Maybelline Volum' Express Falsies Big Eyes

3.3

195 reviews

49% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/22/2015 10:19:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I really like this mascara. This made my lashes look thick and long. I especially love the small brush for my lower lashes. The mascara didn't smear easily like some do. It did flake a bit but not too much. I recommend this mascara. The price is pretty good as well.



on 6/17/2015 3:13:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I have this in black. It does a pretty good job of volumizing and lengthening my eyelashes.

I don't really care for the bottom eyelash wand, since I only put mascara on my top eyelashes. I have used it once for the top lashes to try it out, and it still made my eyelashes look fuller.

I like this one better than Maybelline's Great Lash.

Would recommend.


on 6/7/2015 7:15:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is the best drug store mascara I've bought in a long time. It curls my lashes a bit and a few coats makes them long and thick. It's not a miracle product but it's really decent. I'm not a fan of the double brushes, it's a good idea but too awkward for me. The real issue for me though is that a few mins after using my eyes felt like they were coated in wax or Vaseline and my lashes felt like they weighed 5lbs. Very strange! Unfortunately I had just left the house and couldn't wash it off. The feeling went away but it was weird enough that I don't think I'll try it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I absolutely love this mascara! This is my go-to mascara if I want my eyelashes to look longer, fuller, and more curled.

This is the only mascara that when I wear it, I consistently get compliments about my mascara/eyes/eyelashes

The lower lash brush also makes it super easy to apply to your bottom lashes without clumping or getting mascara everywhere :)


on 5/8/2015 5:40:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

So disappointed in this mascara :( I was so excited when I got it and thought it would be great - but it has done nothing special for my lashes, the brushes are ok but too short with it being double sided.

Would not purchase again and will continue my hunt for a mascara that works for me.


on 5/4/2015 5:26:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

It's hard to write this review because I was so excited about this mascara, and while the concept is great the reality is so mixed.

It is a double ended mascara with a big brush for the upper lashes and a much smaller one for the lower lashes. I love both of these brushes very much. The "upper lashes" brush gives much length and lift to the upper lashes and the "lower lashes" brush manages to apply mascara to my small sparse lashes without clumping them or smudging on my skin.

In all honesty, this is one of the best looking mascaras when it's just applied, it makes my lashes look long and full, dramatic but still fluttery and soft.

The first problem is in the packaging design. There is a brush on either end but the package is the same size and shape as every other Maybelline mascara, so inevitably the wands are really short and the brushes are far too close to the handle (especially the upper one), making it too awkward and clumsy to use. The design has separate compartments for each wand, but there is as much product in the lower lash end as the upper lash end, so the upper one will run out far faster than the lower one.

The second problem is the formula: yeah, it's a waterproof mascara so should stick on like glue, but even my cream cleansers and olive oil struggle to remove it properly and it gets so dry it starts to flake off after a few hours. Every morning after I've removed this I have panda eyes and crumbled smudges on my pillow.

Pros: Concept, brushes.
Cons: Wand size, formula hard to remove, mascara gets very dry and flakes.

This should have been the best mascara out there.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

OK, the trick to liking this product is to NOT use it the way the directions say. Let me explain.... I make this work for me because I do not use mascara on my lower lashes EVER (and I strongly suggest you dont either, not worth the aftermath of pain) so I use this differently....
First, I use the smaller thinner brush (suggested for lower lash use) on my upper lashes as a first coating to grab all my lashes and set them up for the next coat, which I use the larger brush, which adds volume and length. Its a nice payoff! When I first saw this product in the store, I knew thats the way I would use it and I suggest thats the way it should be used. I tend to use multiple brushes anyway because thats the best way to achieve the look I want. I have straight limpy sparse lashes and this combo I use makes them look like so much more.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/23/2015 1:43:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Mascaras like these prove that we don't need to spend a fortune on Hypnose or Diorshow in order to have beautiful lashes! My lashes are medium length but very straight and ordinary. This mascara makes my eyes look fabulous, with the little brush that tends to the lower lashes. I would totally buy this again when I run out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/9/2015 12:42:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Always had a lot of luck with Maybelline mascaras:). My all-time fav is Great Lash Lots of Lashes but I still give this one a 5 as well. The reason being is the small lower lash wand really catches all my puny Asian lower lashes! The upper lash brush is kinda weird and took me a bit of time to figure it out on how best to use it - but it works. Since my upper and lower lashes are super short, thin, and straight - tons of coats is necessary but I didn't experience any flaking or smudging. On my last coat I used the top brush an held it up against my lashes for about 10 to 15 seconds and it lifted them to give it some curl. I used Rebel Black and I must say my eyes really do look bigger and my lashes look pretty thick and really dark - round like doll eyes. Works much better than high end mascaras at a fraction of the price!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/7/2015 4:23:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

MY all time favourite mascara! My lashes are already really long so this just gives it the little curl it needs, i only apply about one coat. The bottom lash wand is extremely useful, it would make my bottom lashes look really natural compare to the others. Also, i use the bottom one to comb out my upper lashes if i see clumps (with other mascaras too). However, keep in mind that it dries super fast. The upper lash wand works amazing until your mascara formula gets dry,clumps will most definitely occur. The waterproof ones are dry already and works horribly compared to the regular ones. Price is amazing! Gone through 3 already!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Maybelline The Falsies: "Big Eyes" Mascara Demo/Review! by CosmeticsCounsel



Back to Top