Paula's Choice RESIST Ultra-Light Super Antioxidant Concentrate Serum


65 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals


Water, Cyclopentasiloxane (silicone slip agent), Butylene Glycol (slip/water-binding agent), Glycerin (skin-repairing ingredient), Dimethicone (silicone slip agent), Polysorbate 20 (emulsifier), Polysilicone-11 (film-forming agent), Lauryl PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone (silicone polymer), Hyaluronic Acid (skin-repairing ingredient), Resveratrol (antioxidant), Niacinamide (cell-communicating ingredient), Quercetin (antioxidant), Adenosine (cell-communicating ingredient), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (vitamin C/antioxidant), Tocopherol (vitamin E/antioxidant), Phospholipids (skin-repairing ingredient), Ubiquinone, Epigallocatechin Gallate (antioxidants), Sea Whip Extract, Bisabolol, Beta Glucan (anti-irritants), Phytic Acid (chelating agent), Xanthan Gum (thickener), Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer (film-forming agent), Sodium Hydroxide (stabilizer), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative), Ethylhexylglycerin (skin-conditioning agent)

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Serums are a tricky thing, and boy do the companies market them cleverly. They're expensive as all hell, and we're often told we shouldn't expect amazing, immediate results with them. We need to stick with one for the long term and, so we're told, our skin will thank us for it as we age. We're supposed to just trust the companies when they say this, even as they price serums higher than any other skincare product. Even Paula Begoun is guilty of this, and honesty and transparency is the main thrust of her brand.

Well, ladies and gentlemen, I have an immediately apparent result to report with this serum, and it's a doozy. Since incorporating this into my skin care regime, I no longer experience breakouts. At all. I'm not kidding. The only times I've gotten a pimple since using this have been when I haven't washed my face or followed my skin care routine for a couple days. Even then, it's just one pimple. It's interesting because this serum isn't necessarily marketed as an acne-fighting product, but it's kicked my acne's butt six ways to Sunday. I started using a BHA exfoliant a long time ago (PC RESIST Weightless Body Treatment 2% BHA), and that dramatically improved my skin and reduced acne. Then I started using PC Clear benzoyl peroxide treatment and that helped a bit more. But nothing actually prevented breakouts quite like this serum. I started using this while changing nothing else about my routine, and suddenly I have no more pimples. And it seems to have faded the marks from old pimples very quickly. Also of note: it applies easily around the eyes with no irritation.

Having no pimples certainly seems like this product is worth the price, but I've also tried to use it in such a way that it will save me money in the long term. For instance, I don't think I need toner so much anymore with what this serum does for my skin, so now I only apply toner on nights when I'm removing makeup. I've also relegated my benzoyl peroxide cream to nighttime only instead of twice daily. I am even playing with the idea of trying to phase that out completely to see if I really need it anymore. Finally, at nighttime I just mix a drop of this serum in with my night cream (CeraVae lotion) to give it more mileage. In the morning I apply the serum undiluted as the last step before my SPF day cream (currently RESIST Super-Light SPF 30). I started diluting it at night when I was already partway through my first tube, and my first tube lasted me almost four months this way. So if I can make the tube of serum last five months or more, and cut down on the amount of toner and acne cream I buy, I think I could actually save money using this. And of course Paula has frequent sales, so I never need to pay full price.

The texture of the product is water-light and absorbs instantly. It cannot be felt on the skin post-application. It is marketed to oilier skin types but I myself am not oily. I recommend a quick application because it absorbs so fast.

So there is my testimony for this product and my tips for using it. YMMV, but with all there is to gain I think this serum is worth a try. I've just started my second tube now.

on 10/5/2015 12:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Excellent product!
Feel free to use my referral link if you are unsure of whether or not you would like this. It will automatically give you 10$ off (plus google coupon codes and you can easily find a 10% or 20% off too)!

on 10/1/2015 1:57:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Every time I discover something that's effective but pricey, I try to find a cheaper alternative. Sometimes the gamble pays off, but this time I tried a bunch of less expensive serums and this one still wins. I don't know exactly why but this just calms my combo, acne-prone, 36-year old skin. Acne marks seem to fade/heal faster and makeup goes on more smoothly.

