LUSH • Big • Conditioner

rated 3.3(17 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cherrybello on 10/13/2014 9:29:00 PM more reviews by Cherrybello

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Wow, so far all the LUSH products I have chosen has been excellent to me. From the shampoo bars and Retread to soap bar. After trying and being impressed by Retread, I thought I would try out their solid conditioners to go with my shampoo bar as I am going on a trip soon, and this would save me the space in the suitcase because I find most hotel shampoo and conditioners quite atrocious. So my sights fell on BIG and Jungle, and after sniffing both of them, I went for BIG. Application was a bit tricky, it looks like a block of butter but rubbing it along the length of my hair and then run a detangling brush through it to spread out the product. That worked quite well, and there is a noticeable slight slip to my hair after washing it out. It leaves my hair a little waxy and weird as it dries, because of the wax they needed to put in this to make it into a solid form. The feeling goes away after a while. It just leaves my hair feeling soft, look shiny, straighten easily, and smell fabulous! Most of all, my hair used to get frizzy when it's humid and look like I never straightened at all, but not any more! It actually stays straight now, I am pleasantly surprised! Although it's not a cheap for a block of this stuff, but despite having thick hair, I am going through it at a very slow rate, so I guess it's totally worth it.Will definitely repurchase when I run out.

6/11/2014 Edit: Still love it! I thought I'll come back and add that it is more effective if you towel dry your hair for a bit before you apply this conditioner. I used the Retread conditioner before this, leave it in for 20 mins, wash, towel dry, and then rub this solid conditioner over the end of my hair, leave in, and wash. I have found this way it completely covers the Retread scent for I am not particularly fond of it, and it doesn't feel waxy afterwards, and my hair feel better than ever! I have also tried to melt it down into a paste, uses up a bit more of the product, but the scent lingers more than ever, and it makes my hair feel so soft, I tied it back for a few hours and let it down before bed, it left no kink! Just... wow!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 amhooper on 3/12/2014 3:32:00 PM more reviews by amhooper

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I have only used this product once, but I already like it. Although application was quite difficult, it made my hair feel quite soft and healthy. But I have naturally oily hair and I made the mistake of applying this to my roots not realizing how moisturizing it would be in the end lol so it kind of made my hair look greasy. But next time I will just apply to the ends of my hair. When I used it I tried to break off pieces and lather them up but it doesn't lather very well at all. So next time I will try to run the whole bar over my hair and see how that works. It was quite pricey because I don't feel like the chunk that I got will last me that long, but i feel like it's worth it. I might try some of their other conditioners before I come back to this one but overall I liked it a lot. It smells very fresh and creamy and the scent has lasted on my hair all day so far. I used it along with Lush's juniper scented shampoo bar.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cutestcupid on 1/26/2014 6:05:00 AM more reviews by cutestcupid

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

it's a lovely conditioner. not like other silly conditioner that make ur hair limp and lifeless. my trick to use it that before I shower. I place it in some water. to melt away and later use it. smell. I'd terrible. but I'd prefer. a more liquid form. overall.greatest.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 eriyle on 11/29/2013 3:27:00 AM more reviews by eriyle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'll preface this by saying that I have fine hair, but a decent amount of it (my hair still isn't thick, though!), with dry/processed ends. I bought this primarily because of the smell (it has the same scent as Lush's Vanillary perfume) but also because I've had decent luck with Lush conditioners in the past, including the other solid conditioner, Jungle.

Honestly, I don't know how Lush can label this as a "conditioner." I prefer to use a lighter conditioner on my roots, so I only used this on my scalp, and not even on my very dry ends. Trying to swipe the bar over my wet hair did absolutely nothing, so I broke off a small piece and mashed it up in my hands. That didn't work especially well either, but it worked well enough that I was able to spread the product through my hair. As soon as I rinsed it though, my normally soft hair felt very rough and stiff, and had about twice as many knots as it normally does. It was a struggle to get a comb through it.

I let my hair air dry (as I normally do) and at first my roots were very fluffy and frizzy, but within a few hours my hair was lank and flat, but still tangled very easily. And the next day I woke up with a greasy mess that not even dry shampoo could save. I usually wash my hair every two to three days, but I absolutely had to wash it the day after using this conditioner.

Not impressed, and I'm honestly too nervous to try it out a second time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 TarutoToxic on 10/12/2013 9:35:00 PM more reviews by TarutoToxic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

This is by far the very worst "conditioner" I ever used.

