LUSH Gorilla Perfume - Sikkim Girls

3.9

11 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/6/2015 11:54:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This one is certainly not for everyone, but if it works with your nose and body chemistry? It is SO good.

I was drawn in by Lush's description:

"Subtle, seductive, heady, exotic, floral. Inspired by the Sikkim girls, soft sirens who seduced a Darjeeling café owner's son-in-law, simply with the subtle and sensual sway of their bodies. The frangipani, jasmine, vanilla and tuberose conjure up exotic climes and heady possibilities. It may rest lightly on your skin, but beware the undercurrents it may stir within."

Right? Anyway, I obtained a bottle post-haste. The notes meld together into a creamy, incense-y, woody scent that has just enough throw yet simultaneously gives a close-to-the-skin vibe. White flower scents like this one tend to play well with my skin, amping up their sweetness and creaminess and eliminating the bitterness some others experience. The skin-warmed perfume that emerges is heady, sensual, a bit hippie yet not too much or obviously so, summery, and extremely delicious. This one lasts a long time on my skin. It can be strong, but I like that.



on 8/6/2015 3:09:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Sikkim Girls is a smoky, florally scent from Lush which comes in both solid and liquid forms. I am reviewing the solid version which I sampled at the store.

The perfume comes in a small tin with a screw-cap and you need to apply it to your wrists/neck/wherever you want it with your finger. This is actually an improvement of Lush's solid perfume packaging as the previous push-up tube style was fiddly and caused the product to melt. The perfume itself is a pink colour, but does not show up pink when applied. The scent is very floral with a strong smokiness and as it fades, a powdery note is quite prominent. It pulls too smoky on me, it smells like flowers mixed with cigarette smoke which I do not enjoy! I don't get a strong jasmine smell from it either. I do not like this perfume.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Grey

This comes in a tin w a neat label. It's very much Jasmine mixed w some cream, incense, patchouli & a hint of smokiness that works extremely well together. I would imagine if one digs this that you would dig Karma as well but I think of this as being very unique not too sweet but very pleasant & kind of heavy though. I personally love this. I wish I had a better way of describing it. If is fresh, not stuffy nor pretentious & u won't smell too hippie but you won't smell like a teenage girls locker room (bath&bodyworks//Victoria's Secret Love Spell). It will set you apart from the crowd. Any age could pull this off, it doesn't smell too matronly but it smells like sunshine n good vibes!! If it was a song it would be Coldplay "Yellow."


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

The packaging is gorgeous and the idea is lovely, but Jesus it smells like an old persons apartment complex. This was my first foray into musky, perfumery scents and in store in the solid version it smelled lovely, but the minute I sprayed it on I smelled like my 87 year old aunt who has three inch long red fingernails and a bad haircut. I had a massive headache and with one spray of perfume I walked through everyone asked me what I was wearing. I blamed the smell on my recently purchased homemade wool sweater I threw on to disguise the smell


on 12/23/2014 9:33:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is hands-down my favorite perfume ever. I've been sampling a few over the past couple years trying to find my "signature" scent, and none have come close to this. I had first spritzed it in Lush about a year and a half ago, and was sad that they didn't carry it in stores yet. However, I went to Lush to do some Christmas shopping and they finally started stocking the smaller bottles!
I made sure to snatch one of these babies up and never looked back.
This is a very sexy, sophisticated scent. It's heavy and warm, but not overpowering, and its woodiness doesn't come off as too much of a "Why does this smell like Agway?" kind of smell. And boy, does this stuff linger. I find this lasts me several hours, and on my skin, that's unheard of.
The bottle is pretty standard - just a spritz bottle like you'd find on any other perfume, but the artwork on the label is gorgeous.
I paid ~$18 for the smaller bottle (I wasn't ready to dive in for the bigger one - yet). Not a bad price, really. I'll definitely be picking up the larger bottle when funds permit.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/17/2014 4:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

this is sensual...i love it. it lasts a very long time and you only need to dab a tiny bit on.
it's gorgeous, it smells of jasmine but it's not at all fresh. it smells smokey, like incense. i really really like it. it reminds me of festivals and of travelling. it makes me think of fortune tellers and it makes me think of the time i went to japan (the temples smell a lot like this)

