Guerlain • Parure de Lumière • Liquid

rated 4.2(21 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 svyp on 7/23/2014 6:00:00 AM more reviews by svyp

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

The true strength of Parure de Lumière is more in its ability to blur texture imperfections rather than cover actual pigmentation problems. I'd say it's coverage is sheer to light, given my choice of application (which is my fingers, since I cannot be bothered with anything else while I'm rushing in the morning). It's a wonder for mildly dehydrated or combination skin because the mix of silicones in it really work to smooth and fill-in skin's surface, while imparting subtle, but not dewy-level moisture.

The low-coverage of this foundation actually works for it because, let's be real, Guerlain's shades have always been rather strange. I have this in 23 Dore Naturel, which is basically an obvious mid-toned orange, but because it is so sheer, it just adds a bit of life into my nc25/nc30 complexion - and I love it for that. I go in after with a little light colored concealer and it just adds so much dimension to my face.

All in all, this is for people with who want a really healthy, freshly-moisturized, and smoothed-out skin finish. And given the great UVA/UVB sunscreen component, this becomes perhaps the perfect daytime foundation.

PS. The one downside for me is the scent, which is a blatantly synthetic floral one, but still not a deal breaker.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Cath12 on 7/16/2014 5:36:00 AM more reviews by Cath12

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

While the finish is quite flawless, it turns too dewy quite quickly. It also doesn't photograph too well (white-cast).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Andi2010 on 7/13/2014 4:45:00 AM more reviews by Andi2010

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Iv'e had this foundation for just over a year in my stash - on my normal/combination skin I prefer to use this as a winter foundation as it doesn't tend to need blotting very often in the cooler months.

I have this in 01 Beige Pale and 31 Amber Pale - both work for my NC15 yellow skin tone. 31 Amber Pale is a slightly better match as 01 Beige Pale has a very slight leaning towards pink undertone. Guerlain foundations can be confusing as the shades don't seem completely consistent across the range. I have Lingerie De Peau in 01 Beige Pale it is lighter and more yellow toned than Parure De Lumiere 01 Beige Pale. However after some experimenting Parure 01 looks great with a very thin layer of BB worn as a primer and looks more yellow toned.

Parure is a thicker consistency and only requires 2 pumps for a build-able light to medium coverage, you get plenty of time to work with this one and it blends in beautifully for a flawless skin look that is still quite natural. On my combo skin I find this one a little tacky as it does not dry fast but find it pairs well with most powders - my current favs being Chanel Poudre Loose and Nars Light Reflecting Loose as well as any Guerlain powder or meteorites balls.

You get a really nice finish with a BB or RT sponge, lately I have been applying this with a flat top kabuki with just a squirt of water or make up setting spray to slightly dampen the brush - blends in beautifully to look like healthy glowy skin. Lasts all day, I do need to blot a couple of times but have not let me put this off. This will be a definite repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Laski on 7/5/2014 2:51:00 AM more reviews by Laski

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This would be a great autumn/winter foundation for me! I had a sample (03 Beige naturel) and really liked the medium coverage this luxurious product provided, and the amount of luminosity it imparted. I also found that it has a very moisturizing feel to it (though I moisturize before, of course). That said, for summer it´s a tad too rich for me, and also the glow transforms into a bit of an oily shine after a while. Together with sunscreen it easily gets too much for my skin at the moment. But I can totally see me using this in the colder season. I´ll keep the second sample until autumn and then try again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kiwimakeuplover on 6/9/2014 7:46:00 PM more reviews by kiwimakeuplover

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a relatively new convert to Guerlain having recently purchased the Parure Gold liquid foundation (which I adore so much I only use it for special occasions or going out somewhere nice as its kinda on the pricey side). I thought I'd give the Parure de Lumiere a go for everyday wear and I have to say I'm loving this too. The shade I'm using is #3 (beige natural ) and of all the foundations I've used over the years from different brands, this shade in the Guerlain range is the most perfect match for my skin tone. The consistency is not as heavy as the Gold, giving more of a light to medium finish (although you could layer it to give it a heavier finish). I don't usually bother with a primer and with both of Guerlains foundations I find it lasts beautifully all day.
Overall I'm absolutley delighted with all the products I've tried from Guerlain and would repurchase again in a heartbeat! (I'll just have to take out a mortgage first is all!).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* azmuslima on 3/7/2014 11:05:00 AM more reviews by azmuslima

