Milani • Ultrafine Liquid Eye Liner • Eyeliner

rated 4.2(22 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 Celestila on 4/15/2014 9:44:00 PM more reviews by Celestila

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I own this in Black Vinyl and Emerald Glisten. I ABSOLUTELY ADORE Emerald Glisten. It's such a unique shade of green with very subtle sparkle. I've worn it to work where my eyeliner tends to crease and wear off near the wing even with primer. I put this to the test and it passed. By the end of the day, it looked just as it in the morning. I wish I had green or blue eyes because this color would look even more amazing on those eye colors.

As for Black Vinyl, it is a dark true black. However, I find that it does flake off near the wing towards the end of the day. A little touch-up fixes the problem easily.

These liners have amazing pigment and quality for the price. Application is quick and easy. I seldom make mistakes, and I don't consider myself a liquid liner pro by any means. I want to try Prismatic Purple next. I definitely recommend trying one out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 AthenaNYC23 on 4/7/2014 5:51:00 PM more reviews by AthenaNYC23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for an easy intense black long-wearing eyeliner and when I heard Beauty Broadcast recommend this one and talk about how well this goes on, I wanted to trust her, so I did and picked it up at Duane Reade while I was in New York.

However I was quite disappointed. This stuff is cheap and I don't just mean the price, I mean the quality of it, I can definitely feel that I put something on me that feels/looks cheap. It is indeed very pigmented and long wearing, but after it dries it feels kinda crusty? It feels hard on the skin and while the tip is thin, I feel like the wand on its own is thicker than it should be and it gets covered in liquid liner which can end up all over your lashes and it's really messy. To be honest, I have quite long lashes so applying liquid eyeliner for me is a pain and this product only made it worse. And when I removed at night it came off in bits and pieces and it was kinda gross.

I have to try really hard to make this look decent and I never have time for that so I just use it to cover the lash band when I wear falsies. Definitely not a go-to product. At least I don't feel sorry for my money 'cause it was really cheap. I'm wondering why it has such great ratings.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 arameep on 3/26/2014 8:45:00 PM more reviews by arameep

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I really wanted to like this eyeliner. There are a lot of things I do like about it. It's easy to apply, it goes on smoothly, it stays on fairly well. I would say it's staying power is comparable to the Stila Stay All Day eyeliner. Both of those eyeliners fade in the outer corners of my eyes by the end of the day, but they do stay mostly in tact. So why don't I like this eyeliner? Ok, when you try to take this stuff off with make up remover it flakes EVERYWHERE, and most of these flakes go into my eyes. It is VERY uncomfortable. Ouch.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dawndie23 on 3/19/2014 8:57:00 PM more reviews by dawndie23

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted this one to work better for me. I love the the ease of application. The tip is just the right length and has flexibility without splaying product all over the eyelid. I have this in the color Black Vinyl and while the color is a very nice inky black, the formula is too thin when I apply it. It runs terribly, especially in the inner corner of the eye. This liner also flakes after it sets. I have tried to make this one work, but it's a hot mess on my eyes after 2-3 hours wear. I'll take a pass!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* seaswan on 2/10/2014 3:51:00 PM more reviews by seaswan

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

There is no argument about super lasting power of this liner, (I can remove it easily with my Olay foaming cleanser), and the black vinyl is an intense black hue.

My issue with the application. The tip of the applicator is very stiff and I prefer some flexibility on the tip .(Its like using a toothpick to apply liquid liner. The formula is very wet and many times it sticks my lashes together, my eyelash comb solves this problem but I'de rather not have to use it for liner. If you apply to much it can flake and I've also had some choppiness because of the applicator tip. I've had a better outcome using my Real Techniques liner brush and dipping it in the tube.
Physicians Formula lash boosting liner applies like a dream with the great staying power and strong black color in "Ultra Black" It's a few dollars more but worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsPsylocke on 2/6/2014 3:36:00 PM more reviews by MsPsylocke

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Love this liner! I haven't gotten a liquid in a while I was very happy with my Urban Decay pencils till I saw this one day in CVS. I picked it up and am so glad I did it's one of the easiest liners I have used in a long time. First of all the colour Prismatic Purple is just gorgeous! It's this dark but not super dark purple with multi dimensional sparkle. It totally makes my green eyes look greener. It's one of those liners that doing an ultra thin to thick line is just not a problem. Once it sets it will not budge till you remove it. It doesn't crack like some liquids do when they get dry. This also doesn't bother my eyes.

