LUSH • Blousey • Shampoo

rated 4.0(12 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Brendaleerudy on 4/7/2014 11:53:00 PM more reviews by Brendaleerudy

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Love this shampoo. It really puts volume into my hair. It only takes a small amount to create lather and the smell is amazing. One container will last a long long time. Love it!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 LenaPena on 3/14/2014 12:39:00 PM more reviews by LenaPena

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really looked forward to try this shampoo but it quickly turned into a bad experience. I could't belive it when my hair turn into hay in my hands! I had to use a lot of my hair mask and all my conditioner so that I could brush my hair. This is the worst shampoo that I have ever used.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 daoriax on 1/23/2014 4:57:00 AM more reviews by daoriax

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This odd schampoo is getting a 5 in overall rating from me since I have never ever in 33 yrs found a hair product that smells so absolutely wonderful and makes my hair so shiny and with no need of conditioner!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Spookz on 12/26/2013 12:38:00 AM more reviews by Spookz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this for the past two months and i can't wait to finish it.
I don't like it as it doesnt clean myhair and makes my scalp itchy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 misscoutureland on 12/11/2013 3:48:00 AM more reviews by misscoutureland

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I have dry, fine and dyed hair and have to say this is a god send. I was using Lush's Big shampoo and loved it but wanted to try something new. This is by far the best shampoo i have ever used. My hair feels like amazingly soft and just has a really healthy appearance to it. This shampoo does not lather like big, it more melts into the hair which feels really moisturising.
smell was really lovely, sort of like a spicy banana bread.
Price is very reasonable to me considering the effects/ingredients and how little product you need.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kes1234 on 12/9/2013 6:33:00 PM more reviews by kes1234

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Love the scent of this! Smells like banana and spices and the scent lingers in your hair for a couple of days. Seems like a good shampoo, my hair was shiny and really soft but I'd still need conditioner after it.
It is expensive but you only need a tiny bit (I could wash my hair twice out of a sample pot and my hair is waist length) so the full size pot should last forever. Not sure if I'll buy the full size version, want to try the honey one and compare first.
Lush packaging is what it is - not beautiful but I like that they are recycled and the offer of a free face mask when you bring 5 back so no complaints here :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sara942 on 11/27/2013 10:49:00 PM more reviews by sara942

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

After being let down by much of the Lush haircare line, I've been truly impressed with this shampoo. It not only makes my hair color appear more vibrant, it has restored the shine and bounce my hair hasn't had for months, while combating the excess stress-induced hair loss I've been dealing with lately. I didn't really like the scent of this in the pot, and I liked it even less while using it in the shower, but once my hair is dry it takes on this early, patchouli-like scent that I love. I've gotten multiple compliments on the condition of my hair lately, since I've been using this shampoo for the past two weeks. I find that I actually don't need to use conditioner with this, despite having dry hair. I use a couple of quarter-sized dollops on my below-shoulder-length hair with each wash and it's perfect. It is very pricey for the amount you get, and the tub is challenging to keep water out of while in the shower, but it's a great conditioning shampoo and worth a try if you're not on a tight budget, especially if you have an expensive dye job you want to preserve or your hair is being really dull or limp.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 srascal on 8/24/2013 7:01:00 PM more reviews by srascal

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I use Lush Henna to dye my hair and for the last year or so I was co-washing it with a light Aveda conditioner. After a while, my hair just felt heavy and dull. When I would occasionally shampoo it, it would be shiny and bouncy again. Clearly I needed a shampoo.

Enter Blousey. It's Lush's color-safe shampoo, so it works great with the henna color. I use this product every day and it has not faded my color one bit. Huge plus!

It did take me a little while to figure out how to use it on my hair. Using a big glob and lathering all over my shoulder-length hair was drying out my ends. However, if I use just the tiniest amount and concentrate on my roots, I get excellent results. My hair feels clean and looks shiny.

The container is such a hassle and I am constantly fighting with it to get it closed before water gets in, but I guess that is just a hassle I'll have to live with because this stuff is really working for my hair. If you try it, remember not to use too much! Also, the wetter your hair is, the more lather you will achieve. You do not need to leave Blousey on too long; I wash mine off almost immediately.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bethanaimeexo on 5/6/2013 5:51:00 PM more reviews by bethanaimeexo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Does nothing special but my hair does feel clean after use.
Creates a nice lather.
At �18 for a small tub it is ridiculously overpriced, definitely not worth it.
Do not like the smell.

EDIT: I have continued to use this and I do kind of like it. However, I will not repurchase due to the price and the fact that it leaves small granules in my hair and makes my scalp a little bit itchy on the first day. Would not recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amnahp12 on 4/9/2013 6:15:00 PM more reviews by amnahp12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For the amount you get and need to use - typical of Lush products - this is abhorrently expensive.

That being said, I will certainly buy it again.

[funny how I'll balk at a ten dollar shampoo at Wal-Mart but fork out thirty for half as much at Lush]


The first thing you will notice about this shampoo is the smell - what I think is a wonderful spicy, creamy concoction utterly different from other hair and bath products and always leaves me looking forward to using it. The second thing you will notice is the thick, creamy texture and completely unappetizing color. It's a yucky pink/brown that to me screams nutritious ingredients and oils, so I look forward to dumping it in my hair, but not everybody will. I would most certainly dig into this with a spoon if it were a dessert. Some oil settles to the top of this, which I absolutely relish and love seeing, because I know that it will transfer to my hair. No matter, I mix it in and take out a scoop.


Usage: you will need a little more than your usual amount of shampoo for this, although a smaller amount will also clean. In order to work up a creamy, luxurious lather, pre-shampoo with a pea-dime sized amount of shampoo [any] and then follow up with Blousey. I use more than I would like on account of my long, thick, tangly curly dry hair. This makes it considerably less affordable.


Despite all the creaminess and oils, it rinses clean and leaves my hair full of volume [even though I condition right up to the scalp] and light and fluffy. You could get away without a conditioner, but I wouldn't recommend it for anybody with already dry hair.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Shampoo products