Christian Dior • Diorshow Iconic Overcurl • Mascara

rated 3.7(35 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Shelly2015 on 8/27/2014 12:24:00 AM more reviews by Shelly2015

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I tried this after the beauty consultant recommended it in Myer. (Yeh I'm a sucker !) Anyway after returning yet another tube of Inimitable Waterproof Mascara that had dried out about 2 weeks after I bought it, I thought I needed a change! I wanted a curling, lengthening and volumising Mascara for my puny little lashes, and for the first few weeks this did exactly that! I was excited to have found (or so I thought) my HG of mascaras! I put on my Chanel Beute De Cils Primer and this on top and voila long curly lashes! However after a few weeks I noticed the tube was getting clogged, and I don't know how, but it was building up around the part where the lid closes onto the bottom part of the tube. I took my tube back to Dior and they replaced it immediately. The new tube seems better although it tends to overcoat some lashes, whilst others don't coat very well at all, so I have to go over individual lashes with the tip of the brush. The angled brush is ok, it holds lots of product, but could do with being smaller to make application easier. It also seems to clog right at the end of my lashes too! My whole lash will look great, yet right at the top it will leave a blob of mascara or it will stick lashes together at the tip for a rather strange look! I'm continually combing the ends of my lashes to make them look normal!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 JesssicaRabbit on 8/5/2014 1:05:00 PM more reviews by JesssicaRabbit

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Too wet. Not much more to say here, other than the fact that I really wanted to love this (though I am kind of happy that I won't re-purchase...the price tag is hefty).

For hard-to-curl lashes, this won't work. It was recommended to me by the SA. The minute I put this on my lashes, they went completely flat. So frustrating!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 upinspace on 7/12/2014 9:17:00 PM more reviews by upinspace

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

So, I bought this because I wanted a nice mascara. It was $28 I believe and worked ok at first. I have short lashes, and this lengthened and separate pretty well.

My issue is that it dried up SO quickly. The lid wouldnt screw down all the way. The results weren't even that fantastic. I'm just so dissapointed, basically. I'm just going to stick to buying drugstore mascaras so switching them out isn't that expensive.

Overall, not worth the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dizzielittlerascal on 7/6/2014 7:33:00 AM more reviews by dizzielittlerascal

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this mascara, after trying many many others I always go back to this (I am on my 3rd/4th tube now). I have fairly sparse but not too short lashes. They are not stick straight either but this mascara gives me volume - with no clumping, length and curl with just two coats. I have trouble with flakiness and smudging with most mascaras but not this. Flaking is a big no-no for me as I wear contacts but with this I have no problems at all. I do not even have to curl my lashes beforehand and they stay curled all day. I have no idea how this works, but it does. I love that the formula isn't too wet or dry and I find that I get a fair few months out of a tube, and oddly I don't even notice the smell, which is strange as I normally get sinus headaches using strong floral smelling mascaras. I even love the big bendy brush! I only buy this when its on special offer though as it is pricey, but I guess after all the money I have wasted on others then I suppose the money isn't so high after all.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 emmahougaard on 6/5/2014 3:50:00 PM more reviews by emmahougaard

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My lashes are literally pointing downwards, so I have been searching for the perfect mascara that would curl my lashes without me having to blow-dry them and all of that crazy stuff. Unfortunately, this mascara doesn't really curl my lashes, the formula is probably too wet so it weighs them down a notch like normal mascaras. Despite that, it makes your lashes very long and a bit thick. This mascara will probably work wonders for you if you have naturally curled lashes(just don't overdo it - you should know where to stop), but it's also good enough if you have stick straight lashes like me. Only three stars because it doesn't do what it says(and it's sooooo pricey!!!) but I will probably repurchase, since it's the one that has worked best for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 christiegardenia on 5/25/2014 7:07:00 PM more reviews by christiegardenia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I loveeee this mascara! It gives me great definition, volume and curl and last a long time. It is definitely a splurge however, and is only used on special occasions. I do love the silver packaging and the wand is nice and easy to use, would use this everyday if i could!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hebrides on 5/5/2014 7:24:00 PM more reviews by hebrides

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I am not happy with this mascara. It doesn't curl, and it flakes heavily onto the cheeks, even into the eye. Also, it has dried up after only about one month. This is nothing like Diorshow's other products which are all better. I gave it a good chance and used it in between the other new brands I've been trying out. I will never get the Iconic again, only the Black Out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LUVrascal on 4/30/2014 6:00:00 PM more reviews by LUVrascal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This dries so fast! I really have to apply it quickly and do any layering I want to do with it as fast as possible. It sets in less than a minute. But luckily it doesn't dry stiff, brittle, or crunchy, and my lashes remain soft to the touch. They look soft too. Very fluttery, separated, and lightweight. It adds fairly decent volume and length, nothing dramatic. My lashes are long, light brown with blonde tips, and not as thick as I'd like so I tend to favor lots of volume in my mascaras. And holding a curl is a must. With this my curl starts to straighten and droop after about an hour despite the lightweight formula. And when I apply my lashes tend to spread out all over instead of staying sort of uniformly curved and fanned. It doesn't look bad at all, it's just not the typical curly lashes effect.

I love the fuzzy, curved brush and the width of the bristles. It's easy to work into my lashes and seems to catch every lash pretty well. The color isn't as richly pigmented as GA Eyes to Kill, or Chanel's Le Volume, and I wish it were a deeper, darker black. But no flakes (my mascara deal breaker) and it doesn't smudge or transfer. It comes off easily with my regular makeup remover.

I like the feathery, silky soft look this gives my lashes but it just doesn't compare to my GA Eyes to Kill Stretch. So I'm going to use up the tube I have but after that I won't be repurchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* junomacguff on 4/24/2014 12:58:00 AM more reviews by junomacguff

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

EDIT: I tried the blue version since I like the black so much and wow! I was allergic! Woke up the next morning with itchy/burning eyes that were bright red. Be careful if you have sensitive eyes!!

I got a sample tube of this in a Macy's order and I'm so glad I did! I've been using Bobbi Brown Everything Mascara for years, it's one of the few that don't bother my eyes. Well, Dior's blows it out of the water! This stuff gave me lashes that I never knew I had! I'm naturally blonde and have very sparse, wimpy lashes. Heck, I can't even wear mascara on my bottom lashes! This mascara lengthened and curled without looking spidery. Not one little clump, either!! I will definitely be buying a tube of this soon!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kfunk on 4/17/2014 8:44:00 AM more reviews by Kfunk

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I LOVE this mascara! I just wish it wasn't so expensive. It makes my lashes thick and long. In the past, I would use a primer to thicken my lashes before applying mascara but I don't need primer anymore. The consistency is hard to explain, not too wet and not too dry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Christian Dior products

More Mascara products