Unfortunately, I think I am developing a purple allergy which, can happen but not with this colour. No eyes tearing at all! I am very satisfied with his liner because it makes my life easier because it works so well. You do have time to fix mistakes before it dries but once it does dry you don't even need a sealer or anything. This is one of my favorite DS liquid liners! I would absolutely repurchase. Luv! Recommended!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 drivewayblues on 1/9/2014 9:32:00 PM more reviews by drivewayblues

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Very black, but not flat. This has a nice "vinyl" look to it. I normally have to touch up my winged eyeliner at least once a day, but this liner lasted from 7am until I washed my face before bed- I kid you not! No flaking either! Not sure why it took me so long to discover this gem, but I'm glad I did!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sameenelahi821 on 12/16/2013 10:32:00 PM more reviews by sameenelahi821

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Milani Ultrafine is the Sharpie of cosmetics. It'll be more reliable than all your other cosmetics combined. For that matter, it'll probably be more reliable than your best friends, your significant other, and your pet as well. Seasons change. People come and go. But in the end... let's be real. You could probably survive a zombie apocalypse and this eyeliner will stay fierce. Even if you don't survive the zombie apocalypse this eyeliner will stay fierce.

So yeah, I suppose you could stay it has fantastic staying power. I have sobbed while wearing this, and even after wiping my eyes it doesn't come off. I have showered in scalding hot water with this on my face and walked out of the shower with it still hanging in there. I've fallen asleep with it on, slept for a solid twelve hours (don't ask), woken up, exfoliated (sans makeup remover), and THEN showered. Still didn't come off. I tested it on my hand once. The line was razor-sharp for - I kid you not - two completely solid days. Yes, through washing my hands, showering, riding public transport, and receiving my bewildered, haunted stares every time I noticed it was still there. And on the third day, God created a combination of hand lotion and flawlessly filed nails that were finally able to remove it... somewhat.

As long as you aren't scrubbing furiously at your eyes or literally going out of your way to scratch it off, it will last. That being said, it'll come off with any old makeup remover. How did Milani do it? I don't know, but if we find out this stuff is made from the blood of virgins I won't be particularly surprised.

I bet my illustrious description of its resiliency has left some wondering if Ultrafine is difficult to work with. After all, you can't make a mistake with something "permanent". Have no fear. You actually don't have to be a zen master to work with this stuff. Although years of tai chi will help you out, you can actually count on the fact that this stuff does NOT dry immediately. After putting it on you have 5-10 seconds to wipe away anything extra or to clean up your wing tip with a cotton swab. But after it dries... Well. You know.

I'm on my second tube. When I found out I ran out I literally shrieked like a harpy and immediately left my apartment to buy more - it's that good. But to be honest, its miraculous staying power isn't even my favorite part. I have this in Black Vinyl and I remember the first thing I noticed about it was its stunningly black color. It's easily more pigmented and dramatic than any other liner - pencil, gel, or liquid - I've ever used. You can use a little and it goes a long way. There's no need to go over your line multiple times, and once you've mastered the art of liquid this is the fastest liner you will ever use because once it's on, it's on. Like I mentioned earlier - this eyeliner is in it to win it.

Wondering what the "vinyl" looks like? Here's a good way to picture it: think "vinyl". It has a slight shine in certain light, but nothing dramatic or glistening. I imagine the gems colors are different, but black vinyl is literally as black and as reflective as vinyl. It's not overbearing. It takes a little bit of getting used to but now I prefer this look over matte black liner. Matte is for skin. Vinyl is for liner.

