Paula's Choice RESIST Ultra-Light Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum

4.1

61 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane (silicone slip agent), Butylene Glycol (slip/water-binding agent), Glycerin (skin-repairing ingredient), Dimethicone (silicone slip agent), Polysorbate 20 (emulsifier), Polysilicone-11 (film-forming agent), Lauryl PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone (silicone polymer), Hyaluronic Acid (skin-repairing ingredient), Resveratrol (antioxidant), Niacinamide (cell-communicating ingredient), Quercetin (antioxidant), Adenosine (cell-communicating ingredient), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (vitamin C/antioxidant), Tocopherol (vitamin E/antioxidant), Phospholipids (skin-repairing ingredient), Ubiquinone, Epigallocatechin Gallate (antioxidants), Sea Whip Extract, Bisabolol, Beta Glucan (anti-irritants), Phytic Acid (chelating agent), Xanthan Gum (thickener), Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer (film-forming agent), Sodium Hydroxide (stabilizer), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative), Ethylhexylglycerin (skin-conditioning agent)


on 8/27/2015 4:57:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Black

I have repurchased this item 4 times. My skin loves it. It's wonderful at night (I never wake up to any major eruptions with this) and it's great for hydration under makeup (my skin doesn't do well with traditional moisturizer under makeup during the day, and I've tried everything). It doesn't compete with primer, or foundation when I skip primers... It kind of acts as a primer and moisturizer when skipping steps in the AM and hydrates well solo at night.

It really fades dark spots well, and fairly quickly (hyperpigmentation). It evens out skin tone, and gets rid of dry, scaly patches that makeup tend to point out and stick to (I have oily, yet combination with surface dehydration, acne prone skin--I know! Lucky me...).

It's expensive, but it's frequently on 20% off sale with free shipping and I find each tube lasts me a few months. For the price, I'd appreciate sturdier packaging with a pump. But overall, I always come back to this when I stray, and my skin always thanks me for it! This is really good stuff! Her other serums are just too heavy for me. This one is good for acne, hyperpigmentation, and fine lines and can be used as an eye cream (whole face). HG!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 8/21/2015 8:42:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Another fantastic product from Paula's Choice.

This serum is everything I ever wanted. I have really oily skin and do not use moisturizers (they just add to my shine and leave small whiteheads behind). This feels like water, but it's magic.

If I put it on right after washing, my face feels NORMAL. Not greasy,not dry, not tight. Nothing. Like perfect skin. Obviously my oil production kicks in and eventually shine returns, but this product is great. I get anti aging ingredients and whenever my skin feels a bit tight or too exfoliated, I just apply it right before my acne treatments.

I highly recommend this serum to anyone who wants to remedy dry patches or tightness in otherwise oily skin. The price is moderately high, but it lasts a long time.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 7/19/2015 12:06:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I just finished one tube of this serum and purchased another. Very happy with it. It is the first layer I apply after washing my face in the morning. My mineral makeup layers well over it, whether my skin is drier in the winter or a bit prone to oiliness in the summer.

I chose this serum because of its Vitamin C content. It has delivered the promised results by helping to fade some hyper-pigmented areas of my face where I had acne spots. The packaging works well because it protects the product from light and from oxygen.

Unlike some of the reviewers, I've not experienced yellowing of my skin since using this serum. No other negative effects either. I was most concerned about the silicon content possibly causing acne, but that has not been a problem. It probably helps that the serum is water-based rather than oil-based.

It's not cheap, but you get what you pay for. An effective, high-quality product.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/13/2015 4:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I got this serum as a sample. I have been using this for 3 days now because there is a lot in a sample and I only use it at night. This serum is lighter than other serums that I have tried, but still leave my face feeling slightly greasy. And this serum didn't really do anything to my face, I feel nothing special after I used it. Glad I got it as a sample but didn't purchase the full size one.


on 7/2/2015 2:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I like this serum. It feels nice and my skin looks good after I use it and a little goes a long way. I love that Paula's products are fragrance and dye-free. I'm only 29 so I can't really speak to the anti-aging benefits quite yet, but this does not break me out or make my combo skin any oilier and any fine lines I do have look plumped after use. I use this at night before I apply Paula's moisturizing gel. I have not noticed any yellowing on my skin. My only complaint is the packaging. The tube is nice looking, but the product is very liquidy, so if I store the tube laying down, the product runs to the top and explodes out a little when I remove the cap to use it, waisting a bit of product each time. I have to store it balancing it upright which is annoying. I also find if I'm applying it and I set it down on the counter for a sec, product will leak out of the tip. This stuff isn't exactly cheap so the waste drives me nuts.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/29/2015 6:02:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

The first few times I used this serum, I was extremely impressed. Waking up in the morning, my skin felt incredibly smooth and soft. It seemed to be helping my pores look smaller, as well.

Now that I've been using it for about a month, the benefits seem to have tapered off a bit. At first I thought "Wow, if it works this well after a week, imagine how great my skin will look in a month!" but the change hasn't been that dramatic. I do feel that it has had a lasting positive effect on the appearance of my pores, but the ultra-smooth "baby skin" feeling that I initially got from this product has gone away. I don't feel like it has done anything to even out my skin tone or reduce redness.

Overall, I do like this serum, and so far it doesn't break me out. But I was hoping for more of a noticeable change. I'll continue to use it, and update my review accordingly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/19/2015 3:17:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Turned my face yellow around the edges for whatever reason. Used it under moisturizer with spf (cant remember what one this was 2 years ago) and light makeup...neither the moisturizer nor the makeup caused "yellowing" on its own so I narrowed it down to this. Other than that it felt sticky. Whether it did or would improve skin or not I don't know couldn't wear it long enough to find out. Caused me to sweat more than normal. Just overall no thanks-but it didn't irritate me or break me out

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/19/2015 3:09:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

gave me lines under my eyes but to be fair everything with high silicones concentration does that.
i was to scared to use on face because of the silicones that give me acne


on 5/22/2015 9:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Unfortunately this product breaks me out when applied to the majority of my face - painful cystic acne. However, I noticed in the areas that did not break out, it really worked. My skin looked hydrated and youthful. Not worth the struggle through painful acne unfortunately. I wouldn't recommend this product to those with sensitive skin.

I now use it as an eye cream day and night. It plumps my fine lines better than any actual eye cream i've used. Not a total loss! Hooray! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/1/2015 10:17:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

So far this is working fine for me. It absorbs quickly and together with the other resist products I'm using, I see a real difference in my skin. Not sure what exactly it's doing but am sure that it is not doing any harm which is super important to me since I have super sensitive skin with rosacea. I like it way better that the other serum in the resist line which I thought was sticky. This feels like nothing. I've only been using for a week so cannot determine its longterm benefits.Ingredients are topnotch for the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Lemon Juice
Lemon Juice
399 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
4% Hydroquinone
15 Reviews
Back to Top