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I am trying to figure out how this works for anyone! Am looking for a new foundation...have used recently Dior Forever, Chanel Lift Lumiere, Estee Lauder DW, Lancome 24h Teint Idole, Hourglass Oil Free Veil, etc. and am still looking for a perfect foundation that goes on smoothly, is not too oily or drying, lasts all day and doesn't settle in creases. I had read great reviews on this foundation and wanted to try it. I got a generous sample from the MA at Dillards to try out. Day 1: Applied it over my normal primer, went on thick and cakey and was extremely difficult to blend out with a brush or Beauty Blender sponge. Super Hard to work with!!! Set with finishing powder. An hour after it was applied it was creasing and caking around my mouth area. The coverage is definitely FULL THICK and HEAVY. My face felt like i was wearing a mask. Even with the full coverage it wore off quickly and after a couple hours was gone from my t zone...it just slipped away. Day 2: I thought i would try it without the primer since truly any good foundation should be great without primer. Same story as Day 1...ugh - Very frustrated as i had high hopes for this foundation after reading the reviews. Just didn't work for me at all....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ntopher on 2/26/2014 8:38:00 PM more reviews by ntopher

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I got a sample of this from sephora and absolutely fell in love! I had to order it right away. the tone matches my skin so wonderfully which can be a challenge because I have fair skin with lots of freckles. I like how light weigh it feels when I have it on, I don't like to cake on make up or have the feeling of wearing too much. It comes in a nice glass bottle and smells amazing. the only problem I have it that it is a tad bit pricey. Luckily if you just use a little at a time then it should last a while. I am very happy with this discovery.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ham409 on 1/23/2014 2:15:00 PM more reviews by ham409

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a wonderful foundation. I have used 2 bottles of the Guerlain Parure Aqua foundation and then discovered that was discontinued. So I tried to find another foundation since Guerlain seems to work very nicely with my skin. I bought the Parure de Lumiere from Bloomingdales. It's a gorgeous bottle - clear, glass, & kinda heavy, but I love the way it looks. What I love about it is how it applies - it feels cool and goes on with a watery feel but it's not a liquid consistency. I like the scent as well. I wear it for the whole day and depending on what I apply under it, I can get slightly oily or very oily. If I apply a normal, light moisturizer, I get slightly oily. Under sunscreen, I get very oily. Honestly, I am okay with that because I will blot with a light touch of tissue paper throughout the day either way. This foundation makes my skin look healthy and dewy (after I blot out the oily shine). It's winter right now where I live (meaning snow, wind, all sorts of cold), but when I wear this foundation (with the right skincare), I feel like my skin is very healthy and vibrant.

Would I repurchase? - Yes. However, comparatively speaking, I still like the Parure Aqua better. I would most likely repurchase this foundation for the winter only. In the summer time, I would try one of the other lines in Guerlain - but it's just because my skin is naturally on the oily side.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zeynepd on 12/6/2013 3:39:00 PM more reviews by zeynepd

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this in 02 Beige Clair when the store did not have my staple Parure Gold 02. I think they are supposed to be the same colour but I feel that Lumiere is slightly lighter. It has a thinner, softer feeling that feels very comfortable on the face and has medium but buildable cover. It gives my skin 37 year old, dehydrated smokers skin a lovely, healthy dewy look and it does wonders with a damp sponge. It also manages to cover my not so slight redness like nobodys business. However, I do have a complaint of Lumiere and it is big enough to lead me to go back to the thicker and drier Parure Gold. Whenever I use Lumiere, with whatever under my skin such as primer, any base, moisturizer or nothing, my face turns into an oil slick in the afternoon and I have to blot twice or even three times on a long day. And I even do not have oily skin! If I did not have this problem, Lumiere would be HG for me but I prefer mixing Parure Gold with my HG Kanebo Sensai Cellular Performance Brightening Make-up Base to get a glow without the oily shine. 3.5

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 igotalittledevil on 11/26/2013 4:09:00 PM more reviews by igotalittledevil

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

this is the MOST Perfect foundation I have ever own. Yes, it is very pricey, but totally worth it! half pump with my Real techniques flat brush is no problem to cover my whole face.the finish is not matt, more shimmer, but not the cheap disco shine, very elegant and natural,also lasting all day without any touch up. I set the foundation with my Guerlain pearl powder, which also shimmer, but both in natural finish way,like natural flawless skin. it is pricey, so does the pearl powder, but I will definitely re -purchase this foundation!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Guerlain products

More Liquid products