Maybelline • Volum' Express Falsies Big Eyes • Mascara

rated 3.2(162 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 lauren97 on 9/16/2014 6:09:00 PM more reviews by lauren97

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I really don't like this mascara at all, except the lower lash brush. The upper lash brush is awful. The formula and the brush clump my lashes together so bad. It really does not perform well. The only good thing I can say about this mascara is that the lower lash brush is amazing. It gets all of my lashes and lengthens them profoundly! I love it. If it were just the lower lash brush, I'd give it a lot better of a review. But the formula and upper lash wand do not deserve the 3/5 rating.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* anastacy on 8/19/2014 9:40:00 AM more reviews by anastacy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't hate this mascara but I don't particularly like it either. I like the way it applies initially. Its black and not too watery. The upper lash part gives great volume and fans out the lashes nicely. The lower lash brush does not do much for the lashes. I have a hard time applying the mascara to the lower lashes.

The mascara for the upper lashes get dry quickly and the formula get extremely gooey/messy and if you are only interested in using this brush, its too bad because the barrel and brushes cannot be interchanged. I got 1 1/5 - 2 months use out of this and I wear makeup at least 5-6 days a week. I don't think that this mascara is convenient, practical or economical. I really love the original falsies and this was a huge letdown. I honestly wouldn't recommend this to anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ishara on 8/18/2014 6:31:00 AM more reviews by ishara

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium Brown, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara smudges below my eyes, and it is also hard to remove, leaving me with badger eyes after cleaning with you name it: Garnier makeup remover, coconut oil, Softymo etc. It adds volume, but not length.

I regret buying it and won't buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Iceismidnight on 8/16/2014 1:21:00 AM more reviews by Iceismidnight

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This product is alright, it doesn't clump or smudge however it runs out very very quickly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Englishvik on 8/15/2014 12:03:00 PM more reviews by Englishvik

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I love this mainly for the bottom lash mascara, the brush is ideal and the only alternative that I know of is by Clinique and about 5 times the price! The upper lash option is nothing to write home about but okay to layer with other mascaras :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Dianaofg on 8/14/2014 11:49:00 AM more reviews by Dianaofg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Based on reviews, this product did not seem like a good idea. I always go by reviews but this time I decided to get it despite the reviews because Maybelline has always been my favorite drugstore brand for mascara. I regret buying this. The formula is thick and sticky. It makes my lashes stick together and clump! When I close my eyes it feels like my eye is gonna stick shut! I would give this a 1 rating but the bottom lash brush is good. Once again, the formula clumps my lashes, but I make sure to take almost all the product off the brush then use it, and it makes my bottom lashes more lively.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MMBisMe903 on 8/12/2014 6:42:00 PM more reviews by MMBisMe903

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Not my favorite Maybelline mascara. It was decent. It lasted for a long time but it comes completely off when your eyes water or you cry. Unfortunately I was wearing this mascara when I went to see the Fault in Our Stars. BIG MISTAKE!!! There was no smell to it, so that was nice, and it didn't clump. And it was impossible to get off my face after crying, well not impossible but it certainly took a little while.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Shortstuffxo on 8/5/2014 8:36:00 PM more reviews by Shortstuffxo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This really didn't make a difference for me. The only reason I use this is as a topcoat for another mascara. I'm more into the fake lashes look then a natural look when it comes to mascara, and this gave me a natural look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MissSammyLouise on 8/1/2014 11:57:00 PM more reviews by MissSammyLouise

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

My cousin suggested to try it she loves it I'm not impressed my top lashes stuck together I dislike that the separate brushes come from the centre it's difficult to use I do however like the bottom lash comb I have an empty mascara the colossal one at home I will try it's comb and see if that makes an improvement for the top lashes but not too impressed so far

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jessica24601 on 7/16/2014 10:15:00 PM more reviews by Jessica24601

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I usually choose Maybelline mascaras and "Falsies Big Eyes" is the only one in the Volume Express line I've never tried. For reference, my lashes are longer then average (not overly tho) yet thin, so volume / thickness is what I need. Anyhow, I got this one via Target on sale for 6.99 (7.90 w/ taxes)...It comes out thickly so 1 coat, maybe 2 is sufficient or else it can clump, or look really un-natural. I do like that the "Blackest Black" is extremely black b/c my lashes are already black, and that it curls my lashes which are normally straight-ish. I do like the small wand even for my top corner lashes, however I seldom coat bottom lashes. I love the packaging as it clicks and snug to allow one to know that it's truly closed, and there's 9ml of prodcut, so more then meets the eye. I find I get a LOT of thickness from this mascara which I require and for that I'll re-purchase. I just put on a little eye-shadow to lighten my eyes, 1 coat of this mascara and I'm all set :) I find I get so much thickness that I don't require my usual eye-liner on my lids.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products