Revlon Colorburst Lip Butter - Red Velvet

4.8

14 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/3/2015 12:42:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Grey

Finally, the perfect red that is easy to wear! I used to wear reds a lot when I was younger, but now I feel self-conscious and worry that they are aging on me. This one is so flattering, and I really love it. It's not bright, it's deeper but not dark. The formula is wonderful, too. Not shiny, not matte, not drying, and has pretty good staying power. I get many compliments when I wear this. Love!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 12/1/2014 5:13:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This Lip Butter really surprised me, in a very good way! I have a few other shades from this line, a couple hits and a couple misses so I wasn't expecting to love Red Velvet. First of all, I love a good red lip. However, I don't like matte reds, nor blue based red, nor orangey reds. I like glossy dark, brownish reds and Red Velvet is just that. It has a really nice balmy texture that is easy to apply and comfortable to wear and hydrating. It's a deep brownish red that is very pigmented and looks amazing on my warm skin and despite the buttery texture the wear time is great. It also fades to a nice reddish stain, doesn't cling to dry patches or settle into lip lines. I am thrilled to have found this drugstore gem and might have to revisit the Lip Butter line and see if some of the other shades are this nice.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/29/2014 11:05:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this shade. It's a deep red that works for my Filipino / medium with yellow undertones / C40 skintone. There is great color payoff. It goes on smooth and creamy. It also lasts for hours and leaves a stain -- in a good way -- when the shine has gone. I wear this when I want a bold and beautiful lip.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/21/2014 2:57:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

$1.99 at Walgreen's, which means it's probably being discontinued.
Lovely deep balmy red, glossy, high pigment for a lip butter, but definitely not a lipstick. Can be worn more sheer with a light swipe across lips. Looks beautiful with a shimmery nude eye - for classic beauty! I have olive skin and wear reds well easily, but I think this would be a universally flattering shade. This would be a great red for someone new to reds or who doesn't want to fully commit to a flat out RED!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/3/2014 11:40:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

If I had to pick one shade...one lip product...it would be my lip balm, but this came pretty close! This shade might be intimidating to people who are looking for sheer coverage, but if you like a bolder lip without the hassle and commitment of an actual lipstick, this thing is for you. First and foremost, I love the packaging. It's pleasing to the eye! Secondly, the formula is buttery smooth. Even though it's like a hybrid balm/lipstick, I would still exfoliate before wearing this and applying lip balm under it. This lip butter is moisturizing, but I think lip balm just helps keep the lip butter on longer. I really really love this berry color as well. It's not TOO loud, but it seems perfect for the colder months. It's also a lazier alternative to an actual red lipstick because I really hate having to make sure that lipstick isn't on my teeth and applying lipstick takes more work. With this wonderful lip butter, it's much easier to achieve a red lip without the work. All in all, BUY THIS SHADE.


on 6/29/2014 4:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I think this is a great shade to have but it is pretty dark and pigmented for everyday use for me. I will keep this on my vanity instead of my purse bc I feel it needs to be applied precisely with a lip brush - when I tried to apply it straight on it was a bit unforgiving in application (beautiful none the less) although dabbed on as a stain would be easier. I think this is great to have as a statement shade when needed. Glad I got it. I will be getting candy apple or cherry tart which I think are a bit more sheer and shiny and not as deep. who am I kidding I am literally addicted to buying revlon lip butters.


on 3/14/2014 8:20:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is absolutely my favorite drug store makeup product. It is the perfect shade and I get tons of compliments wherever I go! I highly recommend this to anybody looking for a low maintenance lip look. My only warning would be that it is sometimes will need a lip liner to eliminate the problem of it smearing, but other than that, I think it is worth a try. I love to wear it often because it is so conditioning for my dry lips.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/11/2013 12:01:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Warm

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love Revlon's lip butters, especially their reds. Red Velvet is a beautiful brown based red that's perfect for warm skin tones (Asian, NC30/C3) although I think it would also work for fair skintones, depending on the hair/eye colour.
The texture is smooth and glides on my lips without pulling or tugging. The pigment is superb and staying power is decent. It leaves a nice stain after wearing off and the creamy formula has a nice sheen without any shimmer or glitter.
Best of all, it's fragrance free and looks luxurious without that high end price tag.
I love wearing this with a red blush and soft bronzey eye look and I instantly feel glamourous.
Revlon excels in lip products and this is no exception.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/5/2013 3:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is the exact red that I have been forever looking for! It's not bright and looks classic and is very wearable. It is the perfect Autumn/Winter red in my opinion, and the color would flatter many skin tones. The formula is very moisturizing, and although it is considered a lip butter, it wears more like a lipstick. I was so impressed with this product, I have a feeling I will be wearing this every day until Spring...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/23/2013 9:54:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Yes!!!! Revlon did there thing with these you can t go wrong for moisturized lips.. love all the colors and I found for buy 1 get 1 half off at walgreens,.

follow me on IG under datladisav_diva or youtube under -fearless femme

tons of makeup videos and reviews


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
205 Reviews
Provocalips
90 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top