Smashbox • Smashbox Camera Ready CC Cream Broad Spectrum SPF 30 • Foundations

rated 3.6(54 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HollyWould123 on 8/25/2014 7:59:00 AM more reviews by HollyWould123

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've been using this product for the past month or so since it is summertime and a full face of makeup isn't always the route to go with this time of year. I believe the negative reviews on this product are not because it is of poor quality, but rather it acts as more of a full coverage foundation as opposed to a cc cream. BB/CC users are probably (and rightfully so) expecting something a bit more lightweight. This product is definitely misleading as it is basically a full coverage foundation. I personally felt it was just the right amount, and buildable as far as coverage goes. I think the shade I have was a bit too light on me, but that's because my skin color changes basically each day during the summer. I felt it evened out my skin tone, but my skin was still visible through it. I work overnight under harsh fluorescent lighting as a nurse and felt like my face looked half decent in the mornings when I came home. Just a little oily in my t-zone, which is to be expected with most makeup. The formula is creamy and easy to blend (I use Sephora #55 airbrush foundation brush and/or beautyblender). I would definitely repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 JeanLE on 8/8/2014 6:47:00 PM more reviews by JeanLE

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I've tried various BB creams and wanted to try a CC. I found this small travel size at Sephora and even then, it was expensive! Well, it's not worth it! Thank God I didn't buy a full sized tube! I probably should've bought the fair but they only had the light in the small size. It's too yellow toned and oxidizes to slightly orange cast! It's also strangely sticky! Very difficult to spread around...I like the 30 SPF, that's about it. Would not recommend at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 juliaarogers on 8/7/2014 4:00:00 PM more reviews by juliaarogers

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

WASTE OF MONEY!!!
This product does absolutely nothing it says it is set out to do.
It is not light weight at all, it is hard to blend and turns into an orange moments after applying it.
The major problem with this product is it causes major acne. I have always gotten tiny blemishes every once and a while but this product just caused a mess on my face. NOT IMPRESSED. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 taradoyle82 on 7/19/2014 11:22:00 PM more reviews by taradoyle82

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Alright. Here's the deal. So I went into my local sephora looking for a new tinted moisturizer or mineral powder foundation. I'm up at 5 am every day so I need something quick with coverage, moisturizing and that still looks natural without the made up look. I got the sales rep to give me a sample of this CC cream and they gave me enough for 4-5 days of wear.

First, this is NOT a light weight product. I found it difficult to blend and sticky. It took a while to settle but the finish was alright but not what I wanted, dewy and natural. By the 3rd day, I had broken out in pimples all over my chin and forehead. I also had a co worker mention that the shade once oxidized on my skin was a little more orange than my actual skin tone.

I stopped using it and my pimples cleared up within a few days. I found this too heavy, not blendable, oxidized to a different shade and the finish wasn't sheer and natural enough for me.

Happy it was a sample :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lightchaser16 on 7/9/2014 11:09:00 AM more reviews by lightchaser16

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

This is not a bad product - glides on smoothly, a little goes a very long way - but given the price and the oxybenzone, and the fact that it provides low coverage and needs to be layered with a foundation for more (silicones upon silicones!), I will not repurchase. Did not have a noticeable effect on controlling acne though after it sets on my face all redness decreases.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AprilShowas123 on 6/26/2014 5:56:00 PM more reviews by AprilShowas123

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love Smashbox & I so wanna give this a good review, but it adheres to foundation, powder & liquid, and make up under eyes and makes it appear darker. It's just "ok" , I prefer "Teamine" under eye cream over any other eye cream/primer/moisturizer/anything.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Lucieofthevalley on 6/25/2014 1:36:00 PM more reviews by Lucieofthevalley

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I had initially loved this product. I use this or Bobbi Brown's BB cream. This product does not offer much coverage, which is fine because I don't need much. The two main issues I have with this product: my skin is an oil slick after 2 hours, even after being set with a powder. Oily to the point where I have to use a napkin to dab my skin! The other issue is the shade selection. The light/medium oxidizes on my skin into a burnt orange color, probably due to the amount of oil secreted by my skin while using this product. This is best for winter use, when your skin is dry and needs a little SPF protection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 betosmom on 5/7/2014 10:34:00 PM more reviews by betosmom

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

A little pricey but worth it. A little goes a long way and this really saved my skin. I noticed how my skin cleared up after a few months of use. Works great under powder/liquid foundation or alone. This ultimately was the best CC cream that worked with my specific skin tone. I have yellow undertones so it was a struggle to find a good BB/CC cream but this was recommended by a sales associate at Ulta for that reason. I'm glad I took her advice!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 corakore on 5/6/2014 1:19:00 AM more reviews by corakore

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I trashed mine. That's how bad it is. I wore it for 2-3 months and really tried to love it since I keep hearing good things about it and fell victim to the sunk cost fallacy, but I finally gave up, finally accepted I've wasted my money and switched back to my old BB cream (which has better coverage too).

This is my problem with it:

1. It's very streaky & cakey, and you definitely look like you're wearing make up. Previously, I used Dior's Hydralife BB cream where no one can tell I was wearing any make up, so it was a huge difference.

2. Coverage is surprisingly poor. Looking at the foundation and concealer I have to layer on top of this to get smooth coverage, I'm not even sure why I'm using this. I can get cheaper and better sunscreen.

3. I started breaking out a lot and having all these little bumps. I thought it was just hormones and didn't think much of it. After I stopped using this product, it all cleared up. Turns out this was clogging up my pores.

4. Extremely oily on my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kakibot on 4/27/2014 12:48:00 PM more reviews by Kakibot

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Pros: great shade selection, high SPF
Cons: quite thick, can go cakey

Saw this during my trip to NY and decided to give it a try - I am very pale and rarely find BB/CC creams light enough to fit my skin tone, so I tend to buy any that seems to do the job in this department! I was also lured in by the SPF as you can imagine being pale = great need for high protection.
Sadly there seems to be lot of products in my cosmetics bag that don't go well with this CC cream - some of my moisturisers and my favourite concealer like to go all cakey when combined with it, and I am not risking setting it with loose powder as this would just make this cakeyness more visible ./

I will save the tube for the high summer when I bet it will be great for afternoons in the sun, as any CC/BB cream is better for this than a heavy combo of sunscreen and foundation (obviously better protection but also not great for my acne prone skin), however I don't think I would spend another 30-40 on a new tube when my favourite CC cream (GOSH) is only 10.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Smashbox products

More Foundations products