E.L.F. • Essential Lip Stain • Lip Gloss

rated 2.8(10 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.20%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* larosedechanel on 6/1/2014 9:11:00 AM more reviews by larosedechanel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not sure what I was expecting from e.l.f. Essential Lip Stain, but I'm not impressed with it. This dried out my lips & I found out the hard way that the felt tip will dry out too if you don't use it practically every day. I'm sure I didn't get ten uses out of this before it dried out on me. I don't want to wet it, so what I'm going to try to do is store them upside down & see if the fluid moving up does anything; I'll update this & let you all know if it works.

It's all right, but I'm not a big fan of how this applies, either. It doesn't apply consistently. It does streak & it does smudge. The splotchy look isn't cute. Anyway, the colour (I have Hot Tamale & Pink Petal – red & a rosy pink) is pigmented… the first one or two wears. After that, I noticed less colour each time I put it on. Everyone is saying it's "only $2," but save your $2 because this lip stain marker isn't worth it. I dislike leaving a bad review because I'm actually a big fan of e.l.f. Makeup & Cosmetics, but this was not what I expected & it needs improvement. These are cheap, & not in a good way.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jarona on 3/6/2014 7:53:00 PM more reviews by jarona

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

While grocery shopping at Wegmen's I saw that E.L.F. cosmetics are now sold there. For the price I figured I would try the lip stain. I purchased the pink petal as I don't like any color that is too dark. My lips are very naturally pigmented and I tend to go with light pinks and nudes. It was daunting that I couldn't sample first but for what??? two/three dollars what the heck.
Next morning I put the stain on. It was soooooo much darker on me than what the color of the tube was. However, with a little magic of a nude colored gloss on top, it looked decent.
The "stain" lasted about a half hour. Some stain. The felt-tip applicator was dried out within three days. Now it is in the garbage. A waste. I would not repurchase nor would I tell anyone to make the purchase. I'll stick to my Lancôme glosses.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gazelma on 2/26/2014 11:38:00 PM more reviews by gazelma

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was excited to try this product and it worked well the first two uses. Then it dried out. Mind you, I keep the cap on at all times and my house is not dry at all. I'm disappointed but then again it's not very expensive either, although I'd think you would get more uses than just two.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 DrGMart on 2/24/2014 8:18:00 PM more reviews by DrGMart

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I got this in Pink Petal for two bucks, and even though it was cheap I wouldn't get it again. This was so light, either because the color wasn't very pigmented as a light colored marker stain, or because it didn't actually do anything...anywho, this went in the bin and I won't repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Iblamethejay on 2/13/2014 12:24:00 AM more reviews by Iblamethejay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love this stain...lasts all day and can be paired with a balm or gloss without sacrificing the boldness of the color. Love it! Will be purchasing again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 1/2/2014 2:44:00 AM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this in two shades, one of them is Nude nectar. It's a pretty shade and looks nice on its own, but paired with gloss I think it looks nicer. the problem I have with this lip stain is how drying it is. My lips were chapped after. The stain lasted a long time, but wow, I paid for it. I didn't have this issue with Revlon's stains or Urban Decay's.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Savfairy on 11/29/2013 11:29:00 PM more reviews by Savfairy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have this in pink petal. Great price but bleh. Barely any color deposit and it comes off very easily. The lip stains by NYC are only a few dollars more and work so much better than this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MrMontyBurns on 10/28/2013 2:21:00 PM more reviews by MrMontyBurns

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I have this in Berry Blush, which, true to its name, is a cool-toned berry. I like that the color is somewhat buildable, and on me, it lasts a good 3-4 hours. Moisturized lips prior to application is a *must*, as this definitely highlights any flakiness.

For the price and lasting power, I really like this, and plan to try others in the line.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aharb013 on 10/4/2013 12:07:00 PM more reviews by aharb013

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love marker-style lip stains. I like the ones from NYC the best, and the Covergirl and Maybelline ones are good too.

These lip stain markers are similar in a lot of ways. They aren't moisturizing since they are just a liquid that imparts colour but no moisture to the lips (as with all lip stain markers); this is fine since you can top them with whatever gloss, lipstick, or balm you like.

The colour payoff is decent and the tip is pretty standard. The application is similar to any lip stain marker.

BUT! These wear terribly! They are not water resistant at all. So they come off into your mouth as a result of coming into contact with saliva. The wear off (even with balm on top) within minutes, and the colour goes into you mouth! Red spit!

Terrible formula; not recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nirvarna0 on 3/15/2013 3:17:00 PM more reviews by Nirvarna0

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm going to tell you a secret. E.L.F. Lip Stain in Nude Nectar, lip balm, and then Revlon Lip Butter in Candy Apple. Perfect coral-ish color that goes so awesome with my NW20, dark hair and eyes.Sometimes all I wear is this and foundation. The stain lasts for a long time and is better than Maybelline's or Revlon's.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More E.L.F. products

More Lip Gloss products