Smashbox • Smashbox Camera Ready CC Cream Broad Spectrum SPF 30 • Foundations

rated 3.7(42 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Nurken on 4/6/2014 6:30:00 AM more reviews by Nurken

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Absolutely love this! Ive been working as an SA in cosmeticsstores earlier, and have tried tons of foundations, bb creams and tms. This cc cream is way different than tms, as some claim. It is so much more. It has a great coverage, Id say medium, and you could build it quite a bit. Also, the color Im using is light/medium which looks a tad too dark, but it adjusts in a couple of minutes. It has a natural finish, and for me (who has dry skin), there`s no need to powder. It has spf 30 - not only the uva, but also the uvb, which makes it broadspectrum. For all of us girls who think about our skin and don`t want it to age too fast, a broadspectrum product like this is a must for every day wear. It protects, primes, covers and has skincare ingredients in it too. I will not stop using this. To me, the cc cream is enough on casual days, but when going out /night-time, Id pop on a light foundation on top...You should try this! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nostradamus on 3/24/2014 1:56:00 PM more reviews by nostradamus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't buy into the CC or BB claims because to me they're all just versions of tinted moisturizer anyway, so I'm judging this basically as a TM. And I have to say that I'm quite disappointed in this product! Smashbox was my go to brand for face makeup, but since it has discontinued its original, straight-up, non-alphabetized tinted moisturizer, I tried the Halo face powder, BB cream,and now this CC cream to no avail.

Specifically what I found wrong with this product is firstly the shade. I was recommended the light shade but it makes me look pink, even though I have yellow undertones. As well, this product doesn't layer well or blend smoothly. You have to be quite quick to blend because it sets in rather fast. You have to be extremely well moisturized and/or exfoliated otherwise it just picks up flakes and accentuates them. It is the start of spring and even though I have switched to a thicker moisturizer, the CC cream still greedily latches onto flakes.

I can only give it a thumbs up for being superior to the BB cream for evening out skin tone and feeling lighter in its consistency. Otherwise, a waste of my $50.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Gigi87 on 3/21/2014 2:42:00 PM more reviews by Gigi87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the cc cream in Light, I am Mexican with fair but tan skin (I live in Los Angeles, you cant hide from the sun here lol) So I bought it to smooth out my skin and add coverage to my actual foundation Kat von d's liquid lock it.. On its own it actually covers MOST of my redness an dark spots I would say its a medium coverage tint but its buildable and it will not look like your wearing a mask. It looks very natural. I don't know if I will be repurchasing though because of the high price ($42) and since I wear it mostly under my other foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 misscynthia06 on 3/16/2014 6:31:00 PM more reviews by misscynthia06

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really LOVE this product.

It's hard to categorize, it really isn't as moisturizing as a TM or BB, and it really isn't as pigmented as a liquid foundation.

I use it all over the face and just love how my skin looks with it, the only thing I have noticed is a slight drying over my problem areas (dry patches on cheeks), so I will put moisturizer on those areas first. It doesnt last as long as a foundation but it just feels SO nice on the skin, light and soft and gives a really smooth look all day. For my face, this is exactly what I have been looking for.

I would recommend getting a sample and trying out the colors, i use a "light" in this CC and definately have "medium" or "tan" skin, so don't trust the names or pictures online.

I will buy again, it hurts at $42 for 1 oz, but that will likley last a year or so, which is reasonable.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 june_teddy on 3/6/2014 1:46:00 PM more reviews by june_teddy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I loved the color, it was a great match. Last all day. Only big complain is that it looks dry on my skin. I have combination skin and it's fine on my T Zone, but on my cheeks it sat on my dry spots and looked like it highlighted it... The ladies at Sephora told me to put a cream on before the CC cream but I think it defeats the whole purpose of a CC cream...
Maybe a better cream for summer?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* heathermrm on 3/4/2014 11:43:00 AM more reviews by heathermrm

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have 2 samples of this in Fair. For reference I'm : MAC = NC15; EM (semi-matte) = Fairly Light; Rimmel Lasting Finish 25 hour = #100 Ivory; Revlon ColorStay = #150 Buff; Avon Smooth Minerals Pressed Foundation = T04 Nude: EL Double Wear = Desert Beige; Jane Iredale = pressed base in Bisque.


I have tried for over a week now = no breakouts.


I find it to be light/medium coverage. W/out primer, its definitely harder to spread w/ my BB. I've tried both w/ and w/out primer = both times this stuff does last 12 hours on my skin. However, there is not enough pigment to cover all my redness or my melasma. I have to apply 2 layers + then some either additional foundation or foundation powder to get the coverage I want. I like the hi spf, but I don't like the fact it contains oxybenzone.


My skin looks very nice (slightly drier cheeks w/ slightly oilier t-zone) w/ this on, but again, I need multiple products to get the coverage I want. To me, this has better opacity than a tinted moisturizer, but not enough for my skin.


Due to price, not enough pigment and the ingredient of oxybenzone = I won't purchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bumblebeee on 2/26/2014 9:37:00 PM more reviews by bumblebeee

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Nice coverage and feels nice on the skin after a full day, but the color on me is horrible! I'm about an nc35 w/yellow undertones and felt like this was an orange mask on me...too bad because otherwise it really covered some redness irritated skin and a melasma spot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Angeldoll on 2/23/2014 10:20:00 PM more reviews by Angeldoll

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I mix this with my mosturizer and get the most beautiful glowing skin ever. I'm acne prone combo skin with big pores and acne marks, and thus did not break me out and feels so light and wonderful. I found it harder to spread and didn't look so natural on its own but when mixed with a touch of moisturizer was perfect for me. I use marionbadescu aha ceramics moisturizer, It did not cover up acne marks completely but if necessary I just use my concealer for that.
FYI acne sufferers- this is non comedogenic

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 complicatedANT on 2/19/2014 12:59:00 AM more reviews by complicatedANT

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I can not part without my Smashbox CC cream, it is not heavy on my skin and stays on for the whole day. Gives great coverage and works on your spots.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mypsalms on 2/7/2014 4:06:00 PM more reviews by mypsalms

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Tried out a sample of this CC cream. I honestly didn't even know Smashbox has came out with a CC's. The lightest of the bunch is my perfect undereye dark circle cover. It is not heavy and easy to spread and pat. It blends in to brighten and perfectly cover the shadow there. better than than my own concealer! That being said, the concealer effect ends there. If you have a red mark from pimples or other skin rashes it won't be so effective. When trying this out I have a post acne spot on top of my nose. Even after double layering-the redness though faded was still visible.
As for the rest of my face, I find it strangely hard to blend..I know it's weird, but the texture the way it is, I find that this is not one m/up I'd reach for when I am in a rush. In my worst scenario case in point- a whitish line around the edges of my nose. SInce I don't have a full size of this yet I can't 100% say that it will happen all the time tho. But once I used up my current undereye concealer this is on my top list to get to replace it

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Smashbox products

More Foundations products