I apply a larger amount at night before bed, and if my skin feels dry, a bit in the morning under foundation. And with promo codes for the Paula's Choice website, the price goes down a bit. I'll keep repurchasing. I also think it smells nice though I'm not sure what I think it smells like - nothing I can put my finger on.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

on 9/30/2015 2:13:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

1st pc product i've tried that broke me out. got 3 samples w/ my last order so i could give it a good trial run & used it twice before it triggered the biggest breakout i've had in months, big painful spots all over my face. i liked the light texture but proceed w/ caution if you have sensitive acne-prone skin. glad i sampled it before buying but i'll stick w/ my andalou vit c serum.

on 8/27/2015 4:57:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Black

I have repurchased this item 4 times. My skin loves it. It's wonderful at night (I never wake up to any major eruptions with this) and it's great for hydration under makeup (my skin doesn't do well with traditional moisturizer under makeup during the day, and I've tried everything). It doesn't compete with primer, or foundation when I skip primers... It kind of acts as a primer and moisturizer when skipping steps in the AM and hydrates well solo at night.

It really fades dark spots well, and fairly quickly (hyperpigmentation). It evens out skin tone, and gets rid of dry, scaly patches that makeup tend to point out and stick to (I have oily, yet combination with surface dehydration, acne prone skin--I know! Lucky me...).

It's expensive, but it's frequently on 20% off sale with free shipping and I find each tube lasts me a few months. For the price, I'd appreciate sturdier packaging with a pump. But overall, I always come back to this when I stray, and my skin always thanks me for it! This is really good stuff! Her other serums are just too heavy for me. This one is good for acne, hyperpigmentation, and fine lines and can be used as an eye cream (whole face). HG!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 8/21/2015 8:42:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Another fantastic product from Paula's Choice.

This serum is everything I ever wanted. I have really oily skin and do not use moisturizers (they just add to my shine and leave small whiteheads behind). This feels like water, but it's magic.

If I put it on right after washing, my face feels NORMAL. Not greasy,not dry, not tight. Nothing. Like perfect skin. Obviously my oil production kicks in and eventually shine returns, but this product is great. I get anti aging ingredients and whenever my skin feels a bit tight or too exfoliated, I just apply it right before my acne treatments.

I highly recommend this serum to anyone who wants to remedy dry patches or tightness in otherwise oily skin. The price is moderately high, but it lasts a long time.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

on 7/19/2015 12:06:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I just finished one tube of this serum and purchased another. Very happy with it. It is the first layer I apply after washing my face in the morning. My mineral makeup layers well over it, whether my skin is drier in the winter or a bit prone to oiliness in the summer.

I chose this serum because of its Vitamin C content. It has delivered the promised results by helping to fade some hyper-pigmented areas of my face where I had acne spots. The packaging works well because it protects the product from light and from oxygen.

Unlike some of the reviewers, I've not experienced yellowing of my skin since using this serum. No other negative effects either. I was most concerned about the silicon content possibly causing acne, but that has not been a problem. It probably helps that the serum is water-based rather than oil-based.

It's not cheap, but you get what you pay for. An effective, high-quality product.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

on 7/13/2015 4:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I got this serum as a sample. I have been using this for 3 days now because there is a lot in a sample and I only use it at night. This serum is lighter than other serums that I have tried, but still leave my face feeling slightly greasy. And this serum didn't really do anything to my face, I feel nothing special after I used it. Glad I got it as a sample but didn't purchase the full size one.

on 7/2/2015 2:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I like this serum. It feels nice and my skin looks good after I use it and a little goes a long way. I love that Paula's products are fragrance and dye-free. I'm only 29 so I can't really speak to the anti-aging benefits quite yet, but this does not break me out or make my combo skin any oilier and any fine lines I do have look plumped after use. I use this at night before I apply Paula's moisturizing gel. I have not noticed any yellowing on my skin. My only complaint is the packaging. The tube is nice looking, but the product is very liquidy, so if I store the tube laying down, the product runs to the top and explodes out a little when I remove the cap to use it, waisting a bit of product each time. I have to store it balancing it upright which is annoying. I also find if I'm applying it and I set it down on the counter for a sec, product will leak out of the tip. This stuff isn't exactly cheap so the waste drives me nuts.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 6/29/2015 6:02:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

The first few times I used this serum, I was extremely impressed. Waking up in the morning, my skin felt incredibly smooth and soft. It seemed to be helping my pores look smaller, as well.

Now that I've been using it for about a month, the benefits seem to have tapered off a bit. At first I thought "Wow, if it works this well after a week, imagine how great my skin will look in a month!" but the change hasn't been that dramatic. I do feel that it has had a lasting positive effect on the appearance of my pores, but the ultra-smooth "baby skin" feeling that I initially got from this product has gone away. I don't feel like it has done anything to even out my skin tone or reduce redness.

Overall, I do like this serum, and so far it doesn't break me out. But I was hoping for more of a noticeable change. I'll continue to use it, and update my review accordingly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Popular Treatments (Face)

4% Hydroquinone
4% Hydroquinone
15 Reviews
Lemon Juice
Lemon Juice
400 Reviews
144 Reviews
Back to Top