Dr. Bronner's Dr.Bronners Tea Tree Soap

4.3

78 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Water, Saponfied Organic Coconut Oil*, Saponified Organic Olive Oil*, Organic Glycerin, Organic Cannabis Sativa (Hemp) Seed Oil, Organic Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Melaleuca Altenafolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Extract, Citric Acid, Tocopherol (* Certified Fair Trade by IMO)


on 5/9/2015 11:22:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

This soap is the only thing that truly works for my skin. I have had acne prone skin for years with close to NOTHING being a solution, natural, organic or conventional. This soap is MAGIC.

I have combination skin (very prone to dry spots but also oily) and all I do it put some of this on my green clay konjac sponge and gently rub the sponge on my face. It gets all my face makeup off (I just wear light foundation and powder) and my face feels so clean and soft post cleansing. I then moisturize with Living Libation's Seabuckthorn Best Skin Ever and BOOM. 2 product routine, that has gotten me my best skin EVER.

I also use this as a body wash, and for the ingredients and price (i've been using the 4oz bottle that was $5) you just can't go wrong. Though maybe if you dislike a tea tree scent, the tea tree does happen to be very strong.

(TIP: If this is drying your skin out, try mixing in a few drops of jojoba oil with a few drops of the soap in your hand. That's what I did when I first started using this on my face, but eventually just used the soap on it's own and found it worked fine for my combination skin.)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 4/29/2015 8:41:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It may be a bit drying and the smell needs some getting use to but my skin is looking really good! I get occasional breakouts and I have a lot of dark spots and old acne spots that are fading with the help of this soap. A drop or 2 will lather in wet hands as does the bar soap.


on 12/23/2014 8:44:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am on my second 32 ounce bottle of Dr. Bronner's Tea Tree Soap and I will continue buying it as long as the company makes it! I have so many uses for this soap -- I primarily use it as my shower gel as I find that tea tree oil helps with the occasional bacne as well as the KP on my arms. My partner uses Dr. Bronner's Peppermint Soap, and while I like that one too (so tingly!), this one is better for my skin type. I'm never super dry after using it, although I do moisturizer once I'm out of the shower. Those with super dry skin might not like it as much as I do.

I also use the soap to clean my makeup brushes and, in a pinch, it works nicely as a face wash (diluted, of course!) and somewhat decently as a shampoo. My hair got oilier more quickly than it usually does, but it was definitely clean.

I would say that you must love the smell of tea tree oil if you're going to use this! I adore the scent, so it's no surprise that this is my favorite of the ones I've tried (peppermint is good, like I said, and the almond oil soap smells lovely, too -- like marzipan), but others who don't like how tea tree oil smells, the scent might be too pungent for you, even if you like the effects it has on your skin. Also, cost-wise, get the biggest bottle you can find! My 32 ounce bottle, which usually costs around $15 - $20, will last around 7 - 8 months with daily use.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

i love this stuff! i bought the bar soap so i could use it on an exfoliating body wrap on my back. when i cut out dairy my acne cleared up (on my face) but my back still had break outs. this has totally cleared them up! it leaves my back feeling a bit tight / dry, so i just make sure to moisturize afterwards. i also use the baby version of the bar to clean my makeup sponges.. it's the best.


on 5/24/2014 2:58:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I actually first started using the Lavender scented version of this soap for my face, and used the Tea Tree version to clean my makeup brushes. I love these soaps. My skin never looked so good. It doesn't prevent me from ever having a pimple (nothing will) but it dries up the whiteheads fairly quickly, and help bring my cystic pimples to the surface sooner as well.

I find that it removes my makeup pretty well except for my waterproof mascara, I usually use olive oil or an eye makeup remover to break that down before cleansing my face.

This soap can be drying but for me, applying some moisturizer does the trick. If you are prone to dry skin then you may want to start by using this product once a day to see how your skin handles it. I use it at night, and my Aveeno moisturizing bar in the morning. Best thing is how much you get. These bottles are huge! The fact that I found a product that works for my acne-prone face and will last a long time makes me a happy customer.

I will use about a half teaspoon in a container full of hot water (I use a recycled margarine container) and I will dunk my brushes into the container to get them soaked and swirl the brushes in the palm of my hand to loosen the makeup from the brush hairs. Then rinse until the water runs clear. I love multipurpose products and this is at the top of my "favorites" list!


on 5/22/2014 12:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown


**UPDATE:
So after using this for maybe two months, it just became too drying on my skin. My skin was overproducing oil because it was so dry. I was a complete grease ball and due to the overproduction of oil, I was breaking out even worse and peeling like nobody's business. I was so embarrassed! I tried only using it once a day or a few times a week but it wasn't working out. I'm sad that the effects didn't last but while it worked it helped a lot. Now I just use it as a body wash and it does help to keep my skin clear of hyperpigmentation, but I guess my face just became too sensitive for it.

