NYX HD Studio Finishing Powder

4.3

76 reviews

88% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Silica, Propylparaben, Methylparaben


on 5/22/2015 2:08:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this powder! I have very oily skin and I get too shiny immediately that's why I don't wear foundation very often. This powder does a very good job.The first time I tested it, I wore foundation and put a very little of this powder to set my makeup. After a few hours I was surprised that I don't look oily at all. It just gave me a kind of dewy effect on my face. Many are complaining that the powder can make you look so white in pictures. I think the trick is just to put a very little amount using a big powder brush and blend. And one must remember that in applying it or makeup in general, make sure you are in a well lighted area or room. A very little amount of this product goes a long way. Overall, I love it. It's highly recommended for people with very oily skin like me and also, it's quite cheap and a good quality product.



on 5/10/2015 9:40:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is my HG setting powder. It's an exact dupe for all of the HE HD setting powders.. At half the cost. I love this stuff and will only use this because it sets my makeup so well and gives it a very dry and matte feeling. As the day goes on, my skin gets a little bit oily but not so much that it's greasy, but enough to look a little glowy if that makes sense. I just hate the packaging. When I first got this and travelled with it, white powder went everywhere. But to prevent this, I now put regular scotch tape over all the holes but 2 or 3. That way I can get a good amount of powder without having excess spill out :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/15/2015 8:53:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This stuff works well for me, but doesn't set my MU to last as long as UD All Nighter, but then, they are different products w/ similar goals. This stuff will give me a nice glow and set my MU for about 5 hours, after which I need to a minor touch up on my chin + nose. UD sets my MU for 12+ hours. But it doesn't give my a glow.


So, the type of day I'm going to have dictates which I use and I"m happy to have both in my rotation.


I"m test driving the NARS Light Reflecting Setting Powder, so we will see if I stick w/ NYX or end up loving the NARS so much, that I'm willing to spend a ridiculous amount of $.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/14/2015 9:26:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I would honestly give this no stars if I could but there is no option for that. I wanted to try a more natural look with a transparent powder, since my skin is nice enough to handle less coverage now. Well I decided to give this a shot only to have a make up nightmare occur. I get to work and notice makeup specs all over my black sweater and black pants. I look at my face and have crusted powder all over my face. It looked so disturbing. I had to go to the bathroom and wipe my face with baby wipes I always keep in my car. Luckily my concealer saved the day top even my skin out. Never again.


on 4/14/2015 5:17:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This product is AMAZING! It's better than the MUFE one in my opinion.
I feel this one feels more silky and the price is a lot more affordable.
I've seen some reviews about how it's an HD powder and how it's horrible for photos, well that's true. Most HD powders have very reflective silica. HD makeup is meant for film and professional HD shoots that use the bounce flash photography not your conventional, harsh compact camera or camera phone flash
Anyway, this powder is so silky and makes my face baby soft!
I'm oily and I use powders a lot and I usually have a powdery feeling but with this it just feels so nice.
I'm semi matte with this which is great, my makeup is set but my face doesn't look powdery or dull

Use it as a setting powder or use it how it's meant to be used as, a finishing powder.
I like it as a setting powder but the flashback makes it obnoxious and so I've even preferring it as a finishing powder.
Only get what's on the lid.
Using a black buffing brush, you shouldn't see or smell the powder and just apply it after everything and it give that soft focus, nice smooth skin look and no flashback :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/18/2015 1:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is fantastic. The oil will disappear from your face.


on 2/8/2015 3:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I decided to give this a shot before purchasing another NARS powder, because that stuff is so expensive. I'm so glad I did! Im pretty heavy handed when I apply powders, because I subscribe to the fallacious idea that "more is better!" So I was pleasantly surprised to discover you need hardly ANY in order to set your whole face with this. This is so finely milled, and not at all heavy. You can set everything without looking cakey whatsoever. I just tap my powder brush, after sweeping a tiny bit in the pan and cover everything in seconds. Amazing, love it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/28/2015 3:33:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this because to set my under eye area by using a fan brush to delicately apply it. A little goes a long way for this product so be careful. The price is decent for what you're paying for compared to MuFE's, but the packaging is definitely not travel friendly. The cap is the only thing that's preventing the entire thing from spilling out and even so the packaging is mediocre so don't carry this with you unless you don't mind a cloud of white powder exploding from your makeup bag. If you don't let the product move around much and use less product, it's actually worth the money and I would definitely repurchase.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This like other reviewers have said is a dupe for MUFE's HD powder, much like the Coastal Scents silica spheres. Good amount of product for the price. It will keep your skin matte, with minimal touch-ups. I have oily skin and this really helps keep my makeup in place. The only thing to be mindful of is it *can* leave a slight white cast. At least on me, anyway- but I tend to apply with a heavy hand. I just make sure to really buff and blend in place. The packaging is a classic sifter and can get messy, but that's par for the course with these types of powders.


on 1/6/2015 1:01:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is meant to be a dupe for Makeup Forever HD setting powder and it's and EXACT dupe. This really helps set makeup and increases the wear time. It also helps mattify and blur imperfections. You have to be careful with it though, because if you use too much, it can be drying and cling to dry patches.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Recommended for Normal Skin



Back to Top