Yves Saint Laurent Babydoll Mascara

3.7

89 reviews

52% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Paraffin, Potassium Cetyl Phosphate, Acrylates Copolymer, Cera Alba/Beeswax, Copernicia Cerifera Cera, Ethylene/Acrylic Acid Copolymer, Steareth-2, Cetyl Alcohol, Phenoxyethanol, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Acacia Senegal, Ethylenediamine/Stearyl Dimer Dilinoleate Copolymer, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Silica, Caprylyl Glycol, Hydrogenated Jojoba Oil, Hydrogenated Palm Oil, Fragrance, Disodium Edta, Magnesium Silicate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Panthenol, Tin Oxide.


on 5/22/2015 5:45:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I wanted to love this product so bad, mainly because it is so expensive and the biggest splurge I have ever made on mascara. The packaging is nice, and the applicator was really nice but the formula just didn't work for me. I don't feel like I got the "babydoll" eyelashes after using this. The formula seemed really wet and my lashes tended to clump together. Also, my eyelashes don't have much of a natural curl but they aren't just straight either, but this mascara seemed to weigh down my lashes and they would stick straight forward even after I curled them. I thought maybe I could let the formula dry out a little bit and see if it worked but it still clumped and weighed down my lashes. I believe I paid 32 or 34 dollars for this and I really wish I would have bought something else with that money because this wasn't worth it.

* I did try this with by itself, over a mascara primer and over a waterproof mascara to see if that would help but unfortunately it didn't.



on 5/21/2015 10:53:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I absolutely love this mascara. It adds volume and length, doesn't clump, nice deep color, and doesn't flake or smudge. I adore it. I have a sample and it has lasted me weeks. When it runs out I will buy a full size. I have compared it to MAC, Dior, Laura Mercier, Maybelline, and many other mascara formulations and so far this is my favorite mascara ever!


on 5/20/2015 9:50:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

It's usually so difficult for me to find a good mascara but, this one is amazing! I tried it on and instantly it gave my lashes volume, separated them and was not sticky at all, it looks amazing! The price is a little expensive but it is totally worth it if you have long lashes and want to make them look effortlessly gorgeous.


on 5/9/2015 7:31:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I totally concur with the other reviews. Amazing, separated lashes in the first couple of weeks, then it literally dries to nothing, is hard to apply and flakes everywhere. It's just 5ml of product inside the tube - some mascaras are as much as 12ml - so for the price, it's a total rip off.


on 5/6/2015 3:18:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I loved this mascara when I first bought it - I like to layer up mascara so I applied 3 coats for optimum length and fullness. It built up nicely and provided definition, length and volume which is great! SADLY after 3 weeks it became really dried up, which is just ridiculous for the price. For this reason I won't be purchasing it again.


on 3/25/2015 4:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I don't understand the bad reviews on this. This mascara is my HG mascara. it's not waterproof but water resistant which works for me I hate waterproof mascara. This lasted through an intense workout without smudging. It never flakes on me. I have sensitive eyes I cannot wear drug store mascara because it bothers my contacts and makes my eyes water so I have no choice but to buy expensive mascara. but I would buy this over and over again. I've had it for 3 months and it hasn't dried out on me yet. However that can be remedied by adding a drop of eye drops into the tube. This gives me the most gorgeous lashes ever I always get asked if I'm wearing falsies. does not make lashes clump together. true doll like lashes. I will repurchase over and over!


on 3/10/2015 5:06:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I received a sample of this from Sephora, and I love it! Although I'm not a fan of those rubber brushes, this one gives ️Outstanding separation and length! I wish it wasn't so expensive, but yes, I will repurchase when my sample runs out. It hold the curl all day without any flaking or transferring.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff was the worlds best mascara well.. Until it dried out quick! It gives you volume, length and does not clump but still not happy cause the product does not last maybe 1month.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This mascara is such a tease! For the first 2-3 weeks I used it, I was just in love with it. Sure it was a little drier than what I was used to, but it really delivered on giving me that super black, super long, voluminous and perfectly defined set of lashes that I craved. It lengthened my lashes better than any mascara I'd ever tried, and gave my lashes a lot of volume without ever looking spiky or clumpy. It also never smudged or flaked on me, which surprised me as dry mascara formulas often leave me with a lot of black debris on my cheeks by the end of the day. And the brush was perfect. It has a nice set of short silicone bristles that grabbed every lash yet never felt sharp and pointy when I applied mascara to the roots of my upper lashes. The relatively slim profile of the brush made it work pretty well on my lower lashes too. And the tube is so pretty! I'm not generally a fan of metallic gold packaging as I often think it looks cheap and flashy, but YSL's gold packaging always manages to pull it off without looking ostentatious.

But after a few weeks, I started noticing how quickly the mascara was drying out. After a month, it was dried out almost to the point of being unusable. What the hell?! I tried reviving it with eye drops, which helped get it to the point where I could get the brush through my lashes, but didn't return it to the glory I experienced when the tube was new. The results I get now are merely "meh" as opposed to the "WOW!!"

IMO, it's unforgivable for a $30 mascara to dry out after a month's use. That's something I could put up with for a $10 mascara, maybe even with a $20 mascara, if I loved the mascara at its best as much as I loved YSL Babydoll. But for $30, I just can't justify the expense. I don't even want to buy it as a special occasion mascara as I'm not sure I can trust it to not dry out between uses.

Such a shame, as for a minute there I thought I had found my Holy Grail mascara. I'll definitely keep my eye out for Sephora to offer it as a BI point reward, but I can't see myself spending money on it ever again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/2/2015 8:32:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

So torn with this one! Bought this as a payday treat for myself lured in by the good reviews. On the first few uses it really is a stunning mascara. Truly gorgeous. Insanely lengthening and defining, for real. It's black as night and lashes look almost fase (in a good way) - I had people complimenting me on the size of my lashes!

Now here's the part where I have to reduce its praises. IT DRIES SO FAST. I think mine lasted about a month before I had a flaky, crumbling mess on my eyes. I would really, really like it to stay creamy for longer to get my money's worth - seeing as it is a luxury product and costs a LOT (about 25 in the UK).

My advice would be: get it if it's on offer, or if you are rich. Otherwise, I think there's gotta be a dupe out there that can give you the same results for less!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Mascaras


Miss Manga
422 Reviews
Roller Lash
103 Reviews
They're Real
2006 Reviews


Back to Top