COTZ • Face SPF40 • Sunscreen

rated 4.5(13 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 lashandbrow on 8/15/2014 10:50:00 AM more reviews by lashandbrow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I just bought Cotz Sensitive Sunscreen from Ulta (NO TINT).

THIS STUFF IS AMAZING.

Seriously. It does look pasty white but even with the 1 tbsp sunscreen (minimum needed for adequate sun protection ladies --- google Pub Med research articles,etc if you don't believe me) --- IT goes on white BUT rubs in clear. It is oily so you need a good 5 minutes to let it soak in --- then you can apply your primer, powder, then foundation OR primer foundation powder ---. BUT there is NO WHITE CAST after it is rubbed in (even without foundation) and it leaves my skin glowing . The only other sunblock that does this is clinique super city block and you shell out more $ for less zinc.

I rest my case.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 antiguru on 7/13/2014 1:55:00 AM more reviews by antiguru

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Received it as a sample in an Ulta/Sephora purchase, who knows, I lose track. I could have gotten multiple uses out of the one pack but as it was, I was just too confused to give it another go. It IS slightly tinted as product states but as a previous review also stated, it looks like poop. Amazingly, I still slathered this substance on my face. I ain't a quitter. Okay, I am. I just admitted it. But I did use it once even though it looked like poop. That says a lot about my beauty product character. It felt like primer, covered nothing (as I assume it would cover SOMETHING as the package goes out of its way to let you know it's tinted), it was matte as packaging stated, and I'm assuming with a SPF of 40, it kicked the living crud out of the sun the one day I wore it.

Nevertheless, too weird. I'll stick with my nice, normal SPF 20 foundation which does not remind me of poop. I'm not going to the sun. It's Earth. I'll take my chances.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Whynot15 on 7/4/2014 9:49:00 PM more reviews by Whynot15

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is as close to perfect as I can find in a sunscreen. 20% zinc oxide with no white cast, no fragrance, and no ingredients that irritate my skin. This also does not burn my eyes. On the downside, it is shiny and feels sticky on the face. Still worth it!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1017 on 6/24/2014 1:49:00 PM more reviews by 1017

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

First, if you hate the way Monistat Anti-Chaffing Gel Powder on your face as a primer, don't bother with this, you will hate it. I use the Monistat as primer...so this Cotz feels great to me. It feels very much like the Monistat to me...very silky, smooth. It definitely feels like a primer almost. The only way to really spell out how awesome this is to list it out:
PROS:
-works as tinted moisturizer/primer
-SPF 40
-physical sunscreens
-no irritations or break outs
-Ulta sells it for $19.99
-can be mixed with your foundation or layered with your foundation
-great for the summer
-only need a small amount to cover the face
-easy to use flip cap on the tube

CONS:
-comes out like a little pile of poop
-the tube is small
-less of a moisturizer, more of a primer IMO. If you feel dry, you may need to apply moisturizer then this.

This is the only face product with a higher than SPF 15 I have been able to wear (Olay Complete SPF 15 SS is the only other SPF I have been able to put on my face 2/out issues, not even the Olay SPF 30 was safe for me). Many times in the summer, this is my base...nothing else. I really hope they don't ever stop making this because I will definitely use this all summer. I could even use it all winter if I want. I don't know if this is newer or if I just found it, but it is amazing!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SHeust on 3/16/2014 2:37:00 PM more reviews by SHeust

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is a first impression review for the CoTz Face Natural Skin Tone SPF 40 Sunscreen. I will update after continuing to use over time, but I'm so pleased with this from the get-go that I want to share it!

Things I love about this:

1. SPF 40: hooray! Excellent sun protection! - and isn't that the whole point?
2. Tint: this tinted sunblock looks dark when you squeeze it out, but it blends to a nearly sheer finish and doesn't make (even my very fair skin) look orange at all. Just adds a bit of color/warmth. Also, because it's tinted, no white cast effect.
3. Finish: matte! What sunblock has ever had a matte finish? It's a miracle. Between the bit of tint and the matte finish, I don't even need to wear foundation with this! I just put this on and dab a bit of concealer where needed and boom - face done. Skin looks smooth and even.
4. Texture: doesn't feel heavy, greasy, or tacky like most sunblocks. Practically weightless. Blends in pretty much immediately. Note: May trip up brushes a bit if you're applying any powder over this (bristles stick a little).
5. Ingredients: this is a mineral/physical sunscreen that blocks, rather than absorbing (like a chemical sunscreen does) UVA/UVB rays. Very few ingredients, and none of which ranked higher than a 1 on cosdna's analysis for acne irritation, which is great for sensitive-skinned, acne prone gals (like me)!
6. Staying power: billed as water and sweat resistant for up to 80 minutes. With skin staying dry, it lasts for hours without wearing off.
7. Gentle: no irritation to my skin (yet) and no burning sensation, even on the delicate eye area.

I'm seriously impressed by this, in case you couldn't tell. I'm ready to abandon my foundation and just wear this every day, keeping my skin protected like I know I should, assuming this doesn't start to make me break out. It's $20 for a 1.7 fl oz tube at Ulta, and that seems pricey but for the quality of this it is totally worth it. Furthermore, a little goes a long way so the tube should last at least two months, I think, even with multiple applications daily. I like the squeeze tube format also, very functional. The only thing that I'm "meh" about this so far is the sort of outdated 90's looking packaging.

Update after 5 days: Developed two new blemishes, and also some minor itchy patches on my face. However, my skin is SUPER easily suffocated and I rarely can pull off liquid products. So I'm leaving this as a great review, even though I won't be continuing to use it, because I still think it's an incredible sunblock and would probably work great for people with normal, oily, or just non-sensitive skin.

