Estee Lauder • Knowing • Fragrances

rated 3.8(87 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 shadedmaryy on 6/28/2014 6:19:00 PM more reviews by shadedmaryy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Knowing smells amazing on your clothing. I guess it would also smell wonderful on your hair although I've not done that yet. Its heavy and deep, a beautiful mixture of flowers but not sweet ones. If you like quality dried flowers then you will love knowing because that is what stays on you for many hours till the end of the day.
Don't judge Knowing from smelling the nozzle of the bottle or on a paper strip because it changes on the skin, after a few hours it has a raisin floral smell if you put your nose close to the skin but other people don't smell the raisin part, which is probably the Orris Root. Others only smell the clean but formal floral on you. This fragrance does not change on your clothing, only on the skin.
Not a good idea to get hugging close to anyone for at least 6 hours unless they're the kind of person who wants to put their nose in a bunch of dried flowers. Its a don't mess with me floral fragrance designed for sillage, to smell soapy clean for hours and hours, but much later, about 6 hours or so the raisin is no longer there with the flowers and you become hugable. A short tiny spray of Knowing lasts the whole day, its rather powerful.
I wear it for outdoor tea parties, ladies meetings, its the most perfect for that kind of thing, and also for trips into town when shopping because you just know you are going to bump into someone you know so its best to always smell great.
Think: HEAVY DRIED FLOWERS, SOAPY. LADIES MEETINGS.

Top Notes:
Aldehydes , Mimose, Coriander, Tuberose, Melon, Plum, Greens, Rose.
Middle Notes:
Orange Blossom, Bay Leaf, Patchouli, Orris Root, Jasmine, Lily-of-the-Valley, Cardamom. Cedar.
Base Notes:
Spices, Sandalwood, Amber, Patchouli, Civet, Orris Root, Musk, Oakmoss, Vetiver.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SorceressOfTheDark on 8/23/2013 12:57:00 AM more reviews by SorceressOfTheDark

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Eight hours later I could still luxuriate in the fumes of this heavily decadent floral chypre. It's not heavy to those around you, unless you spray more than necessary. A light sprinkling is all that's necessary of this beautiful fragrance.
There are many notes to consider and each individual picks up on different ones. But one thought remains constant. This is not a perfume for the weak and languid. It is vibrant, it is bodacious and unrestrained in the aura it suspends around its wearer.
The longer it sits on your skin the warmer the wood notes become. The rose lingers like an intoxicating first deep whiff you've taken from a bouquet-fresh and sweet but not overpowering. The civet flows through thickly for those of us who love our animalistic scents and the patchouli is darkly obsessional.
This is a magnificent chypre that will take you back to silk dressing gowns, bakelite cigarette holders with rhinestones, smoky eyes and the mysterious look of the pencil-eyebrows of the 1930's. Intimidating? Of course. Only in a cock of the eyebrow manner. This is not a sinister perfume. It is a perfume for the strong.
Knowing is a perfect name for this juice. The poised and confident need only apply to wear this power-house. Be prepared for the consequences.
Top Notes: Aldehydes, Mimose, Coriander, Tuberose, Melon, Plum, Green Notes, Rose.
Middle Notes: Orange Blossom, Bay Leaf, Patchouli, Orris Root, Jasmine, Lily-of-the-Valley, Cedar, Cardamom.
Base Notes: Spices, Sandalwood, Amber, Patchouli, Musk, Civet, Orris Root, Oakmoss, Vetiver.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sillage on 8/8/2013 9:24:00 PM more reviews by sillage

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I remember my first whiff of Knowing very clearly. Well, I had sniffed the tester bottle in passing, but I had never sniffed it *on someone* until this experience.

It was 1989, I was being trained for my new job, and I had to go to Ellie's office -- a lady who was 52 at the time -- and she gave me about 2 hours of training, in very close quarters in her office. I was wearing YSL Paris -- and I remember that because I thought Ellie's perfume smelled sooooooooo much better than mine.

It was about 10am when I went to her office, and she smelled *soft* -- soft and delicious and skin-scenty. I complimented her perfume, asked what it was, and she said, "Knowing -- just one drop". I was really surprised to hear that, because I had always thought Knowing was super strong (from sniffing the sprayer in the tester bottle) -- but on Ellie, it was soft. It melted into her skin and smelled warm and wonderful.

Of course, I went out and bought myself a bottle, and I wore it for months on end, and I really loved it. But there were times, esp in meetings or other close quarters, when I was self-conscious, because I felt like I had too much on.

Since it's a spray, it's difficult to apply lightly -- and at first, it is quite strong, even a tiny spritz. Someone once walked in the door and told me I smelled good -- but I was several yards away from her! I was a bit concerned that I was wafting too strongly.

But after it has calmed down and blended in to skin -- when the strength is just right -- it's a wonderful sophisticated perfume. The perfect time of year for me to wear Knowing is September-November. It's a warm earthy floral/woodsy chypre.

