Clinique High Impact Waterproof Mascara

3.4

17 reviews

47% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/27/2015 10:37:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I had heard great things about the regular, non-waterproof version of Clinique's High Impact Mascara & was excited to try it. I guess I should have stuck w/ the non-waterproof version because the waterproof version is honestly one of the clumpiest mascaras I've ever used.

The good: price is reasonable for HE ($16.50 USD) packaging is OK, no detectable fragrance, it's very waterproof and I found it easy to remove w/ my usual remover (jojoba or almond oil).

The bad: I think the packaging is ugly, especially for HE-it's green, chunky & medicinal looking, not sexy or sleek or anything that you'd expect for a $16 mascara and, as I mentioned earlier, this stuff clumps like crazy.

Also, others have mentioned that it's not as black as most HE mascaras but that could be a good or a bad, depending on your preference. I really didn't notice that it was less black than other HE mascaras. The clumps looked deep & dark black to me!

I may give the regular version a try but as for the WP, I'm returning it.



on 5/26/2015 10:54:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

HG!!! this lasted through sweating and sleeping without leaving any smudges!! It's truly magic! It also separates my lashes kind of like their feathering mascara, which I loved more than their regular high impact formula. But I wanted to try and find the ultimate waterproof mascara, and their feathering formula doesn't come in waterproof. So glad I got this one!!! Please make forever, Clinique!!!! If you're like me and one day drugstore mascara just starting giving raccoon eyes (even waterproof ones) get this!!! Almost same price, unlike other overpriced higher end mascaras! Other ones I hated were they're real by benefit and bad gal. It also stands out from my makeup bc it's not
black like most mascaras. The tube is a pretty light green. Ok I'll be quiet now.


on 3/19/2015 6:06:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I hate wearing mascara full stop and I never ever wear it on a day to day basis but sometimes I need to use and when I do I usually borrow my mums version of this! For the few hours I wear it it stays very well and does a nice job


on 2/1/2015 11:08:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Generally when it comes to makeup, I try to find the best in products since I hate having to go back to stores and make returns, but this is bad. I don't notice much of a difference in my lashes and it flakes all day every day. I think this is unique to the waterproof formula, because I've heard lots of people rave about their mascaras that aren't waterproof. Clinique prices aren't bad, and this was only $16.50, but it's definitely going back.


on 1/20/2015 2:45:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I LOVE IT. I don't know why but I can't seem to like any other mascara. The problem with my lashes is that they are short and thick so they naturally don't curl. I always use an eye lash curler then apply the mascara and only with this mascara the curl holds. Any other formula seems to be too wet so the curls fall out until my lashes dry. I would advise this to people with the same problem. The only down side is that it isn't as dark as other mascaras so it looks too light when wearing heavy make up. But I mean, what are fake lashes for...


on 12/20/2014 4:51:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I absolutely amazed with this product. Before I use M*c mascara the blue packaging one. and I love it. but its not waterproof. This Clinique, it is waterproof, smudge proof, storm proof. i can say that. Even after a long day at uni and then I shower, and I touch my face including the eyelashes when showering, it still stays and no fall out, or anything. I love this, because I live in hot country, sweaty, and I love every product that stays longer on my face. It makes my lashes longer, thicker, and curve. I don't know how to say with this mascara. I don't need to curl my lashes, coz the mascara will do it. if i want my lashes a little bit more curl, after I put this mascara, I touch the tip of my lashes, and its even more curve.


on 5/24/2014 5:34:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I *really* like this mascara! I have a major problem with most mascaras. They always end up under my eyes or on my cheeks in some way - flakes, chunks, smudges. Then, there's my preference of what I want my lashes to look like - flowy line, smooth, glossy, soft, defined, as natural as possible…I loathe the thick hairy spider-leg, chunky, and uneven look (with two or three random lashes sticking out like spider legs - 'k I guess I don't like spider's legs - sorry spiders.). I haven't liked many waterproof mascaras either, so I was really weary to try this one. I was going on a tropical vacay and was looking for a great performing mascara. I took the bait based on the consultants recommendation and I was extremely pleased with the way High Impact performed. Even in the heat, humidity, swimming, etc. it never ended up under my eyes, and never clumped or dried up, plus it gave me the lash look that I love. It lasted, natural and fresh looking, all day and night. Very happy. It takes a wee bit extra effort to get it off because it's waterproof, but it's not impossible or stubborn at all and no traces are left lingering (I use either DCH Cleansing Oil or Clinique's Take Off The Day - the cream style). I also got the Instant Brow lift and my brows stayed on and looked natural the whole time too! Way to go Clinique! I now have two mascaras I can count on (the other is Aloette's mascara).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/8/2014 11:42:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Pretty good mascara, clumps a little. But it does help my thin, sparse lashes stand out


on 5/1/2014 9:48:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Meh. Decent but nothing special. And almost impossible to get off. I realize it's water-proof but I don't need it to be cleanser-proof too.
No smudging or flaking, which is nice. Provides okay length and volume but it doesn't provide definition- it tends to make my lashes stick together a little bit.
In short, I didn't love it and I wouldn't buy it again.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Other

This is a good basic WP mascara, but it doesn't build up or add volume. If you're just looking for some extra color, this would be great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top