As I'm a big fan of the scent of BIG shampoo I thought the conditioner would be a good investment - the shampoo does my hair no good at all, unfortunately...
And as I'm one lucky girl who has a room mate working for LUSH - yes, I am actually boasting at the moment :D - I could try it without paying even one cent, cause every cent would have been too much.

The conditioner promises to be moisturizing but also giving body to the hair. Well, let's see what really happened....

As it's a solid conditioner I first stroked it over my hair (like I used to do with LUSH's other solid conditioner, Jungle) and tried to comb it in. NO effing WAY! Instead of hair I had metted wisps dangling down my head. Okay, I thought I'd give it another try and broke off a bit of the solid bar, mixed it with enough water to get a creamy texture and gently worked it into that mess that used to be my hair. After a lot of swearing, hours of brushing and rinsing it out my hair still felt like straw.

Then I blow-dried the straw hoping that I won't have to wash it again cause meanwhile I was exasperated. The effect was massy fluffy (but dull) hair that smelled great (that's to it's credits...), but ooooh, at what price?

If you have the brass neck to go through this unnerving procedure you can enjoy the great scent of freshly washed clothes (at least that's how BIG smells to me...) and big hair. But I can't recommend it with a clear conscience though.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Nicolebby on 9/8/2013 8:50:00 PM more reviews by Nicolebby

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Another LUSH product that I do not enjoy which is really rare for me...

The smell isn't awful, but it certainly is not what I typically like for my hair to smell like. Also, it make my hair a dry, tangled mess. I could not seem to brush it for the life of me! I could not seem to mash this up all the way nor get it through my hair evenly. I just kind of had chunks of it scattered throughout my hair because it just was not as easy as I imagined to get it into a nice lather. My last complaint is that I bought this for the volume that supposedly it was going to give my hair, but I didn't see any volume!

I will not buy this again. I gave this a fair shot, but this product just is not for me. Especially for the 16 USD I spent on it, I could have went out and got a decent conditioner that would actually give me volume and not make my hair into an impossible to comb mess.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 butny on 9/2/2013 2:02:00 PM more reviews by butny

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

i denfinitly love suuuper love this product. its totally different from anything i have ever tried before. i got a 10 dlls bar and what i did its cut like 5 pieces and kept the other 4 in its original paper. i only have one piece in my bath and i rub it trough my hair put my hair in a knot and wait till i have finished wasing my body. then i rinse it and im soooo happy with the results, my hair is super shiny and healthy!! i used to use kerastase conditioner but.. not anymoreeeee!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 smashlers on 8/22/2013 12:14:00 PM more reviews by smashlers

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought a $6 piece of this conditioner as my first solid hair product, and when the SA showed me in store how it lathered it seemed like it would be ok. When I got into the shower and tried to lather it in my hands, it lathered, however when I tried to run it through the ends of my hair it was just a disastrous tangled mess that I couldn't do anything about. I gave it so many tries with different shampoos - BIG, Daddy-o, I Love Juicy - because I thought maybe one was just too drying, and I didn't use enough of the conditioner that day... but I got the same result each time! I put a wide tooth comb in the shower so I could try gently combing through it and that didn't help either.
I just don't think this spreads well enough no matter what you do. I use American Cream and Veganese and they are much better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 CarbonaNotGlue on 7/29/2013 8:27:00 AM more reviews by CarbonaNotGlue

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Blech. Stinks like cheap baby powder and did nothing but make my hair dry as a haystack. I even ended up melting it down and mixing it with another conditioner, but it still smelled awful. I usually love LUSH products, but their shampoos and conditioners just aren't for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nakeeyark on 6/30/2013 7:38:00 PM more reviews by nakeeyark

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't know how I, a self-proclaimed Lush fan, did not know this product existed, but when I saw it in store I gasped. The SA cut me a generous sample to take home and try out, and I really do like it a lot. At first I used it the way directed -- by sliding it down my hair (below the ears, as I never condition my scalp) -- but then as the bar got softer and creamier, I started pulling off bits, mashing them up in my hand and running the product through my hair. Either way, the results were the same: incredibly soft, smooth and volumized hair (I use this in conjunction with LUSH shampoos, and it pairs particularly well with my HG Big Shampoo). I love the smell, and the only reason I'm giving it four stars is because it is rather pricey for how quickly it runs out. My favorite LUSH conditioner is Veganese, and I'll probably stick to that as my everyday, and re-purchase BIG Conditioner when I have some extra cash.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Conditioner products