Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman Duo-Fiber Collection

3.5

19 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/18/2015 4:48:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Grey

I debated getting these for all of 30 seconds..Got them and while I typically like to take brushes home and wash and sanitize them, I wanted to play with these right away. I grabbed the blush I had in my purse, my contour and an eyeshadow and tried out all 3 brushes. I love them!! I do like duo-fiber brushes in general, so I had a feeling I would like these.

The eyeshadow brush I used on an angle and it was really soft.
I do not expect these to shed. I can usually tell when a product will shed, and these are not giving me any indications of that. I do like the white handles for a change. Not that the color of the handle makes any difference, but the different color than black or silver is nice. For duo-fiber, I found these packed a good bit of product even with a fairly light touch (I tested these with Tarte Dollface, Benefit Hoola and a L'oreal Infallible shadow)..

These retail for $20.00 and I was able to use a 30% coupon at Kohl's so it made them an excellent deal (which also swayed my decision!!) But knowing now how well they perform and how well I like them already, I would have probably even paid full price. Might even get another set, and that says a lot, because I have many brushes and brush sets already!! ;)

In general I am not a fan of Real Techniques brushes, they are okay, but none of them have been Holy Grail for me, until now.....Very pleased with this set!!

I think I will get another set for my purse. These seem like they could be pretty versatile, and could be good for touch-ups as well.

Of course everyone is different. I am glad that I went with my instinct on these.
I initially thought..do I realllyyy need another brush set or even another brush for that matter..? Glad the duo-fiber aspect and the coupon reeled me. This is a new fave product that I am sure I will get lots of use out of!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

don't pick up any product-does it work better with loose powder?


on 9/11/2014 3:21:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have a ton of makeup brushes, they are my addiction. I wanted to get a new contour brush, so I decided to try this set as it has a contouring brush. Here's my review for individual brushes...

***

FACE BRUSH 4/5
This is nowadays my go-to bronzing/contouring brush. I love the fact that it doesn't pick much product so I don't have to fear about overdoing my contouring in the busy mornings. You just can't apply too much with this brush! It's also the perfect size/shape for me when I pinch it flat :)

CONTOUR BRUSH 2/5
I hardly ever use this one, even though this was the reason why I bought the set. I feel that this brush is too small for what I need. I do use it for contouring sometimes, but I definitely prefer the larger face brush better. This feels the same, but it's just toooo small. Sometimes I use this to contour my hairline, as it's more perfect size for that purpose.

EYE BRUSH 3/5
Doesn't give much color, so I use this when I only want a hint of color, like when I am doing a really natural eye look... but on the other hand, this brush seems to be perfect for that purpose.

***
Overall: I wish you could buy these brushed individually, because only the face brush is nice. The countour brush and eye brush are most of the time pretty useless. I would repurchase this set though if I lost the face brush though. I think there might be better contouring/bronzing brushes out there but I just like the way this brush gives only a little color.. Weird me! :D


on 7/24/2014 2:02:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

These are my first real techniques brushes. While I don't believe these are superb and essential, I have a limited brush collection and needed more designs/types. When buying brushes, costs accumulate quickly so I chose this set. These brushes accommodate my needs and what I was lacking in. I really like how these duo fibres pick up little product and I agree with the review below which describes them as finishing brushes. I use the biggest powder one to very lightly set my makeup with translucent loose powder. I had trouble finding a brush which suited this purpose as I have very dry skin and only want the lightest dusting of powder. Enough to set it and remove any sticky feel left by foundation but not too much that it dries out my skin and removes the dewy finish I love. I also find it works well with NYX matte bronzer, which is very pigmented but easily toned down with it. The contour brush I probably like the least, I find that in this case picking up little product doesn't work too well with contouring at least for me. I do like using it for extremely pigmented brushes to avoid that clown look. I love the smaller brush for setting my under eye concealer and blending eyeshadow. It is quite soft and blends great!I have small asian eyes and this works to blends colors seamlessly together without blending it into nothing or a one big color like other blending brushes tend to do for me. These aren't core essential brushes but they work well for specific needs in my opinion. I am happy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/16/2014 3:41:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I got these as a present from my mum who doesn't love makeup nearly as much as I do but she said she did some "research" and bought me these. At first I wasn't sure I'd find a use for them, unlike the other Real Techniques brushes which I love. Happily my doubts were misguided - these are excellent finishing brushes, with any sort of LOOSE POWDER and with HIGHLY PIGMENTED pressed powders. It's a bit silly to complain these don't pick up much product - that's the point! Great for when you're nervous or in a rush.

