Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman • Duo-Fiber Collection • Makeup Brushes

rated 3.6(14 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 4/8/2014 2:10:00 AM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Everything from Real Techniques I MUST OWN! I love their brushes so much and I had to grab this set before its gone. It's awesome and so nice for applying a light wash of colors or a light application of powder. It picks up just enough without overdoing it. I use this for those days I am just not in the mood to fuss with make-up and need a natural look.

The brushes are HIGH quality as usual and the handles are so easy to grip. Grab this set before its gone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* decoydream on 3/5/2014 7:15:00 PM more reviews by decoydream

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Black    

It's a shame that I really don't like these brushes since I think her other ones are really good. I understand that they are not designed to pick up much product, but it's gotten to the point where I'm struggling to get anything on the brushes to show up on my face. The bristles are almost scratchy and far too sparse, and the contouring brush is too small and prickly to contour either precise areas (around the nose) or for larger areas (cheeks and forehead). I'm struggling to find a use for these but I suppose I'll use the larger one to dust off my face when I accidentally over powder.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 elsiegilmour on 1/31/2014 5:56:00 AM more reviews by elsiegilmour

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have an obscenely indecent number of make-up brushes and really need not have purchased these. I only bought them because I have found the other Real Techniques brushes to be so effective.

I generally use the Real Techniques brushes only during the working week (and save my ultra luxury brushes - Suqqu, Tom Ford, Hakuhodo, etc - for the weekend, or evenings when I can take my time with makeup application). So, I didn't NEED these brushes, but a blogger I like gave them a good review, so I wanted them.

I haven't used the eye brush yet, for no other reason than I haven't yet had cause to, but I think it will prove to be an excellent blending brush. The other 2 brushes are really great and I have used them everyday. The largest is great for applying a light coating of setting powder, so that the finished effect is not too heavy. I do have the Real Techniques powder brush, but I find that to be too large and gives quite a full coverage of powder - which I do still find occasion to use, but quite infrequently.

The contour brush, I use for blusher, particularly highly pigmented blusher (Sleek, Nars, Kevyn Aucoin, etc). The brush delivers a lovely sheer layer of colour which can, of course be built up, but avoids that annoying clown effect that then needs time to carefully blend out and away.

Overall I'm very pleased with the brushes. The bristles are soft and easy to care for and I definitely find them useful to me on a daily basis. They're not as life changing as the Real Techniques expert face brush, but offer excellent value for money and quality.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 girlgeniuss on 1/29/2014 6:08:00 PM more reviews by girlgeniuss

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Before you purchase this set, it is crucial that you visit the RT site and read their individual purposes. They are not intended for heavy application, this set is specifically for finishing/airbrushing. With that said, it does exactly what it claims! The fibers are so soft and delicate. I use the biggest brush for blending out my powdered contour, the medium brush for applying contour to my cheek bones, and the smallest brush to blend the contour around my nose. This set works wonders with my Anastasia BH Contour Kit.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hawko on 1/21/2014 3:09:00 PM more reviews by Hawko

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I do not use e/s so this is for the face & blush brushes only.
These brushes are duo fibers meaning it will definitely pick up less product as compared to other brushes of the same size.
The face brush is useful for a light dusting of powder for days when you just want to set your Do you have blushes that are too "pigmented" ? Although a pretty colour, you are afraid of using them just to avoid looking like a clown. Well, this blush brush comes in handy for this purpose, it will pick up 50% less product that your regular blush brush.
Since this is a LE I have already order a second back up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 erikanicole76 on 11/6/2013 10:03:00 AM more reviews by erikanicole76

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I received these in a swap and can't really say that I am impressed.
I love all the other RT brushes but this set didn't really do anything for me. The brushes have thin bristles that aren't very soft on the skin. When trying to pick up product I had to constantly rub the brush into the product several times just to get some color, whereas other RT brushes don't have that issue at all.
I wouldn't repurchase these at all. Not a fan of this particular set.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 poppylove93 on 10/22/2013 1:54:00 PM more reviews by poppylove93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Violet    

These brushes are okay, somewhat soft, but not the best I've used. I'm comparing this with the ELF Studio one which cost only $3, and this brush performs better, but if compared to Sigma, this brush fail.

Most, if not all, of the real technique brushes are made of Taklon, which is a soft synthetic fibers. It's usually good for liquid or powdery products. I find that using this brush is best on liquidy product. For powder, this brush just doesn't pick up much product. I didn't really like it and glad it's only a limited edition.

I do like the travel kit though. Some RT brushes are hits and some are major misses. I think this one is more towards the middle. Not sure if I will repurchase though...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anonyym on 10/15/2013 4:07:00 PM more reviews by anonyym

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

love the brand.
Loving the blush brush!
I use the big powder brush to apply foundation or to contour softly - and it's awesome!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mitiaro on 6/21/2013 8:15:00 AM more reviews by mitiaro

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Major regret...
I will say that I A-D-O-R-E the pixiwoo sisters !! I wanted to pick up some of the RT brushes for the first time. But for this particular set, those brushes are scratchy and do not pick up powder products properly. I will use the smallest one for painting, since it will NEVER touch my skin again. I will keep the bigger one for dusting finishing powder not to have the feeling that I've spoiled a 20$...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Elektraza86 on 5/16/2013 10:08:00 PM more reviews by Elektraza86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

When Samantha Chapman came out with LE brushes I was ALL over that!!! I have all of them and they are hands down my favourite brushes. These new ones are reallllllly soft. The biggest complaint I read was about the density of them. I think they are great. It's supposed to be on the sparse side for a light, and I mean light application.

All three brushes are great for cream, liquid and powder. The big fluffy one is great for powder dusting, and bronzer! The other 2 are perfect for anything. The contour brush for me, is great for foundation....but is a complete complexion multi tasker! The duo fibre eye brush (smallest) is GREAT for concealer. That's how I use these brushes anyway!

Another thing I love about the RT brushes is the fact they don't shade a single hair. (The cruelty free hair btw) and the LE brushes are white and it looks really professional! A good buy. I paid $19.99 from iherb.com and received then express international to Canada in one day! If you are in the US these are obviously much easier to come by! We have RT at our Canadian Walmarts but not this set. At least where I live! <3 hope this helps!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman products

More Makeup Brushes products