59:00 PM more reviews by sultryvoice

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Pink Cognito is a very light beige pink (with the slightest touch of peach) shade with tiny shimmers. The texture is a bit greasy along with what I can only describe as a very slightly rough feeling (although I would not call it gritty..I hate gritty feeling lipsticks/lip glosses). It is not an unpleasant feeling for me as this is the same texture as my discontinued Chanel Aqualumiere lipstick in Maldives, which just happens to be the reason why I purchased this shade. This is my Maldives dupe. Some women have found this shade to be nothing more than a clear lipstick with shimmer and I am in disagreement. I am a WoC with pigmented lips and this lipstick does show up on me as a very light and slightly opaque pink which is absolutely perfect with a smokey eye. This shade does not make my lips look ashy, but leaves them with a very subtle and neutral light pink colour. As for the moisturizing properties, this does leave me disappointed as it is a bit too greasy to be completely moisturizing (won't keep my lips supple during our infamous Cdn winters). The feeling is not luxurious, but thin. Not what I would expect from Revlon, but I don't think that this shade is easily dupable, so if I finish this tube I will look to repurchase at a discounted price. I was fortunate to buy this tube for $3.99cdn on sale and honestly, I think that it is only worth about that much. That said, I have yet to try the other shades, so I do plan on buying one other shade while this sale is still on. I have my eye on the shade Honey Bare.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rratstarr5 on 6/24/2013 4:42:00 PM more reviews by rratstarr5

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I had planned to replace Demure, but I couldn't find it, and thought this might be close enough. Pink Cognito is basically clear with some sparkle, not the pinky-nude shade seen in the tube. I know it's part of a "shine" collection, but there is zero color payoff here. I will be returning this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1017 on 6/15/2013 7:22:00 AM more reviews by 1017

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This shade is the grittiest one of all the Shine ones I have tried. It did not show its gritty nature right away, but after a few uses...rough. Fuchsia Shock feels so creamy, why does this feel like a gravel road? The color would be great, but I feel like I am putting exfoliator on my lips every time I use it. So, I have stopped using it. It had so much potential :(


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 easterdawn on 6/14/2013 11:23:00 PM more reviews by easterdawn

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Greasy, yet gritty at the same time. Looks to be shimmer free in the tube but actually has tiny bits of shimmer that I can feel as I apply it. As the product wears off, it leaves obvious bits of glitter/shimmer on my lips. Would not repurchase, wish I could return but I got it at Walmart. Should have purchased at Ulta so I could return. I usually like Revlon lip products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Lipstick products