Maybelline • Color Sensational Vivids - Brazen Berry • Lipstick

rated 4.4(17 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.94%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 domonique815 on 9/13/2014 2:04:00 AM more reviews by domonique815

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

Eh, this product is a maybe for me. It honestly depends on whether I prime my lips first, and if I have the proper lighting. In certain lighting, it can look like just a lip color that has a purplish tint too it, in flouresent lighting it can be very bold and beautiful. I wish this would have made a lipstick with the same color pay off and the same purple tone in the Elixir's. I don't care for those because of the stickiness. It isn't a bad product however, I would def repurchase. Just need to make sure I know where I am going and what the lighting will be like.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 eaorb on 8/31/2014 5:55:00 PM more reviews by eaorb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love purple lipstick, and this shade did not let me down. Brazen Berry is such a vibrant purple. It isn't super long-lasting but it does provide full coverage. I fell asleep with it on, and when I woke up it was still smooth on my lips (that is, it hadn't dried out). It smudges very easily though. It's definitely not a dupe for MAC Heroine but it is very similar (similar enough for me!)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Magixz on 8/17/2014 7:25:00 PM more reviews by Magixz

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Love this shade! I love that this lipstick has a light fragrance and a tint that stays on my lips once the lipstick is gone. This shade has more purple than 900 Hot Plum. I love both of these shades but I think the 905 Brazen Berry is best looking for me. At first I thought this lipstick might be a matte shade but it does have a bit of glisten and is ever so creamy feeling on my lips. I am very pleased with an over the counter product that has great quality!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bikerchick on 6/23/2014 5:54:00 PM more reviews by bikerchick

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have been on the hunt for a purple/orchid lipstick that wouldn't clash with my coloring for a long time and I have finally found it! Brazen Berry is a cool toned blue based purple that surprisingly looks really good on my warm complexion. For years I have stayed away from cool colors, fearing they would look bad on me, so it was really a leap for me to buy this shade. I love everything about the product itself, it's very pigmented, has a nice finish that isn't matte but isn't super glossy, lasts for several hours and leaves a nice stain behind, it isn't drying, I can apply it right from the bullet and don't worry about bleeding or feathering. The texture feels nice on my lips, has a little bit of slip but not too much. There is really only one aspect of this product I don't like and that is the packaging. It looks and feels a bit cheap, I really wish Maybelline would update the packaging design to look a little more "high end". I will be buying this again and a few more of the shades in the Vivids range. If you are looking for an intensly pigmented, bright lip color I highly recommend Brazen Berry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RideTheLightning on 5/18/2014 7:32:00 PM more reviews by RideTheLightning

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this color! It's my go-to purple and pulls a very cool-toned purple against my tan skin. It makes my teeth look very white and it stands out without looking crazy. It isn't drying (even on my lips, and dryness is a BIG issue for me with most lippies), and while it isn't smudgeproof or super long-lasting, it does leave a bit of a stain behind so i don't look crazy when it wears off. If I'm not feeling adventurous enough to go for the full-on purple i get with a few swipes, i can just dab it on lightly over lip balm and it pulls a more purpley pink on me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jackierose1987 on 3/24/2014 9:50:00 PM more reviews by Jackierose1987

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Can I just say, I love lipstick. I never got into lipstick until about a year ago. This color is so great, you can only have so many pinks. The brighter the better for me. For reference I'm an nc15 and this color is fantastic. It's pretty sheer at first but I build it up to a fairly bright purpley pink awesome color. It doesn't feel drying, quite tacky but not sticky glossy gross or thick feeling. Lasts a good amount of time, doesn't dry out on your lips. Overall, I'd like to get every color in this line!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stimwink1 on 1/16/2014 8:35:00 AM more reviews by stimwink1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this color. On myself (lite neutral tone) I get a light Orchid pigment that leans a little more blue toned. I bought this along with Pink Pop because I was in need of a winter pick me up after the holiday. This color will run right into the summer for me.

The formula for me was a little dry so I needed to add a bit of balm. It went on pretty creamy and the wear time is about average for one of the brighter colors. I did not get the berry tone others claimed when it wore off however, I have pretty pigmented lips so it may blend in with my coloring.

The color isn't what I would call a true matte but it does give pretty full coverage. Because of that you can't have flakey lips or this one will show it. It's one to exfoliate and balm before wearing especially in the dryer/colder months.

I like the packaging for the fact the product goes all the way down in the tube and doesn't get up in the cover.

This is one to keep around! Thumbs up

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Leslie2877 on 11/7/2013 1:42:00 AM more reviews by Leslie2877

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Dark   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

At first, I thought I was going to love this. I LOVE the color and I was trying to save money by buying a drug store brand instead of spending on MAC's Violetta. I had this Brazen Berry on and it went on plum but turned red a little bit later. If I wanted red lipstick, then I would have selected that color. It also stained my lips that red color and it was very difficult to get out. I finally gave up and just recently bought Violetta. I think I'm done with Maybelline lipstick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mrsb622 on 9/26/2013 4:23:00 PM more reviews by mrsb622

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

One of my favorite lipsticks!!! I pair mine with Nyx lip liner in purple rain. I went and bought a back-up just in case the vivids line is LE. Really really love this lipstick

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lulu56 on 8/18/2013 8:06:00 PM more reviews by lulu56

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Silver, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Wow. This has been my favorite lipstick so far this summer. I can't believe how long this lasted. I went out one night (girls night) with this on, came home and washed my face and was surprised to see a nice berry stain still on my lips! It isn't drying, I did put a thin coat of lip balm on first, did my makeup, and put two swipes of this color afterwards, no blotting. Amazing color. Would def buy this again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Lipstick products