Essence Stays No Matter What 24 Hour Volume Mascara

3.3

16 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/15/2015 5:24:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love Essence products and especially the mascaras, which can be compared to Maybelline ones. This one though did not live up to my expectations. The brush is quite big and seems satisfying but the result is very mediocre. My eyelashes after two coats of this product are slightly bigger and more defined and that's ok. But it's not very longlasting to my quite oily eyelids and after a few hours it starts smudging. I believe that it is a quite good product for someone with normal or dry eyelids who doesn't want extraordinary volume or definition. However, Essence has better mascaras than this that are worth trying and much more decent, such as "Get Big Lashes 3xblack" or "LashMania", which are much more defining and long lasting.



on 5/12/2015 7:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

My very first essence mascara. And the only one haha. I bought it without any prior knowledge of the product. Sure I heard that their I love extreme mascara but it was sold out and I decided to look around. I picked this mascara because of the big, full brush. I decided to get it even though they didn't seal the mascara. Really essence? You never know where they've been. Urgh.
Anyway, my lashes are a bit shorter and more sparse on the left eye so I definitely need to do some extra work on it so it doesn't look weird when I'm done with the right one. I didn't like it right away. It was pretty clumpy at first and I had to remove any excess with a tissue before using it. But I find that the formula became wearable after about two weeks that I didn't have to pat it on a tissue anymore.
My lashes are pretty ordinary, not too long not too short, so I've yet to find a mascara that can give a mega dramatic change without making it look spidery and urgh. For lashes like mine it gives me long, pretty, nothing-over-the-top lashes. I really, really like this mascara, it's just that in my head I've already got a list of mascaras I want to try lol.


on 1/19/2015 6:15:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Black

This is one of my favourite waterproof mascaras, for the price, but it does have some issues. It's definitely not smudgeproof so you can end up with smudges under your eyes if you're not careful, and one tube doesn't last too long before the product dries up and starts flaking everywhere. However, the mascara is a really gorgeous dark black colour, and it builds so well - a few weeks after you first open the tube, the formula will become creamier and will then build volume incredibly. It becomes easy to overdo as it doesn't provide definition, but I personally need all the help I can get when it comes to my lashes, so this was really perfect for me in the few weeks where it was at its best.

I would definitely repurchase, if I could find a tube that doesn't seem like it's already been opened... Essence is one of my favourite drugstore brands, because their products are so cheap yet so good, but they really need to start using safety seals.


on 1/1/2015 3:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

"Stays no matter what"? Not for me! I do have oily eyelids that dissolve certain formulations and lashes that need help to stay curled, but with claims of 24hr wear, this is truly a huge disappointment. My lashes did not even stay curled upon application.


on 7/28/2014 10:14:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Grey

I love the Essence brand of products, this is no exception. I've never tried their mascaras b4 so this was the 1st tube I had bought. I feel compelled to mention that I don't like that their makeup isn't sealed for purity, so it makes me wonder if it's been opened or contaminated by some ignoramus (or snotty nosed unsupervised brat) randomly testing it on the back of her dirty unwashed hand (or worse!!), so that's my only real complaint. I love the formula, I only use mascara on my top lashes normally so I cannot comment on smudging on the lower lash line. This is easily removed with Ole Henriksen orange wipes or EL eye makeup remover (dark blue bottle, mine was in an Xmas PWP), I wish the brush was the little rubber nubby type (like Maybelline Rocket), I don't make a habit of opening makeup at the store, so I didn't know what kind of brush I was expecting. I love the price, the blackness of this mascara, volume, length, & curl. So far so good for my sensitive eyes, also the tube is cute. The reason I bought this was because it says 24H & also waterproof which are 2 very attractive qualities in a mascara, plus the price. It seems like a good mascara, it doesn't take forever to dry on me, doesn't give me the panda look, & doesn't look like spidery lashes. You will know if you have applied too much coz then it looks spidery but there's a fine line between "just right" and "drag for Halloween" & I had to experiment to know when it looked too Tammy Faye Baker Dolly Parton. I didn't notice any other waterproof mascaras in the poorly maintained & stocked Ulta display so that was the clicher that this would be the proper right one for me. I like it a lot!! I would be very open to trying other Essence mascaras if they are waterproof & I would rebuy this, I am dying to get my hands on some other Essence products!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/25/2014 3:24:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This mascara was..okay. The formula was very sticky and dry and took forever for it to dry on my lashes. It also felt heavy on my lashes. Waterproof wise, it's good but not amazing. It smudged under my eyes! In conclusion, if you're looking for a good waterproof mascara, this is not the one.


on 5/9/2014 5:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Use this as a basecoat. It's a nice light formula that adds a teensy bit of volume but little to no length. However, it holds a curl really well and the brush separates lashes nicely which is why I'd recommend it as a basecoat mascara. By itself it's completely unremarkable. It does stay put better than other, non-waterproof mascaras but the lack of va-va-voom makes it pretty boring unless you're looking for a next-to-natural, maybe-she's-born-with-it vibe. In which case, carry on.


on 5/2/2014 9:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I found out about this brand in a magazine ad and they were saying how cheap yet effective their makeup products are, so I figured "why not try it out?" (almost) Everything was under $5 when I reached the shelf containing Essence products, including this mascara, which was $3.99. It claimed to be waterproof and wears all day without smudging, so I purchased this and gave it a try.

Packaging: The mascara has a large brush (not a plastic-nubby applicator) which did the job of coating my lashes nicely. I am already seeing dried mascara at the mouth of the tube, which will cause it to dry out faster. It has no fiber extensions and is pretty pigmented (it only comes in black).

Performance: It does a better job at lengthening than volumizing in my opinion, because when I tried layering multiple coats my lashes started getting clumpy. The mascara holds curl pretty well, considering my Asian lashes point straight down without the help of an eyelash curler. As for wear, I got a little bit of smudging on my lids, although that could be from my monolids--see how picky I have to be about my mascara?

Comparing this mascara with my HG go-to (i.e. Urban Decay Cannonball), it doesn't do the same job at making my lashes go from practically-non-existent to demi-lash-fabulous. HOWEVER, for its price it's definitely worth a try. I will probably buy this again when I can't splurge on UD Cannonball.


on 1/26/2014 1:22:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

it was really dry and sticky. it was clumpy when I put it o and there wasn't much of the product in it. it was a supprise considering it is a essense product. and it was hard to get off. I wouldn't buy it again:(


on 10/9/2013 12:18:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I really like this. I've been a fan of Covergirl Lashblast for ages but I wanted to try something else for a change.
I curl my lashes before using this and then apply a coat to my top lashes, bottom lashes, then another to my top lashes. I find that if I wait too long between coats, it gets clumpy, so you have to work quickly.

Pros:
-holds curl
-defines
-doesn't run if my eyes water or if I cry
-doesn't irritate sensitive eyes
-gives moderate volume

Cons:
-smudges on the lower lashline (I really have no idea how, because it's waterproof and I set my undereye concealer with powder). This is a big one for me. I probably wouldn't use this for a special occasion where I would be photographed for this reason.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Mascaras


Miss Manga
422 Reviews
Roller Lash
103 Reviews
They're Real
2006 Reviews


Top Rated Essence Products

image

Lip Liner

53 reviews
image

Brow Designer

50 reviews
Back to Top