--
I stumbled upon this when searching for reviews on the almond version as a body wash. I read a lot of positive reviews about the tree soap version on acne.org and a testimony on Lisa Bronner's site. I have suffered from severe acne for a little over a decade now and have tried every concoction, drugstore product, high-end product, spa product, treatment, the clarisonic, the PMD, and every prescription except for Accutane. So when I say I've dealt with acne I'm not like the others who get 3 bumps a month during their period claiming to have acne-prone skin. It has been less than a week of using this soap and I am floored by my results so far.

I use about 3 drops with water, morning and night and it can be a bit drying. The first day I was peeling like crazy, but I think my skin is getting used to it. This gets me really clean and removes all my makeup. I have quite a bit of discoloration on my face from acne scars and it has improved tremendously. I can't attribute everything solely to this soap because I am also using prescription topicals from my dermatologist, but believe it has done more for me in 2 days than these prescriptions have done in 2 months.

I never thought that something all-natural would be this effective and I hope this continues to be the answer to my prayers. I would like to try the lavender and coconut lotion as a moisturizer.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 5/12/2014 4:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

My skin is extremely sensitive and blemish-prone.
I was hesitant to try because using coconut oil on my face as moisturizer broke me out before. I think because this is a soap, it is different - it hasn't broke me out, at least. It is healing up my acne and clearing my pores.
I use the bar soap in the evening and it takes off everything and my face feels clean but not tight. In the morning after my shower all I use is an apple cider vinegar + witch hazel toner - using this soap twice a day may be too drying.
I used some grapeseed oil after the tea tree soap at first, but eventually I didn't even need moisturizer. I really hope one day this soap will make my skin perfect! For now, I still have blemishes.. but I only have been doing this method for a few weeks. Try it!!!!


on 3/22/2014 1:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love dr bronners. So much that I wrote ralph bronner and praised him for his fathers works. Now we talk on the phone and send eachother pictures via snail mail. Anyway...
this soap is too drying for my face, but its great for many other things.
I have used dr. bronners over 10 years. Tea tree is especially helpful for abrasions and cuts. I have stretched ears, when they get upset and crunchy I wash them with dr. bronners tea tree. Thats it, heal in 3 days tops. I also use tea tree dr. b for cleaning. When I drop a few drops of it in water, shake, itll clean up any kitchen mess. if it leaves residue, wet a rag or paper towel with vinegar. But never mix soap and vinegar! Its a mess.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Check this out
I brush my teeth
W It.!
After realizing my flouride
Toothpaste was the reason for my malaise,
Tired constantly.. etc.
I switched to using natural soap
Y wanna see what ur made of,
Try soaping your very own mouth.(behave!
Or I'll wash your mouth out w soap)


on 1/4/2013 2:20:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Other

I've been using Dr. Bronner's products since 2007 and can never be without it. The liquid soap has so many uses and it saves a lot of money in the long run. We got a large jug of this last January and we have about 1/3rd left. I use this for many things from the shower to laundry to cleaning the counters and my pets. Here's a list of what I use it for:


Handsoap : three TBS of the Dr. B's soap, 1 TBS of olive oil, 8-10 drops of tea tree essential oil. I add this to a air pump soap dispenser and shake well before each use. The olive oil keeps my skin from drying out as the soap can be very drying on the skin after awhile.

Shampoo : 1/4 c soap, 1 TBS olive oil, 1 c water - I put this all in a plastic bottle and shake before each use. Apply 1-2 tsp to hair. ( Adding a natural oil will keep your hair from getting that dreaded waxy rats nest hair you get from using Dr. B's soap straight.) To get the soap residue out of your hair, the soap is famous for that squeaky residue, you'll need something acidic to cut the soap and rinse it out of your hair. You can do this by adding 1 TBS lemon juice to a cup of water or 1 TBS vinegar (I prefer the white vinegar) and pour it over your scalp in the shower. You can also add more water and lemon or vinegar to a spray bottle and spritz it on for more control as this will keep it from pouring into your eyes accidentally. Your hair will come out smooth and glossy. Don't worry about your hair smelling like vinegar as the odor will fade on it's own as your hair dries.

Pet wash - Mix a little with some baking soda and wash yer pup! Rinse well.

Counter spray/wash - 1/4 c of soap to 3 c water and 10 drops tea tree essential oil. Pour into a spray bottle and shake before each use.


There is a list of uses on Dr. B's site, under Lisa Bronner's blog, that is really helpful. She posted a use chart last fall and it's so great that they finally did that. No more guessing and being a guinea pig! She has a recipe for HE washers too! Great stuff!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


Popular Face Skincare Products


Rosehip Seed Oil
Rosehip Seed Oil
108 Reviews
Turmeric Mask
Turmeric Mask
185 Reviews
Unblemish
Unblemish
39 Reviews
Rosehip Oil
Rosehip Oil
287 Reviews
Back to Top