NYX • HD Studio Finishing Powder • Loose Powders

rated 4.4(58 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.89%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 amoyer2 on 10/15/2014 8:56:00 PM more reviews by amoyer2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using MUFE HD Powder for a few years and I like this as much if not more that it. I ended up picking this up at Ulta when they were doing 40% off NYX, so I only ended up spending 6.00 on this. If you like MUFE HD Powder, give this a shot. You get more powder for way less money. LOVE!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yazmin77 on 10/7/2014 1:15:00 PM more reviews by yazmin77

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

A excellent finishing powder that provides a beautiful, smooth incredibly matte yet not flaky or dry finish, it's better then any powder I've tried! It's totally transcluent and doesent not add any additional colour or coverage, it's even great for non makeup days, the best thing is the ingredient list, powder only contains pure silica powder! ;) thank you nyx.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JerzeyBella on 10/4/2014 8:17:00 PM more reviews by JerzeyBella

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love this finishing powder!! Keeps my face matte all day long without over drying, it is my new obsession! I ran errands for hours today and when I came home my face/makeup was still the same as when I left the house! Absolutely fantastic product and great price! I will continue to purchase probably forever!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BridgetV11 on 9/20/2014 8:24:00 PM more reviews by BridgetV11

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This powder compares to high end brands in my opinion. It's super lightweight, mattifying and lasts a decent amount of time for being under $10. Un;ike other drugstore setting powders I've used, this doesn't cake or settle into ridges. I have very oily, acne-prone skin and this tames it superbly for a great price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lushlife505 on 8/27/2014 3:05:00 AM more reviews by lushlife505

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this and the ELF hd powder, They are the best setting powders I have found for my oily skin. It is really translucent and only leaves the slightest bit of a light cast if I put too much or do not blend enough but it does go away quickly and blends with the skin as it sets.
I like them both ok but think ELF lasts longer on my skin. These are the only ones I will use on my oily skin as nothing else has worked even when compared to high end brands

Update I will stick for Elf as far as this type of powder goes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 helloxkittty on 6/10/2014 1:08:00 AM more reviews by helloxkittty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This is the first loose powder I have used but I really like it compared to some of the pressed powders I've tried. Despite looking like a chalky white in the package it does go on transparent (but it is noticeable in flash photography). It leaves my skin looking smooth and controls oil for about five hours. My complaint is the packaging, it can get pretty messy as the holes dispense a lot of product at once. At $10 it's worth a try if you want a simple silica powder.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 allybromiso on 6/6/2014 11:39:00 PM more reviews by allybromiso

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I decided to buy this product because I was waiting for my Ben Nye Luxury Translucent powder to come. I have really oily skin and nothing really keeps it looking matte. So I put this on after wearing my makeup for about 3 hours, my face is oily by then, to see how it work. I'm proud to day that I LOVE it. It leaves my skin matte & soft. I even laid down on my white & purple pillow case & there was no residue of makeup left. I strongly recommend it. It's just as good as a high end product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 eatmyshort on 5/29/2014 1:08:00 AM more reviews by eatmyshort

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Violet    

I bought this product based on the great reviews. The great thing about this pure silica powder is the price. You get a whole jar for only $10. The bad is that it causes so much itching at the end of the day, I cannot wear it. It is extremely drying accentuating all the flakiness and fine lines. The white cast is hideous. It's not even a healthy white color. It's a death whitish grey color you find at the funeral homes. I simply do not understand all the great reviews. I might consider using this a s a halloween makeup if it didn't cause too much itch on my skin.

UPDATE: My face is now ruined because of some severe reaction to this product. It is totally red and inflamed. Proceed with caution if you have sensitive skin and test on small area of the body first before applying all over the face. I haven't used any new product or eaten anything different. I have to get some prescription hydrocortisone to ease the inflammation from this product.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pywacket on 5/27/2014 1:08:00 PM more reviews by pywacket

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

It's a really nice product, although I have a few caveats. Silica powders are so dry to the touch they feel odd and since they have so little moisture, they tend to fly around everywhere much more than regular loose powders. This is the micro-pulverized version of the stuff in the Do Not Eat This Packet that comes in your vitamins. That said, it doesn't feel dehydrating unless I put on too much.

Like others have said, you have to make sure you buff it off or you will have weird white powder residue in places. If you buff it, though, you get a really lovely almost airbrushed finish that lasts for hours. It has zero coverage, which I prefer, but if you're a coverage powder person, this might not be for you.

Because of the unusual texture, color doesn't like to stick to it, so if you're a blush after powder person, you'll need to change that.

Regardless of the few issues, it's a really pretty soft-focus finish that is completely invisible unless you pile it on and works really well on oilier summer-time skin. It's one of the few things that keeps me from having to blot and powder every hour. Most recently I've been using it over L'Oreal Liquid Powder foundation because I don't like a foundation-y look, but I've used it over regular liquids and it's been fine with those, as well.

It's basically the same as Too Faced Primed and Poreless Pwder and MUFE HD powder. Too Faced, which I used for years until I found NYX, has a tiny bit of color, but feels and acts exactly the same. The MUFE is identical in color and in texture to me, but I've only tried a few days worth. They're all silica powders, but the NYX is about $11.00 at CVS and $9.99 at Ulta, so not expensive. ULTA was having a BOGO50%off (or they were on Saturday), so that's helpful.


3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ofnightside on 5/25/2014 4:03:00 PM more reviews by ofnightside

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Literally the only powder I've tried that actually keeps my oily skin at bay; it feels nice and smooth on the skin, lasts forever and keeps my t-zone shine free all day. The packaging is a little bit of a hassle but nothing too bad, it's worth it for keeping me matte all day. My new favorite powder.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Loose Powders products