Elizabeth Taylor • White Diamonds • Fragrances

rated 2.9(177 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.44%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Olfactoria on 11/23/2014 1:05:00 AM more reviews by Olfactoria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

Okay, I know the ol' WD gets a bad rap for being geriatric and tacky. At the same time, it continues to sell extremely well and is ubiquitous on drugstore shelves; it also got a respectable 3 stars in Turin & Sanchez' Guide to Perfumes. One day, I decided that because of these factors, I just had to try WD for myself. I found an ounce bottle of the EDT, with a bonus mini parfum, for $15.

A sniff of the sprayer revealed some definite old-skool elements: deep, heady white flowers and fizzy aldehydes-- a bit like Chanel No. 5. Still, it seemed a lot more approachable than other vintage classics I've tried and really disliked, such as Opium and Youth-Dew. So, I took the plunge and sprayed one squirt down my shirt.

I was prepared to be terrorized and overwhelmed, possibly needing a shower. Instead, I was rewarded for my courage with a delightful, easy-to-wear white-floral aldehyde with no rough edges whatsoever! Sure, it had a perfumey, vintage feel; it was created nearly 25 years ago and was never exactly marketed to young girls. There was the expected powdery drydown common to scents of this type. But really, it smelled terrific! Uplifting, creamy, and fresh. At the same time, WD has a signature: it's easy to spot in a crowd, and the EDT strength is PLENTY. (I dabbed on the bonus parfum, but found that a bit sweet and heavy for my tastes; the florals in the parfum do run a bit indolic [dirty-smelling]. And I can't imagine wearing the matching body lotion, powder, etc. on top of the EDT.)

I've since put WD in frequent rotation. I love it! Sure, maybe there are elderly ladies in my neighborhood who marinate in the stuff because it's reasonably priced and they loved Liz Taylor. But you know? God bless 'em, they do have good taste, if impaired sinuses.

The moral here is, judge a fragrance on its own merits. As you can see from the reviews, there are women in their 20s for whom WD is a signature, and women in their 60s who dislike it. And from what I've read, WD continues to be a top-selling women's fragrance and Elizabeth Arden has no notions of discontinuing it. Maybe... just maybe... that's because it is truly lovely!




5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Banjos on 10/15/2014 5:10:00 PM more reviews by Banjos

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This stuff lasts easily 12 hours and has moderate-to-major sillage (depending upon how much you apply). I just wish I liked the scent. It is okay on some people but not on me. I would describe it as a powdery white floral.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hottahitilover on 10/15/2014 11:21:00 AM more reviews by hottahitilover

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was in cvs and there were fragrance samples out so I sprayed this out of curiosity and I really liked it so I bought it I can't describe it other than it smells classic and a lil powdery it reminds me of the chanel perfumes the two older ones #5 and coco its along those lines like a perfumy smell not sweet but I am really diggin this I never paid this any attention before but I'm glad I sampled it otherwise id have never purchased this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bonnyanne on 8/7/2014 8:14:00 PM more reviews by bonnyanne

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Hubby gave this to me a few years back and initially I didn't go for it, but it's grown on me. It has quite a 'mature' scent to it I think, is very strong initially, but has super-staying power and becomes quite a bit less strong as time goes on. It's quite a nice fragrance that I would probably re-purchase. Plus the bottle is very pretty.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 YoHarajuku on 7/17/2014 4:13:00 AM more reviews by YoHarajuku

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love perfume of all types and styles even very heavy vintage styles like this one. This is quite a strong and heavy scent, much better suited for mature women. For young women this is far to overwhelming. I can't say I love this scent, a better description is I can "appreciate" it. But one small whiff hurts my head. Won't be using in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MissRubyJones on 2/26/2014 10:22:00 PM more reviews by MissRubyJones

Age: Unknown   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

Elizabeth Taylor's Diamonds and Rubies is one of my favorite perfumes of all time, one I've worn for years, yet I'd never tried White Diamonds. When I did, purely by accident, I wished I never had.

The bottle, you see, was sitting on the shelf at the drugstore, uncapped, for reasons unknown. I was reaching for a bottle of nail polish, and somehow managed to brush the sprayer with my sleeve, thus spraying this on my shirtsleeve, and worse still, my watchband.

Heaven help me. The shirt's been washed twice now, and the watchband -- metal, mind you -- has been all but Cloroxed, and I can still smell the acrid, awful scent of this perfume on both. It's like I'm dragging every old lady at church along with me everywhere I go each time I wear the watch, and it's very possible that the shirt's headed for the nearest Goodwill. Words cannot describe how badly I hate this perfume. It's so bad, in fact, that I don't even know how to describe the perfume at all. The closest I can come is floral air freshener sprayed in a stinky litter box.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 classymum on 2/9/2014 4:56:00 PM more reviews by classymum

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

White Diamonds fragrance by Elizabeth Taylor is one of my favorite fragrances for several reasons: the scent lasts, the price is very reasonable, it is accessible (you can buy it at any drugstore) and I always receive compliments when I wear it. I know that this is always touted as an old lady's fragrance...but it reminds me of the classy, sophisticated perfumes of the past...you can just imagine Madmen's Betty Draper wearing this with her cupcake dresses or better yet, Joan, from the Madmen office...as she drifts by looking gorgeous, this beautiful scent just captivates all the men! I know that sounds silly but that is what perfume is supposed to do...make you feel gorgeous and sexy right?! Don't be turned off by the strong scent on the first spray b/c you will be overwhelmed by it...but as it wears down...it's just lovely...it lasts and lasts. There is a reason this is still the top-selling celebrity fragrance of all time. Give it a try, I guarantee you will be hooked.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Katharine40 on 1/28/2014 8:20:00 PM more reviews by Katharine40

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I believe the low rating for White Diamonds can be ascribed to two things: 1) A bias against floral fragrances as the fruity and aquatic scents have dominated the last 12 years or so, and; 2) A snobbery toward celebrity scents. While White Diamonds isn't one of my personal favorites (I go for woody scents), it is a lovely, feminine, well-blended floral with decent staying power. Why this floral fragrance should be considered "down market" while the Chanels retain their glamour is beyond me -- well, actually, it isn't, because it's simply due to marketing, isn't it? And the price is reasonable too (although doubtless the snobs consider this another strike against White Diamonds!).

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BigBeauty on 12/28/2013 6:58:00 PM more reviews by BigBeauty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

My signature scent. Very classy, elegant, rich, and seductive. I'm 21, and get many compliments when I wear this -- The scent lingers on my skin and lasts all day. You are never truly dressed without a little perfume. Stepping out with WD, I feel sexy, confident, and absolutely beautiful.

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jaylyn85 on 10/24/2013 10:49:00 PM more reviews by jaylyn85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This perfume in my opinion smells like something a more mature women would wear, I personally do not think it suits younger women or even women in their 30's. I would say someone in their 50's would enjoy this scent. To me white diamonds is a very powdery scent which tends to remind me of baby powder. I don't know about you but baby powder is not something i want to smell like. This perfume is not at all my thing I don't' like it on me or on anyone else.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Elizabeth Taylor products

More Fragrances products