Sephora • 8 HR Mattifying Compact Foundation • Powder

rated 4.3(22 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 jenglund on 6/5/2014 10:58:00 PM more reviews by jenglund

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Almost great. Pretty mattifying, medium to full coverage, doesn't appear to clog my pores up, lasts pretty long without sliding around or separating. Best when applied with a brush. Magnetic compact is handy.

Ultimately, too cakey though. Also, if I'm going to pay $22 for a generic brand, why not spend $8 more on the good stuff or even spend $20 total on a good drugstore powder plus a blotting powder/mattifier? I returned this after a few days because I couldn't justify $22 for the same basic ingredients as a Kashuk or Neutrogena powder.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* valmont32677 on 6/3/2014 6:42:00 PM more reviews by valmont32677

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I had a mini makeover at Sephora today to get my foundation, powder (pressed & loose), concealer, & primer done up & color matched/picked out, so the male SA MUA used this. It's flawless! Soooo much better than MAC Studio Fix or even my beloved BareMinerals. I had never had any experience w Sephora brand makeup except a liquid eyeliner that the point got mushy (happily exchanged no questions, no complaints cheerfully exchanged!!)....I think Sephora has great quality & decent prices (in comparison to prices of comparable products of their peers!). They did a primer, spray (air brush) foundation, this powder then set w loose powder. It looks wonderfully flawless & I am so happy w the results. Sephora is my fave place to buy makeup even over Ulta or Macys (MAC, EL, Clinique, Chanel...). The SA's are sooooo nice & not rude, they bend over backwards to help me ("can I start u a basket?"), really positive experience & now I am a VIP lol I get ten per cent off next purchase, free makeover, & a free product. Anyways, this product is finely milled, controls oil & shine wonderfully, & doesn't sweat off. I am used to DS foundation, concealer, & powders so I am really seeing ("seeing is believing!!") why ppl would go spend a bit more on this stuff & that not only color products (eg lipstick, e/s...) aren't the only thing that u pay for what u get. Soooo happy w this powder. The MA asked me if I wanted a full(er) coverage or more dewy sheer so I said full coverage & ended up w this powder. It's simply lovely!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rayoflight121 on 5/29/2014 2:44:00 PM more reviews by rayoflight121

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Finely Milled
Doesn't oxidze
Keeps my shiny T-zone matte all day!
No need for touch ups
Beautiful natural soft finish and doesn't leave me overly matte

I'm NC20/25ish the color Light 23 matches very well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Aneizy on 5/1/2014 8:11:00 PM more reviews by Aneizy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Never did I ever think I would be able to use a powder foundation! I am very oily with random dry spots around my nose jaw and between eyebrows. I was using tarte's Amazonian clay foundation which I hate but it's the only thing doesnt break me out since my skin is very sensitive. I used to get so oily throughout the day even if I wasn't oily my face was shiney. This was the best 22 I ever spent. My skin looked flawless. Completely Matte but i did not look dull. I was not oily today!!! And not a single dry patch was shown. I'm seriously amazed. No more foundation searching for me..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 KimD507 on 3/25/2014 4:10:00 PM more reviews by KimD507

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I think this is a great powder..light-medium coverage
Worth a try....stopped because my skin has been acting difficult
cant say if this product caused breakouts or not at this point

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RedLipsBlackHair on 1/11/2014 5:07:00 PM more reviews by RedLipsBlackHair

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I adore this powder. It has great coverage and isn't cakey or heavy, it just looks very soft and smooth. The sponge it comes with is great, I use it when I apply this alone. When worn by itself I do find I have to reapply, but that isn't a big deal. Love the elegant compact. I'm almost out and will repurchase.
I'm NC40 and wear 35 Bronze.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 i8alltheBacon on 1/5/2014 4:03:00 PM more reviews by i8alltheBacon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have this in the shade #6 beige and it's a perfect match for my VERY pale skin with neutral-warm tones. I've always had a really hard time finding a foundation pale enough and not too pink....I tried out 10 different shades from 10 different brands at Sephora and THIS was the only one pale enough that wasn't pink (#6 beige is a pale neutral-yellow tone). I had acne issues in the past and still have some redness, pink marks and large pores left over from it...unfortunately I NEED to wear foundation. I apply moisturizer or spf, Pur Minerals green primer, then pat this foundation on my skin blending around the edges....that gives the best coverage. It really does help keep my skin shine free..I use ELF HD powder on top and I only have to blot 1-2 times through the day.The only thing I would change is I wish it had a little bit more coverage...it's about a medium (according to Sephora.com it's full coverage). IF you're looking for fuller coverage, you could use this over a liquid and it would probably do well.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 daintydaisy on 12/27/2013 12:19:00 AM more reviews by daintydaisy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I loved the silky even finish of this foundation! After the Prescriptives powder foundation I loved got discontinued, I tried this out. Looked so great and was cheaper than my old favorite! Unfortunately after 2 days of wear my face started breaking out in small pimples on my cheeks. I hadn't changed anything in my routine so it's most likely it was this. Such a bummer!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Miaoudeminou on 12/23/2013 8:34:00 PM more reviews by Miaoudeminou

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this almost a year ago. I bought it in Clair Light (20).

I like the packaging on this. It looks nice and sleek. My issues was that this didn't cover up my orange-rind looking pores on my cheeks and a lack of coverage. It's more of a finishing powder than a foundation. I've had drugstore finishing powders that have more coverage than this.

I personally wouldn't buy it again or recommend it. There are so many better powders out there.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kupo_baby on 12/23/2013 6:36:00 PM more reviews by kupo_baby

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

For starters, I don't have oily skin. I wanted a pressed powder foundation to use on days when I was only using concealer, no (liquid) foundation.
I use this with a kabuki brush & it leaves the most beautiful finish. I checked a mirror later in the day & my first thought was that my skin was looking amazing. I soon realized that it was all this foundation!!
NOTE: for once, I'm not the lightest shade! I originally got 05 Porcelain. I had to exchange it for 06 Beige because the 05 was essentially a pinkish-white shade. (I normally use Revlon 110 Ivory foundation). 06 is a fairly good match, esp good for me since my neck is warmer than my face. And the yellow-ish tint helps tone down the redness in my skin

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sephora products

More Powder products