Becca • Mermaid Loose Shimmer Powder • Highlighters

rated 4.7(17 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.100%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aizen on 10/6/2010 12:02:00 AM more reviews by aizen

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

always wanted to try this powder.( in fact I wanted to try all becca's shimmer powder )
but somehow I was hesitate to buy Mermaid because I couldn't imagine the color at all.
and bit afraid that it might be too beige or gold as I'd later to have a powder cool tone and silvery.( I am cool tone & pale skin & has little reddish tone )
I did read every body's review over and over again.finaly I got it !

now I am glad to get the mermaid.
yes, it's looks like kind of gray or greenish <- it's difficult to describe to the color. I am sure the color looks not attracted at all.

but once it's apply on the skin. wow!!!it's takes a way my redish tone part of my face. makes my skin even tone.
however it's too much gold tone for my skin if I wear it at day time.
but very beautiful to wear at night time. ( <- my case.)

I am glad to bought it ;-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* elfelettem on 10/12/2009 7:11:00 AM more reviews by elfelettem

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

This is the most beautiful highlighter. I love the idea of highlighters but I usually end up finding that they make me look oily, make my pores look huge OR look really unpleasantly unnatural with massive glitter particles if I wear it anywhere other than a very dark club/bar.

However this is a gorgeous product, very finely milled which imparts a soft glow to my face. Get caught in bright lighting and it still looks good!

The shade has been better described by others, but I will join with them in saying do not let the strange colour it looks in the jar put you off trying it. It works on my neutral skintone, but have had warmer and cooler friends borrow it as well and it has always looked good.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gna on 12/23/2008 9:56:00 PM more reviews by gna

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is the only item from Becca which I found unique enough to purchase. Unlike Nars' Albatross, which showed up as an unnatural, white-gold sheen on my eyes and cheeks, Mermaid is a most natural color. It's neutral with fine shimmer on my golden/olive toned skin. Definitely not OTT. Like other reviewers noted, the shimmers are a complex mix of gold, silver, and green. It's very versatile: I can mix it with matte blushes, use it on decollete, or layer it as a wash for eyes. No irritation or clogged pores. I like that it comes in a small-sized container.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LPomona on 3/17/2008 12:39:00 AM more reviews by LPomona

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Hazel    

I adore this highlighter. A lot of reviewers speak of flashing gold & silver & sometimes green. It's important to keep in mind that how this *flashes* on you is going to depend a lot on your own coloring, or your coloring after you've applied foundation.

For instance, I am NC20/25 and use Dior Forever fluid foundation in 021/Linen, which has a strong yellow tone (counteracts pink cheeks). I've used Mermaid straight up, if you will, as a highlighter on my cheekbones & it creates a perfect, subtle golden gleam. No silver or green.

I've also mixed a bit of it with Becca Loose Finishing Powder (Sesame), and fluffed it all over my face. The result was nothing short of spectacular. My whole face had the most perfect golden glow; again, there was no silver or green, just a very natural-looking (believe it or not) golden glow. Don't get me wrong - no one's going to walk up to me and say, "Hey, your face is gold" because it's subtle & sooo pretty.

I'd buy it again in a heartbeat. I know a lot of people say Becca's Pressed shimmer powders are superior to the loose ones, but frankly, I think the versatility of the loose powders is unbeatable. I love that I can create my own formulas by mixing different highlighters w/my finishing powder.

Happy, happy, happy.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ranger2 on 2/20/2008 2:02:00 PM more reviews by ranger2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is my favorite highlighter every. It is very subtle unlike so many highlighters that make people look greasy, to shiny, enlarged pore problems etc. With Mermaid I feel like it can do know wrong, I use a little on my brow bone and a sweep on my orbital bone almost every day, great stuff!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lenkaaa on 9/18/2007 1:39:00 PM more reviews by lenkaaa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

i love this highlighter...it looks drab in the container but IRL it is a gorgeous gunmetal with blue/green/copper duochrome sparkles...i didnt realize how gorgeous this was on my skin until i saw my picture from when i wore it and it was an ethereal glow...wish it cam in pressed form, but i think the pressed is dc'd...the value is less than MAC pigments but it is much more finely milled...if i ever finish it i'll repurchase

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* luckyredlisa on 9/18/2007 11:21:00 AM more reviews by luckyredlisa

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I too was hoping to get this in the pressed version (I think that was discontinued long before the Sephora pull-out and sale), so have to settle for the loose version. Don't be scared by the description of this as gray or green!! Somehow this totally works on me and just reads as a gorgeously neutral "glow" without any chunks of glitter, too-cool silvery-ness, or too warm/orange tones of so many other shimmer powders. Wish I'd bought more...although now I think I've located the pressed version, so I should be set!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zoeferret on 9/17/2007 2:18:00 PM more reviews by zoeferret

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I wish I could have gotten this in the pressed version but at the time I bought this only the loose one was available. ( Loose powders are just a little less convenient than pressed. ) I love this. When I first put it on it didn't look like I had anything on. But outside and better lighting- it just gives my skin a wonderful slightly golden silver glow- very natural looking but there's a little something there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rperrin on 8/19/2006 7:54:00 PM more reviews by rperrin

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I am a big fan of Mermaid loose powder. I have a giant container of it, not the smaller version. I use it liberally on clients and it's the perfect blend of gold, platinum and green. It's wonderful for the person who has any redness on their cheeks or breakouts, and won't get cake-y at all.

If you are fair to medium in skin tone and want a loose shimmer that gives you a humble glow, you will love it. Never too shimmery on the cheeks or eyes!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jiney17 on 8/8/2005 2:46:00 PM more reviews by jiney17

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Been lemming this forever, and finally broke down and bought it this past weekend. It's much more subtle on my MMM/neutral/GGG skin than I expected, but that's a good thing since I'm more into the "naturally enhanced" look these days. It's about 18 dollars for a small sifter jar filled to the brim with a soft, super-finely-milled, dull-looking, greyish-taupe powder. But once applied to skin (there's a light, baby powder-ish scent that dissipates quickly), it morphs into a lovely, pale, pale goldish/silverish glimmer, much more subtle than "Odette", which is a straight-up pale gold on me. I'm tanner these days so I didn't detect any of the greenish color other people noted. It seems like it'd be flattering to both light and dark complexions, but I think some warm tones in your skin are necessary. Does not sink into pores or make them look obvious--just gives a soft radiance to skin. Lasts until you wash it off. Expensive, but I think it'll last me a good long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Becca products

More Highlighters products