Yves Saint Laurent Babydoll Mascara

3.7

96 reviews

54% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Paraffin, Potassium Cetyl Phosphate, Acrylates Copolymer, Cera Alba/Beeswax, Copernicia Cerifera Cera, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer, Steareth-2, Cetyl Alcohol, Phenoxyethanol, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Acacia Senegal, Ethylenediamine/Stearyl Dimer Dilinoleate Copolymer, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Silica, Caprylyl Glycol, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Hydrogenated Palm Oil, Fragrance, Disodium Edta, Magnesium Silicate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Panthenol, Tin Oxide.


on 8/20/2015 2:20:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

Being a woman with long yet very straight and semi light brown eyelashes I am always on the lookout for a Holy Grail mascara that does it all - Colour, volume and curl.
I have tried many many mascaras and after a long browse in the makeup aisle I decided to cave and try YSL Babydoll mascara.

Upon first application I wasn't sure if I would get the desired result but when I applied the second coat (after curling the lashes first with an eyelash curler, because girls lets face it, awesome eyelash curls need a bit of help) the second coat volumised and lengthened my lashes considerably (I find it important to have a slow and steady hand so that you don't clump the lashes when applying more than one coat)
My lashes do look dramatic and are full and black. The mascara smells nice, (at least it doesn't bother me) a bit like wax and honey but that doesn't linger. It also doesn't get hard or crumbles off. If I apply two to three coats and do it with a bit of care I do have Babydoll eyes but I am still not happy with the amount of work that it takes. I would love to find a mascara that I can use in the mornings when I am barely awake and in a hurry...

Pros:
*It's in a beautifully luxuriously looking gold tube so if you like to put visually pretty things in your make-up bag, this is certainly an eye-catcher.
*It does what it promises and it doesn't make the lashes hard or feel unnatural.
*It doesn't clump your lashes (if you apply it carefully).
*Unlike my other YSL mascara ('Effet Faux Cills') it doesn't dry up within a month.


Cons:
*I find that some drugstore mascaras perform very close to this one (e.g. L'Oreal) and are sometimes only half the price.
*It is rather pricey.
*Needs some work to remove even if you don't get the waterproof version.
*If you like mascaras that are *odourless* this one might slightly bother you in the beginning.
*If you like a wand that is a bit bigger and has bristles instead of rubber comb bristles, this one might be a problem.

All in all it's ok but I would only use it again if I were to find it on sale or got it as a gift.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 8/9/2015 4:00:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was a great mascara for my thin Asian lashes. I found that on myself, once the formula dried off a little, I was actually able to achieve a very natural fuller lash look. I needed to make sure that I wiggled the brush a lot at the base. No clumping at all. This mascara still ended up smudging a bit, but all non-waterproof mascaras do that on me.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

LOVE this mascara! I had wanted for a long time and finally got my hands on it and I was not disappointed! Gives you long and thick lashes with no clumping and no smudging! Defiantly recommend!


on 7/15/2015 10:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This is a disappointment.
The packaging is lovely and luxurious, but the formula is a total disaster for my short straight lashes. It clumps up easily and makes my lashes so spikey and ugly. I just cannot do much with it since I tried using a primer, without one and it is just not working for me.
A waste of money.


on 6/26/2015 7:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

the only mascara i can wear without irritating my eyes


on 5/26/2015 2:38:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have quite the love/hate relationship with this mascara. It definitely gives me the babydoll look; long, black lashes with a bit of volume that last all day even though it isn't marketed as waterproof. However, layering is not fun with this little beauty! If you're not fast enough, aka do it right after your first layer, it tends to clump and get very spider-y on me. And from there, there is no turning back. Aside from that, it started to dry up VERY fast! I've used it about ten times, give or take, and it's already started drying up!? You might be thinking I'm someone who pumps her mascara wands or forgets to close them right after use; wrong. I treat this like my child and it completely turned on me!

Nevertheless, while it works, it works well. I might not buy it for myself again because of the price, but if my boyfriend came home with it as a gift for me, I would definitely use it again and again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/24/2015 6:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

My first high end mascara purchase. Brilliant mascara really big impact on my lashes. A lovely deep black colour and I love the wand. No other mascara has made my lashes so fluttery and curled. Love it and would definitely repurchase.


on 5/22/2015 5:45:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I wanted to love this product so bad, mainly because it is so expensive and the biggest splurge I have ever made on mascara. The packaging is nice, and the applicator was really nice but the formula just didn't work for me. I don't feel like I got the "babydoll" eyelashes after using this. The formula seemed really wet and my lashes tended to clump together. Also, my eyelashes don't have much of a natural curl but they aren't just straight either, but this mascara seemed to weigh down my lashes and they would stick straight forward even after I curled them. I thought maybe I could let the formula dry out a little bit and see if it worked but it still clumped and weighed down my lashes. I believe I paid 32 or 34 dollars for this and I really wish I would have bought something else with that money because this wasn't worth it.

* I did try this with by itself, over a mascara primer and over a waterproof mascara to see if that would help but unfortunately it didn't.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/21/2015 10:53:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I absolutely love this mascara. It adds volume and length, doesn't clump, nice deep color, and doesn't flake or smudge. I adore it. I have a sample and it has lasted me weeks. When it runs out I will buy a full size. I have compared it to MAC, Dior, Laura Mercier, Maybelline, and many other mascara formulations and so far this is my favorite mascara ever!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/20/2015 9:50:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

It's usually so difficult for me to find a good mascara but, this one is amazing! I tried it on and instantly it gave my lashes volume, separated them and was not sticky at all, it looks amazing! The price is a little expensive but it is totally worth it if you have long lashes and want to make them look effortlessly gorgeous.




Top Rated Yves Saint Laurent Products

image

L'Homme

28 reviews
Back to Top