NYX HD Studio Finishing Powder

4.2

82 reviews

84% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Silica, Propylparaben, Methylparaben


on 7/9/2015 11:37:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have this and it is functional. I use it as my day to day setting powder when I know I am not going to be in pictures as it does flash back. I find that I have to go in with a light hand when using NYX HD. Also I flick off any excess with a small setting brush in the nose area or else it does have some slight build up but then so do the better powders. It seems to show up more when I am tan so I do think that tan/olive/dark complected girls may have some issues with it if they do not flick excess off. It is not a replacement for Nars or Mac but it does the job when I do not want to use up my better setting powders. Not everyone has the money for those amazing powders which are low on quantity and high on price. I would say I recommend this if you have a light hand and the right tools to pull this off properly.



on 7/8/2015 10:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

The NYC setting powder came highly recommended. But I got the NYX on accident. Why would two different company's have such similar names and products?! I was extremely disappointed with this product. It went on patchy, it gave my face an extreme white cast, it looked like I slapped baby powder on my face. The sides of my nose had very noticeable white patches stuck to the sides. The shimmer in it is too noticeable, the actual shimmer that you can see in the light were big specs, not tiny. I have used other powders with mica and it was not as noticeable as this product. It completely dulled my skin, and changed the color of my foundation. The consistency seemed chalky to me. And the price is ridiculous, $10 for a tiny container, while the NYC brand is way bigger and only $3? It made me question whether or not to try the NYC brand, in fear that it's similar to this product.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I jumped to buy this 100% silica powder, and it works beautifully with little product (I am combo-dry). I am also pale, but I get no photo flashback with this finishing powder (so the "HD" description fits).

It's wonderful to matte down sunscreen and/or tinted moisturizer and lasts all day for me without reapplication.

Sadly, I just noticed this is suddenly no longer on the NYX website, and they have come out with a pressed version with a totally different formulation...I hope this isn't my last jar! If so, at least it's a nice amount of product.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love silica powders. This one is nice. I think I like the ELF powder better. I tend to accidentally inhale this one a lot. But I like the packaging of this one better than ELF. If I repurchase I'll probably go with ELF as it's cheaper and I like the powder a bit better.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/1/2015 10:35:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This powder didn't work with my dry skin :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/31/2015 6:13:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I hate this powder! It's white and goes on like a ghost. It is completely unnatural, very very drying and flies all over the place because it is so fine. I would not recommend this horrible product. I threw it away before it was gone, which I never do!


on 5/22/2015 2:08:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this powder! I have very oily skin and I get too shiny immediately that's why I don't wear foundation very often. This powder does a very good job.The first time I tested it, I wore foundation and put a very little of this powder to set my makeup. After a few hours I was surprised that I don't look oily at all. It just gave me a kind of dewy effect on my face. Many are complaining that the powder can make you look so white in pictures. I think the trick is just to put a very little amount using a big powder brush and blend. And one must remember that in applying it or makeup in general, make sure you are in a well lighted area or room. A very little amount of this product goes a long way. Overall, I love it. It's highly recommended for people with very oily skin like me and also, it's quite cheap and a good quality product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/10/2015 9:40:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is my HG setting powder. It's an exact dupe for all of the HE HD setting powders.. At half the cost. I love this stuff and will only use this because it sets my makeup so well and gives it a very dry and matte feeling. As the day goes on, my skin gets a little bit oily but not so much that it's greasy, but enough to look a little glowy if that makes sense. I just hate the packaging. When I first got this and travelled with it, white powder went everywhere. But to prevent this, I now put regular scotch tape over all the holes but 2 or 3. That way I can get a good amount of powder without having excess spill out :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/15/2015 8:53:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This stuff works well for me, but doesn't set my MU to last as long as UD All Nighter, but then, they are different products w/ similar goals. This stuff will give me a nice glow and set my MU for about 5 hours, after which I need to a minor touch up on my chin + nose. UD sets my MU for 12+ hours. But it doesn't give my a glow.


So, the type of day I'm going to have dictates which I use and I"m happy to have both in my rotation.


I"m test driving the NARS Light Reflecting Setting Powder, so we will see if I stick w/ NYX or end up loving the NARS so much, that I'm willing to spend a ridiculous amount of $.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/14/2015 9:26:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I would honestly give this no stars if I could but there is no option for that. I wanted to try a more natural look with a transparent powder, since my skin is nice enough to handle less coverage now. Well I decided to give this a shot only to have a make up nightmare occur. I get to work and notice makeup specs all over my black sweater and black pants. I look at my face and have crusted powder all over my face. It looked so disturbing. I had to go to the bathroom and wipe my face with baby wipes I always keep in my car. Luckily my concealer saved the day top even my skin out. Never again.


Back to Top