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 4/6/2014 6:53:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have worn other fragrances from Lush over the years including Karma and Breath of God.
I wanted to try something new and purchased this based on the description alone. I am a little surprised by my reaction. Karma and Breath of God are not subtle scents at all and I have loved them. Sikkim Girls is entirely different. For me It is much more subtle and warm. Originally, I didn't like it much when I smelled it from the wee bottle because it didn't have a "wow" effect like Karma and B.O.G.. However, once on my skin the scent became delicious and addictive. It is a dance of jasmine, vanilla, and frangipani, which as scents on their own are lovely, but when put together become entirely new. I will run into friends both male and female who hug me and then hug me again commenting on how great I smell. I also have the Sikkim Girls Body Lotion which fragrance is slightly different but is also a new favorite. It seems oily at first but eventually sinks in to my skin and leaves me moisturized. I put a little in my hair and use it like a balm for the ends. If you prefer more natural perfumes and dislike synthetic fragrances it is worth a try. Don't be put off by the silly packaging.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/10/2014 9:20:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Sikkim Girls fragrance is fantastic. It reminds me of an oil I bought from a street vendor in Little Italy many years ago and have never been able to find again. Jasmine and vanilla are my two favorite scents and one or both are in every fragrance I own, but this combination is unlike any others. Might be the frangipani but the scent is purely exotic. It makes you feel like you are in a faraway, mysterious land and when you wear it, everyone notices you. It also lasts and lasts but not in a strong way. I put some on when I bought it and took a bath shortly after. It was still lingering on my skin even after the bath. This scent is so unique and if you like jasmine and vanilla, you can't go wrong.

I highly recommend it but the reason it didn't get a perfect score was the packaging. I absolutely hate pefumes that must be daubed on--what is this, 1938? LUSH has fantastic solid perfumes you can roll on your skin and spray bottles that are purse friendly, so why not present Sikkim Girls that way? The packaging is ridiculous. Even a roller ball would be more convenient. Other than that, it's perfect.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/11/2013 6:25:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Sikkim Girls - an impressive new addition to the Gorilla perfumes collection! I've always been a fan of LUSH scents, and the unique fragrances have what kept me coming back year after year to this company.

Sikkim Girls is a very strong, creamy white floral, mostly jasmine. I spent 6 months travelling in India and I can confirm that the smell is spot on! There are many strong odours in India (spices, cows, sweat, incense, urine, garbage, etc...) but one of the main things that stands out is the jasmine flowers that women wear in their hair to drown out the bad scents. Sometimes it was my only relief from the overwhelming stench, to be pressed up against in a woman in the train with fresh jasmine flowers in her hair.

Along with bringing back memories of the good scents of India, it also reminds me of the spirit of Monyette Paris. Since I've moved to Europe, it's been impossible to find, and for me Sikkim Girls is a good replacement for the strong smokey tropical floral that I crave. :)

Price is good, considering that I bought the smallest bottle and I only need a few drops at a time. The packaging on the new scents is not the greatest (kind of cheap and kitschy). I'm not crazy about the splash bottles either (hygiene!) but they're ok. It's mostly the cartoony look that irks me a bitl The unique perfumes from LUSH deserve better!

On the other hand, the "cheap" look of LUSH perfumes keep them under the radar, and I can keep my unique scents a secret. :) I highly recommend Sikkim Girls as a strong, creamy floral and tropical scent hat makes an impression!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.


on 2/12/2013 6:31:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I am liking these new LUSH offerings. I too purchased the smallest bottle (everything looks just like the pics here) but will probably be buying a larger size when I run out. There are 9 new scents and each come in 6 different bottle sizes (I'm told this will be streamlined). One of the bottles offered has a dropper (about an 1 oz. size) and the rest are dabbers. All are nice but my favs are this and Furze (basically vanilla & coconut-has mimosa and neroli ess. oils too & furze aka gorse). Sikkim Girls is a must try if you like white florals w/a little depth. I like the pkg. and laidback feel of the line. Sometimes things can get way too frou frou, serious and pricey in the world of perfume. This is a nice change. I think these are the best of the LUSH perfumes-nothing too strange or cheap smelling or too strong. BTW, if you like smoky scents you have to check out Voice of Reason, Hellstone & Devil's Night Cap. I also received a Lush comic book with my purchase that chronicles the stories behind the perfumes.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated LUSH Products

image

Dorothy

29 reviews
Back to Top