Here's more from Cotz's description:

CoTZ for Face Balanced Mineral Complex is a dermatologist recommended mineral sunscreen that feels silky soft and blends translucent with a sheer matte finish. CoTZ helps prevent heat build-up in the skin, which can damage the dermis. Also, helps prevent pre-mature skin aging (fine lines, wrinkles, sagging, and age spots), uneven skin tone and other serious problems.

CoTZ Balanced Mineral Complex blends to match skin tone:
- Leaves skin silky, soft & smooth
- Non-Shiny, Non-Greasy
- Layers invisible under makeup
- Weightless

CoTZ Balanced Mineral Complex for healthier skin:
- 100% Free of Oils, Fragrances, Preservatives, Parabens, PABA, Gluten, Phthalates
- Does not irritate or sting
- Gentle enough for all skin types
- Contains #1 & #2 rated sunscreen ingredients
- SPF 40 exceeds the level recommended by Skin Cancer Experts
- Provides broad spectrum UVA/UVB protection
- Photostable, will not breakdown when exposed to sunlight
- Water & Sweat Resistant

CoTZ sits invisibly on top of the skin and functions like thousands of mirrors to deflect UVA/UVB rays before the rays can penetrate the skin.

CoTZ is 100% Free of chemical sunscreen ingredients, here's why: Chemical sunscreens absorb UVA/UVB rays into the skin and transform the rays into heat, which can damage the dermis.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 upiswhat on 2/24/2014 4:40:00 PM more reviews by upiswhat

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this stuff! I got a small sample and loved the texture, so I bought myself the full size. It's much cheaper than similar products. It doesn't feel really heavy and greasy like other physical sunscreens. The best part by far is that it's tinted, so I don't get that ghostly white cast caused by other zinc oxide products. It helps to even out my skin tone, as well, so there isn't a need for any additional foundation on top of it. Just make sure to rub it in really well, otherwise you'll get blotches on your face like I did. The bottle is small but it has lasted me a full summer and a few sunny days here and there in the winter.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dachua on 11/7/2013 9:43:00 PM more reviews by dachua

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of the most multi-purpose products I've ever used. It's the first thing I put on my face, it functions as my moisturizer, primer, mattifier, SPF and foundation all in one! It has very little coverage, someone who wants more will want to use foundation over it, but it's enough for me. I like silicones, but I can see where there would be a problem for those who are sensitive to them. I think this stuff is great!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 alison000 on 10/15/2013 6:33:00 AM more reviews by alison000

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

When I first began using this product, I thought I had found a miracle in a bottle. The texture, consistency, and appearance can't be beat. It gives skin a beautiful glow without makeup and wears well under makeup. I didn't notice any burning or signs of irritation after applying it. However, after 3 weeks of use, I noticed my skin was covered in bumps - every pore was clogged. I assumed that titanium dioxide was the culprit and purchased the Cotz "sensitive" formulation. The Cotz sensitive sunscreen did more damage and all those clogged pores evolved into a horrendous breakout. The product is loaded with silicones which explains its beautifying effects and may also explain my skin's reaction. If you can tolerate silicones, you won't regret this purchase. It's simply amazing. I should also note that there are several variations of this product - tinted, clear, sensitive.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kyl77 on 10/13/2013 6:18:00 PM more reviews by kyl77

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I just got this sunscreen, and I've already ordered another tube. I have problems with chemical sunscreens irritating my sensitive skin, but this physical sunscreen is very gentle. Unlike other physical sunscreens I've tried it's not greasy and it doesn't leave a white residue. It's tinted a surprisingly dark brown color, but once I blend it in it looks completely natural on my fair skin. The only thing I don't like is the price ($19.99 at dermstore.com), but sometimes you get what you pay for. If you're looking for an alternative to the more popular chemical sunscreens, either for health reasons or because of sensitive skin, I would give this product a try.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sbhonda on 9/2/2013 12:47:00 PM more reviews by sbhonda

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I only got this recently, but I already can't recommend it enough. The texture is almost a little dry, but in a good way. It's silicone based, so it blends incredibly well, but since it's on the dry side it is anything but greasy. I thought the tint might be a little dark for my light skin, but it's okay so far. I may have to switch to the light skin tone version in the winter, but for now it works well because, if anything, it helps my face match my body a little better. There is certainly no white cast with it. It may not work for those with very fair skin (which is why they offer a light skin version), but I imagine it would work on any other skin tone, including very dark.

It feels so much better and blends so much better than the EltaMD UV Clear, which I was using previously. I found that greasy enough (if I used it in the quantity you're supposed to) that it discouraged me from wearing it. Not the case with CoTZ, which is great because I'll be more apt to wear it every single day.

Basically, what you're getting when you buy this is a high quality primer that also has an SPF of 40. The price may seem a bit steep for a sunscreen, since you only get 1.5 oz, but $20 for 1.5 oz of primer AND sunscreen in one isn't so bad. I have applied cream and liquid foundations over it, and both turned out great. It's also great on its own if I don't want to wear foundation, as it still smooths the look of my skin.

I applied this sunscreen immediately after a 40% lactic acid peel and had no stinging whatsoever. If anything, it soothed my skin.

I would say the only reason not to try this is if you have a sensitivity to silicones of you really can't afford the price. But, otherwise, it's DEFINITELY worth a try. I absolutely love it so far. The only thing I don't love is the price, so if I ever find a good deal on it, I will stock up.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More COTZ products

More Sunscreen products