Clinique • High Impact Waterproof Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.2(11 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jaynne on 5/24/2014 5:34:00 PM more reviews by Jaynne

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I *really* like this mascara! I have a major problem with most mascaras. They always end up under my eyes or on my cheeks in some way - flakes, chunks, smudges. Then, there's my preference of what I want my lashes to look like - flowy line, smooth, glossy, soft, defined, as natural as possible…I loathe the thick hairy spider-leg, chunky, and uneven look (with two or three random lashes sticking out like spider legs - 'k I guess I don't like spider's legs - sorry spiders.). I haven't liked many waterproof mascaras either, so I was really weary to try this one. I was going on a tropical vacay and was looking for a great performing mascara. I took the bait based on the consultants recommendation and I was extremely pleased with the way High Impact performed. Even in the heat, humidity, swimming, etc. it never ended up under my eyes, and never clumped or dried up, plus it gave me the lash look that I love. It lasted, natural and fresh looking, all day and night. Very happy. It takes a wee bit extra effort to get it off because it's waterproof, but it's not impossible or stubborn at all and no traces are left lingering (I use either DCH Cleansing Oil or Clinique's Take Off The Day - the cream style). I also got the Instant Brow lift and my brows stayed on and looked natural the whole time too! Way to go Clinique! I now have two mascaras I can count on (the other is Aloette's mascara).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ellen1159 on 5/8/2014 11:42:00 AM more reviews by ellen1159

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Pretty good mascara, clumps a little. But it does help my thin, sparse lashes stand out

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sprite26 on 5/1/2014 9:48:00 PM more reviews by sprite26

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Meh. Decent but nothing special. And almost impossible to get off. I realize it's water-proof but I don't need it to be cleanser-proof too.
No smudging or flaking, which is nice. Provides okay length and volume but it doesn't provide definition- it tends to make my lashes stick together a little bit.
In short, I didn't love it and I wouldn't buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 BlueberryPancakes on 4/15/2014 11:18:00 AM more reviews by BlueberryPancakes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Other    

This is a good basic WP mascara, but it doesn't build up or add volume. If you're just looking for some extra color, this would be great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ChichiV on 2/10/2014 6:05:00 AM more reviews by ChichiV

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I needed a new waterproof mascara so i gave this a try because the original High Impact is amazing!
It's terrible,it clumps up my lashes and does not give length or volume.
And the tube gets really messy if you close it.

Only good thing is that it is indeed waterproof...but what's the point if it makes my lashes look like poo...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Beestreet on 1/30/2014 11:42:00 PM more reviews by Beestreet

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

The most annoying mascara I ever bought...almost tempted to discard but the Aus price of about $34 - yes, I know, daft - stops me. Clumps like no other I ever used.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 GertGrace on 9/16/2013 8:24:00 AM more reviews by GertGrace

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I received this in a GWP and I've used it (stupidly) twice, hoping each time for a different result. It kills my curl to the extent that my lashes look bent and spidery. It does stay on forever, unfortunately.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 6Lil7 on 9/9/2013 11:42:00 AM more reviews by 6Lil7

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm writing this review after trying my millionth waterproof mascara, the last one from Tarte. Tarte is sold at Sephora's and was recommended to me by two "beauty consultants". Well, it can't hold a candle to that of Clinique's waterproof high impact mascara! You'd think I'd get the hint and stop looking. I keep thinking I'll find the "perfect" mascara. Well,there is no Perfect masca. But Clinique's is the best one for me. I do have sensitive eyes and have short thin lashes. This mascara does not smudge or flake. I don't swim with mascara on so I can't tell you if it would stay submerged in water, but for everyday use it works nicely. I put on several coats because I feel I need more to make dramatic lashes. I use Clinique Bottom Lash to put on the tips of upper lashes to lenghen them. That's why I gave the High Impact one 4 out of 5. The only reason I looked for another mascara is I spent $26 on two mascaras and I thought I could find everything I want in one. So far, I haven't. So, hopefully I've learned my lesson and am sticking to Clinique. It does thicken and even curls which I didn't expect. Added bonus. Hope this review helps others who look for the "Holy Grail" of mascaras. If you like the item, stick to it unless the product is changed or discontinued, of course.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sjess on 9/5/2013 7:38:00 AM more reviews by Sjess

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Oh, yessssss, finally!!! A waterproof mascara that does exactly the same as it's non-waterproof version. I absolutely love High Impact and was very eager to try this one out and boy, it doesn't disappoint! As mentioned earlier, it does exactly what the normal version does while being very waterproof. I exercise a lot (running, aerobics and cycling) and I need a mascara which I can just put on in the morning without having to worry about it for the rest of my (often long) days. Volume-wise it's not THE best one around (that's still Le Volume by Chanel and Givenchy's Couture Noir) but this is an easy to layer mascara which is a good deep black, it gives separation, length (after 1 layer) and volume (after 2 layers). I declare this the HG waterproof mascara! Well, at least for now ;)

EDIT; Sorry Clinique, Chanel Le Volume wp is out now and it's way better!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jealouspony on 7/7/2013 12:45:00 PM more reviews by jealouspony

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I don''t have much experience with waterproof mascaras (I usually buy the regular ones), but I decided to try this for my summer vacation and it did not diappoint. It held up during entire days of sunbathing, swimming in the ocean and the pool and going out at night. It didn't flake or smudge at all - just all around perfect!

I have naturally thick and quite long lashes, so I really only look for colour and a bit of volume and I honestly think this one did its' job. I don't usually curl my lashes either, so I don't know how it would hold one up.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Mascara products