Essence • Stays No Matter What 24 Hour Volume Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.3(12 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* valmont32677 on 7/28/2014 10:14:00 PM more reviews by valmont32677

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I love the Essence brand of products, this is no exception. I've never tried their mascaras b4 so this was the 1st tube I had bought. I feel compelled to mention that I don't like that their makeup isn't sealed for purity, so it makes me wonder if it's been opened or contaminated by some ignoramus (or snotty nosed unsupervised brat) randomly testing it on the back of her dirty unwashed hand (or worse!!), so that's my only real complaint. I love the formula, I only use mascara on my top lashes normally so I cannot comment on smudging on the lower lash line. This is easily removed with Ole Henriksen orange wipes or EL eye makeup remover (dark blue bottle, mine was in an Xmas PWP), I wish the brush was the little rubber nubby type (like Maybelline Rocket), I don't make a habit of opening makeup at the store, so I didn't know what kind of brush I was expecting. I love the price, the blackness of this mascara, volume, length, & curl. So far so good for my sensitive eyes, also the tube is cute. The reason I bought this was because it says 24H & also waterproof which are 2 very attractive qualities in a mascara, plus the price. It seems like a good mascara, it doesn't take forever to dry on me, doesn't give me the panda look, & doesn't look like spidery lashes. You will know if you have applied too much coz then it looks spidery but there's a fine line between "just right" and "drag for Halloween" & I had to experiment to know when it looked too Tammy Faye Baker Dolly Parton. I didn't notice any other waterproof mascaras in the poorly maintained & stocked Ulta display so that was the clicher that this would be the proper right one for me. I like it a lot!! I would be very open to trying other Essence mascaras if they are waterproof & I would rebuy this, I am dying to get my hands on some other Essence products!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 missswift13 on 5/25/2014 3:24:00 AM more reviews by missswift13

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This mascara was..okay. The formula was very sticky and dry and took forever for it to dry on my lashes. It also felt heavy on my lashes. Waterproof wise, it's good but not amazing. It smudged under my eyes! In conclusion, if you're looking for a good waterproof mascara, this is not the one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 musiqphile on 5/9/2014 5:25:00 PM more reviews by musiqphile

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Use this as a basecoat. It's a nice light formula that adds a teensy bit of volume but little to no length. However, it holds a curl really well and the brush separates lashes nicely which is why I'd recommend it as a basecoat mascara. By itself it's completely unremarkable. It does stay put better than other, non-waterproof mascaras but the lack of va-va-voom makes it pretty boring unless you're looking for a next-to-natural, maybe-she's-born-with-it vibe. In which case, carry on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 omgVitasoy on 5/2/2014 9:23:00 PM more reviews by omgVitasoy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I found out about this brand in a magazine ad and they were saying how cheap yet effective their makeup products are, so I figured "why not try it out?" (almost) Everything was under $5 when I reached the shelf containing Essence products, including this mascara, which was $3.99. It claimed to be waterproof and wears all day without smudging, so I purchased this and gave it a try.

Packaging: The mascara has a large brush (not a plastic-nubby applicator) which did the job of coating my lashes nicely. I am already seeing dried mascara at the mouth of the tube, which will cause it to dry out faster. It has no fiber extensions and is pretty pigmented (it only comes in black).

Performance: It does a better job at lengthening than volumizing in my opinion, because when I tried layering multiple coats my lashes started getting clumpy. The mascara holds curl pretty well, considering my Asian lashes point straight down without the help of an eyelash curler. As for wear, I got a little bit of smudging on my lids, although that could be from my monolids--see how picky I have to be about my mascara?

Comparing this mascara with my HG go-to (i.e. Urban Decay Cannonball), it doesn't do the same job at making my lashes go from practically-non-existent to demi-lash-fabulous. HOWEVER, for its price it's definitely worth a try. I will probably buy this again when I can't splurge on UD Cannonball.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Chargirl1 on 1/26/2014 1:22:00 PM more reviews by Chargirl1

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

it was really dry and sticky. it was clumpy when I put it o and there wasn't much of the product in it. it was a supprise considering it is a essense product. and it was hard to get off. I wouldn't buy it again:(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xtorie on 10/9/2013 12:18:00 AM more reviews by xtorie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this. I've been a fan of Covergirl Lashblast for ages but I wanted to try something else for a change.
I curl my lashes before using this and then apply a coat to my top lashes, bottom lashes, then another to my top lashes. I find that if I wait too long between coats, it gets clumpy, so you have to work quickly.

Pros:
-holds curl
-defines
-doesn't run if my eyes water or if I cry
-doesn't irritate sensitive eyes
-gives moderate volume

Cons:
-smudges on the lower lashline (I really have no idea how, because it's waterproof and I set my undereye concealer with powder). This is a big one for me. I probably wouldn't use this for a special occasion where I would be photographed for this reason.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Kishypenguins on 7/18/2013 7:02:00 PM more reviews by Kishypenguins

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

Not a fan at all. Found it clumpy, hard to apply. I'm usually a huge Essence mascara fan but it just didn't do it for me! I found no particular volume or length added, just clumpy and black.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sroupas on 6/10/2013 3:43:00 PM more reviews by Sroupas

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I love this mascara! I bought it a few days ago because ill be going to summer camp next week and needless to say- it'll b hot. So I wanted something that would stay all day on my lashes. This stuff doesn't clump, is very natural looking, and doesn't flake. It does smudge a bit on the bottom, but I can wipe it off easily. When I wash my face, this stuff stays on. It does run a little, but nothing to dramatic. Surprisingly- it wasn't hard to take off at all... I got this at ulta for about $5. So cheap, and the packaging is super cute and bright! Will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mellyru on 5/23/2013 2:20:00 PM more reviews by mellyru

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara is awesome! One coat and my lashes were BAM! All over the place with length and volume, unbelievable. This is coming from someone with short, straight, stubby lashes, with the only mascaras that even remotely work being the super waterproof ones that require oil-based make-up removers.
Only downside is that you have to work quickly and thoroughly with your first coat, otherwise it turns into spider legs with additional coats.
Definitely an awesome repurchase alternative to my usual Covergirl Lash Exact.
I've heard that UD Cannonball mascara, or the japanese Fairydrops mascara are also good, but I haven't tried as I don't want to spend the dough for high end stuff xP

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lygophilia on 5/3/2013 10:21:00 AM more reviews by lygophilia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Pleasantly surprised by how wonderful this mascara performs as it adds length, separation, and some volume without getting clumpy. Definitely waterproof without smudging or flaking on me and easily removed with make-up remover. The only downside for me is the packaging as all Essence mascara's do not come with any sort of safety seal, so you never know if someone else opened it before you purchased it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essence products

More Mascara products