It's got a great consistency and the fine tip gives you the option to have a thick or thin line, and I have a bit of an easier time creating my wing tips with this stuff, as compared to other liquid liners I've used (Maybelline Line Stiletto and Maybelline Ultra Liner come to mind). The tip is stiffer felt than i was used to but it's not a brush, so both liquid liner aficionados and newbies will have a relatively easy time with it, I think.

Personally, I think the packaging is great, but like any product you need to be neat. If you get any liner at all on the screw part of the tube it'll stick and the tube will become more and more difficult to close. The weird part about the packaging is that many times, you'll notice that the print on the tube/stick/compact will fade off... not here. At first I thought the words were fading off a bit but I ran a makeup-remover soaked cloth over the outside and found that it was actually my Kat Von D Lock-it Tattoo Foundation that managed to cover up the words somewhat. The tube is sleek and thin, and minimal in its design.

I really have to think to come up with something I dislike about this stuff, but I guess if I had to come up with a con it would be that if you're not careful (which you should be with liquid, as always), you can put on too much and it'll end up in your tear duct and it hurts quite a bit. I learned that lesson the hard way. If you're not particularly skilled with liquid yet, take your time, and that goes for this liner especially. I didn't notice any discomfort or sensitivity when it was on my skin, but if it gets in your eyes you will suffer for your mistake. Especially if you're wearing contacts.

Overall, it's a fantastic product and I will absolutely be buying it again and again. I've certainly found my HG liner. Ultrafine is a force of nature, and has the potential to be supremely powerful. Whenever attempting to control something of this caliber, one must exercise care and precision. With some degree of focus, I'm confident that most will be able to harness its majestic abilities.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ha77 on 8/24/2013 12:37:00 AM more reviews by Ha77

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I am a major lover of liquid liner. I can't ever seem to get a pencil to apply properly and it doesn't matter what brand I try. I bought this product in Emerald Glisten and was totally shocked by how great it looks on. My sister and I thought it would be way to much color and almost a blinding green. The color is beautiful on my eyes and isn't to bright at all. It glides on well and has a nice shimmer to it. This liner stays put, it is my go to liner for a day at the beach or the pool. It is waterproof yet easily washes off with facial cleanser without the need for makeup remover. The dry time is quick and the formula doesn't burn my sensitive skin. I've had expensive brands of liquid liner literally burn and blister my eyelids, so when I find a formula that works I stick with those brands. I will definitely purchase this brand it other colors when I run out of my other liners.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* OMGURTEEF on 8/14/2013 9:17:00 AM more reviews by OMGURTEEF

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

For years, I've been using the Physician's Formula lash boosting liner. I found that the very slender brush tip instead of felt allowed it to be used long-term without drying out, and it always created a wonderfully thin, precise line. However, it never came out as black as I'd like. (I'll still use it - I bounce back and forth.)
I've had the Milani Ultrafine Liquid Liner for a little while now, but I didn't really give it much thought until recently. Yesterday, I decided to bust it out again. And I really like it!
I find it does need to be shaken rather vigorously to properly mix the product, or it can apply a tad streaky, but if you complete this step prior to application, you'll get a smooth, inky black line.
It reminds me of the UD liners, except it has a knobby felt tip rather than a brush. One lippie off for that - I prefer a brush, as felt tips have less give and tend to wear out and break down faster. Brush-tips, when treated gently, never lose shape or get weird hangy things like felt does.
But really, the tip is the only issue. And I can get past that easily given all the other wonderful points.
The wear time is fantastic. If applied too heavily, it may flake, but I've not experienced any issues. (Which is a major selling point for me, seeing as the MAC Superslick liner flakes like crazy and has a horrible wear time.) I've got very oily, hooded lids, and while I do use a good primer under any eye makeup, some liners will still get into my crease. This doesn't. Once it dries, it is ON THERE. It took a demolition crew to get it off, but man, it stayed put. (I'm exaggerating. I use jojoba oil to remove my eye makeup and it works fine.)
Overall, I really enjoy this product. I do hope Milani will upgrade it to a brush applicator, but I'd still repurchase even if they never did.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Milani products

More Eyeliner products