Fragrance Notes, per parfumo.net:
Top Notes: Mimosa, Plum, Pittosporum, Rose, Tuberose
Heart Notes: Jasmine, Orange blossom, Patchouli
Base Notes: Amber, Oakmoss, Sandalwood, Vetiver

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 FancyShmancy on 4/16/2013 11:02:00 PM more reviews by FancyShmancy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a beautiful fragrance. I agree with what a lot of others have said in their reviews, in regards to perhaps dabbing this one on rather than spraying, as it is quite a strong smell. Lovely though. Not an "old lady" smell by any means, but don't think this ones suited for young girls either... A lovely, sophisticated and mature fragrance.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Olfactoria on 12/22/2012 2:03:00 PM more reviews by Olfactoria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

Knowing, like Angel, is the perfect example of a fragrance that deserves its five-star rating in Turin & Sanchez' "Perfumes: The Guide," yet is unwearable for me. It is a lush rose chypre of great quality and distinction, in a hefty, artistic, asymmetrically ridged bottle that befits an elegant and mature classic. All the same, I feel sick every time I try to wear Knowing. It has a raspy, nail-varnish-like quality that I associate with old perfumes that have soured from exposure to the light. While I recognize intellectually that Knowing is simply swimming in oakmoss, and not the least bit sour or stale (having been purchased a year ago from Macy's), it nonetheless offends my nose and makes my head spin.



I can wear Aromatics Elixir and Cabochard just fine, so it's not that I am averse to loud dry chypres... But something about Knowing just never settles down for me, never becomes cozy and wearable. Shame.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lilosette on 10/20/2012 11:49:00 PM more reviews by Lilosette

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

What makes Aldehydes Patcholi Jasmine
Sandalwood & Civet a good perfume
ingredients i just don't know. 90 %
of my perfumes That i love are these
ingredents it's Romance Wraped in a bottle An
elegant perfume perfect for
going to a high class Resturant
Going to a Posh Fine Art Museim
having a candle light dinner with your
signifigant other. i'v notice some a leather
note in this perfume i'm deffinily buy this again
when it runs out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jessabell on 7/11/2012 6:10:00 PM more reviews by Jessabell

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

my mum has this perfume because she recieved it as a gift from her friend. I am 24 and i adore it! its very strong and so i dont feel its something i would wear right now at my age but most definitely when im older i will bathe in this stuff lol... mind you if its over sprayed it can be too much but rightly its amazing!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Mandella on 3/2/2012 11:54:00 AM more reviews by Mandella

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I had trepidation before trying it because it's supposed to be a BIG 90's affair. I heard that one spritz and walk through are more than enough...so I spritzed and waited for a full-on attack. Smelling this fragrance was like walking up to the biggest,nastiest-looking bouncer in a club and being met with Mr.Manners. The juice is powerful, but it is so well blended that you can almost forget it's there. Kudos to Estee for her great nose!

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Mashenka11 on 1/11/2012 10:55:00 PM more reviews by Mashenka11

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Okay..... I am going to be honest. This perfume smells like urine.... But that is only in my opinion and a few of my family and friends.

I used to wear Britney Spears' Fantasy because I like sweet scents.... everywhere I went, in elevators, buses, people complimented me on my perfume. However, when in a different country I lost my wallet. Magically, a girl sitting next to me in a bus that day asked me if she could buy whatever perfume I was wearing right then and there...so I sold my Fantasy.

I got Knowing as a gift. Since I like to always wear perfume, even if I am not a fan of the scent, I wore it regularly until I had the money to buy one I really liked. Tip: Don't spritz it on yourself like a body spray...its STRONG. My nose grew immune to it but my friends told me that once I left their car my scent was still flying around in the car...and not in a good way.

This scent is not girlish or young.... in fact it smells kind of old-fashioned to me. If you want to really make a statement in a room, wear this stuff. It doesn't fade away like other perfumes do. But, my dad still told me it smelled like "urine".

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* candystripelegs on 12/30/2011 10:15:00 PM more reviews by candystripelegs

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I sampled this today, one tiny spritz on each wrist, I am a lover of "big" scents (mostly orientals) and the majority of my collection is what some MUAers often refer to as "old lady" perfumes. That being said..I found this stuff extremely potent and pungent for the first 30 minutes or so.


At first, I smelled a very strong synthetic rose or floral scent...then it morphed into what I can only refer to as the scent of autumn. Burning leaves, campfire, the last of summer's flower petals blowing in the wind.


4 hours in, Knowing has dried down, but doesn't fade away. She's still strong, but she's grown in a dark mossy delight of incense, woods, rose, and a dash of spice and cream.


Part of me feels like this fragrance is lovely, mature and I'm surprised that I've ended up liking it since I prefer spicier and stronger musks. Knowing definitely holds onto those floral notes, but it's not too girlish. In fact, I think a man could wear this.


First impression : This is a fragrance that a woman would buy but a man wouldn't. Meaning, it smelled nice and womanly but somehow lacked sex appeal. 80s, early 90s. I felt like I should be wearing a power suit with a bob haircut, like this was a scent that a career woman would wear. She wants to be taken seriously, she needs something to last all day, she wants to retain her femininity but she also wants respect and never wears her skirts too short.


After an hour, like a 30 year old woman, she bloomed...growing more into herself, She's not trying to fit in, she's not trying to make waves by being shocking or "different". She simply is.


I never thought I would love a fragrance with as much rose as this one has but I have a feeling that Knowing will grow to be one of my favorites.



10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Estee Lauder products

More Fragrances products