Face brush - I use this to apply my Elf HD powder. I no longer have to be careful not to over powder and it's great for when I'm in a rush to get a flawless application of powder.

Contour brush - Perfect application of NARS Deep Throat blush and any powdered bronzer since I'm pale and it's so easy to apply too much. This applies and blends so beautifully.

Eye brush - I actually haven't tried this on my eyes. I use it for pigmented highlighter on my cheekbones, brow and cupid's bow. Perfect for pigmented loose powders like MAC Silver Dusk for controlled application.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/8/2014 2:10:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Everything from Real Techniques I MUST OWN! I love their brushes so much and I had to grab this set before its gone. It's awesome and so nice for applying a light wash of colors or a light application of powder. It picks up just enough without overdoing it. I use this for those days I am just not in the mood to fuss with make-up and need a natural look.

The brushes are HIGH quality as usual and the handles are so easy to grip. Grab this set before its gone.


on 3/5/2014 7:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Black

It's a shame that I really don't like these brushes since I think her other ones are really good. I understand that they are not designed to pick up much product, but it's gotten to the point where I'm struggling to get anything on the brushes to show up on my face. The bristles are almost scratchy and far too sparse, and the contouring brush is too small and prickly to contour either precise areas (around the nose) or for larger areas (cheeks and forehead). I'm struggling to find a use for these but I suppose I'll use the larger one to dust off my face when I accidentally over powder.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 1/31/2014 5:56:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have an obscenely indecent number of make-up brushes and really need not have purchased these. I only bought them because I have found the other Real Techniques brushes to be so effective.

I generally use the Real Techniques brushes only during the working week (and save my ultra luxury brushes - Suqqu, Tom Ford, Hakuhodo, etc - for the weekend, or evenings when I can take my time with makeup application). So, I didn't NEED these brushes, but a blogger I like gave them a good review, so I wanted them.

I haven't used the eye brush yet, for no other reason than I haven't yet had cause to, but I think it will prove to be an excellent blending brush. The other 2 brushes are really great and I have used them everyday. The largest is great for applying a light coating of setting powder, so that the finished effect is not too heavy. I do have the Real Techniques powder brush, but I find that to be too large and gives quite a full coverage of powder - which I do still find occasion to use, but quite infrequently.

The contour brush, I use for blusher, particularly highly pigmented blusher (Sleek, Nars, Kevyn Aucoin, etc). The brush delivers a lovely sheer layer of colour which can, of course be built up, but avoids that annoying clown effect that then needs time to carefully blend out and away.

Overall I'm very pleased with the brushes. The bristles are soft and easy to care for and I definitely find them useful to me on a daily basis. They're not as life changing as the Real Techniques expert face brush, but offer excellent value for money and quality.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/29/2014 6:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Before you purchase this set, it is crucial that you visit the RT site and read their individual purposes. They are not intended for heavy application, this set is specifically for finishing/airbrushing. With that said, it does exactly what it claims! The fibers are so soft and delicate. I use the biggest brush for blending out my powdered contour, the medium brush for applying contour to my cheek bones, and the smallest brush to blend the contour around my nose. This set works wonders with my Anastasia BH Contour Kit.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/21/2014 3:09:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I do not use e/s so this is for the face & blush brushes only.
These brushes are duo fibers meaning it will definitely pick up less product as compared to other brushes of the same size.
The face brush is useful for a light dusting of powder for days when you just want to set your Do you have blushes that are too "pigmented" ? Although a pretty colour, you are afraid of using them just to avoid looking like a clown. Well, this blush brush comes in handy for this purpose, it will pick up 50% less product that your regular blush brush.
Since this is a LE I have already order a second back up.


Popular Makeup Brushes


Core Collection
207 Reviews
Stippling Brush
260 Reviews
Buffing Brush
110 Reviews


Top Rated Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman Products

image

Setting Brush

88 reviews
image

Shading Brush

33 reviews
image

Buffing Brush

110 reviews
image

Core Collection

207 reviews
Back to Top