Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman Duo-Fiber Collection

3.6

25 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/26/2015 9:24:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I bought this for the 2 bigger brushes, the set costed around 30CAD$ (canadian dollars) so 10$ for each brush. I wanted the bigger one for overall powder and a light touch of bronzer and the medium one for powder down the T-zone and maybe blush. I wanted them for very light applications of powder and for very pigmented products. I love them for that! The eye brush I don't care for it, I think that one would end up in the brushes graveyard unless I find a use for it. I do recommend the 2 bigger brushes. I don't consider these as must haves but they're nice to have, specially if you're heavy handed or you want a very subtle application.



on 5/23/2015 5:40:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I was really disappointed in the quality of the Real Techniques duo-fiber brushes, compared to the brand's "regular" line of brushes, which I find to be quite reliable and impressive for the price.

It's hard to pick up product except on the very tips of the longer white fibers, which apply product sparsely/awkwardly on the face. I find the eye brush particularly unusable (maybe it's okay for blending out an almost-finished look, but I would never use it to apply color). The larger powder blush is okay for applying blush, and I do actually get a decent amount of use out of the contour brush. Mostly, I think the longer (white) fibers are a bit too long, and should be slightly closer in length to the denser, shorter black fibers.

Not a terrible set (the brushes are reasonably soft, and modestly priced), but they certainly didn't live up to the standards I've come to expect from RT brushes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/21/2015 12:52:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Brilliant for blending out my contour, eyeshadow and blending in powder foundations


on 5/21/2015 10:30:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Love these brushes! I use the contour with cream contours (Laura Mercier) and it works so, so well. Blends and builds the product, small so it applies it accurately, and doesn't soak up the cream. I also use the medium size for setting powder. The large one blends anything and everything. It is a great multi-tasker. The smallest is my least used. I just have other small brushes I prefer more, but it is great with blending concealor and cream eye products.


on 4/25/2015 1:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I am obsessed with make-up brushes.
Real techniques is an amazing brand and have some amazing brushes...
sadly these are not one of them...

The powder brush doesn't pick up hardly any product and I think its too small. The duo-fibers make it incredibly difficult to actually do anything with it.

The eye brush is probably the only good thing about this set - hence the two lipsticks. I use this pretty much everyday! Good multi-tasking brush for the eyes.

The contour brush - i do use this...but, again, not the best.


on 4/10/2015 3:02:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love these!
They looked and felt weird at first. They aren't dense but light and airy. The longer white hairs make for a sparse brush head so that products apply very sheerly.
I dust baked bronzer all over my face with the powder brush and it works like an illuminator. The contour brush is great for super pignented blushes like nyx red. It applies as a soft flush rather than red circles. Setting powder goes on sheerly so it's not too matte. These brushes make cheaper products look more expensive imo.
I get that these aren't for full coverage or super defined looks but if you want natural and glowy, they do the job.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/18/2015 4:48:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Grey

I debated getting these for all of 30 seconds..Got them and while I typically like to take brushes home and wash and sanitize them, I wanted to play with these right away. I grabbed the blush I had in my purse, my contour and an eyeshadow and tried out all 3 brushes. I love them!! I do like duo-fiber brushes in general, so I had a feeling I would like these.

The eyeshadow brush I used on an angle and it was really soft.
I do not expect these to shed. I can usually tell when a product will shed, and these are not giving me any indications of that. I do like the white handles for a change. Not that the color of the handle makes any difference, but the different color than black or silver is nice. For duo-fiber, I found these packed a good bit of product even with a fairly light touch (I tested these with Tarte Dollface, Benefit Hoola and a L'oreal Infallible shadow)..

These retail for $20.00 and I was able to use a 30% coupon at Kohl's so it made them an excellent deal (which also swayed my decision!!) But knowing now how well they perform and how well I like them already, I would have probably even paid full price. Might even get another set, and that says a lot, because I have many brushes and brush sets already!! ;)

In general I am not a fan of Real Techniques brushes, they are okay, but none of them have been Holy Grail for me, until now.....Very pleased with this set!!

I think I will get another set for my purse. These seem like they could be pretty versatile, and could be good for touch-ups as well.

Of course everyone is different. I am glad that I went with my instinct on these.
I initially thought..do I realllyyy need another brush set or even another brush for that matter..? Glad the duo-fiber aspect and the coupon reeled me. This is a new fave product that I am sure I will get lots of use out of!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

don't pick up any product-does it work better with loose powder?


on 9/11/2014 3:21:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have a ton of makeup brushes, they are my addiction. I wanted to get a new contour brush, so I decided to try this set as it has a contouring brush. Here's my review for individual brushes...

***

FACE BRUSH 4/5
This is nowadays my go-to bronzing/contouring brush. I love the fact that it doesn't pick much product so I don't have to fear about overdoing my contouring in the busy mornings. You just can't apply too much with this brush! It's also the perfect size/shape for me when I pinch it flat :)

CONTOUR BRUSH 2/5
I hardly ever use this one, even though this was the reason why I bought the set. I feel that this brush is too small for what I need. I do use it for contouring sometimes, but I definitely prefer the larger face brush better. This feels the same, but it's just toooo small. Sometimes I use this to contour my hairline, as it's more perfect size for that purpose.

EYE BRUSH 3/5
Doesn't give much color, so I use this when I only want a hint of color, like when I am doing a really natural eye look... but on the other hand, this brush seems to be perfect for that purpose.

***
Overall: I wish you could buy these brushed individually, because only the face brush is nice. The countour brush and eye brush are most of the time pretty useless. I would repurchase this set though if I lost the face brush though. I think there might be better contouring/bronzing brushes out there but I just like the way this brush gives only a little color.. Weird me! :D


on 7/24/2014 2:02:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

These are my first real techniques brushes. While I don't believe these are superb and essential, I have a limited brush collection and needed more designs/types. When buying brushes, costs accumulate quickly so I chose this set. These brushes accommodate my needs and what I was lacking in. I really like how these duo fibres pick up little product and I agree with the review below which describes them as finishing brushes. I use the biggest powder one to very lightly set my makeup with translucent loose powder. I had trouble finding a brush which suited this purpose as I have very dry skin and only want the lightest dusting of powder. Enough to set it and remove any sticky feel left by foundation but not too much that it dries out my skin and removes the dewy finish I love. I also find it works well with NYX matte bronzer, which is very pigmented but easily toned down with it. The contour brush I probably like the least, I find that in this case picking up little product doesn't work too well with contouring at least for me. I do like using it for extremely pigmented brushes to avoid that clown look. I love the smaller brush for setting my under eye concealer and blending eyeshadow. It is quite soft and blends great!I have small asian eyes and this works to blends colors seamlessly together without blending it into nothing or a one big color like other blending brushes tend to do for me. These aren't core essential brushes but they work well for specific needs in my opinion. I am happy.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman Products

image

Setting Brush

103 reviews
image

Shading Brush

36 reviews
image

Contour brush

29 reviews
image

Buffing Brush

122 reviews
Back to Top