Maybelline • Volum' Express Falsies Big Eyes • Mascara

rated 3.2(153 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jessica24601 on 7/16/2014 10:15:00 PM more reviews by Jessica24601

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I usually choose Maybelline mascaras and "Falsies Big Eyes" is the only one in the Volume Express line that I've never tried. For reference, my lashes are longer then average (not overly tho) yet not very plentiful so volume / thickness is what I need. I love the "Colossal" as it's the only one that thickens them up, or L'Oreal's "Voluminous Carbon Black." When I'm in a better job and can actually afford "Channel Le Volume", I'll try that. Anyhow, I got this one via Target on sale for 6.99 (7.90 w/ taxes)...It comes out fairly thickly so 1 coat, maybe 2 is sufficient or else it can clump, or look really un-natural. I do like that the "Blackest Black" is extremely black b/c my lashes are already black as I'm partly East Indian, and that it curls my lashes which are normally straight, but I kinda expected the thickness / volume I get w/ REG Colossal and didn't recieve that :( I did get nice length, curl and color. I do like the small wand even for my top corner lashes. I'd say it's a decent mascara. Actually get more length and volume w/ my dirt cheap Jordana mascara which is 3.30, but am glad I tried this non the less. It will most likely grow on me (like "The Rocket" did) after I've had it for a couple of wks, that's when formulas peek for me when the overt wetness simmers down and the mascara dries a little. Lastly, I love the packaging as it clicks and snug to allow one to know that it's truly closed, and there's 9ml of prodcut, so more then meets the eye. I like it just do not love it like I do "The Colossal" and "Full N Soft is all. My cousin, who's already got gorgeous big brown thick lashes uses it, but I should've known it wouldn't look like that on me!! Ha. Live and learn...Or rather SPEND and learn!! :P May re purchase tho as I really like the small brush and they do not sell "Lash Discovery" in Canada anymore.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Makeupbeauty1065 on 7/15/2014 1:25:00 PM more reviews by Makeupbeauty1065

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I hate this product. I'm sorry but it does not work for me. It is extremely clumpy and the bottom lash brush is awful. It either gets no mascara on my lashes or clumps them up. Won't buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Jinsoh on 7/13/2014 4:27:00 PM more reviews by Jinsoh

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was interested in this product because I like the regular Falsies waterproof mascara. Because the brush on that can be a bit cumbersome to coat the bottom lashes, I thought the bottom lash brush would make the task easier. For some reason, I thought that the brushes for the top and bottom lashes would be in the caps to the ends, and the actual mascara product would be in the center. Not so. The top and bottom lash brushes are attached in the center, so the actual wand part of the mascara is short. Based on your preference, this may or may not bug you, but it bugs me because now my hand is closer to my eyeball when applying mascara. I find that this makes it harder to coat both the inner and the outer corners of my lashes.

As for the bottom lash brush, it does not make any difference whether I use the actual bottom lash mascara brush or the top lash brush. My bottom lashes are set wider apart than my upper lashes, so the tightly packed bristles of the bottom lash brush don't coat and separate my bottom lashes like I would like the brush too. As for the top lash brush, it's fine, but again, the short wand/long brush combo makes it hard for me to get my inner and outer corner lashes.

Oh, and the waterproof formula is definitely not the best. I live in a humid climate, ride a bike to get around, and have stubborn, stick-straight lashes, so I need a waterproof mascara. After riding around outside for a while, Falsies Big Eyes smudges on my lower lash line! I haven't had this problem with the original Falsies or the Rocket mascara, however. Overall a disappointing product and I would not buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nikitam96 on 7/11/2014 9:23:00 PM more reviews by nikitam96

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

in LOVE with this product! best mascara I've ever used! makes my lashes look amazing. never using any other brand

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Nyarlathotep on 7/7/2014 3:19:00 PM more reviews by Nyarlathotep

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

I actually really like this mascara. I have very long lashes as it is, and I'm a bit obsessed with making them appear even longer. Love the way this goes on. As it gets older it clumps a bit, but I've noticed that with a lot of my mascara. My eyes don't look bigger, but that's not something I'm very concerned about, as I already have doe-eyes. However, DON'T APPLY THE LOWER LASH MASCARA TO YOUR UPPER LASHES. I did this once by accident and ended up with a crazy-eyed Nicki Minaj look.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 britney315 on 7/7/2014 11:54:00 AM more reviews by britney315

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I had gotten this mascara and really did not like the 'upper lash brush', although, I did enjoy the bottom lash brush for my top eyelashes because it held my curl and gave me soft, flutterly lashes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Jillybean89 on 7/4/2014 1:17:00 PM more reviews by Jillybean89

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The tiny brushes are very hard to use. This mascara did nothing for my lashes. going back to Full & soft.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sweetsophiav on 7/2/2014 4:14:00 PM more reviews by sweetsophiav

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Did nothing for my lashes. I wonder if I got an old one because it was so dry and flaky right out of the package.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 graciegelz on 7/1/2014 7:41:00 PM more reviews by graciegelz

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

This mascara had great and inviting packaging but the quality was not amazing. It was very clumpy and not easy to put on, although I loved the lower lashes version of this product. The lower lash brush was fine and didn't cause clumps. Overall I would not buy this again and prefer maybellines collasal mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 TheMickster on 7/1/2014 5:51:00 PM more reviews by TheMickster

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I bought this on a whim because it was on sale at Walmart and came with a free black eyeliner.
I like the smaller brush and I use it on my upper and lower lashes. I find the big brush is clumsy and causes my lashes to stick together at the top (this drives me nuts! And looks awful!) and causes clumps. It distributes too much product onto the lashes. The mascara formula itself is thick and heavy. Thumbs down.
I found the formula to be flaky too. After a few hours of wear there were big black dots under my eyes and also black smears above my eyes. Lots of transfer onto the skin.
Bottom line, I felt like I wasted 12 bucks on a half tube of mascara because I could only use the brush and formula dedicated to the lower lashes. I would definitely purchase a Maybelline mascara if they made a full bottle of the lower lash side.
Will keep looking for that 5 lippie mascara... Even though it seems like a dream at the end of a rainbow:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products